DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection, Applicant is of the opinion that prior art fails to teach specific type of browser data comprising: a browser accept header, data indicating whether the browser is Java-enabled, browser language, browser color depth, browser screen depth, browser screen height, browser screen width, browser time zone, browser user agent, or any combination thereof and the specific type of browser data is not nonfunctional descriptive material. Further, prior art fails to teach “generating by the authentication system, an authentication score based on the browser data by comparing browser data to authentication transaction data associated with the user stored in an authentication transaction database.
Additionally, it would not have been obvious because in Smith an authentication of the transaction is performed, but it is performed by communicating with a mobile phone of the user to confirm that the transaction is not fraudulent. The authentication by any other means would have been duplicative unnecessary, and not obvious.
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Liu discloses: browser data (See paragraph 0034 i.e. IP address, browser data). Smith in view Liu and in further view of Hammad does not explicitly disclose specific type of browser data such as a browser accept header, data indicating whether the browser is Java-enabled, browser language, browser color depth, browser screen depth, browser screen height, browser screen width, browser time zone, browser user agent, or any combination thereof. However, the difference is type of data contain in browser data is only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps/functions recited. The receiving, collecting, generating, transmitting, matching, and generating steps/functions would be performed the same regardless of the descriptive material since none of the steps explicitly interact therewith. Limitations that are not functionally interrelated with the useful acts, structure, or properties of the claimed invention carry little or no patentable weight. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (CAFC 2004); In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention was filed to collect any type of data related to browser data and generate authentication score because data contain in the browser data does not functionally relate to the steps/functions in the method/system claimed and because the subjective interpretation of data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Liu discloses: generating by the authentication system, an authentication score based on the browser data by comparing browser data to authentication transaction data associated with the user stored in an authentication transaction database (See paragraph 0081-0085).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Smith discloses user providing his credential i.e., phone number to the merchant website (i.e., merchant server 113) and merchant website forward user credential to the authentication system (i.e., interchange 101) (See paragraphs 0050-0052). Hammad reference discloses user ready to provide his credential (i.e. credit card information) to the merchant website. In order to provide security to user credential not being shared with merchant, authentication system controls the communication frame so credential goes directly to authentication system (See paragraph 0042). The Smith and Hammad references are analogues references. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was made to modify the Smith reference by adding technique disclosed by the Hammad reference in order to secure user credential to avoid sharing with the merchant.
Claim Objections
Claims 21-22 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claims 1 and 11 respectively. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-13 and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SMITH (US 20110022484) in view of Liu (US 20140344155) in further view of Hammad (US 20120018506).
With respect to claims 1, 11 and 21-22 SMITH discloses:
receiving, by an authentication system, a transaction request associated with a CNP transaction between a user and a merchant initiated with a computing device of the user during a browser session on the computing device, the CNP transaction initiated by the computing device communicating with a merchant system of the merchant through a website of the merchant; (See paragraph 0050, 0104-0105 and 0188-0193)
receiving, by the authentication system from the computing device during the browser session, a first request comprising an authentication transaction request including authentication transaction data (See paragraph 0050, 0104-0105 and 0188-0193); matching, a portion of the authorization transaction data to the authentication transaction data; (See paragraph 0050, 0104-0105 and 0188-0193).
SMITH does not explicitly disclose: receiving control by the authentication system of the browser session from the merchant system; during the browser session, collecting, by the authentication system and from the computing device, browser data representing a feature of the browser session being executed on the computing device, the browser data comprising at least one of the following: a browser accept header, data indicating whether the browser is Java-enabled, browser language, browser color depth, browser screen depth, browser screen height, browser screen width, browser time zone, browser user agent, or any combination thereof; generating, by the authentication system, an authentication score based on the browser data by comparing the browser data to authentication transaction data associated with the user stored in an authentication transaction database; transmitting, by the authentication system to an authorization system, at least a portion of the browser data and the authentication score to cause the authorization system to: match at least a portion of authorization transaction data received in an authorization transaction request from the merchant system with at least a portion of the browser data; generate an authorization decision for the CNP transaction based at least partially on both the authorization transaction data and the authentication score; and in response to the authorization transaction request, generate and transmit an authorization transaction response comprising at least one data field containing the authorization decision.
Liu discloses: during the browser session, collecting, by the authentication system and from the computing device, browser data representing a feature of the browser session being executed on the computing device (See paragraph 0006, 0008, 0034 and 0101); generating, by the authentication system, an authentication score based on the browser data by comparing the browser data to authentication transaction data associated with the user stored in an authentication transaction database; transmitting, by the authentication system to an authorization system, at least a portion of the browser data and the authentication score (See paragraphs 0006, 0067, 0081-0085 and 0101); match at least a portion of authorization transaction data received in an authorization transaction request from the merchant system with at least a portion of the browser data; generate an authorization decision for the CNP transaction based at least partially on both the authorization transaction data and the authentication score; and in response to the authorization transaction request, generate and transmit an authorization transaction response comprising at least one data field containing the authorization decision (See paragraphs 0105-0106). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the SMITH reference with Liu reference in order to provide more secure transaction processing (See Liu paragraph 0003).
SMITH in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose: receiving control by the authentication system of the browser session from the merchant system. Hammad discloses: receiving control by the authentication system of the browser session from the merchant system. (See paragraph 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the combination of SMITH and Liu references with Hammad reference in order to provide extra credential security to a transaction by utilizing 3-D secure protocol.
Liu discloses: browser data (See paragraph 0034 i.e. IP address browser data) Smith in view Liu and in further view of Hammad does not explicitly disclose where the browser data comprising at least one of the following: a browser accept header, data indicating whether the browser is Java-enabled, browser language, browser color depth, browser screen depth, browser screen height, browser screen width, browser time zone, browser user agent, or any combination thereof. However, the difference is data contain in browser data is only found in the nonfunctional descriptive material and are not functionally involved in the steps/functions recited. The receiving, collecting, generating, transmitting, matching, and generating steps/functions would be performed the same regardless of the descriptive material since none of the steps explicitly interact therewith. Limitations that are not functionally interrelated with the useful acts, structure, or properties of the claimed invention carry little or no patentable weight. Thus, this descriptive material will not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art in terms of patentability, see In re Ngai, 70 USPQ2d 1862 (CAFC 2004); In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983); In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 32 USPQ2d 1031 (Fed. Cir. 1994). Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicant’s invention was filed to collect any type of data related to browser data and generate authentication score because data contain in the browser data does not functionally relate to the steps/functions in the method/system claimed and because the subjective interpretation of data does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
With respect to “to cause the authorization system to: match at least a portion of authorization transaction data received in an authorization transaction request from the merchant system with at least a portion of the browser data; generate an authorization decision for the CNP transaction based at least partially on both the authorization transaction data and the authentication score; and in response to the authorization transaction request, generate and transmit an authorization transaction response comprising at least one data field containing the authorization decision” this limitation considered outside of the scope of the claim because Claims 1 and 11 directed to method performed by the authentication system and a system comprising an authentication system. Therefore, while authorizing system is not part of the claims, therefore, functions performed by the authorizing system are outside the scope of claim and does not have any patentable weight. Further, with respect to “to cause the authorization system to: match at least a portion of authorization transaction data received in an authorization transaction request from the merchant system with at least a portion of the browser data; generate an authorization decision for the CNP transaction based at least partially on both the authorization transaction data and the authentication score; and in response to the authorization transaction request, generate and transmit an authorization transaction response comprising at least one data field containing the authorization decision” recite the intended result of positively recited step/function of transmitting. It has been held “clause in claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)), MPEP 21114.04 I.
Additionally, Dillon (US20120137210) discloses: browser data comprising at least one of the following: a browser accept header, data indicating whether the browser is Java-enabled, browser language, browser color depth, browser screen depth, browser screen height, browser screen width, browser time zone, browser user agent, or any combination thereof (See paragraph 0165).
With respect to claims 2 and 12 SMITH in view of Liu and in further view of Hammad discloses all the limitations as described above. Liu further discloses: wherein the authentication system components of an issuer system that issued a portable financial device to the user (See Fig 1 and paragraph 0028 and 0044). With respect to “authorization system” it does not have any patentable weight because authorization system outside the scope of the claim. In addition, with respect to claim 1, description of structure component does not have any patentable weight, in order to be entitled to weight in method claims, a structural limitation therein must affect the method in a manipulative sense and not to an amount to the mere claiming of a use of a particular structure (Ex parte Pfeiffer, 135 USPQ 31 (BdPatApp&Int 1961)).
With respect to claims 3 and 13 SMITH in view of Liu and in further view of Hammad discloses all the limitations as described above. Hammad further discloses: wherein the authentication system receiving control of the browser session from the merchant system is initiated by a merchant plug-in installed on the merchant system. (See paragraph 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the combination of SMITH and Liu references with Hammad reference in order to provide extra security to a transaction by utilizing 3-D secure protocol.
With respect to claims 10 and 20 SMITH in view of Liu and in further view of Hammad discloses all the limitations as described above. Liu further discloses: wherein the authorization transaction data comprises at least one data field specified by ISO 8583 (See paragraph 00337). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art at the time invention was filed to modify the SMITH reference with Liu reference in order to provide more secure transaction processing (See Liu paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZESHAN QAYYUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3697