DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the restriction requirement in the reply filed on 5/20/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the there is no burden on the examiner and that the requirements for restriction have not been established. This is not found persuasive because, as noted in the restriction requirement, “In the instant case, the product of Invention I as claimed can be made by another and materially different process than that of Invention II as claimed, namely one in which the raised interconnect layer and dielectric layer are formed prior to the disposition of the IC die”. Thus, the requirement is clearly met. Additionally, the Examiner established both “the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources/employing different search queries) and the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to the other invention,” thus the argument that there is no search burden is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 17-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 5/20/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0310488) (“Fang”).
Regarding Claim 1, Fang teaches a substrate comprising: a surface interconnect layer comprising a plurality of surface interconnects (Figure 3, item 122) extending between a first area (Figure 3, item 122a) and a second area (Figure 3, item 222b) on a first surface, the first area configured to couple to an integrated circuit (IC) die (Figure 3, item 103); a dielectric layer (Figure 3, item 140) disposed on the surface interconnect layer in the second area; and a raised interconnect layer (Figure 3, item 223b) disposed on the dielectric layer and comprising a plurality of raised interconnects (see Figure 10D, items on right side exposed through item 14) coupled to the plurality of surface interconnects through the dielectric layer (see profile view of Figure 2 and item 223b/222b).
Regarding Claim 2, Fang further teaches the plurality of surface interconnects comprises a first surface interconnect extending from a first location in the second area to a second location in the second area (see profile view of Figure 2 and item 223b/222b); and the plurality of raised interconnects comprise a first raised interconnect coupled to the first surface interconnect in the first location and in the second location (see profile view of Figure 2 and item 223b/222b).
Regarding Claim 3, Fang further teaches a first via extending through the dielectric layer to couple the first surface interconnect to the first raised interconnect in the first location (Figure 3, item 122i); and a second via extending through the dielectric layer to couple the first surface interconnect to the first raised interconnect in the second location (see Figure 10D).
Regarding Claim 4, Fang further teaches the second area is on a perimeter of the first area (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 5, Fang further teaches he first surface further comprising a third area between the second area and an edge of the substrate, wherein the dielectric layer is not disposed in the third area (see Figure 12, note gaps in 140 on right side).
Regarding Claim 6, Fang further teaches the dielectric layer extends from the perimeter of the first area to an edge of the substrate (see Figure 3, note location of item 140 on far edge).
Regarding Claim 9, Fang further teaches a first center-to-center distance between two adjacent surface interconnects of the plurality of surface interconnects in the first area is greater than a second center-to-center distance between the two adjacent surface interconnects in the second area (see Figure 12, note spacing distances on left side around 112a vs spacing in center around 122b).
Regarding Claim 10, Fang further teaches a first width of the first surface interconnect of the plurality of surface interconnects in the first area is greater than a second width of the first surface interconnect in the second area (note this claim does not require the entire width of a top surface of the interconnect to be measured and compared to each element, thus a smaller width is chosen for 122a vs 122b to meet the claim language).
Regarding Claim 11, Fang further teaches a package comprising:a first integrated circuit (IC) die (Figure 3, item 103) disposed in a first area of a first surface of a package substrate; a surface interconnect layer (Figure 3, item 122e) comprising a plurality of surface interconnects coupled to the first IC die and extending to a second area of the first surface of the package substrate; a dielectric layer (Figure 3, item 140) disposed on the surface interconnect layer in the second area of the package substrate; and a raised interconnect layer (Figure 3, item 223b) disposed on the dielectric layer and comprising a plurality of raised interconnects coupled to the plurality of surface interconnects (Figure 3, item 222b – see also exploded view in Figure 2) through the dielectric layer.
Regarding Claim 12, Fang further teaches the plurality of surface interconnects comprises a first surface interconnect extending from a first location in the second area to a second location in the second area (see profile view of Figure 2 and item 223b/222b); and the plurality of raised interconnects comprise a first raised interconnect coupled to the first surface interconnect in the first location and in the second location (see profile view of Figure 2 and item 223b/222b).
Regarding Claim 13, Fang further teaches the raised interconnect layer further comprising package contacts on the dielectric layer and electrically coupled to the plurality of raised interconnects coupled to the first IC die (see Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 16, Fang further teaches the package of claim 11 integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set-top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smartphone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; an avionics system; a drone; and a multicopter (¶0095).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang as applied to Claims 2 or 13 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0066613) (“Lee”).
Regarding Claim 7, Fang teaches Claim 2 as indicated above. Fang does not specifically teach the raised interconnect layer further comprising package contacts coupled to the plurality of raised interconnects and configured to couple to package interconnects further coupled to a second substrate. However, Lee teaches including a second substrate (Figure 21, item 180, ¶0075) connected to a lower raised contact (Figure 21,item 113b) via a package contact (Figure 21, items 113a+113c). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art at the time of effective filing to use the teachings of Lee to include the additional substrate and contacts into the device of Fang, as doing so would increase package density within the same footprint, thus allowing for more functionality in the same size package.
Regarding Claim 8, Lee further teaches one of the package contacts is disposed in the second location (see Figure 21).
Regarding Claim 14, Fang teaches Claim 13 as indicated above. Fang does not specifically teach a second substrate coupled to the package contacts on the dielectric layer, the first IC die disposed between the package substrate and the second substrate. However, Lee teaches including a second substrate (Figure 21, item 180, ¶0075) connected to a lower raised contact (Figure 21,item 113b) via a package contact (Figure 21, items 113a+113c) where an IC chip (Figure 21, item 121) is between the substrates (see Figure 21). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in art at the time of effective filing to use the teachings of Lee to include the additional substrate and contacts into the device of Fang, as doing so would increase package density within the same footprint, thus allowing for more functionality in the same size package.
Regarding Claim 15, Fang further teaches a first distance from the package contacts to the second substrate in a first direction is less than a second distance from the surface interconnect layer to the second substrate in the first direction (see Figure 12, note spacing distances on left side around 112a vs spacing in center around 122b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0384328)
MARK W. TORNOW
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2891
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891