CTNF 18/427,614 CTNF 84562 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Muroga (US Pub. No. 2022/0130746 A1) . As to claim 1, Muroga discloses a semiconductor package (fig 2) comprising: a semiconductor chip (81); and a package substrate (10) comprising: a base layer (20); a plurality of upper bump pads (31) disposed on the base layer (20); an upper passivation layer (40) disposed on the base layer (20), the upper passivation layer comprising a plurality of first openings (41); and an insulating patch (60; [0018]) disposed between an outer region of the semiconductor chip (81) and the upper passivation layer (40), the insulating patch comprising a plurality of patch openings (openings in 60); and a plurality of bump structures (70) disposed between the plurality of upper bump pads (31) and the semiconductor chip (81), wherein each of the plurality of bump structures (70) is disposed on a corresponding one of the plurality of upper bump pads (31) through a corresponding one of the plurality of first openings (41) of the upper passivation layer (40) and a corresponding one of the plurality of patch openings (openings of 60) of the insulating patch (60). As to claim 4, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein a material of the insulating patch is different from a material of the upper passivation layer ([0030]). As to claim 5, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein a coefficient of thermal expansion of the insulating patch is different from a CTE of the upper passivation layer ([0030]). As to claim 6, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the insulating patch (60) vertically overlaps a corner region of the semiconductor chip (81). As to claim 7, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 6 (paragraphs above), wherein the insulating patch (60) comprises an overlap region vertically overlapping the corner region of the semiconductor chip (81) and a non-overlap region (region of 60 outside and not overlapping chip 81) that does not vertically overlap the semiconductor chip (81), and the plurality of patch openings are in the overlap region of the insulating patch (openings in 60 overlapping with chip 81). As to claim 10, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the package substrate further comprises a dam (portion of 60 at edge of underfill 85) structure disposed on the upper passivation layer (40), the dam structure (structure of 60) at least partially surrounding the semiconductor chip (81). As to claim 11, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 10 (paragraphs above), wherein a material of the dam structure and a material of the insulating patch are same as each other ([0018]). As to claim 12, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 10 (paragraphs above), wherein the dam structure is connected to the insulating patch (structure of 60 surrounding at edge of underfill 85 is connected to 60), and a top surface of the dam structure is coplanar with a top surface of the insulating patch (top surface of 60 is coplanar) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2008/0277802 A1), hereafter referred to as Tsai . As to claim 1, Tsai discloses a semiconductor package (fig 7) comprising: a semiconductor chip (50); and a package substrate (4) comprising: a base layer (40); a plurality of upper bump pads (41) disposed on the base layer (40); an upper passivation layer (43) disposed on the base layer (40), the upper passivation layer comprising a plurality of first openings (openings in 43); and an insulating patch (42) disposed between an outer region of the semiconductor chip (50) and the upper passivation layer (43), the insulating patch comprising a plurality of patch openings (openings in 42); and a plurality of bump structures (51) disposed between the plurality of upper bump pads (41) and the semiconductor chip (50), wherein each of the plurality of bump structures (51) is disposed on a corresponding one of the plurality of upper bump pads (41) through a corresponding one of the plurality of first openings of the upper passivation layer (openings in 43) and a corresponding one of the plurality of patch openings of the insulating patch (openings in 42). As to claim 2, Tsai discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein a material of the insulating patch is same as a material of the upper passivation layer ([0036]). As to claim 3, Tsai discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein a material of the insulating patch and a material of the upper passivation layer each comprise a solder resist ([0036]). As to claim 8, Tsai discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above), wherein the upper passivation layer exposes a center region of the base layer (opening in 42 exposing base layer 40), and the center region is at least partially surrounded by an outer region covered by the upper passivation layer (outer region covered by 43). As to claim 9, Tsai discloses the semiconductor package of claim 8 (paragraphs above), an underfill material layer (52) disposed in a gap between the semiconductor chip (50) and the package substrate (4), wherein the underfill material layer (52) is in contact with the insulating patch (42), the plurality of bump structure (41), and the center region of the base layer (40) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0181309 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee . As to claim 18, Lee discloses a package substrate (fig 2A) comprising: a base layer (111); a plurality of upper bump pads (141) disposed on the base layer (111); an upper passivation layer (113) disposed on the base layer (111), the upper passivation layer comprising a through hole exposing a center region of the base layer (hole in 113 exposing center of 111) and a plurality of first openings exposing the plurality of upper bump pads (openings in 113 exposing 141); and a plurality of insulating patches (150 on left side and 150 on right side, see fig 3A) on the upper passivation layer (113), the plurality of insulating patches being disposed apart from each other (fig 3A, 150 on left apart from 150 on the right), wherein each of the plurality of insulating patches (150) comprises a plurality of patch openings (openings in 150 for solder 145), aligned with the plurality of first openings of the upper passivation layer (openings in 150 for conductor 145 are aligned with openings in 113 for conductor 141) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muroga in view of Lee (US Pub. No. 2021/0391277 A1), hereafter referred to as Lee2 . As to claim 13, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 10 (paragraphs above). Muroga does not disclose wherein the dam structure is disposed apart from the insulating patch. Nonetheless, Lee2 discloses wherein a dam structure is disposed apart from the underfill region (fig 2, dam 208). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the dam structure of Lee2 in the semiconductor package of Muroga since this will improve the outflow control of the underfill material. As to claim 14, Muroga discloses the semiconductor package of claim 1 (paragraphs above). Muroga further discloses wherein each of the plurality of bump structures comprises: a solder layer (83; [0057]) between the chip (81) and a corresponding one of the plurality of upper bump pads (31), wherein the solder layer (83) is in contact with a sidewall of the insulating patch (60), and wherein the sidewall of the insulating patch defines a corresponding one of the plurality of patch openings of the insulating patch (opening in 60). Muroga does not disclose wherein a conductive pillar disposed on the semiconductor chip; and a solder layer between the conductive pillar and a corresponding one of the plurality of upper bump pads. Nonetheless, Lee2 discloses wherein each of the plurality of bump structures (fig 6, bump structure between chip 602 and substrate 401) comprises: a conductive pillar disposed on the semiconductor chip (pillar shown on chip 602; [0021]); and a solder layer between the conductive pillar and a corresponding one of the plurality of upper bump pads (fig 6, solder layer between pillar on chip 602 and one of pads 403; [0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to include the conductive pillar on the semiconductor chip with the solder in contact with the bump pad in the semiconductor package of Muroga as taught in Lee2 since this will improve the standoff height of the semiconductor chip with the package substrate . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-07 AIA 07-97 12-51-07 Claim s 15-17 are allowed. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 15, specifically, a distance between at least one of the plurality of second solder layers and the base layer is greater than a distance between at least one of the plurality of first solder layers and the base layer. Claims 16-17 are allowable because of their dependence from claim 15. The prior art of record fails to teach or suggest all of the limitations of claim 19, specifically, wherein the upper passivation layer, the plurality of insulating patches, and the dam structure comprise a same material as each other. Claim 20 is objected to as being allowable because of its dependence from claim 19 . Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9,549,472B2 and Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SHAUN M CAMPBELL whose telephone number is (571)270-3830. The examiner can normally be reached on MWFS: 7:30-6pm Thurs 1-2pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Purvis, Sue can be reached at (571)272-1236. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SHAUN M CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/427,614 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893