DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, which corresponds to claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 05/25/2026 is acknowledged. Therefore, claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim 1 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/632221 such as a package structure, comprising: a redistributed circuit structure, having opposite first surface and second surface; a plurality of chips, disposed on the second surface of the redistributed circuit structure; a second encapsulant, disposed on the second surface of the redistributed circuit structure and covers the chips; a plurality of supporting members, disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure and embedded in the redistributed circuit structure; a first encapsulant, disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure and covers the supporting members; and a plurality of connection terminals, connected to the supporting members.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 2 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to a thickness of the second encapsulant is greater than a thickness of the first encapsulant.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 3 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 4 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to a thickness of the first encapsulant is greater than a thickness of the plurality of supporting members.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 4 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 5 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to each of the supporting members comprises a first portion and a second portion surrounding the first portion, and a thickness of the first portion is different from a thickness of the second portion.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 5 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 7 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to a portion of the connection terminals is embedded in the first encapsulant.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 6 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claims 8-10 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to the first encapsulant has a first encapsulating surface and a second encapsulating surface opposite to each other, the plurality of supporting members have a first supporting surface and a second supporting surface opposite to each other, and the first encapsulating surface, the first supporting surface, and the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure are coplanar, and wherein the second encapsulating surface and the second supporting surface are not coplanar; the second supporting surface is not flat; or the second supporting surface is an etched surface.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 7 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 11 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to the first encapsulant has a second encapsulating surface away from the redistributed circuit structure, the plurality of supporting members have a second supporting surface far away from the redistributed circuit structure, and a roughness of the encapsulating surface is different from a roughness of the supporting surface.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 8 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to a portion of the plurality of supporting members is overlapped with the plurality of chips.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/632221. Claim 9 of the present application contains substantially the same subject matter as claim 13 of copending Application No. 18/632221, such as both claims have subject matter directed to a portion of the plurality of supporting members is electrically connected to the plurality of chips, and a portion of the plurality of supporting members is electrically separated from the plurality of chips.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Oh et al. (US 9,972,581; hereinafter Yu).
Regarding claim 1, Yu, in fig. 16, discloses a package structure comprising: a redistributed circuit structure (56C/58A) having a first surface (bottom surface of layer 66) and a second surface (bottom surface of layer 50) opposite to each other; a plurality of chips 36 disposed on the second surface of the redistributed circuit structure (56C/58A); a second encapsulant 48 disposed on the second surface of the redistributed circuit structure (56C/58A) and covering the plurality of chips 36; a plurality of supporting members 68 disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure (56C/58A); a first encapsulant 66 disposed on the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure (56C/58A) and covering the plurality of supporting members 68; and a plurality of connection terminals 70 connected to the plurality of supporting members 68.
Regarding claim 2, Yu discloses wherein a thickness of the second encapsulant 48 is greater than a thickness of the first encapsulant 66 (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 3, Yu discloses wherein a thickness of the first encapsulant 66 is greater than a thickness of the plurality of supporting members 68 (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 4, Yu discloses wherein each of the supporting members comprises a first portion and a second portion surrounding the first portion, and a thickness of the first portion is different from a thickness of the second portion (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 5, Yu discloses wherein a portion of the connection terminals is embedded in the first encapsulant (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 6, Yu discloses wherein the first encapsulant has a first encapsulating surface and a second encapsulating surface opposite to each other, the plurality of supporting members have a first supporting surface and a second supporting surface opposite to each other, and the first encapsulating surface, the first supporting surface, and the first surface of the redistributed circuit structure are coplanar, and wherein the second encapsulating surface and the second supporting surface are not coplanar; the second supporting surface is not flat; or the second supporting surface is an etched surface (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 7, Yu discloses wherein the first encapsulant has a second encapsulating surface away from the redistributed circuit structure, the plurality of supporting members have a second supporting surface far away from the redistributed circuit structure, and a roughness of the encapsulating surface is different from a roughness of the supporting surface (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 8, Yu discloses wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members 68 is overlapped with the plurality of chips 36 (fig. 16).
Regarding claim 9, Yu discloses wherein a portion of the plurality of supporting members 68 is electrically connected to the plurality of chips 36, and a portion of the plurality of supporting members 68 is electrically separated from the plurality of chips 36 (fig. 16).
Conclusion
4. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to David Vu whose telephone number is (571) 272-1798. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempt to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Steven Loke H can be reached on (571) 272-1657. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/DAVID VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818