Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 05/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et. Al. (US 20230025541 A1 hereinafter Hu).
Regarding claim 9, Hu teaches in Figs. 1A-1C with associated text a stack type semiconductor device comprising:
a first semiconductor structure (lowest chip 102) having a first surface (upper surface S2) and a
second surface (lower surface S1) opposite to the first surface, the first semiconductor
structure including at least one memory component 106 on the first surface [0039]
and a logic circuit layer 150 on the second surface (Fig. 1A, [0054]); and
a second semiconductor structure (102 over the first semiconductor structure) having a third surface S1 and a fourth surface S2 opposite to the third surface, the second semiconductor
structure including a control circuit layer 104 integrated on the third surface to control the at least one memory component (Fig. 1C, [0050]),
wherein the first semiconductor structure and the second semiconductor structure are hybrid-bonded to face the at least one memory component and the control circuit layer (Fig. 1C, [0050]).
Regarding claim 10, Hu teaches the at least one memory component comprises a plurality of capacitors 106 (Fig. 1C, [0047]),
and the control circuit layer comprises a plurality of access transistors
configured to selectively transmit data to the plurality of capacitors (Fig. 1C, [0050]).
Regarding claim 11, Hu teaches the first semiconductor structure further comprises a first bonding layer (146, 142 and 144) positioned on the at least one memory component and hybrid-bonded to the second semiconductor structure (Fig. 1C, [0051]), and
wherein the first bonding layer comprises: a plurality of first bonding pads 142 electrically connected to the at least one memory component (Fig. 1C, [0049]); and
a first bonding insulation layer 146 configured to electrically isolate the plurality of first bonding pads from each other (Fig. 1C, [0049]).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches the second semiconductor structure further comprises a second bonding layer (130 and 126) positioned on the control circuit layer (Fig. 1C, [0046]), and
wherein the second bonding layer comprises: a plurality of second bonding pads 126 electrically connected to the control circuit layer and bonded to the plurality of first bonding pads (Fig. 1C, [0051]);
and
a second bonding insulation layer 130 configured to electrically isolate the plurality of second bonding pads from each other (Fig. 1C, [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu as applied to claim 9 and further in view of Yokoyama et. Al. (US 20190363129 A1 hereinafter Yokoyama).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches in Fig. 1 with associated text a the stack type semiconductor device of claim 10.
Hu does not specify the logic circuit layer comprises at least one of an arithmetic and logic circuit for calculating data in the at least one memory component, a data pipeline circuit, an interface circuit for receiving and processing an external signal, and at least one analog element.
Yokoyama teaches in Fig. 1 with associated text a logic circuit layer 200 similar to that of Hu wherein the logic circuit layer comprises at least one of an arithmetic and logic circuit for calculating data in the at least one memory component, a data pipeline circuit, an interface circuit for receiving and processing an external signal, and at least one analog element (analog circuit [0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use at least one of an arithmetic and logic circuit for calculating data in the at least one memory component, a data pipeline circuit, an interface circuit for receiving and processing an external signal, and at least one analog element in the logic circuit of Hu as taught by Yokoyama because according to Yokoyama a logic circuit block and an analog circuit that configure a functional circuit are typically mounted as the other circuits 220 in addition to the peripheral circuit 210 [0100].
Conclusion
/AARON J GRAY/Examiner, Art Unit 2897