DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The Amendments filed August 5th, 2026 in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/05/2026 are noted.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims are noted.
3. Claims 1-13 remain pending in the application.
4. Claims 1-13 have been fully considered in examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0109102A1) (of record) in view of Sun (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0384415A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 1, Shibata teaches a magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] comprising:
a first ferromagnetic layer (upper 11) fig. 6 [0096] having a domain wall (A1, A2) fig. 6 [0097] therein;
first magnetization fixed portion (66) fig. 6 [0097] (directly) connected [0096] to the first ferromagnetic layer (upper 11); and
a second magnetization fixed portion (56) fig. 6 [0095] (directly) connected [0096] to the first ferromagnetic layer (upper 11) at a position (laterally) separated from the first magnetization fixed portion (66),
wherein the first magnetization fixed portion (66) includes a first magnetization fixed layer (lower 62) fig. 6 [0095-0097], a first nonmagnetic layer (61) fig. 6 [0096, 0091], and a second magnetization fixed layer (upper 62) fig. 6 [0095-0097],
wherein the first magnetization fixed layer (lower 62) is in (direct) contact [0096] with the first ferromagnetic layer (upper 11),
wherein the first nonmagnetic layer (61) is located (vertically) between the first magnetization fixed layer (lower 62) and the second magnetization fixed layer (upper 62) in a stacking (vertical) direction,
wherein the first magnetization fixed layer (lower 62) and the second magnetization fixed layer (upper 62) are antiferromagnetically coupled (oppositely-directed magnetic arrows, as indicated by fig. 6) [0091] to each other with the first nonmagnetic layer (61) interposed therebetween,
wherein the second magnetization fixed layer (56) fig. 6 [0097] has a plurality of layers including a first layer (lower 52) fig. 6 [0095-0097] containing a ferromagnetic material [0096], a first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) fig. 6 [0096] (51-52 provide some non-zero degree of etching protection for underlying layers in at least that it would block etchant from reaching underlying layers for a non-zero amount of time), and a second layer (upper 52) fig. 6 [0095-0097] containing a ferromagnetic material [0096],
wherein the first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) is located between the first layer (lower 52) and the second layer (upper 52) in the stacking (vertical) direction.
wherein the first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) includes a first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52) [0096], and a first intermediate nonmagnetic layer (lower 51) [0091] and a second intermediate nonmagnetic layer (upper 51) [0091] with the first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52) interposed therebetween.
However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the first etching stop structures includes a plurality of intermediate ferromagnetic layers (only one middle 52 disclosed), the plurality of intermediate ferromagnetic layers comprising a first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52) and a second intermediate ferromagnetic layer,
wherein a thickness of each of the intermediate ferromagnetic layers is smaller than that of each of the first layer (lower 52) and the second layer (upper 52).
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] wherein (refer to fig. 6C [0057, 0065]) wherein the first etching stop structure (comprising 152a, 154b, 152b, 154e of 150) fig. 5 [0057, 0059, 0065] (refer to fig. 6C) includes a plurality of intermediate ferromagnetic layers (154b and 154e) [0065], the plurality of intermediate ferromagnetic layers (154b, 154e) (intermediate ferromagnetic layers positioned between/intermediate to lowermost ferromagnetic layer 154a and uppermost ferromagnetic layer 154f [0065]) comprising a first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (154b) [0065], and a second intermediate ferromagnetic layer (154e) [0065],
wherein a thickness of the each of the intermediate ferromagnetic layers (154b, 154e) fig. 6C [0065] is smaller than that of each of the first layer (154a) fig. 6C [0065] and the second layer (154f) fig. 6C [0065] (154 layers may each have same or different thicknesses [0060-0061], 154a and 154f may have same thickness [0060], ‘different’ implying could have less or more thickness than others, and therefore, 154a and 154f could have thicknesses greater than intermediate ferromagnetic layers 154b, 154e [0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to vary the relative thicknesses of the ferromagnetic layers [0006, 0060-0061] as well as to include “any suitable number” [0062] of additional, intermediate ferromagnetic and coupling layers [0057, 0059, 0062, 0065] in order to enhance the integration density of magnetic layers in the device [0006] and favorably adjust magnetic-layer properties [0006], height-to-width ratio of the stack [0062], and coupling between the layers [0060-0061] to improve current performance [0006, 0061], as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 2, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the second magnetization fixed portion (56) fig. 6 [0097] includes a third magnetization fixed layer, a second nonmagnetic layer, and a fourth magnetization fixed layer,
wherein the third magnetization fixed layer and the fourth magnetization fixed layer are antiferromagnetically coupled to each other with the second nonmagnetic layer interposed therebetween,
wherein the third magnetization fixed layer is in contact with the first ferromagnetic layer,
wherein the second nonmagnetic layer is located between the third magnetization fixed layer and the fourth magnetization fixed layer in the stacking direction,
wherein the fourth magnetization fixed layer has a plurality of layers including a third layer containing a ferromagnetic material and a second etching stop structure, and
wherein the second etching stop structure includes at least a third nonmagnetic layer in contact with the third layer.
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] wherein the second magnetization fixed portion (150) fig. 5 [0057] includes (refer to fig. 6C for close-up of 150) [0057, 0065] a third magnetization fixed layer (154c) fig. 6C [0065], a second nonmagnetic layer (152c) fig. 6C [0065] (‘coupling layer(s)’ non-magnetic in Shibata’s device [0091 Shibata]), and a fourth magnetization fixed layer (comprising 154d, 152d) fig. 6C [0065],
wherein the third magnetization fixed layer (154c) and the fourth magnetization fixed layer (comprising 154d) are antiferromagnetically coupled (oppositely-directed magnetic arrows [0065]) to each other with the second nonmagnetic layer (152c) interposed (vertically) therebetween,
wherein the third magnetization fixed layer (154c) is in contact (electrically interconnected by current exchange [0061, 0071]) with the first ferromagnetic layer (154a) fig. 6C [0065],
wherein the second nonmagnetic layer (152c) is located between the third magnetization fixed layer (154c) and the fourth magnetization fixed layer (154d, 152d) in the stacking (vertical) direction,
wherein the fourth magnetization fixed layer (comprising 154d, 152d) has a plurality of layers (152d, 154d) including a third layer (154d) [0065] containing a ferromagnetic material [0065] and a second etching stop structure (152d) [0065], and
wherein the second etching stop structure (152d) includes at least a third nonmagnetic layer (152d) (coupling layer(s) non-magnetic in Shibata’s device [0091 Shibata]) in (direct) contact with the third layer (154d).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to include the additional, intermediate ferromagnetic and coupling layers [0057, 0065] of Sun in order to enhance the integration density of magnetic layers in the device [0006] and favorably control coupling between the layers [0060-0061] to improve current performance [0061], as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 3, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. Shibata also teaches wherein the first layer (lower 52) fig. 6 [0095-0097] and the first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52) fig. 6 [0096] are antiferromagnetically (oppositely-directed magnetic arrows [0091]) coupled to each other.
Regarding claim 4, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the first layer (lower 52) fig. 6 [0095-0097] and the first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52) fig. 6 [0095-007] are ferromagnetically coupled to each other (anti-ferromagnetic instead).
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] wherein (refer to fig. 6D [0057, 0066]) the first layer (154a) fig. 6D [0065] and the first intermediate ferromagnetic layer (154b) fig. 6D [0066] are ferromagnetically coupled (same-directed magnetic arrows [0066]) to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to such that the adjacent ferromagnetic layers are ferromagnetically coupled instead of antiferromagnetically coupled [0065-0066] in order favorably adjust magnetic coupling between the layers [0071] to improve current performance [0071] for different applications, as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 5, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) fig. 6 [0096] includes therein a plurality of ferromagnetic layers which are antiferromagnetically coupled to each other (only one ferromagnetic layer 52) [0096].
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] wherein (refer to fig. 6C [0057, 0065]) wherein the first etching stop structure (comprising 152a, 154b, 152b, 154c, 152C, 154d of 150) fig. 5 [0057, 0059, 0065] (refer to fig. 6C) includes therein a plurality of ferromagnetic layers (154c and 154d) [0065] which are antiferromagnetically coupled (oppositely-directed magnetic arrows) [0065] to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to include the additional, intermediate ferromagnetic and coupling layers [0057, 0065] of Sun in order to enhance the integration density of magnetic layers in the device [0006] and favorably control coupling between the layers [0060-0061] to improve current performance [0061], as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 6, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein the first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) fig. 6 [0096] includes therein a plurality of ferromagnetic layers which are ferromagnetically coupled to each other (only one ferromagnetic layer 52).
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] wherein the first etching stop structure (comprising 153a, 154b, 153b, 154c, 153c, 154d of 150) fig. 5 [0057, 0059, 0066] includes therein a plurality of ferromagnetic layers (154b, 154c, 154d) fig. 6D [0066] which are ferromagnetically coupled [0066] to each other (same-directed magnetic arrows [0066]) to each other.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to include the additional, intermediate ferromagnetic and coupling layers [0057, 0065] of Sun in order to enhance the integration density of magnetic layers in the device [0006] and favorably control coupling between the layers [0060-0061] to improve current performance [0061], as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 7, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. Shibata also teaches wherein the first intermediate nonmagnetic layer (lower 51) fig. 6 [0091, 0096] (formed of iridium (atomic number 77) [0091]) and the second intermediate nonmagnetic layer (upper 51) fig. 6 [0091, 0096] (formed of iridium (atomic number 77) [0091]) contain an element (Ir) [0091] with an atomic number of 39 or higher (non-magnetic coupling layers may be formed of heavy-element like iridium, which has atomic number 77 > 39) [0091 Shibata].
Regarding claim 8, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. Shibata also teaches wherein the first layer (lower 52) fig. 6 [0096] and the second layer (upper 52) fig. 6 [0096] have the same main direction (vertically-upwards) of a magnetization orientation direction [0096].
Regarding claim 9, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 2. Shibata in view of Sun (with reference to Sun) also teaches wherein the first etching stop structure (comprising 152a, 154b, 152b) fig. 6C [0065] and the second etching stop structure (152d) fig. 6C [0065] differ in a number of nonmagnetic layers (“coupling layers” 152 [0065], non-magnetic in Shibata’s device [0091]) included in each structure (at least two 2 nonmagnetic coupling layers 152 defined in first etch stopping structure of Sun versus only 1 nonmagnetic coupling layer 152d defined in second etch stopping structure of Sun).
Regarding claim 10, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 2. Shibata in view of Sun (with reference to Sun) also teaches wherein the first layer (154a) fig. 6C [0065] and the third layer (154d) fig. 6C [0065] have the same thickness (154 layers may have same or different thicknesses [0060-0061]).
Regarding claim 12, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose further comprising a fourth nonmagnetic layer and a second ferromagnetic layer,
wherein the fourth nonmagnetic layer is interposed between the first ferromagnetic layer (upper 11) fig. 6 [0096] and the second ferromagnetic layer in the stacking direction.
Sun teaches a magnetoresistive stack (300) fig. 5 [0003-0005, 0057] with magnetic domains [0057] further comprising (refer to fig. 6C) a fourth nonmagnetic layer (152c) fig. 6C [0065] (coupling layer(s) non-magnetic in Shibata’s device [0091 Shibata]) and a second ferromagnetic layer (154d) fig. 6C [0065],
wherein the fourth nonmagnetic layer (152c) is interposed between the first ferromagnetic layer (152a) fig. 6C [0065] and the second ferromagnetic layer (154d) in the stacking (vertical) direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic domain stack of Shibata to include the additional, intermediate ferromagnetic and coupling layers [0057, 0065] of Sun in order to enhance the integration density of magnetic layers in the device [0006] and favorably control coupling between the layers [0060-0061] to improve current performance [0061], as taught by Sun.
Regarding claim 13, Shibata in view of Sun teaches a magnetic array [see fig. 1, 0037 Shibata] comprising a plurality of magnetic domain wall motion elements (100/102) fig. 1 [0041, 0095], wherein each of the plurality of magnetic domain wall motion elements (100/102) is the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0097] according to claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (U.S. PG Pub No US2022/0109102A1) (of record) modified by Sun (U.S. PG Pub No US2021/0384415A1) (of record), as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ishibashi (U.S. PG Pub No US2010/0143752A1) (of record).
Regarding claim 11, Shibata in view of Sun teaches the magnetic domain wall motion element (102) fig. 6 [0095] of claim 1. However, Shibata does not explicitly disclose wherein a total thickness of the nonmagnetic layers (two layers = lower 51, upper 51) fig. 6 [0091, 0096] included in the first etching stop structure (lower 51, middle 52, upper 51) fig. 6 [0096] is 50 Å or more (thickness of nonmagnetic layers not explicitly disclosed).
Ishibashi teaches a magnetic domain wall element (10) fig. 6 [0066, 0098] wherein a total thickness of the nonmagnetic layers (equivalent to two layers of 425) fig. 6 [0098, 0104] included in the first etching stop structure (comprising 425) is 50 Å or more (thickness of individual magnetic coupling layers may be at least 5 nm = 50 angstroms [0104], such that the total thickness of two magnetic coupling layers is at least 100 angstroms).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the magnetic coupling layers of Shibata in view of Sun to have thicknesses of at least 50 angstroms each [0104] in order to increase the amount of magnetic coupling material and consequential coupling-functionality [0105] of the magnetic coupling layer(s) [0098-0105], as taught by Ishibashi.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s argument(s) that “Shibata, at most, only discloses one intermediate ferromagnetic layer (middle 52). See Shibata at FIG. 6. In fact, the Office acknowledges Shibata only discloses one ferromagnetic layer 52 at Office Action p. 7.” --- Examiner agrees that Shibata is insufficient to address the amended limitation(s) of claim 1 introducing “a second intermediate ferromagnetic layer” --- however, with respect to Applicant’s argument that “Sun fails to cure this defect”, Applicant has not specifically addressed, in any way, why Sun cannot be used to include additional intermediate ferromagnetic layers in the etch stopping structure(s), as applied in the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 1 above (see above).
Of particular significance are the express teachings of [0062] of Sun, which disclose that “it is to be understood that any suitable number of ferromagnetic regions 154 separated by coupling region(s) 152 or 153 may be included in a free region, e.g., to achieve a desired height or height-to-width ratio for the free region.” Further, it is noted that the requisite modification for claim 1 is nearly identical in effect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for other dependent claims such as claims 5 and 6, which also involve a modification of Shibata to include additional ferromagnetic layers in the claimed “first etching stop structure” using the plurality of ferromagnetic layers disclosed by Sun (see also rejection of claims 5 and 6 above). Because Applicant has not specifically addressed or disputed the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for claims 5 and 6 either, a similar 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection to what was applied in claims 5 and 6 in the Non-Final Rejection of record has also been applied to amended claim 1, with ample motivations for this modification [see 0006, 0057-0062 Sun, 35 U.S.C 103 rejections of claims 1, 5, and 6 above]. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the teachings of Sun are found to be insufficient and unpersuasive, and amended claim 1 is still considered within the scope of the teachings of Shibata in view of Sun under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shibata (US2024/0138267A1) (of record) teaches another example of a magnetic domain wall motion element array.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN AYERS WINTERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2892 10/24/2026