DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-12 and 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARASURAMA et al (20180056936) in view of FLEMING (20180003494) and Mindell et al (20190361109).
Regarding claims 2, 20, PARASURAMA et al discloses, a system for establishing location information with respect to a portable device (48, fig. 1-9) and an object (10, fig. 1-2), the system comprising:
a master device (50, fig. 2) disposed in a fixed position relative to the object (10, fig. 1-2), said master device capable of communicating with at least one of the portable device (¶ 0048) and one or more sensor devices (¶ 0034, 0031);
a plurality of antennas (52, 54, 66, 68, 7OL-R and 72L-R, fig. 2), each of said plurality of antennas configured to receive wireless communications and provide an antenna output corresponding to the wireless communications, wherein a first characteristic is determined with respect to a first plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9);
wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to a second time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications that occur on frequencies such that a communication frequency of the wireless communications varies over time among the different frequencies (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0038-0039, fig. 1-9, the controller 50 can detect an impending relay attack on the vehicle 10 using various methods that can include, but are not limited to, transmitting a random polling signal interval, varying the RF signal strength i.e., transmitted power of RF signals from the controller 50 and/or the remote device 48, or verifying the time of flight of signals between the controller 50 and the remote device 48. Any variation in these signals other than the intended reception can indicate an impending relay attack).
PARASURAMA et al discloses, the controller 50 can communicate with the remote device 48 when the remote device 48 receives the first polling signal broadcast within at least a portion of the first zone 58 over one or more RF frequencies. Examples of frequencies over which the controller 50 can communicate can include 313 MHz, 433 MHz, and 925 MHz. However, the embodiments are intended to include or otherwise cover frequencies lower than 313 MHz, higher than 313 MHz, or any other suitable frequencies for wireless communication between the controller 50 and the remote device 48. When the remote device 48 is within the first zone 58, the remote device 48 can receive the first polling signal from the controller 50, and in response the remote device 48 can transmit the first verification signal that can be received by the transceiver 54 and the controller 50 can communicate with the remote device 48 within the second zone 62 over one or more RF frequencies that can be different than the one or more frequencies used by the controller 50 and the remote device 48 in the first zone 58 (¶ 0028-0029), the controller 50 can detect an impending relay attack on the vehicle 10 using various methods that can include, but are not limited to, transmitting a random polling signal interval, varying the RF signal strength (i.e., transmitted power) of RF signals from the controller 50 and/or the remote device 48, or verifying the time of flight of signals between the controller 50 and the remote device 48 (¶ 0038) and the controller 50 can transmit the first polling signal and the second polling signal at different polling intervals. In one embodiment, as the remote device 48 enters the first zone 58 the controller 50 can increase the first polling signal interval at an increasing rate related to a distance the remote device 48 is from the vehicle 10 i.e., a user moving towards the vehicle 10 carrying the remote device 48. The remote device 48 can respond to each first polling signal with a first verification acknowledging the increased polling signal intervals. Likewise, when the remote device 48 enters the second zone 58, the controller 50 can increase the second polling signal interval at an increasing rate related to a distance the remote device 48 is from the vehicle 10. The remote device 48 can respond to each second polling signal with a second verification signal acknowledging the increasing second polling signal rate. The controller 50 can transmit the second polling signal at a maximum rate when the remote device 48 is nearest to the vehicle 10 (¶ 0039), the controller 50 can predefine one or more substantially concentric access zones around the vehicle 10. The controller 50 can use received signal strength indication (RSSI) technology to track a location of the remote device 48 in the one or more substantially concentric access zones. The controller 50 can use alternative methods and technology to estimate a location of the remote device 48 around the vehicle 10 including but not limited to triangulation of RF signals (¶ 0026, 0052).
PARASURAMA et al does not specifically disclose in detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to a second plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications that occur on different frequencies.
In the same field of endeavor, FLEMING discloses in more detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to a second plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications that occur on different frequencies such that a communication frequency of the wireless communications varies over time among the different frequencies; and wherein location information of the portable device is determined relative to the object based on said first characteristic and said time of flight characteristic (¶ 0029-0031). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to provides level of accuracy that allows user to differentiate between different levels in more reliable way and with more certainty as taught by FLEMING.
PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING do not specifically disclose in detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to BLE communications.
In the same field of endeavor, Mindell et al discloses in more detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to BLE communications (¶ 0109-0110). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to increase automation and precision tracking of operations and movement within industrial environments as taught by Mindell et al.
Regarding claim 3, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the first plurality of time-spaced measurements are determined for a first antenna output of a first antenna of the plurality of antennas, and wherein the second plurality of time-spaced measurements are determined for a second antenna output of a second antenna of the plurality of antennas (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claims 4, 21, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein: the first plurality of time-spaced measurements are based on wireless communications received according to a first communication protocol via at least one first communication protocol channel; and the second plurality of time-spaced measurements are based on wireless communications received according to a second communication protocol via at least one second communication protocol channel (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claims 5, 22, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the second communication protocol is different from the first communication protocol (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 6, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA disclose, wherein said time of flight characteristic forms the basis for a fine location determination with respect to the portable device and the object, and wherein propagation delay for time of flight is determined substantially precisely (¶ 0038, and FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claims 7, 12, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the location information determined relative to the object based on said time of flight characteristic is substantially invulnerable to relay attacks (¶ 0038, 0052, and with combined FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 8, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the wireless communications that occur on different communication frequencies correspond to communications for the time of flight characteristic being different from communications for the first characteristic (¶ 0038, and with combined Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 9, 25-26, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA disclose, wherein the time of flight characteristic is determined based on UWB communications, and wherein the first characteristic is determined based on BLE communications (¶ 0038, and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 10, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein said second plurality of said time-spaced measurements correspond to at least two or more time of flight measurements with respect to the wireless communications that occur on different frequencies, wherein a first time of flight measurement is obtained with respect to wireless communications on a first one of a plurality of communication protocol channels, wherein a second time of flight measurement is obtained with respect to wireless communications on a second of the plurality of communication protocol channels (¶ 0038, and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 11, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein at least one sensor device of said one or more sensor devices is operably coupled to said plurality of antennas, wherein said at least one sensor device is configured to determine said time of flight characteristic, and wherein said at least one sensor device communicates sensor information pertaining to said time of flight characteristic to said master device (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 14, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said at least one antenna output corresponds to at least one of a plurality of different wireless communication frequencies at each time of said second plurality of time-spaced measurements (¶ 0038, and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 15, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said master device is configured to determine said first characteristic and said location information of the portable device based on said first characteristic (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claims 16, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the portable device is configured to determine said time of flight characteristic, and wherein said time of flight characteristic is communicated to another device from the portable device via a communication channel (¶ 0038, and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 17, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said one or more sensor devices communicate said at least one antenna output to said master device via a communication channel separate from a communication channel used for reception of said wireless communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claims 18, 23-24, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the object is a vehicle, and wherein first and second antennas of the plurality of antennas are disposed in a fixed position relative to the vehicle (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see FLEMING discloses ¶ 0029-0031).
Regarding claim 19, PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the first characteristic is based on BLE communications, and the time of flight characteristic is based on BLE communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARASURAMA et al in view of FLEMING, Mindell et al (20190361109) and Bietz et al (20180231634).
Regarding claim 13, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al does not specifically disclose wherein a weighting of said exponential moving average is based on a number of previous N valid measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Bietz et al discloses, wherein a weighting of said exponential moving average is based on a number of previous N valid measurements (¶ 0135-0136, fig. 6). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al and FLEMING by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving Utilizes low energy consuming technology, such that systems do not need to be powered by large amounts of on-board battery power to reduce battery costs which constitute significant total cost portion in mobile device as taught by Bietz et al.
Claim(s) 2-12 and 14-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARASURAMA et al (20180056936), in view of Przybyla et al (20200064439) and Mindell et al (20190361109) .
Regarding claims 2, 20, PARASURAMA et al discloses, a system for establishing location information with respect to a portable device (48, fig. 1-9) and an object (10, fig. 1-2), the system comprising:
a master device (50, fig. 2) disposed in a fixed position relative to the object (10, fig. 1-2), said master device capable of communicating with at least one of the portable device (¶ 0048) and one or more sensor devices (¶ 0034, 0031);
a plurality of antennas (52, 54, 66, 68, 7OL-R and 72L-R, fig. 2), each of said plurality of antennas configured to receive wireless communications and provide an antenna output corresponding to the wireless communications, wherein a first characteristic is determined with respect to a first plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9).
PARASURAMA et al discloses, the controller 50 can communicate with the remote device 48 when the remote device 48 receives the first polling signal broadcast within at least a portion of the first zone 58 over one or more RF frequencies. Examples of frequencies over which the controller 50 can communicate can include 313 MHz, 433 MHz, and 925 MHz. However, the embodiments are intended to include or otherwise cover frequencies lower than 313 MHz, higher than 313 MHz, or any other suitable frequencies for wireless communication between the controller 50 and the remote device 48. When the remote device 48 is within the first zone 58, the remote device 48 can receive the first polling signal from the controller 50, and in response the remote device 48 can transmit the first verification signal that can be received by the transceiver 54 and the controller 50 can communicate with the remote device 48 within the second zone 62 over one or more RF frequencies that can be different than the one or more frequencies used by the controller 50 and the remote device 48 in the first zone 58 (¶ 0028-0029), the controller 50 can detect an impending relay attack on the vehicle 10 using various methods that can include, but are not limited to, transmitting a random polling signal interval, varying the RF signal strength (i.e., transmitted power) of RF signals from the controller 50 and/or the remote device 48, or verifying the time of flight of signals between the controller 50 and the remote device 48 (¶ 0038) and the controller 50 can transmit the first polling signal and the second polling signal at different polling intervals. In one embodiment, as the remote device 48 enters the first zone 58 the controller 50 can increase the first polling signal interval at an increasing rate related to a distance the remote device 48 is from the vehicle 10 i.e., a user moving towards the vehicle 10 carrying the remote device 48. The remote device 48 can respond to each first polling signal with a first verification acknowledging the increased polling signal intervals. Likewise, when the remote device 48 enters the second zone 58, the controller 50 can increase the second polling signal interval at an increasing rate related to a distance the remote device 48 is from the vehicle 10. The remote device 48 can respond to each second polling signal with a second verification signal acknowledging the increasing second polling signal rate. The controller 50 can transmit the second polling signal at a maximum rate when the remote device 48 is nearest to the vehicle 10 (¶ 0039).
PARASURAMA et al does not specifically disclose wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to a second plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications that occur on different frequencies.
In the same field of endeavor, Przybyla et al discloses, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to a second plurality of time-spaced measurements conducted with respect to wireless communications that occur on different frequencies such that a communication frequency of the wireless communications varies over time among the different frequencies; and wherein location information of the portable device is determined relative to the object based on said first characteristic and said time of flight characteristic (¶ 0156, 0160). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to allows communication between the base station and the tracked objects to enable the base station to receive the location and/or orientation estimates generated by the tracked objects and improve the accuracy of the position estimates as taught by Przybyla et al.
PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al do not specifically disclose in detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to BLE communications.
In the same field of endeavor, Mindell et al discloses in more detail, wherein a time of flight characteristic is determined with respect to BLE communications (¶ 0109-0110). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to increase automation and precision tracking of operations and movement within industrial environments as taught by Mindell et al.
Regarding claim 3, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the first plurality of time-spaced measurements are determined for a first antenna output of a first antenna of the plurality of antennas, and wherein the second plurality of time-spaced measurements are determined for a second antenna output of a second antenna of the plurality of antennas (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 4, 21, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein: the first plurality of time-spaced measurements are based on wireless communications received according to a first communication protocol via at least one first communication protocol channel; and the second plurality of time-spaced measurements are based on wireless communications received according to a second communication protocol via at least one second communication protocol channel (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 5, 22, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the second communication protocol is different from the first communication protocol (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 6, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA disclose, wherein said time of flight characteristic forms the basis for a fine location determination with respect to the portable device and the object, and wherein propagation delay for time of flight is determined substantially precisely (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 7, 12, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the location information determined relative to the object based on said time of flight characteristic is substantially invulnerable to relay attacks (¶ 0038, and with combined Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156-0160).
Regarding claim 8, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the wireless communications that occur on different communication frequencies correspond to communications for the time of flight characteristic being different from communications for the first characteristic (¶ 0038, and with combined Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 9, 25-26, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA disclose, wherein the time of flight characteristic is determined based on UWB communications, and wherein the first characteristic is determined based on BLE communications (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 10, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein said second plurality of said time-spaced measurements correspond to at least two or more time of flight measurements with respect to the wireless communications that occur on different frequencies, wherein a first time of flight measurement is obtained with respect to wireless communications on a first one of a plurality of communication protocol channels, wherein a second time of flight measurement is obtained with respect to wireless communications on a second of the plurality of communication protocol channels (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 11, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein at least one sensor device of said one or more sensor devices is operably coupled to said plurality of antennas, wherein said at least one sensor device is configured to determine said time of flight characteristic, and wherein said at least one sensor device communicates sensor information pertaining to said time of flight characteristic to said master device (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 14, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said at least one antenna output corresponds to at least one of a plurality of different wireless communication frequencies at each time of said second plurality of time-spaced measurements (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 15, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said master device is configured to determine said first characteristic and said location information of the portable device based on said first characteristic (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160)).
Regarding claims 16, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA discloses, wherein the portable device is configured to determine said time of flight characteristic, and wherein said time of flight characteristic is communicated to another device from the portable device via a communication channel (¶ 0038, and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claim 17, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein said one or more sensor devices communicate said at least one antenna output to said master device via a communication channel separate from a communication channel used for reception of said wireless communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Regarding claims 18, 23-24, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the object is a vehicle, and wherein first and second antennas of the plurality of antennas are disposed in a fixed position relative to the vehicle (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160)).
Regarding claim 19, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al discloses, wherein the first characteristic is based on BLE communications, and the time of flight characteristic is based on BLE communications (¶ 0024-0025, 0028-0031,0039, fig. 1-9 and also see Przybyla et al discloses ¶ 0156, 0160).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARASURAMA et al in view of Przybyla et al, Przybyla et al and Bietz et al (20180231634).
Regarding claim 13, PARASURAMA et al and Przybyla et al disclose in claim 2 further, PARASURAMA et al, Przybyla et al and Przybyla et al does not specifically disclose wherein a weighting of said exponential moving average is based on a number of previous N valid measurements.
In the same field of endeavor, Bietz et al discloses, wherein a weighting of said exponential moving average is based on a number of previous N valid measurements (¶ 0135-0136, fig. 6). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of PARASURAMA et al, Przybyla et al and Przybyla et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving Utilizes low energy consuming technology, such that systems do not need to be powered by large amounts of on-board battery power to reduce battery costs which constitute significant total cost portion in mobile device as taught by Bietz et al.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHAWAR IQBAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643