DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of electing Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on February 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-23 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a canceled invention. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 18, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the term "substantially” is a relative term which render the claims indefinite. The term " substantially " is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2020/0326457 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches a coating (Abstract, [0011]), comprising: a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) of an organic molecule such as a polar head group and a hydrophobic tail group, the polar head group being configured to covalently attach to an underlying metal or ceramic surface ([0055], [0059], [0071], [0072], [0092], Fig. 1). However, it is the position of the examiner that disclosure the properties of disintegrate, are inherent, given that the coating material and coating substrates disclosed by Jeon et al. and the present application having same coating process and material such as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) of an organic molecule such as perfluoropolyether (PFPE) and covalently bonded to the ceramic surface ([0026], [0039], [0043] in current specification; [0059], [0071] in Jeon). A reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. Inherency is not established by probabilities or possibilities. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon teaches wherein the SAM is transparent to visible light ([0059]).
Regarding claim 4, Jeon teaches wherein the organic molecule comprises perfluoropolyether reads on a primary tail group with a chain length of at least 15 carbons ([0059], as admitted by current specification [0039], [0049]); and triethoxy(1H,1H,2H,2H-perfluoro-1-octyl)silane (POTS) reads on a secondary tail group having a chain length in a range from 5 to 15 carbons ([0070], as admitted by current specification [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Jeon teaches wherein the SAM may be triethoxy(1H,1H,2H,2H-perfluoro-1-octyl)silane (POTS) reads on wherein the hydrophobic tail group comprises a linear or branched hydrocarbon having at least 8 carbons ([0070], as admitted by current specification [0055]).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon teaches wherein the head group is trichlorosilane for example ([0071]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches a coating, However, it is the position of the examiner that disclosure the properties of degradation, are inherent, given that the coating material and coating substrates disclosed by Jeon et al. and the present application having same coating process and material such as a self-assembled monolayer (SAM) of an organic molecule such as perfluoropolyether (PFPE) and covalently bonded to the ceramic surface ([0026], [0039], [0043] in current specification; [0059], [0071] in Jeon). A reference which is silent about a claimed invention’s features is inherently anticipatory if the missing feature is necessarily present in that which is described in the reference. Inherency is not established by probabilities or possibilities. In re Robertson, 49 USPQ2d 1949 (1999).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon teaches wherein the organic molecule comprises perfluoropolyether ([0059]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0326457 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 3-8.
Regarding claim 2, Jeon teaches a coating comprising SAM as disclosed above. Jeon does not explicitly teach wherein the SAM has a thickness of less than 10 nm. Although Jeon does not explicitly teach the claimed shape & configuration, modifying the apparatus of Jeon in the present application to have the shape & configuration recited in the claim is not expected to alter the operation of the device in a patentably distinct way. Where the configuration of the claimed subject matter is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed subject matter was significant is not patent eligible subject matter. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon teaches wherein the organic molecule comprises perfluoropolyether ([0059], as admitted by current Application [0043] PFPE has a molecular weight in a range from about 2000 to about 7000, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) see MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717