DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-9, 13-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 4250348, Kitagawa.
Note, the conduit is not considered part of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses a compression coupling assembly for joining to a conduit, the compression coupling assembly comprising: a coupling body (1) having a first end portion and a central portion (2), wherein the coupling body is configured to receive the conduit through the first end portion, the first end portion having a threaded portion (4) on an outer surface of the coupling body, and a plurality of spaced-apart teeth (7) extending axially away from the first end portion and the central portion, wherein each of the teeth has a distal end portion (12) located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body; and a compression nut (16), the compression nut having an inner thread (17) and an inner protrusion (19), the inner thread being configured to thread on the threaded portion of the coupling body, the inner protrusion having a leading surface that is configured to compress against and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart teeth around an outer surface of the at least one conduit when the at least one conduit is received in the coupling body.
In regards to claim 5, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the coupling body has a second end portion located opposite the first end portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to be inserted into an electrical panel.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the coupling body and the compression nut extend along a longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the plurality of spaced-apart teeth extend axially away from the threaded portion and the central portion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 2-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses an outer surface of the compression nut includes a plurality of flats formed therein.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the plurality of flats are formed within the central portion of the outer surface of the compression nut.
In regards to claim 13, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the compression nut further includes an inwardly sloped flange and a trailing surface.
In regards to claim 14, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the trailing surface (18) is located between the inwardly sloped flange and the protrusion.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the inwardly sloped flange forms a boundary for an opening.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 3-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Kitagawa discloses the leading surface is free from engagement with the distal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20140252760, Paul.
Note, the conduit is not considered part of the claimed invention.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses a compression coupling assembly for joining to a conduit, the compression coupling assembly comprising: a coupling body (12) having a first end portion and a central portion (20), wherein the coupling body is configured to receive the conduit through the first end portion, the first end portion having a threaded portion (38a) on an outer surface of the coupling body, and a plurality of spaced-apart teeth (22a) extending axially away from the first end portion and the central portion, wherein each of the teeth has a distal end portion (32a) located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body; and a compression nut (16a), the compression nut having an inner thread (77a) and an inner protrusion (79a), the inner thread being configured to thread on the threaded portion of the coupling body, the inner protrusion having a leading surface that is configured to compress against and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart teeth when the inner thread is threadably tightened on the threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart teeth around an outer surface of the at least one conduit when the at least one conduit is received in the coupling body.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the coupling body has a second end portion located opposite the first end portion, wherein the coupling body is configured to receive a second conduit through the second end portion.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the second end portion includes a second threaded portion on the outer surface of the coupling body, the coupling body further including a plurality of spaced-apart second teeth (22b) extending away from the second threaded portion (38b) and the central portion of the coupling body, wherein each of the second teeth has a distal end portion (32b) located furthest away from the central portion of the coupling body, and a proximal end portion located between the distal end portion and the central portion of the coupling body.
In regards to claim 4, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the assembly further includes a second compression nut (16b), the second compression nut having a second inner thread (77b) and a second inner protrusion (79b), the second inner thread being configured to thread on the second threaded portion of the coupling body, the second inner protrusion having a leading surface that is configured to engage with and apply a radially inward force to the proximal end portion of each of the plurality of spaced-apart second teeth when the second inner thread is threadably tightened on the second threaded portion of the coupling body, thereby compressing the plurality of spaced-apart second teeth around being configured to compress an outer surface of a second conduit when the second conduit is received in the coupling body.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses discloses the coupling body and the compression nut extend along a longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 7, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the plurality of spaced-apart teeth extend axially away from the threaded portion and the central portion.
In regards to claim 8, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses an outer surface of the compression nut includes a plurality of flats formed therein.
In regards to claim 9, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the plurality of flats are formed within the central portion of the outer surface of the compression nut.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses at least one stop (14) is formed on an inner surface of the central portion of the coupling body.
In regards to claim 11, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the at least one stop protrudes radially inward.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 2-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Paul discloses the at least one stop is configured to engage with the at least one conduit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679