DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/01/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification (more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102“(a)(1)” or “(a)(2)” or both as being anticipated by Mandal (US 2023/0212936 A1).
Referring to Claim 1, Mandal teaches a method (109) comprising:
disposing an acoustic logging tool (Fig. 1) into a wellbore (117), wherein the acoustic logging tool comprises an acoustic transmitter, an acoustic transducer (103), and/or an acoustic receiver;
transmitting one or more acoustic waveforms (107) from the acoustic logging tool (Fig. 1) with the acoustic transmitter or the acoustic transducer (103);
recording one or more reflected acoustic waveforms (111) at the acoustic logging tool with the acoustic receiver or the acoustic transducer (103) ([0007]; [0019]; [0023]; [0025]; Claim(s) 1. 9, 16; Fig. 1);
separating a first echo segment and a reverberation segment of a reflected waveform from the one or more reflected acoustic waveforms ([0064]; Claim 1; Fig. 1, 7: identifying a pulse portion (701) of the reflection signal (111), wherein the pulse portion (701) can be distinct from a reverberation portion (703) of the reflection signal (111) by amplitude);
performing an inversion on at least the first echo segment, wherein the inversion comprises: producing a casing thickness ([0059], claims 1, 8, and figures 1, 7: analyzing the pulse portion (701) to determine an actual value for an attribute of the reflection signal; and based on the actual value, executing a model to generate a plurality of synthetic values for a thickness of the cement casing (109)).
Referring to Claim 2, Mandal teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising acquiring one or more downhole properties for the inversion, wherein one or more downhole properties comprise cement properties, casing properties, transducer offset, and/or eccentricity ([0059], claims 1, 8, and figures 1, 7: the reflection signal (111) received at the well tool and used to determine the thickness of the cement casing (109)).
Referring to Claim 3, Mandal teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising compute metric a from the reverberation segment ([0065] and figure 8: the reverberation portion (805) may be characterized by frequency peaks).
Referring to Claim 12, Mandal teaches the method of claim 2, further comprising determining a mud impedance ([0031], [0059], claims 1, 8, and figures 1, 7: a plurality of synthetic casing-attribute values can include values for drilling mud impedance, wherein the plurality of synthetic casing-attribute values may be the plurality of synthetic values generated based on the analysis of the pulse portion (701)).
Referring to Claim 13, Mandal teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the inversion utilizes the mud impedance to produce a compressional impedance ([0031]: the values for the drilling mud impedance).
Referring to Claim 14, Mandal teaches a system comprising:
an acoustic logging tool (Fig. 1), wherein the acoustic logging tool comprises:
an acoustic transmitter (103), wherein the acoustic transmitter is configured to transmit one or more acoustic waveforms (107) from the acoustic logging tool (Fig. 1);
an acoustic receiver, wherein the acoustic receiver is configured to record one or more reflected acoustic waveforms at the acoustic logging tool ([0007]; [0019]; [0023]; [0025]; Claim(s) 1. 9, 16; Fig. 1);
an information handling system (101) communicability coupled to the acoustic logging tool ([0025]-[0026]), wherein the information handling system is configured for:
separating a first echo segment and a reverberation segment of a reflected waveform from the one or more reflected acoustic waveforms ([0064]; Claim 1; Fig. 1, 7: identifying a pulse portion (701) of the reflection signal (111), wherein the pulse portion (701) can be distinct from a reverberation portion (703) of the reflection signal (111) by amplitude);
performing an inversion on at least the first echo segment, wherein the inversion comprises: producing a casing thickness ([0059], claims 1, 8, and figures 1, 7: analyzing the pulse portion (701) to determine an actual value for an attribute of the reflection signal; and based on the actual value, executing a model to generate a plurality of synthetic values for a thickness of the cement casing (109)).
Claim 15 is essentially the same as Claim 12 and is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 12 above.
Claim 16 is essentially the same as Claim 13 and is rejected for the same reasons as applied to Claim 13 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 4-11 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim(s) 4 is allowable for disclosing metric α constrains the inversion for mud and annular impedance to a 1D inversion over a curve. These limitations, in combinations in the claims, were not found in the prior art.
Claim(s) 5-11 directly or indirectly depend on Claim 4, and is therefore allowable for that matter.
Claim 17 is allowable for disclosing wherein the inversion further comprises choosing a casing thickness test value and an annular impedance test value and comprises retrieving one or more reflectivities with the mud impedance, the casing thickness test value, and the annular impedance test value with a reflectivity model library. These limitations, in combinations in the claims, were not found in the prior art.
Claim(s) 18-20 directly or indirectly depend on Claim 4, and is therefore allowable for that matter.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. However, any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Isam Alsomiri can be reached on 571-272-6970. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/AMIE M NDURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645