DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. Claims 1-7 as originally filed are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, at line 21, the recitation “from lower side”, is understood to mean -- from a lower side --.
Regarding claim 2, at line 2, the recitation “anyone”, is understood to mean -- any one --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kagen et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0192469).
Regarding claim 1, Kagen et al. teaches a coupler (abstract) capable of engaging C shaped stakes of a signpost, the coupler having an upper portion (upper portion of 24; figure 1) capable of receiving a C shaped stake therein and a lower portion (lower portion of 24; figure 1) capable of receiving another C shaped stake therein, the coupler comprising; an inner hollow rectangular shaft member (28) having a first side wall (36), a second side wall (38), a third side wall (40) and a fourth side wall (70); an outer hollow rectangular shaft member (26) having a first side wall (30), a second side wall (32), a third side wall (34) and a fourth side wall (70), the outer hollow rectangular shaft member surrounds the inner hollow rectangular shaft member such that the first side wall, the second side wall, and a third side of the outer hollow rectangular shaft member is spaced apart with a predetermined gap (42) from the first side wall, the second side wall, and the third side wall of the inner hollow rectangular shaft member (figure 1) and the fourth wall of the outer hollow rectangular shaft member and the fourth wall of the inner hollow rectangular shaft member merges with each other to form a single wall (at 70; figure 3); a plurality of veins (58, 50) configured to run vertically on inner surface of the outer hollow rectangular shaft member (at 58) and outer surface of the inner hollow rectangular shaft member (at 50) (figure 1); and a support member (74) configured within the gap of the inner hollow rectangular shaft member and the outer hollow rectangular shaft member at midportion (figure 3) to support C shaped stake thereon and to stop another C shaped member to move upward from lower side (it is understood that the support member is capable of supporting C shaped stake thereon and to stop another C shaped member to move upward from lower side).
Regarding claim 2, Kagen et al. teaches each vein of the plurality of veins are configured in anyone of M and W shape. (figure 3)
Regarding claim 3, Kagen et al. teaches the inner hollow rectangular shaft member and the outer rectangular shaft member are made from any one of polymer polypropylene (polypropylene; paragraph 22).
Regarding claim 4, Kagen et al. teaches the plurality of veins on the inner hollow rectangular shaft member and the outer hollow rectangular shaft member are configured opposite to each other (figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kagen et al. teaches the plurality of veins on the inner hollow rectangular shaft member and the outer hollow rectangular shaft member are configured diagonally opposite to each other (figure 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kagen et al. teaches the support member is rigid structure capable of sustaining the load (figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Kagen et al. teaches the outer hollow rectangular shaft member has rounded external edges (figure 3).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to post couplers in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633