Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 9, and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “have a first or second state” which is later followed by having a first and second state is unclear. The or statement does not require both states to be present so the later limitation having to require both is improper. Because it is unclear and it is not defined in applicant’s disclosure and based on the claim construction a definition cannot be derived, therefor unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim. For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that an or statement of first and second states will mean to first and second states.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galloway et al. (US 20200217936 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Galloway teaches
A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor system for a vehicle, comprising: (Aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to light detection and ranging (LIDAR) in the field of optics, and more particularly to systems and methods for multifaceted deflector for scanning of coherent LIDAR to support the operation of a vehicle. (paragraph 0004))
a laser source configured to output a beam; (the laser source is configured to direct the optical beam (paragraph 0005))
a polarization grating configured to direct the beam, based on a polarization of the beam, along either a first path as a first output beam or a second path as a second output beam; (In various implementations, it is recognized that the advantages of near horizontal inclination/declination angles shown in the pattern of FIG. 4B can be achieved with wider horizontal coverages shown in the pattern of FIG. 5B, by replacing the reflective surfaces of the polygon deflector 544 with gratings. (paragraph 0056) As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination.(paragraph 0042) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose a polarization grating it does disclose of an optical coupling which by its definition would include a polarization grating.)
a first scanner configured to receive the first output beam from the first path and output the first output beam as a first scan beam; (In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
and a second scanner configured to receive the second output beam from the second path and output the second output beam as a second scan beam. (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
Regarding claim 2, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, further comprising a polarizer configured to control the polarization grating to have a first state or a second state, wherein the polarization grating is configured to direct the beam as the first output beam along the first path in the first state and is configured to direct the beam as the second output beam along the second path in the second state. (Any known apparatus or system may be used to implement the laser source 112, modulators 182a, 182b, beam splitter 116, reference path 120, optical mixers 184, detector array 130, scanning optics 118, or acquisition system 140. Optical coupling to flood or focus on a target or focus past the pupil plane are not depicted. As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination. (paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 3, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the polarization grating comprises at least one liquid crystal element. (In various implementations, it is recognized that the advantages of near horizontal inclination/declination angles shown in the pattern of FIG. 4B can be achieved with wider horizontal coverages shown in the pattern of FIG. 5B, by replacing the reflective surfaces of the polygon deflector 544 with gratings. (paragraph 0056) As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination.(paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 4, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, further comprising a motor coupled with the first scanner and with the second scanner, the motor configured to rotate the first scanner and the second scanner about a rotation axis, wherein the rotation axis, the first path, and the second path each lie in a same plane. (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
Regarding claim 5, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the first scanner and the second scanner each comprises a plurality of facets forming a polygonal shape. (the deflector assembly 350 includes the first polygon deflector 344a that is operatively coupled to the motor 357 and the second polygon deflector 344b (paragraph 0049))
Regarding claim 6, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the polarization grating is configured to switch, at a switching rate corresponding to a target pattern for output of the first scan beam and the second scan beam, between a first state to direct the beam along the first path or a second state to direct the beam along the second path. (In some implementations, a single beam is directed alternately on multiple polygonal deflectors; (paragraph 0047) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose of a switching rate it does disclose alternately directing the beam on multiple polygonal deflectors. They would be switched at some rate to be directed on the different deflectors.)
Regarding claim 7, Galloway teaches
The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, further comprising an optic disposed between the laser source and the polarization grating, wherein the optic is configured to control the polarization of the beam. (Any known apparatus or system may be used to implement the laser source 112, modulators 182a, 182b, beam splitter 116, reference path 120, optical mixers 184, detector array 130, scanning optics 118, or acquisition system 140. Optical coupling to flood or focus on a target or focus past the pupil plane are not depicted. As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination. (paragraph 0042) The polarizer is the optic that is being used to control polarization of the beam.)
Regarding claim 8, Galloway teaches
An autonomous vehicle control system, comprising: (In other implementations, one or multiple systems of the same type or other high resolution LIDAR, with or without Doppler components, with overlapping or non-overlapping fields of view or one or more such systems mounted on smaller or larger land, sea or air vehicles, piloted or autonomous, are employed. (paragraph 0074))
a laser source configured to output a beam; (the laser source is configured to direct the optical beam (paragraph 0005))
a polarization grating configured to direct the beam, based on a polarization of the beam, along either a first path as a first output beam or along a second path as a second output beam; (In various implementations, it is recognized that the advantages of near horizontal inclination/declination angles shown in the pattern of FIG. 4B can be achieved with wider horizontal coverages shown in the pattern of FIG. 5B, by replacing the reflective surfaces of the polygon deflector 544 with gratings. (paragraph 0056) As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination.(paragraph 0042) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose a polarization grating it does disclose of an optical coupling which by its definition would include a polarization grating.)
a first scanner configured to receive the first output beam from the first path and output the first output beam as a first scan beam; (In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
a second scanner configured to receive the second output beam from the second path and output the second output beam as a second scan beam; (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
and one or more processors configured to: determine, based on a return signal from reflection of the first scan beam or the second scan beam by an object, at least one of a range to or a velocity of the object; (When the returned signal is received from an external object after covering a distance of 2R, where R is the range to the target, the returned signal start at the delayed time Δt is given by 2R/c, where c is the speed of light in the medium (approximately 3×10.sup.8 meters per second, m/s). (paragraph 0037))
and control at least one of a steering system or a braking system of an autonomous vehicle based on the at least one of the range or the velocity. (In some implementations, the vehicle 160 includes a component, such as a steering or braking system (not shown), operated in response to a signal from a processor, such as the vehicle control module 152 of the processing system 150. (paragraph 0043))
Regarding claim 9, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, further comprising a polarizer configured to control the polarization grating to have a first state or a second state, wherein the polarization grating is configured to direct the beam as the first output beam along the first path in the first state and is configured to direct the beam as the second output beam along the second path in the second state. (Any known apparatus or system may be used to implement the laser source 112, modulators 182a, 182b, beam splitter 116, reference path 120, optical mixers 184, detector array 130, scanning optics 118, or acquisition system 140. Optical coupling to flood or focus on a target or focus past the pupil plane are not depicted. As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination. (paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 10, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, wherein the polarization grating comprises at least one liquid crystal element. (In various implementations, it is recognized that the advantages of near horizontal inclination/declination angles shown in the pattern of FIG. 4B can be achieved with wider horizontal coverages shown in the pattern of FIG. 5B, by replacing the reflective surfaces of the polygon deflector 544 with gratings. (paragraph 0056) As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination.(paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 11, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, further comprising a motor coupled with the first scanner and with the second scanner, the motor configured to rotate the first scanner and the second scanner about a rotation axis, wherein the rotation axis, the first path, and the second path each lie in a same plane. (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
Regarding claim 12, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, wherein the first scanner and the second scanner each comprises a plurality of facets forming a polygonal shape. (the deflector assembly 350 includes the first polygon deflector 344a that is operatively coupled to the motor 357 and the second polygon deflector 344b (paragraph 0049))
Regarding claim 13, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, wherein the polarization grating is configured to switch, at a switching rate corresponding to a target pattern for output of the first scan beam and the second scan beam, between a first state to direct the first output beam along the first path or a second state to direct the second output beam along the second path. (In some implementations, a single beam is directed alternately on multiple polygonal deflectors; (paragraph 0047) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose of a switching rate it does disclose alternately directing the beam on multiple polygonal deflectors. They would be switched at some rate to be directed on the different deflectors.)
Regarding claim 14, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle control system of claim 8, further comprising an optic disposed between the laser source and the polarization grating, the optic configured to control the polarization of the beam. (Any known apparatus or system may be used to implement the laser source 112, modulators 182a, 182b, beam splitter 116, reference path 120, optical mixers 184, detector array 130, scanning optics 118, or acquisition system 140. Optical coupling to flood or focus on a target or focus past the pupil plane are not depicted. As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination. (paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 15, Galloway teaches
An autonomous vehicle, comprising: (In other implementations, one or multiple systems of the same type or other high resolution LIDAR, with or without Doppler components, with overlapping or non-overlapping fields of view or one or more such systems mounted on smaller or larger land, sea or air vehicles, piloted or autonomous, are employed. (paragraph 0074))
a LIDAR sensor system, comprising: (Aspects of the present disclosure relate generally to light detection and ranging (LIDAR) in the field of optics, and more particularly to systems and methods for multifaceted deflector for scanning of coherent LIDAR to support the operation of a vehicle. (paragraph 0004))
a laser source configured to output a beam; (the laser source is configured to direct the optical beam (paragraph 0005))
a polarization grating configured to direct the beam, based on a polarization of the beam, along either a first path as a first output beam or a second path as a second output beam; (In various implementations, it is recognized that the advantages of near horizontal inclination/declination angles shown in the pattern of FIG. 4B can be achieved with wider horizontal coverages shown in the pattern of FIG. 5B, by replacing the reflective surfaces of the polygon deflector 544 with gratings. (paragraph 0056) As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination.(paragraph 0042) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose a polarization grating it does disclose of an optical coupling which by its definition would include a polarization grating.)
a first scanner configured to receive the beam from the first path and output the beam as a first scan beam; (In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
a second scanner configured to receive the beam from the second path and output the beam as a second scan beam; (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
and one or more processors configured to determine, based on a return signal from reflection of the first scan beam or the second scan beam by an object, at least one of a range to or a velocity of the object; (When the returned signal is received from an external object after covering a distance of 2R, where R is the range to the target, the returned signal start at the delayed time Δt is given by 2R/c, where c is the speed of light in the medium (approximately 3×10.sup.8 meters per second, m/s). (paragraph 0037))
a steering system; (In some implementations, the vehicle 160 includes a component, such as a steering or braking system (not shown), operated in response to a signal from a processor, such as the vehicle control module 152 of the processing system 150. (paragraph 0043))
a braking system; (In some implementations, the vehicle 160 includes a component, such as a steering or braking system (not shown), operated in response to a signal from a processor, such as the vehicle control module 152 of the processing system 150. (paragraph 0043))
and a vehicle controller configured to control operation of at least one of the steering system or the braking system based on the at least one of the range or the velocity. (In some implementations, the vehicle 160 includes a component, such as a steering or braking system (not shown), operated in response to a signal from a processor, such as the vehicle control module 152 of the processing system 150. (paragraph 0043))
Regarding claim 16, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle of claim 15, wherein: the first scanner is configured to scan the first scan beam in a first region; (In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
and the second scanner is configured to scan the second scan beam in a second region that is above the first scan region in an elevation direction. (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047 and fig. 3A) It can be seen in figure 3A that the second scanner (labeled first in the prior art) is above the first scanner which would scan in a region that is above in elevation.)
Regarding claim 17, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle of claim 16, further comprising a motor coupled with the first scanner and with the second scanner, the motor configured to rotate the first scanner and the second scanner about a rotation axis, wherein the rotation axis, the first path, and the second path each lie in a same plane. (The scanning optics 300 includes a deflector assembly 350 made up of a first polygon deflector 344a coupled to a motor 357 (not shown) and configured to rotate at a first angular velocity 349a about a rotation axis 343. In the illustrated implementation, the deflector assembly 350 also includes a second polygon deflector 344b coupled to the motor 357 and configured to rotate at a second angular velocity 349b about the rotation axis 343. (paragraph 0047))
Regarding claim 18, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle of claim 15, wherein the vehicle controller is configured to control operation of at least one of the steering system or the braking system to avoid collision with the object. (Optical detection of range using lasers, often referenced by a mnemonic, LIDAR, for light detection and ranging, also sometimes called laser RADAR, is used for a variety of applications, from altimetry, to imaging, to collision avoidance. (paragraph 0002) In some implementations, the vehicle 160 includes a component, such as a steering or braking system (not shown), operated in response to a signal from a processor, such as the vehicle control module 152 of the processing system 150. (paragraph 0043))
Regarding claim 19, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle of claim 15, further comprising a polarizer configured to control the polarization grating to have a first state or a second state, wherein the polarization grating is configured to direct the beam as the first output beam as along the first path in the first state and is configured to direct the beam as the second output beam along the second path in the second state. (Any known apparatus or system may be used to implement the laser source 112, modulators 182a, 182b, beam splitter 116, reference path 120, optical mixers 184, detector array 130, scanning optics 118, or acquisition system 140. Optical coupling to flood or focus on a target or focus past the pupil plane are not depicted. As used herein, an optical coupler is any component that affects the propagation of light within spatial coordinates to direct light from one component to another component, such as a vacuum, air, glass, crystal, mirror, lens, optical circulator, beam splitter, phase plate, polarizer, optical fiber, optical mixer, among others, alone or in some combination. (paragraph 0042))
Regarding claim 20, Galloway teaches
The autonomous vehicle of claim 15, wherein the polarization grating is configured to switch, at a switching rate corresponding to a target pattern for output of the first scan beam and the second scan beam, between a first state to direct the beam along the first path or a second state to direct the beam along the second path. (In some implementations, a single beam is directed alternately on multiple polygonal deflectors; (paragraph 0047) While the prior art does not explicitly disclose of a switching rate it does disclose alternately directing the beam on multiple polygonal deflectors. They would be switched at some rate to be directed on the different deflectors.)
Conclusion
/ETHAN JAKOB SLAUGHTER/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648