DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 May 2026. Additionally, a serious search and/or examination has been shown by the separate classification of the device and method claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 9, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2003/0094677 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses an electronic package (Fig 7A & 7B), comprising: a substrate (41); an electronic component (40) disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate; an encapsulation layer (44) formed on the substrate and covering the electronic component; and a frame body (30) embedded in the encapsulation layer and protruding from the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses that the encapsulation layer covers side surfaces of the substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Cheng discloses that the frame body is annular and surrounds an outer periphery of the electronic component.
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses that the frame body is partially exposed from the encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses that the frame body is free from being in contact with the substrate by not bringing the two elements into direct contact but rather interposing conductive elements 43 and encapsulant resin 44.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng does not specify the material of the frame body, however frame bodies are made of metal and conductive elements 43 couple directly to the frame body, meaning that said body is conductive, i.e. metal.
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses that a portion of the frame body protruding from a side surface of the substrate is suspended.
Claim(s) 1-7, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2003/0234445 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an electronic package (Fig 4A-4E), comprising: a substrate (43); an electronic component (40) disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate (pads being conductive elements); an encapsulation layer (46) formed on the substrate and covering the electronic component; and a frame body (41) embedded in the encapsulation layer and protruding from the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses that the encapsulation layer covers side surfaces of the substrate.
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses that the frame body is annular and surrounds an outer periphery of the electronic component (see 412 in Fig 4A).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses that the frame body is distributed outside the electronic component in a discontinuous manner (See portions 411a in Fig 4C).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses that the frame body comprises a main body part (411b & 411c) and a bending part (between 411a & 411b), wherein the main body part extends from an inside of the substrate to an outside of the substrate, and the bending part is connected to one end of the main body part protruding from the substrate and is perpendicular to the main body part.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses that the bending part of the frame body is opposite to a side surface of the substrate.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses that the frame body is partially exposed from the encapsulation layer.
Regarding claim 11, Cheng does not specify the material of the frame body, however frame bodies are made of metal and conductive elements 43 couple directly to the frame body, meaning that said body is conductive, i.e. metal.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses that a portion of the frame body protruding from a side surface of the substrate is suspended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kuan et al. (US 2008/0315372 A1).
Wang discloses the package of claim 1 but does not disclose that the electronic component is partially exposed from the encapsulation layer.
Kuan discloses a package where an electronic component 58 is partially exposed from the encapsulation layer (64). Kuan discloses that such an exposure can result in a thinner package (¶59). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to exposed the electronic component of Wang as suggested by Kuan in order to provide a thinner package.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Glenn et al. (US 2002/0168798 A1).
Wang discloses the package of claim 1 but does not disclose a further shielding layer formed on the encapsulation layer.
Glenn discloses a package (Fig 16) which includes a shielding layer 210 formed on an encapsulant (208). Glenn discloses that such a shield prevents external radiation from interfering with the operation of the package and also prevents the package from emitting radiation which could interfere with other electronic components and devices (¶15 & ¶16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a shield as disclosed by Glenn in the package of Wang in order to shield the package from radiation.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P SHOOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896