DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 03/04/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Iwasaki et al. (PG Pub 2019/0273122; hereinafter Iwasaki) and Nakano (PG Pub 2021/0223603).
Regarding claim 1, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4 provided above and Fig. 6, Iwasaki teaches a display device comprising:
a first substrate 10, wherein the first substrate includes:
a support substrate 11 including a substrate surface (top surface) being a surface at a side facing the second substrate (see Fig. 4),
a plurality of light-emitting elements 30 provided at a substrate 11 surface side of the support substrate,
a first color filter (e.g. 36g) provided at a second substrate side of a first light-emitting element of the plurality of light-emitting elements,
a second color filter (e.g 36r) provided at a second substrate side of a second light-emitting element of the plurality of light-emitting elements and having a color different from that of the first color filter (red not green),
a light-shielding layer 36s (see Fig. 6) provided at the substrate surface side of the support substrate, surrounding the plurality of light-emitting elements in a plan view, and including a first layer 36g made of a same material as that of the first color filter (see Fig. 6) and a second layer 36r made of a same material as that of the second color filter (see Fig. 6), and
a second substrate 110 arranged facing the first substrate and having a light-transmitting property (para [0064]),
an adhesive 41 is provided, and the second substrate is bonded to the first substrate via the adhesive (see Fig. 4).
Although, Iwasaki teaches light-shielding layer, he does not teach a wall portion provided at a side of the light-shielding layer opposite to the support substrate, and surrounding the plurality of light-emitting elements in the plan view; and an adhesive is provided at an inner side of the wall portion in the plan view.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 3-provided above, Nakano teaches a display device comprising: a support substrate (Sub1); a second substrate (SUB2); a wall portion CN provided at a side of a light-shielding layer 21 opposite to the support substrate, and surrounding a light-emitting element (DA) in the plan view (see Fig. 3); and an adhesive SE is provided at an inner side of the wall portion in the plan view (see Fig. 3).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a seal over the light-shielding layer of Iwasaki, as taught by Nakano, to protect the device from moisture.
Regarding claim 2, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Iwasaki and Nakano, Nakano teaches the second substrate (SUB2) is provided at the inner side of the wall portion CN in the plan view (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Iwasaki and Nakano, Nakano teaches an outer edge of the second substrate (e.g. right side of SUB2) includes a first side in the plan view (see Fig. 3) and an inner edge of the wall portion (inner side of CN on right side of Fig. 3) includes a second side being parallel to the first side and facing the first side (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Iwasaki and Nakano, Nakano teaches the wall portion CN has a light-transmitting property (para [0051]).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Iwasaki and Nakano, Nakano teaches the wall portion CN has a light-shielding property (para [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Iwasaki and Nakano, Iwasaki teaches the first substrate 10 includes a third color filter 36b provided at a second substrate side 40 of a third light-emitting element 18b of the plurality of light-emitting elements 18 and having a color (blue) different from those of the first color filter (green) and the second color filter (red), and the light-shielding layer 25 includes a third layer 36b made of a same material as that of the third color filter (see Fig. 4).
2. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwasaki and Nakano, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okuzono et al. (PG Pub 2021/0343978; hereinafter Okuzuno).
Regarding claim 8, refer to the figures cited above, Iwasaki and Nakano teach the display device according to claim 1 (see claim 1). They do not explicitly teach an electronic apparatus comprising the display device.
In the same field of endeavor, Okuzono teaches an electronic apparatus comprising a display device (abstract).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display device of claim 1 into an electronic apparatus, as taught by Okuzono, to provide a visual display of information to the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
3. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 6, the first substrate includes an alignment mark, and the wall portion and the light-shielding layer do not overlap with the alignment mark in the plan view.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817