DETAILED ACTION
Receipt of Arguments/Remarks filed on December 23 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-13 were/stand cancelled. Claims 14-21 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on January 30 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajeev et al. (WO2012037254).
Applicant Claims
The instant application claims:
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Rajeev et al. is directed to modified iRNA agents. Claimed is an iRNA duplex agent comprising a compound having the structure I’:
wherein both A and B can be O. Y can be a hydrogen; X can be a P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” can be oxygens. R includes the structure of formula V:
wherein T5A-5C can be absent or include O, N, NHC(O), etc. L5A-5C a carbohydrate. P5A-5C can be O, NH, etc.; Q5A-5C can be alkylene which can be interrupted with O, N(RN) or C(O), etc.; R5A-5C can be absent or be NH, O, C(O)O, C(O)NH, etc. (claim 19).
In some embodiments, formula I’ has the structure:
(page 32).
A specific structure taught is (claim 28).:
It is taught that iRNA duplex agent includes a double stranded RNA agent or single strand agent that has a duplexed region of less than 60, 50, 40 or 30 nucleotide pairs (page 62). The double stranded iRNA duplex agent may be equal to or at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides in length (page 63). The monomer is taught as being on the 5’-end, 3’-end, at internal position or combinations thereof (page 42).
Another conjugate taught is:
(page 90).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.02)
While Rajeev et al. teaches:
which is the same as instantly claimed (i.e. the stereocenters are the same), the difference is the location of the oligonucleotide. However, Rajeev et al. teaches the oligonucleotide can be attached either at the X or Y position of formula I’ and specifically can be P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” can be oxygen.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the oligonucleotide to the X position of formula I’ of Rajeev et al. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize this position as it is one of two positions taught in which the oligonucleotide can be attached. Since Rajeev et al. specifically claims a duplex agent, one skilled in the art would have been prompted to attach an oligonucleotide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to utilize either N-acetylgalactosamine with free OH groups or N-acetylgalactosamine with OAc groups. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize either as Rajeev et al. teaches that conjugates can be formed with either form of galactosamine. Use of the OAc form results in the formation of the first structure found in table 2.
Regarding the claimed structure, as shown above, the same stereocenters are present. The structure found in claim 28 of Rajeev et al. (corresponding to Q-R) is the same as the first structure of table 2A reading on RB. Rajeev et al. suggests oligonucleotides with a length of at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides which overlaps the instant claims 14-18. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding the elected species, as set forth above the OAc form is obvious. Rajeev et al. teaches that T5A-T5C or R5A-5C can include O, N, NHC(O), etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute the exemplified O with NHC(O). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to replace the exemplified O with NHC(O) as both are taught as suitable species in the formation of the conjugate as taught by Rajeev et al. Regarding the number of carbons, Rajeev et al. exemplifies those with varying length and specifically teaches that the Q5A-Q5B is alkylene
Regarding claim 17 and 19-20, Rajeev et al. teaches the oligonucleotide can be either single stranded or double stranded.
Regarding claim 21, Rajeev et al. claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising an iRNA duplex agent in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (aka vehicle) (claim 33).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed December 23 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the courts have laid out a two-part test for determining the obviousness of a chemical compound. The first step is identifying a lead compound in the prior art. The second step is providing a reason that would have led a chemist to modify the lead compound. It is argued absent a reason or motivation based on such prior art evidence, mere structural similarity between the prior art compound and the claimed compound does not inform the lead compound selection. It is argued that to select a lead compound from Rajeev, one would have to look to the activity data for the compound. Examples 14-16 of Rajeev illustrate that compounds having -Q11-L96 (chol-GalNac) as well as -L96. These examples from Rajeev are bound to the oligonucleotide at the 2-position. In contrast the presently claimed conjugates have the oligonucleotide bound at the 4-position. Rajeev does not provide any reason to change the position the oligonucleotide is bound. It is argued that Formula I’ in Rajeev teaches numerous points of attachment for an oligonucleotide. None of the exemplified compounds have an oligonucleotide conjugated at the 4’-position.
Regarding Applicants’ argument, firstly, the MPEP makes it clear that cases involving so-called “lead compounds” form an important subgroup of the obviousness cases that are based on substitution. It should be noted that the lead compound cases do not stand for the proposition that identification of a single lead compound is necessary in every obviousness rejection of a chemical compound. For example, one might envision a suggestion in the prior art to formulate a compound having certain structurally defined moieties, or moieties with certain properties. If a person of ordinary skill would have known how to synthesize such a compound, and the structural and/or functional result could reasonably have been predicted, then a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed chemical compound might exist even without identification of a particular lead compound. Obviousness of a chemical compound in view of its structural similarity to a prior art compound may be shown by identifying some line of reasoning that would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to select and modify the prior art compound in a particular way to produce the claimed compound. Note: MPEP 2143.
Here the examiner cannot agree that attachment at the 2’ position would be the only position that one skilled in the art based on the teachings of Rajeev would be motivated to attach the oligonucleotide. The previous Office action stated the motivation one skilled in the art would have to attach the oligonucleotide at the 2’-position (i.e. corresponding to the X position of formula 1’ of Rajeev). Specifically Rajeev teaches two different positions to which the oligonucleotide can be attach, specifically either the X (2’-position) or Y (4’-position). Since there are only two choices and the synthesis for attaching the oligonucleotide at the X or Y position would be the same, attaching at either position is obvious. MPEP 2143 makes it clear: If a person of ordinary skill would have known how to synthesize such a compound, and the structural and/or functional result could reasonably have been predicted, then a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed chemical compound might exist even without identification of a particular lead compound. Rajeev teaches compounds of formula 1’, it is the examiners position that this is where one skilled in the art would start. Then one skilled in the art would recognize from the teachings of Rajeev all that is required to arrive at the instantly claimed invention is to select from the choices taught in Rajeev to arrive at the instant claims. The examiner notes that none of the arguments establish an unexpected effect with attachment of the oligonucleotide at the 2’-position compared to the 4’-position. No where in Rajeev is there a teaching away from attaching the oligonucleotide at the 2’-position. In fact claim 19 makes it clear that the oligonucleotide could be attached at either the X or Y position. The rejection is made under 103 and does not need to exemplify all embodiments, only suggest. “Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from the broader disclosure or non-preferred embodiment.” In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). MPEP 2123. Therefore, while attachment at the 2’-position is not exemplified, the examiner cannot agree that Rajeev would not provide motivation to attach the oligonucleotide at this position. Contrary to Applicants position, Rajeev teaches a finite number of positions to which the oligonucleotide can be attached, specifically two different positions. While Rajeev might teach different functional groups which can be used to attach the oligonucleotide, Rajeev still only teaches the oligonucleotide can be at two different positions either the X or Y position. The examiner notes that while the instant claims require the oligonucleotide has a 5’-end attached to the oxygen atom, nothing in the specification excludes a linker being used to connect the 5’-end to the oxygen (i.e. the claim does not require a particular linkage between the 5’-end and the oxygen). Thus, the examiner cannot agree that multiple of the choices for X or Y could read on the instant claims.
Double Patenting
Claims 14-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8106022 in view of Rajeev et al. (WO2012037254). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant application claims:
Patent ‘022 claims an iRNA agent comprising a compound having the structure shown in formula I:
wherein A and B can both be O; Y can be H: X can be P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” can be O; wherein linker-R are of a similar structure as instantly claimed. The iRNA agent is double stranded.
While Patent ‘022 claims a similar linker-R structure, Patent ‘022 does not expressly claim the structures found in Table 2 or 2A. However, this deficiency is cured by Rajeev et al.
Rajeev et al. is directed to modified iRNA agents. Claimed is an iRNA duplex agent comprising a compound having the structure I’:
wherein both A and B can be O. Y can be a hydrogen; X can be a P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” can be oxygens. R includes the structure of formula V:
wherein T5A-5C can be absent or include O, N, NHC(O), etc. L5A-5C a carbohydrate. P5A-5C can be O, NH, etc.; Q5A-5C can be alkylene which can be interrupted with O, N(RN) or C(O), etc.; R5A-5C can be absent or be NH, O, C(O)O, C(O)NH, etc. (claim 19).
In some embodiments, formula I’ has the structure:
(page 32).
A specific structure taught is (claim 28).:
It is taught that iRNA duplex agent includes a double stranded RNA agent or single strand agent that has a duplexed region of less than 60, 50, 40 or 30 nucleotide pairs (page 62). The double stranded iRNA duplex agent may be equal to or at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides in length (page 63). The monomer is taught as being on the 5’-end, 3’-end, at internal position or combinations thereof (page 42).
Another conjugate taught is:
(page 90).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patent ‘022 and Rajeev et al. and attach the oligonucleotide to the X position of formula I of Patent ‘022. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize this position as it is one of two positions taught in which the oligonucleotide can be attached. Since Patent ‘022 specifically claims a duplex agent, one skilled in the art would have been prompted to attach an oligonucleotide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patent ‘022 and Rajeev et al. and utilize either N-acetylgalactosamine with free OH groups or N-acetylgalactosamine with OAc groups. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize either as Rajeev et al. teaches that conjugates can be formed with either form of galactosamine. Use of the OAc form results in the formation of the first structure found in table 2.
Regarding the claimed structure, as shown above, the same stereocenters are present. The structure found in claim 28 of Rajeev et al. (corresponding to Q-R) is the same as the first structure of table 2A reading on RB. Rajeev et al. suggests oligonucleotides with a length of at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides which overlaps the instant claims 14-18. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05. Since both Patent ‘022 and Rajeev et al. teach iRNA agents there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the elected species, as set forth above the OAc form is obvious. Rajeev et al. teaches that T5A-T5C or R5A-5C can include O, N, NHC(O), etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute the exemplified O with NHC(O). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to replace the exemplified O with NHC(O) as both are taught as suitable species in the formation of the conjugate as taught by Rajeev et al. Regarding the number of carbons, Rajeev et al. exemplifies those with varying length and specifically teaches that the Q5A-Q5B is alkylene
Regarding claim 17 and 19-20, Rajeev et al. teaches the oligonucleotide can be either single stranded or double stranded.
Regarding claim 21, Rajeev et al. claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising an iRNA duplex agent in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (aka vehicle) (claim 33).
Claims 14-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 8450467 in view of Rajeev et al. (WO2012037254). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Patent ‘467 claims a process of making a ligand-containing conjugate having the structure of formula I:
; wherein A and B can both be O; Y can be H: X can be P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” can be O; wherein linker-R are the same as instantly claimed. Conjugation to the 5’end of the oligonucleotide is claimed.
While Patent ‘467 claims the same linker, Patent ‘467 does not expressly claim all the claimed limitations. However, these deficiency are cured by Rajeev et al.
The teachings of Rajeev et al. are set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patent ‘467 and Rajeev et al. and utilize either N-acetylgalactosamine with free OH groups or N-acetylgalactosamine with OAc groups. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize either as Rajeev et al. teaches that conjugates can be formed with either form of galactosamine. Use of the OAc form results in the formation of the first structure found in table 2.
Regarding the claimed structure, as shown above, the same stereocenters are present. The structure found in claim 28 of Rajeev et al. and claim 16 of Patent ‘467 (corresponding to Q-R) is the same as the first structure of table 2A reading on RB. Rajeev et al. suggests oligonucleotides with a length of at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides which overlaps the instant claims 14-18. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05. Since both Patent ‘467 and Rajeev et al. teach iRNA agents there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the elected species, as set forth above the OAc form is obvious. Rajeev et al. teaches that T5A-T5C or R5A-5C can include O, N, NHC(O), etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute the exemplified O with NHC(O). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to replace the exemplified O with NHC(O) as both are taught as suitable species in the formation of the conjugate as taught by Rajeev et al. Regarding the number of carbons, Rajeev et al. exemplifies those with varying length and specifically teaches that the Q5A-Q5B is alkylene
Regarding claim 17 and 19-20, Rajeev et al. teaches the oligonucleotide can be either single stranded or double stranded.
Regarding claim 21, Rajeev et al. claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising an iRNA duplex agent in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (aka vehicle) (claim 33).
Claims 14-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-33 of U.S. Patent No. 9290760 in view of Rajeev et al. (WO2012037254). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims overlap in scope.
The instant claims are set forth above.
Patent ‘760 claims an iRNA duplex agent comprising a compound having the structure shown in formula I’:
wherein A and B can both be O, Y can be H; X can be P(Z’)(Z”)O-oligonucleotide wherein Z’ and Z” are O. The oligonucleotide comprises a sense and antisense strand. A similar Q-R as instantly claimed is claimed. A similar ligand is recited (claim 23).
While Patent ‘760 claims the same linker, Patent ‘760 does not expressly claim all the claimed limitations. However, these deficiency are cured by Rajeev et al.
The teachings of Rajeev et al. are set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Patent ‘760 and Rajeev et al. and utilize either N-acetylgalactosamine with free OH groups or N-acetylgalactosamine with OAc groups. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize either as Rajeev et al. teaches that conjugates can be formed with either form of galactosamine. Use of the OAc form results in the formation of the first structure found in table 2.
Regarding the claimed structure, as shown above, the same stereocenters are present. The structure found in claim 28 of Rajeev et al. and claim 23 of Patent ‘760 (corresponding to Q-R) is the same as the first structure of table 2A reading on RB. Rajeev et al. suggests oligonucleotides with a length of at least 14 up to 60 nucleotides which overlaps the instant claims 14-18. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note MPEP 2144.05. Since both Patent ‘760 and Rajeev et al. teach iRNA agents there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the elected species, as set forth above the OAc form is obvious. Rajeev et al. teaches that T5A-T5C or R5A-5C can include O, N, NHC(O), etc. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to substitute the exemplified O with NHC(O). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to replace the exemplified O with NHC(O) as both are taught as suitable species in the formation of the conjugate as taught by Rajeev et al. Regarding the number of carbons, Rajeev et al. exemplifies those with varying length and specifically teaches that the Q5A-Q5B is alkylene
Regarding claim 17 and 19-20, Rajeev et al. teaches the oligonucleotide can be either single stranded or double stranded.
Regarding claim 21, Rajeev et al. claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising an iRNA duplex agent in combination with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (aka vehicle) (claim 33).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed December 23 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that the claims of the ‘022 patent show compounds having oligonucleotides at the 2 position not the 4 position.
Applicants argue that the ‘476 patent recites an enormous genus encompassing thousands of compounds which do not require an oligonucleotide attached at the 4’-position.
Applicants argue that the ‘760 patent is the US counterpart of Rajeev. The claims are distinct for the reasons set forth above. Additionally, claim 1 of the ‘760 patent recites an enormous genus.
Applicants arguments are not persuasive for the reasons set forth above. The claims of the patents still recite that the oligonucleotide can be attached at two different positions (or both). Therefore, the scope is not so enormous that one skilled in the art would not have obvious to make the structural modification to arrive at the claimed invention. Again, nothing in the arguments establish an unexpected effect with attachment of the oligonucleotide at the 2’ position opposed to the 4’position.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL VANHORN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1636