Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2018/0267404 A1), hereinafter Kaneko, in view of Miyoshi et al. (World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Publication No. WO 2020/045534 A1; utilizing United States Patent Publication No. US 2021/0165325 A1 as an English language equivalent), hereinafter Miyoshi.
4. Regarding Claims 1-19, Kaneko teaches (Abstract) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively) a resin having a repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid, wherein the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising photoacid generator B-1) a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation, therein a photoacid generator. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively) the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application, wherein L101 in general formula (a) of the present application is a phenylene group. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental composition N4 comprising resin A-2) the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application, wherein a total number of carbon atoms included in R104 to R106 in the general formula (a) of the present application is 6. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental composition N129 comprising resin A-51) the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application, wherein a total number of carbon atoms included in R104 to R106 in the general formula (a) of the present application is 13. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively) the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application, wherein at least one of R104 to R106 in the general formula (a) represents a group having a cyclic group. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental composition N4 comprising resin A-2) the repeating unit is represented by a general formula (a) of the present application, wherein two among R104 to R106 in the general formula (a) are linked together to form a ring. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively, comprising p-hydroxystyrene and 3,4-dihydroxystyrene, respectively) wherein the resin further includes a repeating unit represented by a general formula (c) of the present application. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively, comprising p-hydroxystyrene and 3,4-dihydroxystyrene, respectively) wherein L in the general formula (c) of the present application is a single bond. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively, comprising p-hydroxystyrene and 3,4-dihydroxystyrene, respectively) wherein Ar in the general formula (c) of the present application is a phenylene group. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively) wherein a content of the repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid is 50 mass % and 20 mass %, respectively for experimental resins A-2 and A-51, relative to a total mass of the resin. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising resins A-2 and A-51, respectively) wherein a mass ratio (repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid / a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation) of the repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid included in the resin to the compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation, the resin and the compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation being included in the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition, is 1.925 and 0.77, respectively for experimental compositions N4 and N129. Therein, in both compositions the mass of the total resin is 0.77 g and the mass of the compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation is 0.2 g. Given that the content of the repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid is 50 mass % and 20 mass %, respectively for experimental resins A-2 and A-51 in experimental compositions N4 and N129, respectively, the mass of the repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid 0.385 and 0.154 respectively for experimental resins A-2 and A-51 in experimental compositions N4 and N129, respectively. Thus, the mass ratio (repeating unit having a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to generate a carboxylic acid / a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation) is 1.925 and 0.77, respectively for experimental compositions N4 and N129. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0575-0576]) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film formed from the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0579-0581]) exposing the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film. Kaneko teaches (Paragraphs [0584-0585]) developing the exposed actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive film with a developer. Kaneko teaches (Paragraph [0007]) a method for producing an electronic device, wherein the method for producing an electronic device comprises the pattern forming method.
5. However, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation is represented by a general formula (1) of the present application. That said, Kaneko does teach, particularly experimental compositions N4 and N129 comprising photoacid generator B-1 (Paragraphs [0536-0568], Tables 3-18) a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation that is within the scope of general formula (1) of the present application, save for teaching 2, 4, 6-cyclohexane substitutions of a benzene sulfonate instead of the 2, 4, 6-phenyl substitutions within the scope of general formula (1) of the present application. Furthermore, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R3 represents an aryl group. Furthermore, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, at least one of R1 to R5 is a group including a polar group, a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to provide increased polarity, or a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an alkali developer to provide an increased degree of solubility in the alkali developer. Furthermore, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar) of the present application. Furthermore, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar1) of the present application. Furthermore, Kaneko fails to explicitly disclose wherein the acid generated from the compound (B) upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation has a pKa of −10 or more and 5 or less.
6. Kaneko teaches (Abstract, Paragraphs [0020, 0066, and 0234]) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition containing a resin having a solubility in an alkali developer that increases through decomposition by an action of an acid and a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation. Miyoshi teaches (Abstract) an actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition containing a resin having a solubility in an alkali developer that increases through decomposition by an action of an acid and a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 1) a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation is represented by a general formula (1) of the present application. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 2) wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R3 represents an aryl group. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 3) wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, at least one of R1 to R5 is a group including a polar group, a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to provide increased polarity, or a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an alkali developer to provide an increased degree of solubility in the alkali developer. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 4) wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar) of the present application. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 5) wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar1) of the present application. Miyoshi teaches (Claim 6) wherein the acid generated from the compound (B) upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation has a pKa of −10 or more and 5 or less. Miyoshi teaches (Paragraphs [0007-0008]) the actinic ray-sensitive or radiation-sensitive resin composition comprising the compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with actinic rays or radiation achieves an improvement in resolving power and a reduction of development defects.
7. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present claimed invention to have modified Kaneko in view of Miyoshi to comprise a compound that generates an acid upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation which is represented by a general formula (1) of the present application; wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R3 represents an aryl group; wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, at least one of R1 to R5 is a group including a polar group, a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an acid to provide increased polarity, or a group including a group that is decomposed by an action of an alkali developer to provide an increased degree of solubility in the alkali developer; wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar) of the present application; wherein, in the general formula (1) of the present application, R1, R3, and R5 are each a group represented by a general formula (Ar1) of the present application; and wherein the acid generated from the compound (B) upon irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation has a pKa of −10 or more and 5 or less. Doing so would result in an improvement in resolving power and a reduction of development defects, as understood by Miyoshi.
Conclusion
/RICHARD DAVID CHAMPION/Examiner, Art Unit 1737