DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 08/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-13 are pending for examination. Claims 4 and 7 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a monochrome part configured to separate…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (USPGPUB 2017/0135582) in view of Bechtel et al. (USPGPUB 2007/0049809 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 1, Cho discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Figs. 11-12 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (elements 130/132, Fig. 11 and associated descriptions); and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (OBJ, Figs. 11-12 and associated descriptions; [0142]); a monochrome part configured to separate different wavelength components of the light cause the different wavelength components to be transmitted sequentially (filters 262-1, 262-2…etc. and/or 263-1, 263-2…etc. , Fig. 11 and associated descriptions; [0125-0130]; it is noted that different wavelength components of the light are sequentially arrived to each of the detectors according to the different optical paths, see Fig. 11); a light receiver configured to receive the light transmitted via the monochrome part and to generate electrical signals based on the received light (elements 266-1, 266-2…etc., Fig. 11 and associated descriptions); and a processor configured to extract information on the blood glucose level of the subject (element 500, Fig. 12 and associated descriptions; [0142-0144]), wherein the processor is configured to: determine a plurality of wavelength-dependent intensity values, each wavelength dependent intensity value being obtained from an electrical signal generated by the light receiver when a corresponding portion of the monochrome part is disposed in an optical path of the light received by the light receiver ([0122]; [0127]; [0142-0145]); generate a Raman spectrum consisting of the plurality of wavelength-dependent intensity values ([0058]; [0122]; [0127]; [0142-0145]); and extract the information on the blood glucose level based on the Raman spectrum ([0122]; [0127]; [0142-0145]).
Cho does not specifically disclose a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction and a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction and
separate different wavelength components of the light that is incident from the second mirror.
Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; laser, [0006]); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16 or 28, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, or changes from right to left direction to top to bottom direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a monochrome part configured to separate wavelength components of the light that is incident from the second mirror (element 56, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Cho) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the sample/ tissue of a subject to detector(s) as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a particular tissue site of a subject.
In regard to claim 2, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses the light source irradiates a near-infrared (NIR) ray or a mid-infrared (MIR) ray (the light source may be configured to emit near infrared light having a wavelength band of about 800 nm to about 2500 nm, [0074] of Cho; a laser emitting in the infrared range of 750 nm to 1200 nm and can comprise a diode laser emitting at 830 nm, for example, [0006] of Bechtel).
In regard to claim 3, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses a first lens disposed in front of the light source to concentrate the light irradiated by the light source (lenses, [0031] of Cho).
In regard to claim 8, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses a second lens disposed before the monochrome part to concentrate the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject (lens, [0131] of Cho; element 46, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions of Bechtel).
In regard to claim 9, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses an optical filter disposed before the monochrome part to allow light of a predetermined wavelength band to be transmitted to the monochrome part (elements 262-1, 262-2…etc., Fig. 11 and associated descriptions of Cho; element 44, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions of Bechtel).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cho and Bechtel as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Rowe et al. (USPGPUB 2004/0240712 – cited in previous action). In regard to claims 5-6, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses all the claimed limitations except a first wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light irradiated by the light source; a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject.
Rowe teaches an optical glucose measuring apparatus (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) comprises a light source (element(s) 103a-b/ 303a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions) and a light detector (element 115 or 317, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions), a first wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light irradiated by the light source (element(s) 107a-b/ 307a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions); a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject (elements 111/311, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Cho as modified by Bechtel) to incorporate the polarization elements and associated configurations as taught by Rowe, since both devices are optical glucose monitoring systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that polarization elements facilitate reducing directly reflected/ unwanted light being detected (see at least [0052-0053] of Rowe). The rationale would have been to obtain more accurate optical measurements.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Cho and Bechtel as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-9 above, in view of Kang et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0059582 – cited in previous action) and further in view of Nakao (USPGPUB 2014/0031649 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 10, Cho as modified by Bechtel discloses all the claimed limitations except a glucose level in an interstitial fluid is measured based on ratios of areas of (a) a peak at about 1450 cm-1, and (c) a peak at about 1125 cm-1
Kang discloses a Raman spectroscopy system (Figs. 1-5 and associated descriptions), wherein a glucose level in an interstitial fluid (ISF, [0007] and [0073]) is measured based on ratios of areas (Band-area ratios, [0083]) of (a) a peak at about 1450 cm-1 (1450 cm-1, [0083]), and (c) a peak at about 1125 cm-1 (1125 cm-1, [0083]) and the Raman spectra in the range of 810 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1 can be used in the band-area ratio calculations ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Cho as modified by Bechtel) to incorporate the ratios of areas calculations and associated wavenumbers/functions/elements as taught by Kang, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that ratios of areas calculation of specific wavenumbers provide additional glucose information (see Kang). The rationale would have been to obtain additional glucose information from Raman signals.
Cho as modified by Bechtel and Kang discloses the Raman spectra in the range of 810 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1 can be used in the band-area ratio calculations ([0083] of Kang) but does not specifically disclose a peak at about 1660 cm-1 .
Nakao teaches a Raman spectroscopy device (Figs. 5 and 7 and associated descriptions) configured to obtain glucose concentration information by acquiring the ratio between the peak intensity of water at 1650 cm~' and the peak intensity of glucose in the Raman spectra of tissue (Fig. 7 and associated descriptions; 1650 cm -1 and glucose peak intensity, [0078-0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Cho as modified by Bechtel and Kang) to incorporate the peak wavenumber of 1650 cm-1 of Raman spectra as taught by Nakao in the band-area ratios calculations, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the ratio of peak intensity of 1650 cm-1 and any of the peak intensities of glucose of Raman spectra provide additional glucose information of the tissue (see Nakao). The rationale would have been to obtain more glucose information.
In regard to claim 11, Cho as modified by Bechtel, Kang and Nakao discloses for (a) the peak at about 1450 cm -1, the area is obtained in a range between 1415 cm and 1480 cm -1, which corresponds to proteins (band-area ratios of 1450 cm -1, [0083] of Kang; it is inherent that a band near 1450 cm-1 satisfies the range and would correspond to proteins).
In regard to claim 12, Cho as modified by Bechtel, Kang and Nakao discloses for (b) the peak at about 1660 cm, the area is obtained in a range between 1630 cm to 1685 cm-1, which corresponds to fats (band-area ratios, [0083] of Kang; water peak of 1650 cm -1 for glucose estimation, Fig. 7 and associated descriptions; [0078-0079] of Nakao; it is inherent that a band near 1650 cm-1 satisfies the range and would correspond to fats).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,484,812 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claims 1-2 of present application, claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘812 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘812) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,484,813 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claims 1-2 of present application, claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘813 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘813) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
The followings are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/427,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3 of ‘879 anticipate/ recite similar limitations of claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 of present application.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-4 of copending Application No. 18/427,880 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3-4 of ‘879 anticipate/ recite similar limitations of claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 of present application.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/427,883 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claim 1 of present application, claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of ‘883 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of ‘883) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regard to claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest “for (c) the peak at about 1125 cm-1, the area is obtained by summing areas in three ranges (c-i) between 1089 cm-1 and 1160 cm-1, (c-ii) between 1115 cm-1 and 1140 cm-1, and (c-iii) between 1120 cm-1 and 1130 cm-1, which correspond to glucose”, in combination with the other claimed elements/ steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to claim 1 filed on 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in views of the new grounds of rejection.
In regard to the double patenting rejections, applicant requested that the rejections be held in abeyance. In response, the DP rejections maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791