DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 7/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are canceled from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Luo et al (US 2022/0406719; hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claim 10, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses a memory device comprising:
a stack structure (152/104; Fig 1K) comprising tiers each comprising a conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) and an insulative structure (104; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) vertically neighboring the conductive structure;
staircase structures (105; Fig 1K; ¶ [0032]) comprising steps comprising horizontal edges of the tiers, the steps individually defined by more than one of the tiers (Fig 1K);
a first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) in contact with a vertically uppermost conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) of one of the steps;
a second conductive contact structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) in contact with a vertically uppermost conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) of the one of the steps, the second conductive structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) farther from a horizontal center of the one of the steps in a first horizontal direction than the first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]); and
strings of memory cells (165; Fig 1K; ¶ [0077]) vertically extending through portions of the stack structure (152/104; Fig 1K) neighboring the staircase structures in a second horizontal direction.
Regarding claim 11, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses pillar structures (150; Fig 1K; ¶ [0056]) vertically extending through the stack structure at the horizontal edges of the tiers. (Fig 1K)
Regarding claim 12, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses a first portion of each of the pillar structures (150; Fig 1K; ¶ [0056]) is located outside of horizontal boundaries of the steps in the second horizontal direction and a second portion of the pillar structures are located within horizontal boundaries of the steps in the second horizontal direction. (Fig 1K)
Regarding claim 13, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses a slot structure (160; Fig 1H; 2; ¶ [0069]) horizontally extending through the memory device in second first horizontal direction and separating the memory device into block structures (162; Fig 1H; ¶ [0070]) each individually comprising some of the staircase structure.
Regarding claim 14, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses the first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) is located closer (Fig 1H) to the slot structure (160; Fig 1H; 2; ¶ [0069]) than the second conductive contact structure. (Figs 1H-1K, 2)
Regarding claim 15, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses the first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) and the second conductive contact structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) individually comprise a contact connection region (Fig 1K, 2) vertically between the one of the steps and a vertically uppermost surface of the stack structure (Fig 2).
Regarding claim 16, Fig 1K and 2 of Luo discloses the first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) and the second conductive contact structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) individually horizontally extend in the first horizontal direction within the contact connection region (Figs 1K, 2).
Regarding claim 17, Fig 1K and 2-3 of Luo discloses an electronic system (Fig 3) comprising:
an input device (Fig 3);
an output device (Fig 3);
a processor device (Fig 3) operably coupled to the input device and the output device; and
a memory device (Fig 3) operably coupled to the processor device (Fig 3) and comprising at least one microelectronic device, the at least one microelectronic device comprising:
a stack structure (152/104; Fig 1K) comprising tiers each comprising a conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) and an insulative structure (104; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) vertically neighboring the conductive structure;
staircase structures (105; Fig 1K; ¶ [0032]) comprising steps comprising horizontal edges of the tiers, the steps individually defined by more than one of the tiers (Fig 1K);
a first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) in contact with a vertically uppermost conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) of one of the steps;
a second conductive contact structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) in contact with a vertically uppermost conductive structure (156; Fig 1K; ¶ [0068]) of the one of the steps, the second conductive structure (180; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) farther from a horizontal center of the one of the steps in a first horizontal direction than the first conductive contact structure (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]); and
strings of memory cells (165; Fig 1K; ¶ [0077]) vertically extending through portions of the stack structure (152/104; Fig 1K) neighboring the staircase structures in a second horizontal direction.
Regarding claim 18, Fig 1K and 2-3 of Luo discloses the each of the steps are defined by horizontal edges of three of the tiers (Fig 1K).
Regarding claim 19, Fig 1K and 2-3 of Luo discloses the conductive contact structures (182; Fig 1K; ¶ [0088]) in contact with portions of vertically uppermost conductive structures defining the steps are located farther from a center of the staircase structure (Fig 1K) than the conductive contact structures in contact with vertically lowermost conductive structures defining the steps (Fig 1K).
Regarding claim 20, Fig 1K and 2-3 of Luo discloses each conductive level of each steps is individually in contact with two of the conductive contact structures (Fig 1K).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al (US 2017/0256551)
Park (US 10396035)
/RATISHA MEHTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817