DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-13 are pending for examination. Claims 4 and 7 are cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a monochrome part configured to separate…” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims that depend directly or indirectly from claim 1 is/are also rejected due to said dependency. In regard to claim 1, the claim recites “a processor configured to extract information on the blood glucose level of the subject based on a frequency shift of the light due to the Raman effect”. Examiner cannot find adequate supports for the limitations. The specification merely describes the “frequency shift” in the Abstract and claim 1 without any details of using frequency shift of the light due to the Raman effect for the extraction of blood glucose information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok et al. (USPN 8,879,060) in view of Bechtel et al. (USPGPUB 2007/0049809 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 1, Kwok discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Figs 1a and 1b and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 28, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 46a-d, Fig. 1b and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction (light directions before or after elements 46a-d, Fig. 1b and associated descriptions) , which is different from the first direction (light directions before or after elements 46a-d, Fig. 1b and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a sample (elements 20, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions); a monochrome part configured to separate different wavelength components of the light that is incident from the sample (elements 42a/34, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions) and cause the different wavelength components to be transmitted sequentially (filter wheel 34/34a-e and associated filters 48/50, Figs. 1a-b and 2a-2f and associated descriptions); a light receiver configured to receive the light transmitted via the monochrome part and to generate electrical signals based on the received light (element 24, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions); and a processor configured to extract information on the glucose level of the subject based on a frequency shift of the light due to the Raman effect (elements 26/40/44, Figs. 1a-1b and 7a-7b and associated descriptions), wherein the processor is configured to extract the information on the glucose level based on the electrical signals that are sequentially obtained by the light receiver via the monochrome part (“The filter wheel 34 is connected to a motor (not shown) configured to rotate the filter wheel 34 at a predetermined period or frequency. The Raman signal is filtered at two predetermined spectral regions by two optical filters and periodically passes through the filter wheel 34 for n periods during a circle of the wheel rotation”, Col 3 lines 20-59; λS1, sample signal, and λS2, standard signal and ratios and glucose concentrations, Figs. 1a-1b, 6a, 7a and 7b and associated descriptions; It is noted that the sequentially detected electrical signals associated with λS1 and λS2 from the rotating filter wheel are utilized in part to obtain the glucose information, see at least Col 3 line 60 – Col 4 line 20; Col 14 line 7 – Col 15 line 15).
Kwok does not specifically disclose the sample is a subject and a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction.
Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a monochrome part configured to separate wavelength components of the light that is incident from the second mirror (element 56, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Kwok) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the sample/ tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
In regard to claim 2, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses the light source irradiates a near-infrared (NIR) ray or a mid-infrared (MIR) ray (Figs. 1a-1b and associated descriptions; Col 9 lines 54; Col 14 lines 11-43 of Kwok).
In regard to claim 3, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses a first lens disposed in front of the light source to concentrate the light irradiated by the light source (elements 32/64, Figs. 1a-1b and associated descriptions of Kwok).
In regard to claim 8, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses a second lens disposed before the monochrome part to concentrate the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject (referring to claim 1 above; element 46, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions of Bechtel).
In regard to claim 9, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses an optical filter disposed before the monochrome part to allow light of a predetermined wavelength band to be transmitted to the monochrome part (referring to claim 1 above; element 44, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions of Bechtel).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kwok and Bechtel as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-9 above, and further in view of Rowe et al. (USPGPUB 2004/0240712 – cited in previous action). In regard to claims 5-6, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses all the claimed limitations except a first wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light irradiated by the light source; a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject.
Rowe teaches an optical glucose measuring apparatus (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) comprises a light source (element(s) 103a-b/ 303a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions) and a light detector (element 115 or 317, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions), a first wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light irradiated by the light source (element(s) 107a-b/ 307a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions); a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light that is reflected and scattered from the subject (elements 111/311, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Kwok as modified by Bechtel) to incorporate the polarization elements and associated configurations as taught by Rowe, since both devices are optical glucose monitoring systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that polarization elements facilitate reducing directly reflected/ unwanted light being detected (see at least [0052-0053] of Rowe). The rationale would have been to obtain more accurate optical measurements.
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kwok and Bechtel as applied to claims 1-3 and 8-9 above, in view of Kang et al. (USPGPUB 2021/0059582 – cited in previous action) and further in view of Nakao (USPGPUB 2014/0031649 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 10, Kwok as modified by Bechtel discloses all the claimed limitations except a glucose level in an interstitial fluid is measured based on ratios of areas of (a) a peak at about 1450 cm-1, and (c) a peak at about 1125 cm-1
Kang discloses a Raman spectroscopy system (Figs. 1-5 and associated descriptions), wherein a glucose level in an interstitial fluid (ISF, [0007] and [0073]) is measured based on ratios of areas (Band-area ratios, [0083]) of (a) a peak at about 1450 cm-1 (1450 cm-1, [0083]), and (c) a peak at about 1125 cm-1 (1125 cm-1, [0083]) and the Raman spectra in the range of 810 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1 can be used in the band-area ratio calculations ([0083]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Kwok as modified by Bechtel) to incorporate the ratios of areas calculations and associated wavenumbers/functions/elements as taught by Kang, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that ratios of areas calculation of specific wavenumbers provide additional glucose information (see Kang). The rationale would have been to obtain additional glucose information from Raman signals.
Kwok as modified by Bechtel and Kang discloses the Raman spectra in the range of 810 cm-1 to 1650 cm-1 can be used in the band-area ratio calculations ([0083] of Kang) but does not specifically disclose a peak at about 1660 cm-1 .
Nakao teaches a Raman spectroscopy device (Figs. 5 and 7 and associated descriptions) configured to obtain glucose concentration information by acquiring the ratio between the peak intensity of water at 1650 cm~' and the peak intensity of glucose in the Raman spectra of tissue (Fig. 7 and associated descriptions; 1650 cm -1 and glucose peak intensity, [0078-0079]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Kwok as modified by Bechtel and Kang) to incorporate the peak wavenumber of 1650 cm-1 of Raman spectra as taught by Nakao in the band-area ratios calculations, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the ratio of peak intensity of 1650 cm-1 and any of the peak intensities of glucose of Raman spectra provide additional glucose information of the tissue (see Nakao). The rationale would have been to obtain more glucose information.
In regard to claim 11, Kwok as modified by Bechtel, Kang and Nakao discloses for (a) the peak at about 1450 cm -1, the area is obtained in a range between 1415 cm and 1480 cm -1, which corresponds to proteins (band-area ratios of 1450 cm -1, [0083] of Kang; it is inherent that a band near 1450 cm-1 satisfies the range and would correspond to proteins).
In regard to claim 12, Bechtel as modified Kang and Nakao discloses for (b) the peak at about 1660 cm, the area is obtained in a range between 1630 cm to 1685 cm-1, which corresponds to fats (band-area ratios, [0083] of Kang; water peak of 1650 cm -1 for glucose estimation, Fig. 7 and associated descriptions; [0078-0079] of Nakao; it is inherent that a band near 1650 cm-1 satisfies the range and would correspond to fats).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,484,812 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claims 1-2 of present application, claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘812 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘812) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
Claims 1-2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,484,813 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claims 1-2 of present application, claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘813 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1-2 and 5 of ‘813) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
The followings are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of copending Application No. 18/427,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3 of ‘879 anticipate/ recite similar limitations of claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 of present application.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3-4 of copending Application No. 18/427,880 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 3-4 of ‘879 anticipate/ recite similar limitations of claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8-9 of present application.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of copending Application No. 18/427,883 in view of Bechtel. In regard to claim 1 of present application, claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of ‘883 recites all the claimed limitations except a first mirror disposed in front of the light source to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction, and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject; a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction, which is different from the first direction and the second direction. Bechtel discloses an apparatus for measuring blood glucose level (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to generate light (element 12, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the light source (element 16, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions) to cause the light generated by the light source and emitted in a first direction to be deflected in a second direction, which is different from the first direction (changes from top to bottom direction to right to left direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), and to allow the light to be irradiated to a subject (the forearm, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror that causes light reflected or scattered from the subject to be deflected in a third direction (element 42 and left to right direction, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions), which is different from the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (claims 1, 5-6, 9, and 11 of ‘883) to incorporate the optical configurations and associated components for guiding excitation/ reflected light to and from the tissue of a subject as taught by Bechtel, since both devices are Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the optical configurations facilitate apply and detect lights to and from a tissue for monitoring blood glucose information using Raman spectroscopy technology (see Bechtel). The rationale would have been to obtain glucose information from a tissue site of a subject.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In regard to claim 13, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest “for (c) the peak at about 1125 cm-1, the area is obtained by summing areas in three ranges (c-i) between 1089 cm-1 and 1160 cm-1, (c-ii) between 1115 cm-1 and 1140 cm-1, and (c-iii) between 1120 cm-1 and 1130 cm-1, which correspond to glucose”, in combination with the other claimed elements/ steps.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to claim 1 filed on 01/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are deemed to be moot in views of the new grounds of rejection.
In regard to the double patenting rejections, applicant requested that the rejections be held in abeyance. However, updated DP rejections are made above.
It is noted that applicant further alleged that Kwok as applied in copending applications Nos. 18/427,879 and 18/427,880 does not teach “extract the information on the glucose level based on the electrical signals that are sequentially obtained by the light receiver via the monochrome part”. In response, Kwok discloses the limitations. It is noted that the claims recite transitional phrase “comprising” which is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps (see MPEP 2111.03). Kwok discloses “The filter wheel 34 is connected to a motor (not shown) configured to rotate the filter wheel 34 at a predetermined period or frequency. The Raman signal is filtered at two predetermined spectral regions by two optical filters and periodically passes through the filter wheel 34 for n periods during a circle of the wheel rotation”, Col 3 lines 20-59; and λS1, sample signal, and λS2, standard signal and ratios and glucose concentrations, Figs. 1a-1b, 6a, 7a and 7b and associated descriptions; It is noted that the sequentially detected electrical signals associated with λS1 and λS2 during the rotation of the filter wheel are utilized in part to obtain the glucose information, see at least Col 3 line 60 – Col 4 line 20; Col 14 line 7 – Col 15 line 15. It appears that the optical/ electrical signals detected through each of the filters are time-ordered and not detected simultaneously (see the filter wheel, Figs. 1a-b and 2a-f of Kwok). In addition, the argued concept of “the time-ordered sequence of independent measurements” cannot be found in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho et al. (USPGPUB 2017/0135582) teaches a Raman spectroscopy apparatus for glucose monitoring comprises a light source (element 130, Fig. 11), detectors (elements 266-1, 266-2…etc., Fig. 11) and associated filters (elements 263-1, 263-2…etc., Fig. 11) and data associated with each filter are sequentially detected (reflected light from the object travels through different light paths to arrive each detector, Fig. 11). Ozaki et al. (USPN 5,754,289) teaches a Raman spectroscopy apparatus for glucose monitoring (Figs. 1 and 6-7) comprises a light source (element 1a, Figs. 6-7), a detector (element 7a, Figs. 6-7) and a filter wheel with a plurality of different wavelength transmission filters ( elements 6 and 6a, Figs. 6-7).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791