DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Species II in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 3, 9, and 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-2, 4-8, 10-12, and 17-20 have been fully considered in Examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/12/2024 and 09/23/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7: “on the opposite side of said layer…” should read --- on an opposite side of said layer ---
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 10-11, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN Pub No CN106229373A) in view of Tang (CN Pub No CN108878552A). *(see attached translations for [line] ref #’s)*
Regarding claim 1, Guo teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device [see fig. 1, lines 94-101, lines 129-130] (device sensitive to ultraviolet light such that it is detected [lines 94-95] and converted into conducted signals [lines 88-92]), said photoconductive semiconductor device [see fig. 1] comprising:
a first conductor (lower In) fig. 1 [lines 96-101] (In connective [lines 118-120] electrode material [lines 96-101]);
a layer of β-Ga₂O₃ [line 145],
a second conductor (Au/TI) [lines 96-101], said second conductor (Au/Ti) on (supported by and located in relative proximity to) an opposite side (top) of said layer of β-Ga₂O₃ than said first conductor (lower In) (on bottom of β-Ga₂O₃) (see annotated fig. 1 below),
wherein said second conductor (Au/TI) [lines 96-101] is optically transmissive (“translucent” material used as light-transmitting conductive electrode [lines 98-99]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Layer of β-Ga₂O₃ )][AltContent: textbox (Second conductor )][AltContent: textbox (First conductor )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 1 of Guo
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ including a region doped with transition metal, said doped region (a) having a thickness of no more than 100 micrometers, (b) having a gradient in concentration of said transition metal that decreases from an edge of said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ or alloy thereof, or (c) both (transition metal dopant not specified).
Tang teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device [see fig. 1] (Ga2O3 layer(s) may be used for ultraviolet light detection [see lines 184-196, fig. 1] comprising said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171] including a region doped with transition metal (Fe/iron [lines 169-171, lines 184-188]), said doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) (a) having a thickness of no more than 100 micrometers (not more than 500 nm total = 0.5 micrometers [lines 115-121]), (b) having a gradient (longitudinal gradient) [lines 96-103] in concentration of said transition metal (Fe) that decreases from an edge of said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ (concentration of Fe [see fig. 5] may decrease from an edge, taken at 0nm position in fig. 5, downward in a thickness direction from the edge (towards 400nm position) [see fig. 5, lines 232-234, lines 274-277]) or (c) both.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultraviolet photodetector of Guo such that the ß-Ga₂O₃ material(s) comprises the iron- and aluminum doped layer(s) of Tang [lines 96-103 Tang] in order to provide superior band gap characteristics [lines 184-185] in the ß-Ga₂O₃ material, thereby improving gain stability and reduced multiplication noise [lines 184-196 Tang] for photodetecting applications, as taught by Tang.
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 1. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said transition metal doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a thickness of no more than 100 micrometers (not more than 500 nm total = 0.5 micrometers [lines 115-121 Tang]).
Regarding claim 4, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 1. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said transition metal doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a thickness of no more than 50 micrometers (not more than 500 nm total = 0.5 micrometers [lines 115-121 Tang]).
Regarding claim 5, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 1. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said transition metal doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a gradient (longitudinal gradient) [lines 96-103] in concentration of said transition metal that decreases from an edge of said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ (concentration of Fe [see fig. 5] may decrease from an edge, taken at 0nm position in fig. 5, downward in a thickness direction from the edge (towards 400nm position) [see fig. 5, lines 232-234, lines 274-277]).
.
Regarding claim 7, Guo teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device [see fig. 1, lines 94-101, lines 129-130] (device sensitive to ultraviolet light such that it is detected [lines 94-95] and converted into conducted signals [lines 88-92]) comprising:
a first conductor (lower In) fig. 1 [lines 96-101] (In connective [lines 118-120] electrode material [lines 96-101]);
a layer of β-Ga₂O₃ [line 145],
a second conductor (Au/TI) [lines 96-101], said second conductor (Au/Ti) on (supported by and located in relative proximity to) an opposite side (top) of said layer of β-Ga₂O₃ than said first conductor (lower In) (on bottom of β-Ga₂O₃) (see annotated fig. 1 below),
wherein said second conductor (Au/TI) [lines 96-101] is optically transmissive (“translucent” material used as light-transmitting conductive electrode [lines 98-99]).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Layer of β-Ga₂O₃ )][AltContent: textbox (Second conductor )][AltContent: textbox (First conductor )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotated fig. 1 of Guo
However, Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ includes a doped region with a transition metal diffused therein.
Tang teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device [see fig. 1] (Ga2O3 layer(s) may be used for ultraviolet light detection [see lines 184-196, fig. 1] wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171] includes a doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) with a transition metal (Fe/iron [lines 169-171, lines 184-188]) diffused therein (in longitudinal gradient [see lines 96-103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultraviolet photodetector of Guo such that the ß-Ga₂O₃ material comprises the iron- and aluminum doped layer(s) of Tang [lines 96-103 Tang] in order to provide superior band gap characteristics [lines 184-185] in the ß-Ga₂O₃ material, thereby improving gain stability and reduced multiplication noise [lines 184-196 Tang] for photodetecting applications, as taught by Tang.
Regarding claim 8, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 7. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a thickness of no more than 100 micrometers (not more than 500 nm = 0.5 micrometers [lines 115-121 Tang]).
Regarding claim 10, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 7. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a thickness of no more than 50 micrometers (not more than 500 nm = 0.5 micrometers [lines 115-121 Tang]).
Regarding claim 11, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 7. Guo in view of Tang (with reference to Tang) also teaches wherein said doped region (GaAlFeO3 layer) [see fig. 1, lines 169-171 Tang] has a gradient (longitudinal gradient) [lines 96-103] in concentration of said transition metal that decreases from an edge of said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ (concentration of Fe [see fig. 5] may decrease from an edge, taken at 0nm position in fig. 5, downward in a thickness direction from the edge (towards 400nm position) [see fig. 5, lines 232-234, lines 274-277]).
Regarding claim 17, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 1. Guo also teaches wherein said layer of ß-Ga2O3 [see fig. 1, line 145] comprises a layer of ß-Ga₂O [lines 96-98, 145 Guo].
Regarding claim 19, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 7. Guo also teaches wherein said layer of ß-Ga2O3 [see fig. 1, line 145] comprises a layer of ß-Ga₂O [lines 96-98, 145 Guo].
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo (CN Pub No CN106229373A) modified by Tang (CN Pub No CN108878552A), as applied in claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Zhao (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0388526A1).
Regarding claim 18, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 1. However, Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ [see fig. 1, line 145] or alloy thereof comprises a layer of a ß-Ga₂O₃ alloy (alloy form not explicitly disclosed).
Zhao teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device (layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ applicable to photoconductive device [see fig. 19A-D, 0004, 0034]) wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ [see fig. 19B, 0034] or alloy thereof [0034] comprises a layer of a ß-Ga₂O₃ alloy (ß-Ga₂O₃ formed with aluminum concentration of 10% [0034], making it an alloy of ß-Ga₂O₃ with aluminum [0004, 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ß-Ga₂O₃ layer(s) in the photodetector of Guo to be alloyed with Al2O3 [0004 Zhao] in order to expand the accessible band gap and improve critical field strength [0004] so as to enable high power and high frequency applications [0004] and deep ultraviolet applications [0004], as taught by Zhao.
Regarding claim 20, Guo in view of Tang teaches the photoconductive semiconductor device of claim 7. However, Guo does not explicitly disclose wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ [see fig. 1, line 145] or alloy thereof comprises a layer of a ß-Ga₂O₃ alloy (alloy form not explicitly disclosed).
Zhao teaches a photoconductive semiconductor device (layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ applicable to photoconductive device [see fig. 19A-D, 0004, 0034]) wherein said layer of ß-Ga₂O₃ [see fig. 19B, 0034] or alloy thereof [0034] comprises a layer of a ß-Ga₂O₃ alloy (ß-Ga₂O₃ formed with aluminum concentration of 10% [0034], making it an alloy of ß-Ga₂O₃ with aluminum [0004, 0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ß-Ga₂O₃ layer(s) in the photodetector of Guo to be alloyed with Al2O3 [0004 Zhao] in order to expand the accessible band gap and improve critical field strength [0004] so as to enable high power and high frequency applications [0004] and deep ultraviolet applications [0004], as taught by Zhao.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 is objected to as containing allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “wherein said transition metal comprises copper” in the context of claim 6, dependent upon claim 1.
Claim 12 is objected to as containing allowable subject matter because the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation(s) “wherein said transition metal comprises copper” in the context of claim 12, dependent upon claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Remaining references made available on the PTO-892 form are considered relevant to the present disclosure because they all of ß-Ga₂O₃ structures applicable in photoconductors.
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 06/26/2026