DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on August 13, 2025. Claims 1-9 and 11-20 remain pending and claim 21 has been added in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 12, and 17 in the Remarks section (pages 8-15, dated 12/03/2025) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0401249 A1 by Shen in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0240259 A1 by Park et al. (“Park”), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0066902 A1 by Cheng and U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi et al. (“Huppi”) address the limitations set forth in the amended claims as the new grounds for rejection.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 2-9, 11, 13-16, and 18-21 in the Remarks section (pages 13-15) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 12, and 17 in the Remarks section (pages 8-13, dated July 9, 2025) have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach based on the proximity signals, to control the display driver to reduce luminance of an image on the display layer or to turn off the display layer.
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach to selectively operate in a touch sensing mode or a proximity sensing mode, wherein the sensor driver configured to generate coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode, and to generate proximity sensing signals including information indicating whether an object is approaching in the proximity sensing mode.
However, Shen clearly teaches when acquiring capacitive measurements, the sensor module operated the plurality of sensor electrodes according to a selected scan mode of a plurality of scan mode. A scan mode included for touch frames where the entirety of the of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 was scanned in a capacitive touch sensing frame mode as compared to in active/proximity input sensing frame mode, only a portion of the sensing region was used to determine presence before location in the sensing region as in Shen paragraphs [0071]-[0072] and [0019]. The location was determined in the sensing region using two dimensions of X and Y, or X and Y-coordinates as explained in Shen paragraph [0083]. The active input sensing mode occurred for power savings including when entering an active input sensing and presence detection mode. Therefore, meeting the claim limitations.
Applicant argues Shen, Park or Cheng did not teach reducing the frame frequency of the display layer upon entering the proximity sensing mode, including information regarding presence or absence of an approaching object is generated.
However, Shen teaches the active input sensing mode detecting presence and lack of presence of an input object and a low power mode operation during active input sensing. Cheng further teaches how a low power mode was implemented, such as configuring a long H mode where frame frequency was reduced. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 2-11, 13-16, and 18-21 in the Remarks section (pages 13-14) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a. “driving the sensor layer in a touch sensing monde; and generating coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode” should be amended to:
“driving the sensor layer in a touch sensing mode; and generating coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode” in lines 9 to lines 10 of claim 17.
b. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0401249 A1 by Shen in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0240259 A1 by Park, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0066902 A1 by Cheng and U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 A1 by Huppi.
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising: a display layer including a plurality of pixels ([0060], The display electrodes may comprise one or more elements of the active matrix display such as one or more segments of a segmented Vcom electrode (common electrode(s)), a source drive line, gate line, an anode sub-pixel electrode or cathode pixel electrode, or any other suitable display element disposed on a display screen substrate);
a sensor layer disposed on the display layer and including a plurality of first electrodes and a plurality of second electrodes ([0004], an input device comprising a plurality of sensor electrodes defining a sensing region); a display driver configured to drive the display layer (Figs. 1 and 3, display module 320; [0066], The display module 320 includes circuitry configured to provide display image update information to the display of the display device 16);
a main driver configured to control operation of the display driver and an operating of the sensor driver (Figs. 1 and 3, processing system 110 encompassing display module and sensor module; [0032] and [0062], The processing system 110 is configured to operate the hardware of the input device 100 to detect input in the sensing region 170. The processing system 110 comprises parts of or all of one or more integrated circuits (ICs) and/or other circuitry components. In some embodiments, the processing system 110 is dedicated to implementing the input device 100. In other embodiments, the processing system 110 also performs other functions, such as operating display screens, driving haptic actuators, etc.),
a sensor driver (Fig. 3, sensor module 310) configured to drive the sensor layer and to selectively operate, to selectively operate in a touch sensing mode or a proximity sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], When acquiring capacitive measurements, the sensor module 310 may operate the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 according to a selected scan mode of a plurality of scan modes 415. In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120),
during the proximity sensing mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to detect, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period comprising a touch sensing sub-period and at least one active input sensing sub-period, a presence of an active input device by a first sensor electrode of the plurality of sensor electrodes), in a first mode or a second mode different from the first mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to select, based on a location of the first sensor electrode, a first region of the plurality of regions that includes the first sensor electrode. The processing system is further configured to determine, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device using sensor electrodes of the plurality of sensor electrodes that are included in the first region.),
wherein, when the electronic device enters the proximity sensing mode, the display layer operates in an active period in which data are received from the display driver and in at least one blank period in which the data are not received ([0090], At block 625, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period partially overlapping period with the display updating. In one embodiment, these synchronization signals may be configured to allow the relatively stable voltages at the beginning and end of the input sensing period to coincide with display update periods with relatively stable voltages), and
wherein the sensor driver is configured to operate in the second mode in a period overlapping the blank period ([0092], At block 645, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device may be determined using sensor electrodes that are included in the first region during a non-display update period),
wherein the sensor driver configured to generate coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode, and to generate proximity sensing signals including information indicating whether an object is approaching in the proximity sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 as compared to in active/proximity input sensing mode, only a portion of the sensing region was used to determine presence before location as in [0019]. The location was determined in the sensing region using two dimensions of X and Y, or X and Y-coordinates as explained in [0083]).
wherein, in the proximity sensing mode, the sensor driver outputs the proximity sensing signals to the main driver, and the main driver is configured, based on the proximity sensing signals ([0032], For example, a processing system for a mutual capacitance sensor device may comprise transmitter circuitry configured to transmit signals with transmitter sensor electrodes, and/or receiver circuitry configured to receive signals with receiver sensor electrodes).
While Shen does teach non-display update periods were between display line updates and were referred to as long horizontal blanking periods and they were long enough for multiple transitions of the transmitter signal to be driven on sensor electrodes. Shen did not limit the second sensing period to happen within a non-display period.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen panels, Park teaches the touch screen panel (TSP) had an integrated circuit that detected whether a contact touch and/or a proximity touch event exists, or a position thereof. In general, the TSP 23 may be disposed to overlap with the display 21 and may generate noise due to interference from the display 21. When a noise level is low in such a TSP 23, the TSP IC 24 may scan data of a proximity touch event in the TSP 23. For this, an Input-Output (I/O) port of the TSP IC 24 is electrically connected to a pin that outputs a horizontal synchronization (H-sync horizontal blanking) signal of the display driving IC 22, and the TSP IC 24 may receive an H-sync signal from the display driving IC 22, determine a segment in which a noise level is low in the H-sync, and scan data of a proximity touch event at the TSP 23 at the segment (Park [0044]-[0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have done a presence detection during display driving and syncing and reserved a proximity detection for a H-sync period as taught by Park. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have done a proximity detection when noise is low and there was no interference from display.
Shen does not expressly teach a frame frequency of the display layer is reduced when the device enters the proximity sensing mode and a duration of the blank period increases as the frame frequency is reduced, wherein the duration of the at least one blank period is greater than or equal to a duration of the active period.
However, Shen teaches in [0061] and [0057]-[0059], In one or more embodiments, the display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information) while touch frame rate maintains constant. The coarse capacitive/proximity image may be used to move at least one of a host IC and a display driver out of a “doze” mode or low-power mode where it operated until a presence of an input object was detected.
[0064], In one embodiment, these synchronization signals may be configured to allow the relatively stable voltages at the beginning and end of the input sensing period to coincide with display update periods with relatively stable voltages (e.g., near the end of a input integrator reset time and near the end of a display charge share time). Sensing in a baseline and coarse mode at a reduced resolution meant a large reduction in input sensing periods and the corresponding display update periods.
Some examples of sensing with a reduced resolution include sensing along only one dimension (e.g., sensing using either rows or columns of the sensor electrodes 120), sensing using every other sensor electrode 120, and so forth. In some embodiments, the sensor module 310 is configured to sense with a reduced resolution while detecting a presence of an active input device (e.g., from a state in which the active input device is not present).
However, Shen did not teach the specifics of a low power mode display operation.
In the analogous art of touch and display integrated circuits, Cheng teaches the long V mode at a high frame rate (HFR) and adopt the long H mode at a low frame rate (LFR). The frame period FP3 corresponds to an LFR which is lower than the frame rate corresponding to the frame period FP2. In the extended H mode, a vertical blank period, which is not configured for display operation and thus during which no display operation occurs, is less than one-half of the frame period FP3 (Cheng Fig. 2; [0027]-[0028]). In the long H mode, display operation may be suspended/paused during a long H pause period (i.e., a touch operation sub-period) after a fixed number of gate lines is driven (or after pixel data corresponding to the gate lines is outputted) so as to perform/start/continue touch operation such as displaying only 20 out of at least 40 rows based on decreasing frame rate (Cheng [0023] and [0042]). Therefore, vertical and horizontal blank periods were greater than the active period of the display operation. It would have been obvious to have also have had a low frame mode of Shen in view of Park similarly configured in a long H mode as taught by Cheng. One having ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to have avoided noise interference that affects the touch operation or produces wrong display results when multiple touches were received in long H mode (Cheng Fig. 2; [0003] and [0023]).
However, Shen in view of Park and Cheng does not teach based on the proximity signals, to control the display driver to reduce luminance of an image on the display layer or to turn off the display layer.
However, in the analogous art of electronic devices with input sensing, Huppi teaches proximity sensing may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state) (Huppi [0005] and [0053]). The proximity sensor may continuously or periodically monitor the object location or movement data (Huppi [0039]- [0040]). It would have been obvious that the touch or touch proximate signals as taught by Park would have been used to give context to user actions such as the user placing a device near an ear or head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear The inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear (Huppi [0005] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first mode includes a touch sensing period and a first proximity sensing period ([0090], At block 625, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period and[0057], ganging together multiple sensor electrodes may produce a coarse capacitive image that may not be usable to discern precise positional information. However, a coarse capacitive image may be used to sense presence of an input object), wherein the second mode includes a second proximity sensing period, and wherein a duration of the second proximity sensing period is longer than or equal to a duration of the first proximity sensing period ([0025], the non-display update periods may occur between display line update periods for two display lines of a display frame and may be at least as long in time as the display update period. Also see [0025] where active input sensing can be prioritized for longer processing)
Regarding claim 3, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the sensor driver is configured to: operate in the first mode to obtain a plurality of referenc proximity signals ([0057], ganging together multiple sensor electrodes may produce a coarse capacitive image that may not be usable to discern precise positional information. However, a coarse capacitive image may be used to sense presence of an input object by selecting a first region); and determine whether the display layer operates in the at least one blank period based on the plurality of reference proximity signals, if so, the sensor driver transitions from operating in the first mode to operating in the second mode ([0092], At block 645, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device may be determined using sensor electrodes that are included in the first region where capacitive sensing occurred at non-display period such as a blanking period as in [0064]).
However, Shen in view of Park and Cheng does not specify temporally different reference proximity signals.
However, in the analogous art of electronic devices with input sensing, Huppi teaches proximity sensing may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state) (Huppi [0005] and [0053]). The proximity sensor may continuously or periodically (over time) monitor the object location or movement data (Huppi [0039]- [0040]). It would have been obvious that the touch or touch proximate signals as taught by Park would have been used to give context to user actions such as the user placing a device near an ear or head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear The inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear (Huppi [0005] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the plurality of reference proximity signals include a first reference proximity signal measured in a first active period, a second reference proximity signal measured in a second active period following the first active period, ([0090], During at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period. In some cases, the active input device may be detected by a plurality of adjacent sensor electrodes, and the first sensor electrode may be determined as the sensor electrode that is closest to the active input device. This constituted a first and second reference signal.
a third reference proximity signal measured in a first blank period following the second active period, and a fourth reference proximity signal measured in a second blank period following the first blank period and wherein the sensor driver determines whether the display layer operates in the at least one blank period by comparing the first to fourth reference proximity signals, and wherein, when it is determined that the display layer operates in the blank period, the sensor driver operates in the second mode from a third blank period following the second blank period ([0092] and [0099], if needed, a third active input sub-period was included in the second sensing period 525-2. Assuming that the one of the sensor electrodes Y8, Y13 represents a closest sensor electrode to the active input device (e.g., having a greatest measured signal strength) a next-closest sensor electrode (e.g., having a next-greatest measured signal strength) may be determined to whether the active input device is located to one side of the boundary 715-1, 715-2 or the other. A second sensing period could have occurred during a distributed blanking period between two display updating periods as explained in [0064] allowing one or more contiguous blanking periods to have been used).
Regarding claim 7, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second proximity sensing period overlaps a plurality of blank periods, which are contiguous ([0064], capacitive sensing and display updating may occur during non-overlapping periods, also referred to as non-display update periods. The non-display update period may be referred to as a “long horizontal blanking period,” “long h-blanking period” or a “distributed blanking period,” where the blanking period occurs between two display updating periods and is at least as long as a display update period. In one embodiment, the non-display update period occurs between display line update periods of a frame and is long enough to allow for multiple transitions of the transmitter signal to be driven onto the sensor electrodes 120. Processing system 110 may be configured to drive sensor electrodes 120 for capacitive sensing during any one or more of or any combination of the different non-display update times).
Regarding claim 8, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the main driver is configured to determine whether an image displayed in the display layer is a still image or a video ([0061]-[0062], The processing system 110 coupled to the sensor electrodes 120 includes a sensor module 310 and optionally, a display module 320 driving display. The display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information).
Regarding claim 9, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 8, wherein, when the image is the still image, a frame frequency of the display layer is set to a first frequency, wherein, when the image is the video, the frame frequency of the display layer is set to a second frequency higher than the first frequency ([0061], the display frame rate/frequency may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D video display information).
Regarding claim 11, Shen of the combination of references further teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor driver is configured to operate in synchronization with the display driver ([0061]-[0062], The processing system 110 coupled to the sensor electrodes 120 includes a sensor module 310 and optionally, a display module 320 driving display. The display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information) and capacitive rate remains constant).
Regarding claim 12, Shen teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising: a display layer including a plurality of pixels ([0060], The display electrodes may comprise one or more elements of the active matrix display such as one or more segments of a segmented Vcom electrode (common electrode(s)), a source drive line, gate line, an anode sub-pixel electrode or cathode pixel electrode, or any other suitable display element disposed on a display screen substrate) and configured to operate at a variable frame frequency including a first frame frequency and a second frame frequency lower than the first frame frequency ([0061], In one or more embodiments, the display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information);
a sensor layer disposed on the display layer ([0004], an input device comprising a plurality of sensor electrodes defining a sensing region and [0066], The display module 320 includes circuitry configured to provide display image update information to the display of the display device 16), configured to selectively operate in a touch sensing mode or a proximity sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], When acquiring capacitive measurements, the sensor module 310 may operate the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 according to a selected scan mode of a plurality of scan modes 415. In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120),
the sensor layer and to selectively operate, during the proximity sensing mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to detect, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period comprising a touch sensing sub-period and at least one active input sensing sub-period, a presence of an active input device by a first sensor electrode of the plurality of sensor electrodes), in a first mode or a second mode different from the first mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to select, based on a location of the first sensor electrode, a first region of the plurality of regions that includes the first sensor electrode. The processing system is further configured to determine, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device using sensor electrodes of the plurality of sensor electrodes that are included in the first region),
a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer ([[0062], The sensor module 310 includes circuitry configured to drive at least one of the sensor electrodes 120 for capacitive sensing during periods in which input sensing is desired),
when the electronic device enters the proximity sensing mode, a frame frequency of the display layer is reduced( [0061] and [0057]-[0059], In one or more embodiments, the display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information) while touch frame rate maintains constant. The coarse capacitive/proximity image may be used to move at least one of a host IC and a display driver out of a “doze” mode or low-power mode where it operated until a presence of an input object was detected)M ,
wherein the first mode includes a touch sensing period and a first proximity sensing period ([0090], At block 625, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period and[0057], ganging together multiple sensor electrodes may produce a coarse capacitive image that may not be usable to discern precise positional information. However, a coarse capacitive image may be used to sense presence of an input object), wherein the second mode includes a second proximity sensing period, and wherein a duration of the second proximity sensing period is longer than or equal to a duration of the first proximity sensing period ([0025], the non-display update periods may occur between display line update periods for two display lines of a display frame and may be at least as long in time as the display update period. Also see [0025] where active input sensing can be prioritized for longer processing),
wherein the sensor driver is configured to generate coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode, and to generate proximity sensing signals including information indicating whether an object is approaching in the proximity sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 as compared to in active/proximity input sensing mode, only a portion of the sensing region was used to determine presence before location as in [0019]. The location was determined in the sensing region using two dimensions of X and Y, or X and Y-coordinates as explained in [0083]).
Shen does not teach the second proximity sensing period in which a proximity of a passive object is sensed.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen panels, Park teaches the touch screen panel (TSP) had an integrated circuit that detected whether a contact touch and/or a proximity touch event exists, or a position thereof. In general, the TSP 23 may be disposed to overlap with the display 21 and may generate noise due to interference from the display 21. When a noise level is low in such a TSP 23, the TSP IC 24 may scan data of a proximity touch event in the TSP 23. For this, an Input-Output (I/O) port of the TSP IC 24 is electrically connected to a pin that outputs a horizontal synchronization (H-sync horizontal blanking) signal of the display driving IC 22, and the TSP IC 24 may receive an H-sync signal from the display driving IC 22, determine a segment in which a noise level is low in the H-sync, and scan data of a proximity touch event at the TSP 23 at the segment (Park [0044]-[0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have done a presence detection during display driving and syncing and reserved a proximity detection for a H-sync period and done a second proximity detection if the noise was high as taught by Park. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have done a proximity detection when noise is low and there was no interference from display.
However, Shen in view of Park and Cheng does not teach for sensing a predetermined gesture of a passive object without a direct touch on the electronic device, indicating whether motion of the passive object corresponds to the predetermined gesture is approaching in the proximity sensing mode.
However, in the analogous art of electronic devices with input sensing, Huppi teaches proximity sensing may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance/approach of the first proximity sensor (predetermined gesture) and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state) (Huppi [0005] and [0053]) . The proximity sensor may continuously or periodically monitor the object location or movement data (Huppi [0039]- [0040]). It would have been obvious that the touch or touch proximate signals as taught by Park would have been used to give context to user actions such as the user placing a device near an ear or head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear The inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear (Huppi [0005] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 13, Shen of the combination of references further teaches wherein, when the electronic device enters the proximity sensing mode, the display layer operates in an active period in which data are received from the display driver and a blank period in which the data are not received ([0090], At block 625, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period partially overlapping period with the display updating. In one embodiment, these synchronization signals may be configured to allow the relatively stable voltages at the beginning and end of the input sensing period to coincide with display update periods with relatively stable voltages), and
wherein the sensor driver is configured to operate in the second mode in a period overlapping the blank period ([0092], At block 645, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device may be determined using sensor electrodes that are included in the first region during a non-display update period).
While Shen does teach non-display update periods were between display line updates and were referred to as long horizontal blanking periods and they were long enough for multiple transitions of the transmitter signal to be driven on sensor electrodes. Shen did not limit the second sensing period to happen within a non-display period.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen panels, Park teaches the touch screen panel (TSP) had an integrated circuit that detected whether a contact touch and/or a proximity touch event exists, or a position thereof. In general, the TSP 23 may be disposed to overlap with the display 21 and may generate noise due to interference from the display 21. When a noise level is low in such a TSP 23, the TSP IC 24 may scan data of a proximity touch event in the TSP 23. For this, an Input-Output (I/O) port of the TSP IC 24 is electrically connected to a pin that outputs a horizontal synchronization (H-sync horizontal blanking) signal of the display driving IC 22, and the TSP IC 24 may receive an H-sync signal from the display driving IC 22, determine a segment in which a noise level is low in the H-sync, and scan data of a proximity touch event at the TSP 23 at the segment (Park [0044]-[0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have done a presence detection during display driving and syncing and reserved a proximity detection for a H-sync period as taught by Park. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have done a proximity detection when noise is low and there was no interference from display.
However, Shen did not teach the specifics of a low power mode display operation. In the analogous art of touch and display integrated circuits, Cheng teaches the long V mode at a high frame rate (HFR) and adopt the long H mode at a low frame rate (LFR). The frame period FP3 corresponds to an LFR which is lower than the frame rate corresponding to the frame period FP2. In the extended H mode, a vertical blank period, which is not configured for display operation and thus during which no display operation occurs, is less than one-half of the frame period FP3 (Cheng Fig. 2; [0027]-[0028]). In the long H mode, display operation may be suspended/paused during a long H pause period (i.e., a touch operation sub-period) after a fixed number of gate lines is driven (or after pixel data corresponding to the gate lines is outputted) so as to perform/start/continue touch operation such as displaying only 20 out of at least 40 rows based on decreasing frame rate (Cheng [0023] and [0042]). Therefore, vertical and horizontal blank periods were greater than the active period of the display operation. It would have been obvious to have also have had a low frame mode of Shen similarly configured in a long H mode as taught by Shen. One having ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to have avoided noise interference that affects the touch operation or produces wrong display results when multiple touches were received in long H mode (Cheng Fig. 2; [0003] and [0023]).
Regarding claim 14, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 15, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 16, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 8 and 9 above.
Regarding claim 17, Shen teaches a driving method of an electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising: display an image through a display layer ([0060], The display electrodes may comprise one or more elements of the active matrix display such as one or more segments of a segmented Vcom electrode (common electrode(s)), a source drive line, gate line, an anode sub-pixel electrode or cathode pixel electrode, or any other suitable display element disposed on a display screen substrate);
driving, during the proximity sensing mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to detect, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period comprising a touch sensing sub-period and at least one active input sensing sub-period, a presence of an active input device by a first sensor electrode of the plurality of sensor electrodes), sensor layer disposed on the display layer (Fig. 3, sensor module 310) in a first mode or a second mode different from the first mode ([0004], The processing system is further configured to select, based on a location of the first sensor electrode, a first region of the plurality of regions that includes the first sensor electrode. The processing system is further configured to determine, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device using sensor electrodes of the plurality of sensor electrodes that are included in the first region.), and generating proximity sensing signals including information indicating whether an object is approaching in the proximity sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 as compared to in active/proximity input sensing mode, only a portion of the sensing region was used to determine presence before location as in [0019].)
driving the sensor layer in a touch sensing mode; and generating coordinate signals corresponding to an input in the touch sensing mode ([0071]-[0072], In some embodiments, one or more of the plurality of scan modes 415 may configure the sensor module 310 to sequentially acquire capacitive measurements for touch frames and/or active input frames while detecting a presence/proximity corresponding to an entirety of the sensing region defined by the plurality of sensor electrodes 120 as compared to in active/proximity input sensing mode, only a portion of the sensing region was used to determine presence before location as in [0019]. The location was determined in the sensing region using two dimensions of X and Y, or X and Y-coordinates as explained in [0083]).
wherein the displaying of the image through the display layer includes: when the device enters the proximity sensing mode, operating in an active period during which the display layer receives data and in at least one blank period in which the display layer does not receive data ([0090], At block 625, during at least a first active input sensing sub-period of a first sensing period, the presence of an active input device may be detected by a first sensor electrode. In some embodiments, the first sensing period further comprises at least one touch sensing period partially overlapping period with the display updating. In one embodiment, these synchronization signals may be configured to allow the relatively stable voltages at the beginning and end of the input sensing period to coincide with display update periods with relatively stable voltages), and
wherein the driving of the sensing layer includes: operating in the second mode in a period overlapping in a period overlapping at least one blank period ([0092], At block 645, during at least a second active input sensing sub-period, a location of the active input device may be determined using sensor electrodes that are included in the first region during a non-display update period),
While Shen does teach non-display update periods were between display line updates and were referred to as long horizontal blanking periods and they were long enough for multiple transitions of the transmitter signal to be driven on sensor electrodes. Shen did not limit the second sensing period to happen within a non-display period.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen panels, Park teaches the touch screen panel (TSP) had an integrated circuit that detected whether a contact touch and/or a proximity touch event exists, or a position thereof. In general, the TSP 23 may be disposed to overlap with the display 21 and may generate noise due to interference from the display 21. When a noise level is low in such a TSP 23, the TSP IC 24 may scan data of a proximity touch event in the TSP 23. For this, an Input-Output (I/O) port of the TSP IC 24 is electrically connected to a pin that outputs a horizontal synchronization (H-sync horizontal blanking) signal of the display driving IC 22, and the TSP IC 24 may receive an H-sync signal from the display driving IC 22, determine a segment in which a noise level is low in the H-sync, and scan data of a proximity touch event at the TSP 23 at the segment (Park [0044]-[0045]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to have done a presence detection during display driving and syncing and reserved a proximity detection for a H-sync period as taught by Park. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have done a proximity detection when noise is low and there was no interference from display.
Shen does not expressly teach a frame frequency of the display layer is reduced when the device enters the proximity sensing mode and a duration of the blank period increases as the frame frequency is reduced, wherein the duration of the at least one blank period is greater than or equal to a duration of the active period.
However, Shen teaches in [0061] and [0057]-[0059], In one or more embodiments, the display frame rate may change (e.g., to reduce power or to provide additional image data such as a 3D display information) while touch frame rate maintains constant. The coarse capacitive/proximity image may be used to move at least one of a host IC and a display driver out of a “doze” mode or low-power mode where it operated until a presence of an input object was detected.
[0064], In one embodiment, these synchronization signals may be configured to allow the relatively stable voltages at the beginning and end of the input sensing period to coincide with display update periods with relatively stable voltages (e.g., near the end of a input integrator reset time and near the end of a display charge share time). Sensing in a baseline and coarse mode at a reduced resolution meant a large reduction in input sensing periods and the corresponding display update periods.
Some examples of sensing with a reduced resolution include sensing along only one dimension (e.g., sensing using either rows or columns of the sensor electrodes 120), sensing using every other sensor electrode 120, and so forth. In some embodiments, the sensor module 310 is configured to sense with a reduced resolution while detecting a presence of an active input device (e.g., from a state in which the active input device is not present).
However, Shen did not teach the specifics of a low power mode display operation.
In the analogous art of touch and display integrated circuits, Cheng teaches the long V mode at a high frame rate (HFR) and adopt the long H mode at a low frame rate (LFR). The frame period FP3 corresponds to an LFR which is lower than the frame rate corresponding to the frame period FP2. In the extended H mode, a vertical blank period, which is not configured for display operation and thus during which no display operation occurs, is less than one-half of the frame period FP3 (Cheng Fig. 2; [0027]-[0028]). In the long H mode, display operation may be suspended/paused during a long H pause period (i.e., a touch operation sub-period) after a fixed number of gate lines is driven (or after pixel data corresponding to the gate lines is outputted) so as to perform/start/continue touch operation such as displaying only 20 out of at least 40 rows based on decreasing frame rate (Cheng [0023] and [0042]). Therefore, vertical and horizontal blank periods were greater than the active period of the display operation. It would have been obvious to have also have had a low frame mode of Shen in view of Park similarly configured in a long H mode as taught by Cheng. One having ordinary skill in the would have been motivated to have avoided noise interference that affects the touch operation or produces wrong display results when multiple touches were received in long H mode (Cheng Fig. 2; [0003] and [0023]).
However, Shen in view of Park and Cheng does not teach entering a proximity sensing mode when the electronic device enters a call sending or call receiving state.
However, in the analogous art of electronic devices with input sensing, Huppi teaches proximity sensing may be used to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state) (Huppi [0005] and [0053]). The proximity sensor may continuously or periodically monitor the object location or movement data (Huppi [0039]- [0040]). It would have been obvious that the touch or touch proximate signals as taught by Park would have been used to give context to user actions such as the user placing a device near an ear or head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear The inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear (Huppi [0005] and [0053]).
Regarding claim 18, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 19, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 20, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 21, Shen in view of Park, Cheng and Huppi renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 1 above.
Claims 5-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0401249 A1 by Shen in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2014/0240259 A1 by Park, U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0066902 A1 by Cheng, U.S. Patent Publication 2007/0075965 by Huppi, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0125675 A1 by Van Ostrand et al. (“Van Ostrand.”)
Regarding claim 5, Shen in view of Park, Cheng, and Huppi does not teach the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the touch sensing period includes a mutual-cap sensing period and a self-cap sensing period, and wherein the second mode further includes a mutual-cap sensing period and a self-cap sensing period. While Shen teaches in [0030], As discussed above, some capacitive implementations utilize “self-capacitance” (or “absolute capacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes 120 and an input object. As discussed above, some capacitive implementations utilize “self-capacitance” (or “absolute capacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes 120 and an input object, Shen does not limit a touch sensing period to have both sensing types.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen displays, Van Ostrand teaches the an electronic grid was configured to change between mutual capacitive sensing mode, the self-capacitance sensing mode at any give time. For instance, the switch occurred in accordance to a predetermined schedule such as in a time frame (Van Ostrand [0686]- [0690]). It would have been obvious to have used both modes to detect touches in a combination sensing mode as taught by Van Ostrand in Shen’s touch sensing display. One having ordinary skill in the art would been motivated to have electrode grid control module 6530 that can select and facilitate activation of different time frame based per-electrode grid mutual/self capacitance sensing combination modes 7322, for example, based on state data 6531 performing more specific results (Van Ostrand [0692] and [0405]).
Regarding claim 6, , Shen in view of Park, Cheng, and Huppi does not teach the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the second mode further includes a mutual-cap sensing period and a self-cap sensing period. While Shen teaches in [0030], As discussed above, some capacitive implementations utilize “self-capacitance” (or “absolute capacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes 120 and an input object. As discussed above, some capacitive implementations utilize “self-capacitance” (or “absolute capacitance”) sensing methods based on changes in the capacitive coupling between sensor electrodes 120 and an input object, Shen does not limit a touch sensing period to have both sensing types.
However, in the analogous art of touch screen displays, Van Ostrand teaches the an electronic grid was configured to change between mutual capacitive sensing mode, the self-capacitance sensing mode at any give time. For instance, the switch occurred in accordance to a predetermined schedule such as in a time frame (Van Ostrand [0686]- [0690]). It would have been obvious to have used both modes to detect touches in a combination sensing mode as taught by Van Ostrand in Shen’s touch sensing display. One having ordinary skill in the art would been motivated to have electrode grid control module 6530 that can select and facilitate activation of different time frame based per-electrode grid mutual/self capacitance sensing combination modes 7322, for example, based on state data 6531 performing more specific results (Van Ostrand [0692] and [0405]).
However, Shen in view of Park and Cheng does not teach the second mode includes a second proximity sensing period longer than the first proximity sensing period, and wherein the sensor driver is driven separately without synchronization with the display driver.
However, in the analogous art of electronic devices with input sensing, Huppi teaches multiple different proximity sensors to have been used (more than the touch connected to display driver) to detect a user's head or ear being within a certain distance of the first proximity sensor and to cause an illumination setting of displays 93 and 88 to be changed automatically in response to this detecting (e.g. the illumination for both displays are turned off or otherwise set in a reduced power state) (Huppi [0005] and [0053]). The proximity sensor may continuously or periodically monitor the object location or movement data (Huppi [0039]- [0040]). Further, Huppi taught the processing device may be used to calculate touches on the touch panel. The display/input device 54 can use the detected touch (e.g., blob or blobs from a user's face) data to, for example, identify the location of certain objects and to also identify the type of object touching (or nearly touching) the display/input device 54.The data acquired from the proximity sensor 62 and the display/input device 54 can be combined (different sensing period times) to gather information about the user's activities as described herein. The data from the proximity sensor 62 and the display/input device 54 can be used to change one or more settings of the portable device 50, such as, for example, change an illumination setting of the display/input device 54 (Huppi [0050] and [0051]).It would have been obvious that the touch or touch proximate signals as taught by Park would have been used to give context to user actions such as the user placing a device near an ear or head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prevent the inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear The inadvertent entry of an input is particularly troublesome for a touch screen device, especially one which may receive an inadvertent input when a user has the portable device placed next to the user's ear (Huppi [0005] and [0053]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2015/0220194 A1 by Lin et al. teaches intra frame pauses in which touch detection occurred between display driving.
U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0150805 A by Kim et al. teaches a display device 100 rapidly changed the driving mode from the low power driving mode to the normal driving mode by detecting the proximity as a low power proximity sensing mode of a conductive object before the touch of conductive object. In low power mode, the display had a second display frame lower than the first display frame rate of the normal driving mode, thereby reducing the power consumption.
U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0046006 A1 by Kim et al. teaches a timing controller that determine whether the presence of a touch input, and can be switched to the second drive mode from the first driving mode to the touch input sensing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621