DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–15 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0170641 A1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 29 January 2024 and 01 December 2024 were filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submissions comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The numbers, letters, and/or reference characters of FIGS. 1–4 are not at least 0.32 cm (1/8 inch) in height. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least 0.32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height. See 37 CFR 1.84 (p)(3).
The view numbers of FIGS. 5–9 are not larger than the letters, numbers, and reference characters used in the drawing. The view numbers must be larger than the numbers used for reference characters. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(2).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: SECONDARY BATTERY INCLUDING WITH NEGATIVE ELECTRODE WITH SUPPLMENTAL LITHIUM AND BATTERY MODULE, BATTERY PACK, AND ELECTRIC APPARATUS CONTAINING THE SAME.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character 13b is referred to as a surface in paragraph [0061]. Reference character 13a is used to designate a first surface; and reference character 13b is used to designate a second surface. Reference character 13b should be referred to as a second surface in paragraph [0061].
The use of the term Ketjen black (e.g., [0127]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term is not accompanied by the generic terminology and does not include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce (e.g., ™, SM , or ® ). The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Reference character 5 is referred to as a cover plate in paragraph [0146]. Reference character 5 is used to designate a secondary battery; and reference character 53 is used to designate a cover plate. Reference character 53 should be used to designate a cover plate in paragraph [0146].
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "its length direction" in line 3. It is unclear what the term "its" is referring.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "its width direction" in line 5. It is unclear what the term "its" is referring.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1–10, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan et al. (US 2018/0374656 A1, hereinafter Yan).
Regarding claim 1, Yan discloses a secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode film layer; a separator (FIG. 3, [0130]); and a negative electrode plate (FIG. 2, [0129]) comprising
a first negative electrode film layer (see NE active layer, [0128]),
the first negative electrode film layer being provided opposite the positive electrode film layer with the separator therebetween (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
a second negative electrode film layer (see double-side, [0128]),
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a negative electrode film layer not provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 2, [0129]),
wherein a lithium source used for supplementing lithium to the first negative electrode film layer is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the second negative electrode film layer (see Li strips, [0129]).
Regarding claim 2, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein an equivalent circular area diameter R of the second negative electrode film layer and an equivalent circular area diameter R1 of the peripheral region satisfy 0.257R ≤ R1 ≤ 0.9434R (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses an equivalent circular area diameter R and an equivalent circular area diameter R1 of the peripheral region that satisfies 0.257R ≤ R1 ≤ 0.9434R.
Regarding claim 3, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the peripheral region has a first portion and a second portion surrounding the first portion (FIG. 2, [0129]),
an equivalent circular area diameter R2 of the second portion satisfying 0 < R2 < R1 (FIG. 2, [0129]),
wherein the lithium source is stored in the first portion (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses an equivalent circular area diameter R2 of the second portion satisfies 0 < R2 < R1.
Regarding claim 4, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the first portion is annular (FIG. 2, [0129]), and
a minimum distance d1 between an outer contour line of the first portion and an edge of the second negative electrode film layer and width d0 of the second negative electrode film layer satisfy 0 < d1 ≤ d0/6 (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses the second negative electrode film layer satisfies 0 < d1 ≤ d0/6.
Regarding claim 5, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the secondary battery satisfies d3 ≤ d2 ≤ d0/6 (FIG. 2, [0129]),
wherein d2 represents a minimum distance between the outer contour line and sides of the second negative electrode film layer in its length direction (FIG. 2, [0129]), and
d3 represents a minimum distance between the outer contour line and sides of the second negative electrode film layer in its width direction (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses the secondary battery satisfies d3 ≤ d2 ≤ d0/6
Regarding claim 6, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the first portion is a hollow rectangle (FIG. 2, [0129]), and
the first portion satisfies 0 < d4 ≤ d0/3 (FIG. 2, [0129]),
d4 representing width of the first portion in the width direction of the second negative electrode film layer; and/or 0 < d5 ≤ l0/3 (FIG. 2, [0129]),
d5 representing width of the first portion in the length direction of the second negative electrode film layer (FIG. 2, [0129]), and
l0 representing length of the second negative electrode film layer (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses the first portion satisfies 0 < d4 ≤ d0/3 and 0 < d5 ≤ l0/3.
Regarding claim 7, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the secondary battery satisfies at least one of the following (1) 1 mm ≤ d2 ≤ 5 mm; (2) (l0-10 mm) ≤ l1 ≤ (l0-2 mm), l1 representing length of the outer contour line; (3) 10 mm ≤ d4 < 5 mm; (4) 1 mm ≤ d3 < 5 mm; (5) (d0-10 mm) ≤ l2 ≤ (d0-2 mm), l2 representing width of the outer contour line; (6) 10 mm ≤ d5 ≤ d4; and (7) the lithium source is annularly distributed on the first portion (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Regarding claim 8, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein an area S1 of the second negative electrode film layer with the lithium source stored and an area S2 of the peripheral region satisfy 10% ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 100% (FIG. 2, [0129]).
Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Yan discloses the second negative electrode film layer satisfies 10% ≤ S1/S2 ≤ 100%.
Regarding claim 9, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the lithium source comprises at least one of lithium metal, a lithium alloy, a composite of lithium metal and a negative electrode active material, and a composite of an aluminum alloy and a negative electrode active material; wherein optionally, the lithium alloy comprises at least one of a silicon-lithium alloy, an aluminum-lithium alloy, a magnesium-lithium alloy, and a tin-lithium alloy (see Li strips, [0129]).
Regarding claim 10, Yan discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the secondary battery satisfies 20% C0 ≤ CLi ≤ 120% C0 (FIG. 3, [0129]),
wherein C0 represents active substance capacity per unit area of the second negative electrode film layer (FIG. 3, [0129]), and
CLi represents capacity per unit area of the lithium source (FIG. 3, [0129]).
Yan discloses a mass ratio of the lithium source and active substance (see mass ratio, [0129]); and Yan illustrates the negative electrode plate drawn to scale (FIG. 2, [0129]). Y. Based on the theoretical capacity of the active substance (i.e., 372 mAh/g) and the lithium source (i.e., 3680 mAh/g), Yan discloses the secondary battery satisfies 20% C0 ≤ CLi ≤ 120% C0.
Regarding claim 14, Yan discloses a battery pack, comprising a secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode film layer; a separator (FIG. 3, [0130]); and a negative electrode plate (FIG. 2, [0129]) comprising
a first negative electrode film layer (see NE active layer, [0128]),
the first negative electrode film layer being provided opposite the positive electrode film layer with the separator therebetween (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
a second negative electrode film layer (see double-side, [0128]),
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a negative electrode film layer not provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 2, [0129]),
wherein a lithium source used for supplementing lithium to the first negative electrode film layer is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the second negative electrode film layer (see Li strips, [0129]).
Regarding claim 15, Yan discloses an electric apparatus, comprising a secondary battery, comprising a positive electrode plate comprising a positive electrode film layer; a separator (FIG. 3, [0130]); and a negative electrode plate (FIG. 2, [0129]) comprising
a first negative electrode film layer (see NE active layer, [0128]),
the first negative electrode film layer being provided opposite the positive electrode film layer with the separator therebetween (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
a second negative electrode film layer (see double-side, [0128]),
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a negative electrode film layer not provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (FIG. 3, [0130]), and
the second negative electrode film layer comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 2, [0129]),
wherein a lithium source used for supplementing lithium to the first negative electrode film layer is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the second negative electrode film layer (see Li strips, [0129]).
Claims 1 and 11–13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taguchi et al. (US 2011/0256438 A1, hereinafter Taguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Taguchi discloses a secondary battery (10), comprising a positive electrode plate (11) comprising a positive electrode film layer (11b, [0097]); a separator (13A); and a negative electrode plate (12, FIG. 1) comprising
a first negative electrode film layer (12b, [0097]),
the first negative electrode film layer (12b) being provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (11b) with the separator (13A) therebetween (FIG. 1, [0077]), and
a second negative electrode film layer (12b, [0097]),
the second negative electrode film layer (12b) comprising a negative electrode film layer not provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (11b, FIG. 1), and
the second negative electrode film layer (12b) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 1, [0073]),
wherein a lithium source (16A) used for supplementing lithium to the first negative electrode film layer (12b) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the second negative electrode film layer (12b, [0074]).
Regarding claim 11, Taguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein the secondary battery (10) has a winding structure (FIG. 1, [0073]),
the second negative electrode film layer (12b) comprises a starting region and an ending region in a winding direction (FIG. 1, [0073]), and
the secondary battery satisfies CA ≥ CB (FIG. 1, [0073]),
CA representing capacity of the lithium source in the starting region (FIG. 1, [0073]), and
CB representing capacity of the lithium source in the ending region (FIG. 1, [0073]).
Regarding claim 12, Taguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein a minimum distance d7 between the lithium source (16A) and the first negative electrode film layer (12b) satisfies 0 < d7 ≤ 10 mm (FIG. 1, [0223]).
Regarding claim 13, Taguchi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a secondary battery:
wherein a surface of the central region is covered with a barrier layer (13B, [0073]),
the barrier layer (13B) comprising a barrier film and/or a barrier coating (13B, [0073]),
wherein the barrier film (13B) is selected from at least one of a casting polypropylene film, a uniaxially oriented polypropylene film, a biaxially oriented polypropylene film, a polyethylene film, a polyester fiber film, and a polyvinyl chloride film (see materials, [0145]); and
the barrier coating comprises at least one of polyvinylidene fluoride, polytetrafluoroethylene, polyphenylacrylamide, polyimide, polyimide, polymethylmethacrylate, polyurethane, polystyrene, polyacrylic acid, polyacrylamide, polyacrylonitrile, or a copolymer of the foregoing substances.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cao et al. (US 2017/0301485 A1, hereinafter Cao) discloses a negative electrode plate (10) comprising a negative electrode film layer (14) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 1, [0042]), wherein a lithium source (12) used for supplementing lithium to the negative electrode film layer (14) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the negative electrode film layer (14, [0042]).
Lee et al. (US 2015/0380721 A1, hereinafter Lee) discloses a secondary battery (10), comprising a positive electrode plate (11) comprising a positive electrode film layer (11a, [0037]); a separator (13); and a negative electrode plate (12, FIG. 1) comprising a first negative electrode film layer (12a, [0045]), the first negative electrode film layer (12a) being provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (11a) with the separator (13) therebetween (FIG. 1, [0035]), and a second negative electrode film layer (12a), the second negative electrode film layer (12a) comprising a negative electrode film layer not provided opposite the positive electrode film layer (11a, FIG. 1), and the second negative electrode film layer (12a) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 3, [0037]), wherein a lithium source (12c) used for supplementing lithium to the first negative electrode film layer (12a) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the second negative electrode film layer (12a, [0065]).
He et al. (CN 114284463 A, hereinafter He) discloses a negative electrode plate (10) comprising a negative electrode film layer (10) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 9, [0042]), wherein a lithium source (13a) used for supplementing lithium to the negative electrode film layer (10) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the negative electrode film layer (10, [0042]).
Zhang et al. (CN 111430723 A, hereinafter Zhang) discloses a negative electrode plate (FIG. 1, [0039]) comprising a negative electrode film layer (101) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 1, [0039]), wherein a lithium source (2) used for supplementing lithium to the negative electrode film layer (101) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the negative electrode film layer (101, [0039]).
Wang et al. (CN 215988843 U, hereinafter Wang) discloses a negative electrode plate (FIG. 3, [0024]) comprising a negative electrode film layer (2) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 3, [00237]), wherein a lithium source (3) used for supplementing lithium to the negative electrode film layer (2) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the negative electrode film layer (2, [0027]).
Xie et al. (WO 2021/027782 A1, hereinafter Xie) discloses a negative electrode plate (10) comprising a negative electrode film layer (12) comprising a central region and a peripheral region surrounding the central region (FIG. 1, [0081]), wherein a lithium source (13) used for supplementing lithium to the negative electrode film layer (12) is stored in at least a portion of the peripheral region of the negative electrode film layer (12, [0082]).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725