DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2008/0226890 to Johnson et al. (Johnson).
In reference to claim 1, Johnson teaches (abstract; FIG. 6) comprising a plurality of superlattice periods (par 0007; 0020 and 0021), each superlattice period comprising a first material layer (par 0006; first constituent A, par 0030) disposed adjacent a second material layer (second constituent B, par 0030), each superlattice period being structured to have a desired bandgap (par 0029) and period thickness (par 0029 and 0030); wherein the plurality of superlattice periods comprises a first superlattice period (par 0029 and 0030), wherein a first period thickness of the first superlattice period and a first period bandgap of the first superlattice period are based on a thickness of a first material layer of the first superlattice period and a thickness of the second material layer of the first superlattice period (par 0029 and 0030); and a second superlattice period (par 0030), wherein a second period thickness of the second superlattice period and a second period bandgap of the second superlattice period are based on a thickness of a first material layer of the second superlattice period and a thickness of the second material layer of the second superlattice period (par 0029 and 0030); wherein the first period thickness is different from the second period thickness and the first period bandgap is different from the second period bandgap (par 0029); wherein a thickness of the second material layer of each superlattice period of the thin-film structure is different (par 0030).
In reference to claim 2, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein the thickness of the first material layer of the first superlattice period is x and the thickness of the second material layer of the first superlattice period is 3x; and wherein the thickness of the first material layer of the second superlattice period is x and the thickness of the second material layer of the second superlattice period is 4x (all par 0030).
In reference to claim 3, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches a third superlattice period is disposed adjacent the second superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the third superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the third superlattice period is 5x; a fourth superlattice period disposed adjacent the third superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fourth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fourth superlattice period is 6x; and a fifth superlattice period disposed adjacent the fourth superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fifth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fifth superlattice period is 7x (par 0030).
In reference to claim 8, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein, for each superlattice period, the first material layer is Bi2Te3 (par 0007).
In reference to claim 9, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein, for each superlattice period, the second material layer is Sb2Te3 or BizTe3-xSex (par 0021, 0029 and 0031).
In reference to claim 10, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein, for each superlattice period, the first material layer and the second material layer are periodic table Group IV-VI compounds (par 0031).
In reference to claim 11, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein, for each superlattice period, the first material layer and the second material layer are doped to be n-type semiconductor materials (par 0035).
In reference to claim 12, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein, for each superlattice period, the first material layer and the second material layer are doped to be p-type semiconductor materials (interchangeable with n-type from par 0035).
In reference to claim 13, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein the plurality of superlattice periods is a first plurality of superlattice periods; wherein the thin-film structure comprises a first band comprising the first plurality of superlattice periods and a second band comprising a second plurality of superlattice periods; wherein the first band is adjacent to the second band; and wherein the first plurality of superlattice periods of the first band and second plurality of superlattice periods of the second band have a same arrangement and thicknesses of material layers (par 0029; band gaps).
In reference to claim 14, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein the thin-film structure is part of a thermoelectric leg further comprising a bandgap gradient along the thermoelectric leg or a doping gradient along the thermoelectric leg (par 0029).
In reference to claim 15, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein the thin-film structure is a component of a cooler device configured to perform thermal control (intended use recitation; the system in FIG. 1-8 is capable of performing said functional language; par 0004).
In reference to claims 16, 17 and 20, they claim the same features as claimed in claims 1-15 above; thus, said claims 16, 17 and 20 are rejected in the same manner, as explained in detail above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0001641 to Patel et al. (Patel).
In reference to claims 4-5, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the first superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the first superlattice period is 3x; a second superlattice period disposed adjacent the first superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the second superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the second superlattice period is 4x; a third superlattice period disposed adjacent the second superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the third superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the third superlattice period is 5x; a fourth superlattice period disposed adjacent the third superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fourth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fourth superlattice period is 6x; and a fifth superlattice period disposed adjacent the fourth superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fifth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fifth superlattice period is 7x (all par 0030), but does not teach wherein a thickness of each first material layer of the each superlattice period is 2x and not x.
Patel teaches a defect mitigation structures for semiconductor devices (FIG. 1-8) wherein the thickness of each first material layer (102b, FIG. 1-8) of the each superlattice period (102, FIG. 1-8) may vary from x to 4x (1000nm-4000nm, par 0032) without changing the principal desired properties, defect contentment to trap defects, for example, dislocations (par 0032) in order to improve the ductile property of the substrate while said trap defects from propagating to the top layer (par 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Johnson, to have a thickness of each first material layer of the each superlattice period is 2x and not x, as taught by Patel, in order to improve the ductile property of the substrate while said trap defects from propagating to the top layer.
In reference to claims 6-7, Johnson teaches the thin-film structure as explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, and Johnson additionally teaches wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the first superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the first superlattice period is 3x; a second superlattice period disposed adjacent the first superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the second superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the second superlattice period is 4x; a third superlattice period disposed adjacent the second superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the third superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the third superlattice period is 5x; a fourth superlattice period disposed adjacent the third superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fourth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fourth superlattice period is 6x; and a fifth superlattice period disposed adjacent the fourth superlattice period, wherein a thickness of a first material layer of the fifth superlattice period is x and a thickness of a second material layer of the fifth superlattice period is 7x (all par 0030), but does not teach wherein a thickness of each first material layer of the each superlattice period is 3x and not x.
Patel teaches a defect mitigation structures for semiconductor devices (FIG. 1-8) wherein the thickness of each first material layer (102b, FIG. 1-8) of the each superlattice period (102, FIG. 1-8) may vary from x to 4x (1000nm-4000nm, par 0032) without changing the principal desired properties, defect contentment to trap defects, for example, dislocations (par 0032) in order to improve the ductile property of the substrate while said trap defects from propagating to the top layer (par 0032).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Johnson, to have a thickness of each first material layer of the each superlattice period is 3x and not x, as taught by Patel, in order to improve the ductile property of the substrate while said trap defects from propagating to the top layer.
In reference to claims 18 and 19, they claim the same features as claimed in claims 4-5 and 6-7 above; thus, said claims 18 and 19 are rejected in the same manner, as explained in detail above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See attached PTO-892 for relevant prior art.
/FILIP ZEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
9/30/2026