DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species A, fig. 1, claims 1-20, in the reply filed on 6/18/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 15-17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 10-13, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kanno, US Publication No. 2021/0066340 A1.
Kanno anticipates:
1. A semiconductor device comprising (see figs. 5, 6, 8 and 19):
a first substrate (30);
a wire portion (D0/C2/D1) on the first substrate;
a second substrate (41) on the wire portion;
a first gate stacking structure (e.g. lower 45) on the second substrate;
a second gate stacking structure (e.g. upper 45) on the first gate stacking structure; and
a channel structure (MP) passing through the first gate stacking structure and the second gate stacking structure and connected to the second substrate,
wherein the second substrate (41B/41A in fig. 8; 41D/41A in fig. 19) includes a first material layer (41B; 41D) and a second material layer on the first material layer,
the first material layer (41B; 41D) includes polysilicon including a first material,
the second material layer (41A) includes polysilicon including a second material different from the first material, and
an insulation layer (E1) is disposed between the wire layer and the second substrate. See Kanno at para. [0001] – [0144], figs. 1-21.
3. The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first material layer (41Dc) includes polysilicon doped with carbon, and the second material layer (41A) includes n-doped polysilicon, para. [0082], [0109], fig. 19.
10. The semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein
the channel structure (MP) includes
a channel layer (61), and
a gate dielectric layer (62) disposed between the channel layer and the first and second gate stacking structures (45), fig. 5.
11. The semiconductor device of claim 10, further comprising
a horizontal conductive layer (41C) disposed on the second substrate,
wherein the horizontal conductive layer electrically connects the second substrate (41B/41A in fig. 8; 41D/41A in fig. 19) and the channel layer (41C), figs. 5, 8 and 19.
12. The semiconductor device of claim 11, wherein
the channel structure (MP) further includes a core insulation layer (60) surrounded by the channel layer (61), and
the gate dielectric layer (62) includes a tunneling layer (63), a charge storage layer (64), and a blocking layer (65) sequentially stacked on the channel layer, fig. 6.
Regarding claim 13:
Kanno teaches the limitations as applied to claims 1 and 3 above.
Kanno further teaches the added limitations:
where the wire portion (D0/C2/D1) includes a wire layer (D0, D1) and an insulation layer (E1) covering the wire layer, fig. 5.
Regarding claim 18:
Kanno teaches the limitations as applied to claim above.
Kanno further teaches the added limitations:
a controller (2 in fig. 1) electrically connected to the semiconductor device on the main substrate,
(see fig. 5) wherein the semiconductor device includes a circuit region (PE) and a cell region (40) disposed in the circuit region.
Regarding claim 19:
Kanno teaches the limitations as applied to claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanno, as applied to claims 1 and 13 above.
Regarding claim 2:
Kanno teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above but does not expressly teach:
wherein the first material layer and the second material layer have different values of etching selectivity.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form “the first material layer (e.g. 41Dc) and the second material layer (41A) have different values of etching selectivity” because they comprise different materials at para. [0082], [0109], fig. 19.
Furthermore, Kanno teaches materials for the first material layer and the second material layer that is substantially identical to Applicant’s materials. Therefore, the property of “different values of etching selective” is necessarily present. See MPEP 2112:
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 14:
Kanno teaches the limitations as applied to claim 2 above.
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Shioda, US 20190067317 A1 (Shioda teaches in fig. 18 a second substrate comprising a first material layer (12) and second material layer (84).)
Conclusion
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818
28 August 2026