DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This is the first office action in response to Claims filed on 01/26/2026.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Drawings
MPEP 2125 states:
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP § 2121.04 for more information on prior art drawings as “enabled disclosures.” (MPEP 2125).
The drawings are objected to because the drawings are shaded, dark, or hard to read. The drawings should be in black and white. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121 (d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-13 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9: L. 2 “that was the subject of” should be “subjected to”; and
Claims 10-13 are also objected for being dependent on objected Claims;
Appropriate correction required and claims are interpreted as indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferrigno (US 5,735,044)
Regarding Claim 1: Ferrigno discloses a method (see Abstract) of weld repairing (see Abstract) a cast component (component of 8; Fig. 1), comprising: identifying a repair zone (48; Fig. 1) on the cast component, wherein the repair zone represents a region of a cast substrate (see annotated figure ‘044) of the cast component requiring a directed energy deposition repair operation (col. 8 l. 37-39, Abstract wherein repair is done by weld repair); performing a surface preparation operation on the repair zone (see Figs. 2-3) before performing the directed energy deposition repair operation, wherein the surface preparation operation imparts a pre-selected level of compressive residual stress to the repair zone (Col. 1 L. 31-33); and performing the directed energy deposition repair operation on the repair zone without formation of microcracks (see Col. 5 L. 32-49 wherein wear resistance is increased and thus microcrack) in a heat affected zone (zone around crack see Fig. 1) adjacent to the repair zone, wherein the directed energy deposition repair operation includes formation of a directed energy deposition deposit on the cast substrate (col. 8 l. 37-39, Abstract wherein repair is done by weld repair).
Regarding Claim 2: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the cast component comprises a superalloy material (Col. 1 L. 60).
Regarding Claim 4: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the directed energy deposition repair operation is a weld repair (col. 8 l. 37-39, Abstract wherein repair is done by weld repair).
Regarding Claim 5: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the surface preparation operation comprises exposing the repair zone to laser-induced heating (Col. 4 L. 36-41) to impart the pre-selected level of compressive residual stress to the repair zone.
Regarding Claim 6: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the surface preparation operation comprises a mechanical process to impart the pre-selected level of compressive residual stress to the repair zone (LSP; Abstract; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 7: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 6, as stated above, and further discloses the mechanical process is one of grit blasting, shot peening, laser shock peening (LSP; Abstract; Figs. 2-3), grinding, or machining.
Regarding Claim 8: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the directed energy deposition repair operation forms fine recrystallized grains (Col. 4 L 15- 20, L. 24-28 wherein the method has for goal to recreate the crystal lost during repair)at an interface (see annotated figure ‘044) between the cast substrate and a directed energy deposition deposit (42; Figs. 3-4), wherein the fine recrystallized grains inhibit formation of microcracks in the heat affected zone (the formation of crystals that repeating structure oriented in the same direction limit microcracks ).
Regarding Claim 9: Ferrigno discloses A cast component (component of 8; Fig. 1), comprising: a cast substrate (see annotated figure ‘044) having a repair zone (48; Fig. 1) that was the subject of a directed energy deposition repair operation (col. 8 l. 37-39, Abstract wherein repair is done by weld repair); and a directed energy deposition deposit (42; Figs. 2-4) on the cast substrate, wherein a heat affected zone (zone around crack see Fig. 1) adjacent to the repair zone is substantially free of microcracks (see Col. 5 L. 32-49 wherein wear resistance is increased and thus microcrack) formed during the directed energy deposition repair operation.
Regarding Claim 10: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the cast component comprises a superalloy material (Col. 1 L. 60).
Regarding Claim 12: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and further discloses wherein the directed energy deposition repair operation is a weld repair (col. 8 l. 37-39, Abstract wherein repair is done by weld repair).
Regarding Claim 13: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 9, as stated above, and further disclosesthe heat affected zone (the formation of crystals that repeating structure oriented in the same direction limit microcracks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Ferrigno (US 5,735,044) in view of Srinivasan (WO 2019/014445).
Regarding Claim 3: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as stated above, but is silent regarding wherein the superalloy material is IN718 or MAR-M247.
However, Srinivasan teaches a gas turbine article (100; Fig. 1) made from a super alloy wherein the superalloy material is IN718 or MAR-M247 ([0041])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the alloy of Ferrigno, to have the superalloy material being IN718 or MAR-M247, as taught by Srinivasan. Such a modification would enable to have a heat resistant and easily available alloy.
Regarding Claim 11: Ferrigno discloses all the limitations of Claim 10, as stated above, but is silent regarding wherein the superalloy material is IN718 or MAR-M247.
However, Srinivasan teaches a gas turbine article (100; Fig. 1) made from a super alloy wherein the superalloy material is IN718 or MAR-M247 ([0041])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the alloy of Ferrigno, to have the superalloy material being IN718 or MAR-M247, as taught by Srinivasan. Such a modification would enable to have a heat resistant and easily available alloy.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see notice of references cited.
/RODOLPHE ANDRE CHABREYRIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761