DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 06/07/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Independent Claim 5, at line 2, recites the limitation: “at least one metal pad.” However, line 17 recites “a metal pad” and line 29 recites “a metal pad.” It is unclear whether “a metal pad” in line 17 and “a metal pad” at line 29 are intended to refer back to the at least one metal pad at line 2 or introduce additional metal pad(s).
Claims 6-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite due to the claims’ dependency to Claim 5.
Claim 9, which depends from Claim 5, recites the limitation: “the metal pad” at line 1. It is unclear whether the metal pad recited in Claim 9 intends to refer back to “at least metal pad” at line 2 in Claim 5, intends to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 17 in Claim 5, or intends to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 29 in Claim 5.
Claim 13, which depends from Claim 5, recites the limitation: “the metal pad” at line 3. It is unclear whether the metal pad recited in Claim 13 intends to refer back to “at least metal pad” at line 2 in Claim 5, intends to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 17 in Claim 5, or intends to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 29 in Claim 5.
Claim 20, which depends from Claim 5, recites the limitation: “the metal pad” at lines 1-2. It is unclear whether the metal pad recited in Claim 20 intends to refer back to “at least metal pad” at line 2 in Claim 5, intends to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 17 in Claim 5, or intend to refer back to “a metal pad” at line 29 in Claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 101631232 B1), in view of Lee (US 2023/0238376).
Regarding claim 1, Choi (see, e.g., FIG. 2) discloses a metal clip structure comprising:
a first metal clip part 310 bonded to an upper surface of a first semiconductor chip 200 (Para 0028, Para 0029);
a second metal clip part 330 bonded to an upper surface of any one of an external terminal 103 and a metal pad 640 for electrical connection, wherein an end e.g., right end of the first metal clip 310 part is connected to an end e.g., bottom end of the second metal clip part 330, and a height of the first metal clip part 310 is different from a height of the second metal clip part 330 (Para 0028, Para 0030); and
a first sub metal layer 610 inserted into a first insertion groove 319 formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part 310 or a second sub metal layer inserted into a second insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the second metal clip part (Para 0034),
wherein:
a thickness of the first sub metal layer 610 is less than a thickness of the first metal clip part 310, and
the first and second metal clip parts 310, 330 are formed of a metal material containing Cu (Para 0028),
Regarding the limitation recited as: “a thickness of the second sub metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal clip part,” in the limitation recited as “first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part or a second sub metal layer inserted into a second insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the second metal clip part” (emphasis added) the option selected was “first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part.” Therefore, the claim limitation directed to “a thickness of the second sub metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal clip part” does not apply to the selection of “first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part.”
Although Choi shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Choi fails to expressly teach that the first sub metal layer or the second sub metal layer is formed of a metal material containing Al.
Lee (see, e.g., FIG. 2i), on the other hand, teaches a metal layer 180, such as aluminum, with an adhesive coated on to the top and bottom surfaces for the purpose of providing an adhesive material that has excellent thermal conductivity and can improve heating or cooling efficiency (Para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first sub metal layer of Choi to be a first sub metal layer formed of a metal material containing Al for the purpose of providing an adhesive material that has excellent thermal conductivity and can improve heating or cooling efficiency (Para 0025).
Regarding claim 2, Choi (see, e.g., FIG. 2) teaches metal clip structure of claim 1, wherein the thickness of the first sub metal layer 610 is less than a half of the thickness of the first metal clip part 310, or the thickness of the second sub metal layer is less than a half of the thickness of the second metal clip part.
Regarding claim 21, Choi (see, e.g., FIG. 2) discloses a semiconductor package comprising:
at least one metal pad 101 to which a first semiconductor chip 200 is bonded (Para 0026);
at least one external terminal 103 electrically connected to the first semiconductor chip 200 (Para 0027);
a metal clip 300 comprising:
a first metal clip part 310 bonded to an upper surface of the first semiconductor chip 200 (Para 0028, Para 0029);
a second metal clip part 330 bonded to an upper surface of the external terminal 103, wherein an end e.g., right end of the first metal clip part 310 is connected to an end e.g., bottom end of the second metal clip part 330, and a height of the first metal clip part 310 is different from a height of the second metal clip part 330 (Para 0028, Para 0030); and
a first sub metal layer 610 inserted into a first insertion groove 319 formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part 310 or a second sub metal layer inserted into a second insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the second metal clip part (Para 0034); and
a package housing 190 covering the first semiconductor chip 200 and a part of the external terminal 103 (Para 0039),
wherein:
a thickness of the first sub metal layer 610 is less than a thickness of the first metal clip part 310 and
the first and second metal clip parts 310, 330 are formed of a metal material containing Cu (Para 0028),
Regarding the limitation recited as: “a thickness of the second sub metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal clip part,” in the limitation recited as “a first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part or a second sub metal layer inserted into a second insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the second metal clip part” (emphasis added) the option selected was “first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part.” Therefore, the claim limitation directed to “a thickness of the second sub metal layer is less than a thickness of the second metal clip part” does not apply to the selection of “first sub metal layer inserted into a first insertion groove formed on an upper surface of the first metal clip part.”
Although Choi shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Choi fails to expressly teach that the first sub metal layer or the second sub metal layer is formed of a metal material containing Al.
Lee (see, e.g., FIG. 2i), on the other hand, teaches a metal layer 180, such as aluminum, with an adhesive coated on to the top and bottom surfaces for the purpose of providing an adhesive material that has excellent thermal conductivity and can improve heating or cooling efficiency (Para 0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first sub metal layer of Choi to be a first sub metal layer formed of a metal material containing Al for the purpose of providing an adhesive material that has excellent thermal conductivity and can improve heating or cooling efficiency (Para 0025).
Claim 3 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 101631232 B1), in view of Lee (US 2023/0238376), and further in view of Saito (US 2019/0139873), in view of Taniguchi (JP 2022/048552A).
Regarding claim 3, although the metal clip structure as disclosed by Choi/Lee show substantial features of the claimed invention, Choi/Lee fail to expressly teach that the metal clip structure of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second metal clip parts partially or entirely comprises a plating layer containing 50% or more of Au, Ag, or Ni.
Saito (see, e.g., FIG. 6) teaches the main metal clip part 40 partially or entirely comprises a plating layer containing 50% or more of Au, Ag, or Ni formed on the surface thereof (Para 0057). Taniguchi (see, e.g., FIG. 2), on the other hand, teaches that plating films (not shown), such as Au (gold), Ag (silver), and Ni (nickel), on lead terminals 44 offer excellent corrosion resistance (Para 0024).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the plating film as described by Saito to the first and second metal clip parts Choi/Lee for the purpose of providing excellent corrosion resistance to the main metal clip part (Taniguchi: Para 0024).
Claim 4 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (KR 10163123 B1), in view of Lee (US 2023/0238376), and further in view of Murata (US 2024/0026525).
Regarding claim 4, although the metal clip structure as disclosed by Choi/Lee show substantial features of the claimed invention, Choi/Lee fail to expressly teach the metal clip structure of claim 1, wherein the first or second sub metal layer and the first or second insertion groove comprise an intermetallic compound formed by combining a Cu material and an Al material on at least a part of a bonded surface thereof.
Murata teaches a first member and a second member comprise an intermetallic compound formed by combining a Cu material and an Al material on at least a part of a bonded surface thereof for the purpose of firming a firmer bond between the first member and the second member (Para 0029).
The combination of Choi (see, e.g., FIG. 2) / Lee (see, e.g., FIG. 2i) / Murata teaches that the first or second sub metal layer 610 (as taught by Choi, material modified by Lee to be aluminum) and the first or second insertion groove 319 e.g., recess in 310 (copper material) comprise an intermetallic compound e.g., Mg-containing layer with Cu and Al formed by combining a Cu material and an Al material on at least a part of a bonded surface thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an intermetallic compound formed by combining a Cu material and an Al material as described by Murata to the device of Choi/Lee for the purpose of firming a firmer bond between the first member and the second member (Para 0029).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 5 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817