The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 Is being rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160185467 A1 (Lim).
Regarding Claim 1 Lim discloses an aircraft assembly system comprising (Figure 1 element 1000): a jig (Figure 7 element 50), and a position adjuster (Figure 1 element 200) configured to connect to the jig (50) and configured to adjust a position of the jig (Figures 5,8 and 9 elements 210 220 and 230 are positioners configured to adjust the height and horizontal position of the fuselage parts in x y and z directions), and wherein the socket comprises a clamping unit configured to clamp the ball stud(Figure 7 element 51 is a set screw which functions for clamping the ball ) but fails to disclose wherein the jig comprises a ball stud and wherein the position adjuster comprises a socket configured to accommodate at least a portion of the ball stud such that the ball stud is rotatably fastened.
Applicant is reminded that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lim by rearranging the parts so that the jig comprises the ball stud and the position adjuster comprises the socket. Reversing the physical locations of a male projection (the ball stud) and a female receptable (the socket) is a routine predictable design choice. The simple rearrangement performs the exact same rotatable mechanical connection and yields predictable parts to accommodate different weight distributions or assembly preferences on the aircraft jig without changing the fundamental operation.
Claim 2-11 and 16-20 Is being rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160185467 A1 (Lim) in view of US 4636135 A (Bancon).
Regarding Claim 2 Lim Discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 1 but fails to disclose wherein the clamping unit comprises a ball configured to clamp the ball stud to the socket by contacting the ball stud or to unclamp the ball stud from the socket by moving away from the ball stud.
However, Bancon teaches wherein a clamping unit that comprises a ball (Figure 2 element 25) configured to clamp a ball stud (Figure 3 element 42) to a socket by contacting the ball stud (Figure 2 element 15) or to unclamp the ball stud from the socket by moving away from the ball stud (Figure 2 element 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the manual fastening of Lim’s seating unit with automated quick-release clamping unit of Bancon to completely eliminate the manual human intervention from the clamping process by replacing the manual set screw with an automated quick-release which directly fulfils Lim’s explicitly stated goal of reducing aircraft assembly time and preventing safety accidents through full automation. It would have been obvious to utilize the ball-clamping mechanism of Bancon in the modified Lim system to provide a strong, heavy- duty structural lock that can be actuated automatically to grip the ball stud.
Regarding Claim 3 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 2, and wherein Bancon further teaches the socket further comprises a socket housing ( Figure 2 element 2 the outer cylinder) in which at least a portion of the clamping unit is disposed wherein the clamping unit further comprises a guide (Figure 2 element 21 movable sleeve / element 22 piston skirt) movably disposed in the socket housing (7) and a ball bracket ( Figure 2 fixed inner lining element 10 featuring orifices element 24) disposed in the guide so as to movably support the ball ( Figure 2 element 25). Applying a standard kinematic insertion of the mating parts to reverse moving the fixed components of Bancon fixing the ball bracket to the housing and sliding the guide over it yields the exact claimed mechanical arrangement and produces the same automated clamping force required to lock Lim’s aircraft joint.
Regarding Claim 4 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 3, and wherein a Bancon further teaches the ball bracket (Figure 2 inner lining 10 kinematically inverted to be fixed) is fixedly coupled to the socket housing ( Figure 2 element 7), wherein at least a portion of the guide ( Fiugre2 movable sleeve 21) is between the ball bracket (10) and the socket housing (7), and the guide (21) is movable in a vertical direction ( along longitudinal axis X-X in figure 2) with respect to the ball bracket (10) and the socket housing (7) to allow linear vertical pneumatic actuation of the clamping mechanism.
Regarding Claim 5 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 4, and where in Bancon further teaches the ball (Figure 2 element 25) is configured to contact or move away from the ball stud (Figure 3 element 42) based on movement of the guide i( Figure 2 element 21) in a vertical direction ( along axis X-X) with respect to the ball bracket (10) and the socket housing (7) which exposes the balls (25) to a wedging flared slope ( Figure 2 element 15) or a recessed disengagement bore ( Figure 2 element 16).
Regarding Claim 6 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 4, and where in Bancon further teaches the guide ( Figure 2 element 21) comprises a side wall ( Cylindrical wall of sleeve 21) extending in a vertical direction to surround at least a portion of an external side surface of the ball bracket ( Figure 2 element 10) ,wherein the side wall comprises an inclined surface ( Figure 2 element 15 flared slope) configured to guide movement of the ball (25) and securely capture the locking balls around the stud.
Regarding Claim 7 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 6, and wherein Bancon further teaches the inclined surface (Figure 2 element 15 flared slope): is formed on an internal side surface, of the side wall (21), facing the ball bracket (Figure 2 lining 10 / orifices 24), and has a shape downwardly inclined in an inward direction (Figure 2 narrowing as a truncated cone).
Regarding Claim 8 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 6, and wherein Bancon further teaches the ball (Figure 2 element 25) is configured to move along the inclined surface ( Figure 2 element 15 flared slope) of the guide based on movement of the guide (21) with respect to the ball bracket (10) and the socket housing (7), and wherein a predetermined degree of pressing force is applied to the ball stud (42) by the ball when in contact with the ball stud via a pre-tensioned spring ( Figure 2 element 26) pushing on the guide.
Regarding Claim 9 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 6, and wherein Bancon further teaches the ball bracket (Figure 2 element 10) comprises:
a coupling portion (Figure 2 element 12) coupled to a bottom surface of the socket housing (Figure 2 base of element 7) by screws (Figure 2 elment 13), and an extension portion (Figure 2 the upward tubular wall of element 10) extending from the coupling portion and to which the ball (25) is movably coupled via orifices (Figure 2 element 24).
Regarding Claim 10 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 9, and wherein Bancon further teaches the guide (Figure 2 element 22) further comprises a bottom portion (The open bottom of element 22 in figure 2) disposed to face the bottom surface of the socket housing (Figure 2 the base of element 7),
wherein an opening in which the coupling portion (Figure 2 element 12) is disposed is formed in the bottom portion,
and wherein the coupling portion (12) passes through the opening and is coupled to the bottom surface of the socket housing (7).
Regarding Claim 11 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 10, and wherein Bancon further teaches a protrusion (Figure 2 head 7a of element 7) acts as a structural stop between the coupling portion and the extension portion, and wherein the guide (22) is movable in an upward direction within a range in which the bottom portion is in contact with the protrusion ( Figure 2 element 7a) limiting its movement range.
Regarding Claim 16 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 3, and wherein Lim discloses the position adjuster (Figure 1 element 200) comprises:
a base portion (Figure 1 element 100);
a first sliding portion movably, in a first axial direction (The lower linear track of the first-1 positioner element 210-1 that slides back and forth in the x direction over the base), coupled to the base portion;
a second sliding portion movably, in a second axial direction perpendicular to the first axial direction (The middle linear track of the first 1-posionter 210-1 that is mounted on top of the x track and slides left and right in the y direction), coupled to the first sliding portion;
and a third sliding portion movably, in a third axial direction perpendicular to the first axial direction and to the second axial direction, coupled to the second sliding portion ( The vertical lifting pilar of the first -1 positioner 210-1 that is mounted on the top of the Y-track and extends upward in the Z direction) and wherein the socket is provided on the third sliding portion ( Figures 6 and 7 as modified by the rearrangement of parts in claim 1, element 51 is disposed on the upper end of the Z-axis vertical lifting pillar).
Regarding Claim 17 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 16, and wherein Bancon further teaches the guide (Figure 2 element 21) is movable in a direction, parallel to the third axial direction, with respect to the socket housing. When the Bancon socket is mounted vertically on the top of Lim’s axis pillar the longitudinal clamping actuation of the Bnaccon guide is aligned so it is moveable in a direction parallel to the third axial direction with respect to the socket housing.
Regarding Claim 18 Lim discloses A ball stud support device (Abstract) comprising:
a rod having a predetermined length in a first direction (Figure 5 and 6 element 210 is the vertical lifting pillar/rod extending in the Z- direction);
and a socket (Figure 7 element 51) disposed at an end portion of the rod (Figure 6 disposed on the upper end of the lifting pillar), configured to receive at least a portion of a ball stud (Figure 6 element 250 is the ball- shaped adaptor), and configured to rotatably fasten the ball stud therein (Figure 8 element 270 is the thrust bearing),
wherein the socket comprises: a socket housing connected to the rod ( Figure 7 the outer body of seating unit 51 is connected to the positioner rod) but fails to disclose and a clamping unit disposed in the socket housing and configured to clamp or unclamp the ball stud accommodated therein, wherein the clamping unit comprises a ball configured to clamp or unclamp the ball stud to the socket as the ball is in contact with or moves away from the ball stud.
However, Bancon teaches a clamping unit (Figure2 element 7) disposed in the socket housing and configured to clamp or unclamp the ball stud accommodated therein, wherein the clamping unit comprises a ball (Figure 2 element 25 is the ball ring) configured to clamp or unclamp the ball stud (Figure 3 element 42) to the socket as the ball is in contact with or moves away from the ball stud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the manual seating unit on the end of Lim’s rod with the automated ball-lock-socket of Bnacon to eliminate manual human intervention from the clamping process effectively replacing a manual set screw with an automated quick release to improve productivity and safety.
Regarding Claim 19 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 18, and wherein Bancon further teaches the clamping unit further comprises:
a guide ( Figure 2 element 21) movably disposed in the socket housing in a longitudinal direction of the rod ( Figure 2 element axis x), and a ball bracket ( Figure 2 element 10) disposed inside the guide so as to movably support the ball ( Figure 2 element 25 is the locking balls), wherein the ball bracket is fixedly coupled to the socket housing ( Figure 2 element 7 is the cylinder), and wherein the guide is configured to move the ball by moving in the longitudinal direction ( Figure 2 along axis x-x) with respect to the ball bracket and the socket housing ( Figure 2 element 7) ( Via kinematic inversion of Bancon’s moving and fixed parts to produce the claimed mechanical arrangement).
Regarding Claim 20 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 19, and wherein Bancon further teaches the guide ( Figure 2 element 21 ) comprises an inclined surface( Figure 2 element 15) configured to guide movement of the ball ( Figure 2 element 25), and wherein the ball (25) is configured to move along the inclined surface (15) of the guide (21) based on movement of the guide in the longitudinal direction (axis X-x) with respect to the ball bracket (10) and the socket housing (7) , and wherein a predetermined degree of pressing force is configured to be applied to the ball stud by the ball when in contact with the ball stud ( Figure 2 element 26 which is the pre-tensioned spring pushing on the guide).
Claims 14 and 15 are being rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160185467 A1 (Lim) in view of US 4636135 A (Bancon) in further view of CN 108247555 A (Li et al.).
Regarding Claim 14 Lim as modified by (Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 3, but fails to disclose the socket further comprises a load sensor disposed on the socket housing and configured to measure a load applied to the socket.
However, Li et al. teaches the socket further comprises a load sensor (Figure 1 element 12 is the load sensor) disposed on the socket housing (Figure 1 element 5) and configured to measure a load applied to the socket.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the load sensor of Li et al. to the Lim and Bancon’s socket housing to constantly monitor the structural laud applied directly to the automated socket by the heavy aircraft fuselage during the lifting process. Lim’s robotic system must precisely align massive, heavy aircraft fuselage sections and by providing a load sensor directly on the automate socket as taught by Bancon, allows to detect dangerous overload conditions caused by misalignment.
Regarding Claim 15 Lim as modified by Bancon discloses the aircraft assembly system of claim 3, but fail to disclose the clamping unit further comprises a clamp confirmation sensor configured to measure a position of the ball and to check, based on the measured position of the ball whether the clamping unit is clamping the ball stud to the socket.
However, Li et al. teaches the clamping unit further comprises a clamp confirmation sensor (Figures 1 and 2 element 7 is the confirmation sensor) configured to measure a position of the ball (Figure 1 locking rod 6/ locking ball 2) and to check, based on the measured position of the ball, whether the clamping unit is clamping the ball stud to the socket (Abstract confirms the locking ball 2 has entered the locked state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the clamp confirmation sensor of Li et al. to Lim and Bancon’s automated socket to introduce a safe verification step into the automated robotic assembly process. Since Lim’s robotic system is handling heavy equipment, it would be safer to hold the huge airplane sections high up in the air if there is a confirmation sensor that notifies that the locking balls are securely locked into place before it ever tries to lift the part. This guarantees the heavy airplane section won’t accidentally slips or drop onto the floor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/A.H.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678