DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the response filed 04/27/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1 and 7 contain blank boxes lacking descriptive labels. The drawings should be amended to include labels detailing the function of each box. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of election in the reply filed on 04/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/05/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12, 17, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) & (A)(2) as being anticipated by JP Doc. ID. JP2000014169A (Hereinafter Sano).
Regarding claim 1, Sano discloses an apparatus comprising [e.g. Fig. 1]: a first component group [e.g. Fig. 1, elements 2 and components on element 27] on a first board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 27] ; a second component group [e.g. Fig. 1, elements 10 and components on element 26] on a second board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 26], wherein components of the first component group are heat-generating elements configured to generate more heat than components of the second component group [e.g. paragraph 0002, “In many cases, the power unit and the control circuit unit are housed in an integrated outer case to form a unitized inverter device… In general, components used in control circuits and electrolytic capacitors are weak against heat, so it is necessary to protect them from heat generation in the main circuit”]; and a plurality of connecting elements electrically coupled between the first component group and the second component group [e.g. Fig. 1, element 29 and the connectors between element 4 and elements 26 & 27], wherein portions of the plurality of connecting elements are in a thermal resistance medium [e.g. Fig. 1, air between elements 26 & 27], and the first component group [e.g. Fig. 1, element 2 & components of element 27] and the second component group [e.g. Fig. 1, elements 10 and components of element 26] are separated by the thermal resistance medium [e.g. Fig. 1, air between elements 26 & 27].
Regarding claim 5, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the components of the first component group comprise power switches and magnetic devices [e.g. paragraph 0005, “As shown in FIG. 6, the power module 2 is molded with a resin or the like, and has six converter rectifying elements 5 for rectifying an AC input power from a commercial power source or the like into a DC”]; and the components of the second component group [e.g. Fig. 1, elements 10 and components of element 26] comprise at least one electrolytic capacitor [e.g. Fig. 1, element 10].
Regarding claim 12, Sano discloses the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: at least one electrolytic capacitor electrically coupled to the first component group [e.g. Fig. 1, element 4 & connection to element 27], wherein the at least one electrolytic capacitor and the first component group are in two different modules [e.g. Fig. 1, first component group which consists of the power module 2, and electrolytic capacitor are clear in different modules], and wherein: terminal leads of the at least one electrolytic capacitor are part of the plurality of connecting elements [e.g. Fig. 1, connection between elements 4, 26, & 27; connection travels between first and second component group]; and the two different modules are separated by the thermal resistance medium [e.g. Fig. 1, elements 4 & 27; elements are physically separate by air].
Regarding claim 17, a micro-inverter comprising: power switches and magnetic devices [e.g. Fig. 1, element 2] on a first board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 27]; a control integrated circuit [e.g. Fig. 1, components of element 26] on a second board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 26]; and a plurality of signal and power channels [e.g. Fig. 1, element 29 and connections between element 4 & elements 26 & 27] coupled between the first board and the second board, wherein power and a plurality of signals flow through a thermal resistance medium [e.g. Fig. 1, air between elements 26 & 27] placed between the first board and the second board.
Regarding claim 20, the micro-inverter of claim 17, further comprising: an electrolytic capacitor on the second board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 4], wherein terminal leads of the electrolytic capacitor are part of the plurality of signal and power channels [e.g. Fig. 1, connection between element 4 and elements 26 & 27], and wherein bottommost surfaces of the terminal leads of the electrolytic capacitor are in direct contact with the first board [e.g. Fig. 1, connection between element 4 & element 27].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Doc ID. JP2000014169A (Hereinafter Sona) in view of US Doc ID. US 10998250 B2 (Hereinafter Terasaki).
Regarding claim 3, Sano fails to disclose a fast heat-conducting board is thermally conductive and electrically isolating ceramic printed circuit board.
Terasaki teaches an apparatus wherein: the fast heat-conducting board is thermally conductive [e.g. paragraph 0023, “it is possible to efficiently dissipate heat on the circuit layer side through the metal layer formed on the surface of the ceramic substrate on the side opposite to the circuit layer”] and electrically isolating ceramic printed circuit board [e.g. paragraph 0020, “the insulating circuit substrate including a ceramic substrate, which is formed of the ceramic member, and a circuit layer, which is formed of the copper member formed on one surface of the ceramic substrate”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes a fast heat-conducting board that is thermally conductive and electrically isolating ceramic printed circuit board as taught by Terasaki to improve the thermal conductivity.
Regarding claim 4, Sano fails discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein: the fast heat-conducting board is a thermally conductive and electrically isolating metal board having a metallic support plate, a dielectric layer over the metallic support plate and a circuit layer over the dielectric layer, and wherein the metallic support plate is made of aluminum, and the circuit layer is made of copper.
Terasaki teaches a fast heat-conducting board is a thermally conductive [e.g. paragraph 0023, “it is possible to efficiently dissipate heat on the circuit layer side through the metal layer formed on the surface of the ceramic substrate on the side opposite to the circuit layer”] and electrically isolating metal board [e.g. paragraph 0020, “the insulating circuit substrate including a ceramic substrate, which is formed of the ceramic member, and a circuit layer, which is formed of the copper member formed on one surface of the ceramic substrate”] having a metallic support plate [e.g. Fig. 5, element 113], a dielectric layer [e.g. Fig. 5, element 11] over the metallic support plate and a circuit layer [e.g. Fig. 5, element 112] over the dielectric layer, and wherein the metallic support plate is made of aluminum [e.g. paragraph 0026, “according to the present invention, the metal layer may be formed of aluminum or an aluminum alloy”], and the circuit layer is made of copper [e.g. paragraph 0020, “circuit layer, which is formed of the copper member formed on one surface of the ceramic substrate”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes a fast heat-conducting board is a thermally conductive and electrically isolating metal board having a metallic support plate, a dielectric layer over the metallic support plate and a circuit layer over the dielectric layer, and wherein the metallic support plate is made of aluminum, and the circuit layer is made of copper as taught by Terasaki to improve the thermal conductivity.
Claim(s) 6, & 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Doc ID. JP2000014169A (Hereinafter Sona) in view of WO Doc. ID. WO0016398A1 (Hereinafter Tamba).
Regarding claim 6, Sano discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first component group is in a first module [e.g. Fig. 1, grouping of elements 2 & 27] and the second component group is in a second module [e.g. Fig. 1, grouping of elements 10 & 26] ]; middle portions of the plurality of connecting elements [e.g. Fig. 1, element 29 and the connectors between element 4 and elements 26 & 27] are surrounded by the thermal resistance medium [e.g. Fig. 1, air between elements 26 & 27].
Sano fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the components of the first component group are surrounded by a first potting compound material; and the second component group is in a second module, and wherein the components of the second component group are surrounded by a second potting compound material, and wherein: first portions of the plurality of connecting elements are in the first module and surrounded by the first potting compound material; middle portions of the plurality of connecting elements are surrounded by the thermal resistance medium; and second portions of the plurality of connecting elements are in the second module and surrounded by the second potting compound material.
Tamba teaches an apparatus wherein the components of the first component group [e.g. Fig. 13, element 14] are surrounded by a first potting compound material [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31]; wherein the components of the second component group [e.g. Fig. 13, elements 18] are surrounded by a second potting compound material [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32] , and wherein: first portions of the plurality of connecting elements [e.g. Fig. 13, elements 12 & 13] are in the first module [e.g. Fig. 13, connected to element 14 through element 15] and surrounded by the first potting compound material [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31] and second portions of the plurality of connecting elements [e.g. Fig. 13, portion of elements 12 & 13 in contact with element 43] are in the second module [e.g. Fig. 13, element 18 & 43] and surrounded by the second potting compound material [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes the components of the first component group are surrounded by a first potting compound material; and the second component group is in a second module, and wherein the components of the second component group are surrounded by a second potting compound material, and wherein: first portions of the plurality of connecting elements are in the first module and surrounded by the first potting compound material; middle portions of the plurality of connecting elements are surrounded by the thermal resistance medium; and second portions of the plurality of connecting elements are in the second module and surrounded by the second potting compound material as taught by Tamba to increase the thermal insulation of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Sano discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: components of the first component group are on a first side of the first board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 2]; at least one component of the second component group is on a first side of the second board [e.g. Fig. 1, element 10], and at least one component of the second component group is on a second side of the second board [e.g. Fig. 1, components of element 26 facing element 21]; and the plurality of connecting elements is electrically coupled between the first side of the first board and the first side of the second board [e.g. Fig.1, element 29 and connectors between element 8 and elements 26 & 27].
Regarding claim 18, Sano fails to disclose the micro-inverter of claim 17, further comprising: a first potting compound layer in contact with the first board; a third potting compound layer in contact with the second board; and a second potting compound layer is between the first potting compound layer and the third potting compound layer, wherein the second potting compound layer comprises the thermal resistance medium.
Tampa teaches a first potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31] in contact with the first board [e.g. Fig. 1, board of element 14]; a third potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, portion of element 32 between elements 12 & 13] in contact with the second board [e.g. Fig. 13, element 43]; and a second potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, portion of element 32 outside element 12 & 13] is between the first potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31] and the third potting compound layer[e.g. Fig. 13, portion of element 32 between elements 12 & 13], wherein the second potting compound layer comprises the thermal resistance medium [e.g. paragraph 0007, “ insulation between the lead frame 1 1 and the heat sink 10 is performed simultaneously with the thermosetting resin 32”] .
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes a first potting compound layer in contact with the first board; a third potting compound layer in contact with the second board; and a second potting compound layer is between the first potting compound layer and the third potting compound layer, wherein the second potting compound layer comprises the thermal resistance medium as taught by Tamba to increase the heat dissipation of the top facing first component group.
Regarding claim 19, Sona discloses the micro-inverter of claim 17, wherein the plurality of signal and power channels is implemented as a plurality of cables [e.g. Fig. 1, element 29 and connections between element 4 & elements 26 & 27]
Sona fails to disclose wherein: the power switches and the magnetic devices are embedded in the first potting compound layer; the control integrated circuit is embedded in the third potting compound layer; and middle portions of the plurality of cables are surrounded by the second potting compound layer.
Tampa teaches wherein: the power switches and the magnetic devices [e.g. Fig. 13, element 14] are embedded in the first potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31]; the control integrated circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 18] is embedded in the third potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32]; and middle portions of the plurality of cables [e.g. Fig. 13, elements 12 & 13] are surrounded by the second potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes the power switches and the magnetic devices are embedded in the first potting compound layer; the control integrated circuit is embedded in the third potting compound layer; and middle portions of the plurality of cables are surrounded by the second potting compound layer as taught by Tamba to increase the heat dissipation of the top facing first component group.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP Doc ID. JP2000014169A (Hereinafter Sona) in view of in view of WOl Doc ID. WO0016398A1 (Herinafter Tamba) and US Doc ID. US 9396867 B2 (Hereinafter Kurs).
Regarding claim 21, Sona discloses The micro-inverter of claim 17, wherein the plurality of signal and power channels comprises a plurality of cables and a wireless power transfer channel, and wherein: the power switches and the magnetic devices are embedded in a first potting compound layer in contact with the first board; the control integrated circuit is embedded in a third potting compound layer in contact with the second board; middle portions of the plurality of cables are surrounded by a second potting compound layer formed between the first potting compound layer and the third potting compound layer; and the wireless power transfer channel is configured to provide bias power for the power switches on the first board.
Sona fails to disclose the micro-inverter wherein the power channel includes a wireless power transfer channel and wherein: the power switches and the magnetic devices are embedded in a first potting compound layer in contact with the first board; the control integrated circuit is embedded in a third potting compound layer in contact with the second board; middle portions of the plurality of cables are surrounded by a second potting compound layer formed between the first potting compound layer and the third potting compound layer; and the wireless power transfer channel is configured to provide bias power for the power switches on the first board.
Kurs teaches wherein the power channel includes a wireless power transfer channel [e.g. Fig. 45, element 4208] and the wireless power transfer channel is configured to provide bias power for the power switches on the first board [e.g. paragraph 0430, “FIG. 40 shows components of source power and control circuitry 2302 of an exemplary wireless power transfer system configured to supply power to a single or multiple devices”].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes the power channel includes a wireless power transfer channel and the wireless power transfer channel is configured to provide bias power for the power switches on the first board as taught by Kurs to be improve the power transfer range.
Tamba teaches the micro-inverter wherein: the power switches and the magnetic devices [e.g. Fig. 13, element 14] are embedded in the first potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 31]; the control integrated circuit [e.g. Fig. 13, element 18] is embedded in the third potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32]; and middle portions of the plurality of cables [e.g. Fig. 13, elements 12 & 13] are surrounded by the second potting compound layer [e.g. Fig. 13, element 32].
It would be obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Sano wherein the apparatus further includes the power switches and the magnetic devices are embedded in a first potting compound layer in contact with the first board; the control integrated circuit is embedded in a third potting compound layer in contact with the second board; middle portions of the plurality of cables are surrounded by a second potting compound layer formed between the first potting compound layer and the third potting compound layer as taught by Tamba to increase the thermal insulation of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220183161 A1 – Lee- ELECTRICAL DEVICE HAVING HEAT DISSIPATION STRUCTURE USING FILLER AND MANUFACTURING METHOD OF THE SAME
US 20210136907 A1 – Schmit - ELECTRONIC ASSEMBLY HAVING SECTIONAL THERMAL MANAGEMENT
US 20190280551 A1 – Chen - MOTOR DRIVING DEVICE
/JARED RAYMOND HAUSMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838