Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that “Yamamoto's element (12) is explicitly a "flange portion," not a first base portion as alleged by the rejection; and element (13a) is a small-diameter "projection" for holding the spring, not a "flange," as alleged by the rejection. Furthermore, Yamamoto's elements (12) and (15) are housed inside the tube (30), as shown in FIG. 3A and 3B …, and are not part of a "tip end configured to be contact with one of the electrodes," as recited in Claim 1.” This is because “The essential differences between the claimed invention and Yamamoto lie in the structural definition and relative positioning of the components, specifically the "flange" and the "tip end." In the claimed invention, the first and second base portions are part of the "tip end" configured to contact the electrode, and they are located distal to the "flange." The flange acts as a continuous boundary.” The Examiner disagree with Applicant. Given broadest reasonable interpretation, Yamamoto at fig. 3A, 3B discloses tip end 11a/10/12/15 that includes tip contact 11a, a first base portion 10/12 and a second base portion 15 as claimed. This tip end contact with electrode (see Fig. 3B below). Diameter as argue of flange is not found in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 7 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2018/0335447 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto at fig. 3 (see below), ¶0050 discloses a contact probe 3 for transmitting a signal by connecting longitudinal ends thereof to different electrodes, comprising: a first plunger 10 including a tip end 11a/10/12/15 configured to be contact with one of the electrodes 8a, and a flange 13a that is continuous to the tip end; and a coil spring 40 configured to be joined to the first plunger 10, wherein the tip end includes: a tip contact 11a including a tip configured to be contact with the one of the electrode 8a; a first base portion 10/12 that is columnar [as shown], the first base portion being provided to a base end side of the tip contact [base of 11a], and including a lateral side surface [surface of 10/12] extending along a longitudinal axis of the first plunger [as shown]; and a second base portion 15 provided to an end of the first base portion, the end being on a side opposite to the tip contact [as shown], the second base portion 15 including an inclined lateral side [truncated-cone portion, see 0050] inclined in a manner approaching the longitudinal axis of the first plunger [as shown], as the inclined lateral side extends toward the flange [as shown].
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto at fig. 3, ¶0050 discloses the contact probe according to claim 1, wherein the first base portion 12/10 has a cylindrical shape [as shown, see “cylinder portion 11”], and the second base portion 15 has a truncated cone shape [truncated-cone portion, see 0050].
Regarding claim 7, as further explain/stated above for rejection of claim 1, Yamamoto at fig. 3, ¶0050 discloses all the elements including the probe unit 1B [see fig. 3] comprising: a contact probe 3 including: a first plunger 10 including a tip end configured to be contact with one of electrodes, and a flange that is continuous to the tip end; and a coil spring 40 connected to the first plunger; and a probe holder 5 including a holder hole [hole for 3] configured to hold the contact probe, wherein the tip end includes a tip contact including a tip configured to be contact with the one of the electrodes; a first base portion that is columnar, the first base portion being provided to a base end side of the tip contact, and including a lateral side surface extending along a longitudinal axis of the first plunger; and a second base portion provided to an end of the first base portion, the end being on a side opposite to the tip contact, and including an inclined lateral side inclined in a manner approaching the longitudinal axis of the first plunger, as the inclined lateral side extends toward the flange.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. V. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Conclusion
Oda (JP 2014-197489 A) at least at fig. 7 discloses a contact probe for transmitting a signal by connecting longitudinal ends thereof to different electrodes, comprising: a first plunger 30 including a tip end 31/35/c/35b configured to be contact with one of the electrodes 2a, and a flange 34/35a that is continuous to the tip end [as shown]; and a coil spring 33 configured to be joined to the first plunger 30, wherein the tip end includes: a tip contact including a tip 31 configured to be contact with the one of the electrode 2a; a first base portion 35c that is columnar, the first base portion being provided to a base end side of the tip contact, and including a lateral side surface extending along a longitudinal axis L of the first plunger; and a second base portion 35b provided to an end of the first base portion, the end being on a side opposite to the tip contact, the second base portion 35b including an inclined lateral side inclined in a manner approaching the longitudinal axis of the first plunger, as the inclined lateral side extends toward the flange.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
July 23, 2026