DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on 07/16/2026 have been fully considered.
Claims 1-4 are pending for examination.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the filter feeding member is configured to rotate…a rotational motion of the rotation member…” in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwok et al. (USPN 8,879,060 – cited in previous action) in view of Chaiken et al. (USPN 6,044,285 – cited in previous action) and further in view of Gillispie et al. (USPGPUB 2004/0007675 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 1, Kwok discloses an apparatus for measuring glucose level in a sample (Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions), comprising: a light source configured to irradiate light to a sample (element 28 and sample 20, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions); a filter wheel that filters the light reflected and scattered by the sample (element 34, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions; Col 3 lines 13-44) , wherein the filter wheel includes a plurality of optical filters configured to transmit lights of different wavelength components (Figs. 2a-2f and associated descriptions; a plurality of optical filters, Col 1 lines 53-64; optical filters, Col 3 lines 13-44); a light receiver configured to receive the light filtered by the filter wheel and generate electrical signals based on the filtered light (element 24, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions); a processor configured to extract information on the glucose level of the sample based on a Raman shift of the light (elements 26/40/44, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions; Figs. 7a-7b and associated descriptions; Col 14 line 7 – Col 15 line 15; claims 1, 5 and 9) and a collection lens disposed before the filter wheel to concentrate the light reflected and scattered by the subject onto one of the plurality of optical filters of the filter wheel (elements 32 or 64, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions), wherein the filter wheel is rotationally movable and is configured to sequentially dispose each of the plurality of optical filters in front of the light receiver (element 34, Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions; Figs. 2a-2f and associated descriptions; motor, Col 3 lines 13-44) and wherein the processor is configured to extract the information on the blood glucose level based on a plurality of wavelength-dependent intensity values respectively corresponding to the plurality of optical filters, each wavelength-dependent intensity value being obtained from an electrical signal generated by the light receiver when a corresponding one of the plurality of optical filters is disposed in an optical path of the light received by the light receiver (Figs. 1a-1b, 2a-2f and 7a-7b and associated descriptions; Col 3 line 60 – Col 4 lines 20; Col 9 lines 26-49 Col 14 line 7 – Col 15 line 15; claims 1, 5 and 9; It is noted that taking Fig. 2a as an example, when the filter wheel 34a makes a complete rotation, two wavelength-dependent intensity values respectively corresponding to the two optical filters 48a and 50a would be sequentially generated at detector 24 as two electrical signals (e.g. one after another), each electrical signal is generated by the detector 24 when a corresponding one of the two optical filters is disposed in an optical path of the light received by the detector and the corresponding electrical signals associated with the two optical filters 48a and 50a are being used at least in part in the glucose information processing).
Kwok does not specifically discloses the sample is a tissue of a subject and the glucose level is a blood glucose level.
Chaiken teaches a Raman spectroscopy system (Figs. 1-2 and associated descriptions) which measuring an analyte in a sample (element 200, Figs. 1-2 and associated descriptions), wherein the sample can be can be a tissue in a subject, including, for example, skin, muscle, capillary beds, blood, breast or brain (Col 8 lines 25-36) and the sample is measured non-invasively (Col 3 lines 1-15), wherein the analyte includes blood glucose concentration (Col 7 lines 13-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus (Kwok) to incorporate the non-invasive techniques to direct excitation to a subject for measuring blood glucose information as taught by Chaiken, since both devices are glucose Raman spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that blood glucose information can be obtained in a non-invasive manner from a tissue site of a subject. The rationale would have been to non-invasively obtain blood glucose information form a subject.
Kwok as modified by Chaiken does not specifically disclose the filter wheel is a linear variable filter which is linearly movable and is configured to sequentially dispose different areas of the filter in front of the light receiver.
Gillispie teaches an optical/ a spectroscopy apparatus (Figs. 1 and 3-4 and associated descriptions) comprising a linear variable filter (linear variable array 318, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050]); a rotation member coupled to the linear variable filter (element 322, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050]); and a filter feeding member coupled to the rotation member (element 324, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050]), wherein the filter feeding member is configured to rotate the rotation member (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050]), and wherein a rotational motion of the rotation member is converted to a linear motion of the linear variable filter (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050]), thereby causing different areas of the filter to be sequentially disposed in front of a light path (linear variable filters 3181-N, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; sequentially, [0048]; control and repeat, [0050-0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the configuration of the filter wheel (Kwok as modified by Chaiken) with the configuration of a linear variable filter with proper filter arrangements and associated elements/ function as taught by Gillispie to yield predictable results, since both devices are optical spectroscopy systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the configuration of a linear variable filter is an alternative equivalent configuration as using a filter wheel (see Figs. 3-4 and associated descriptions of Gillispie). The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
In regard to claim 2, Kwok as modified by Chaiken and Gillispie discloses a rotation member coupled to the linear variable filter (element 322, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050] of Gillispie); and a filter feeding member coupled to the rotation member (element 324, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050] Gillispie), wherein the filter feeding member is configured to rotate the rotation member (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050] Gillispie), and wherein a rotational motion of the rotation member is converted to a linear motion of the linear variable filter (Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; [0050] Gillispie), thereby causing different areas of the filter to be sequentially disposed in front of the light receiver (linear variable filters 3181-N, Fig. 3 and associated descriptions; sequentially, [0048]; control and repeat, [0050-0051] of Gillispie; referring to claim 1 above).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Kwok, Chaiken and Gillispie as applied to claims 1-2 above, and further in view of Rowe et al. (USPGPUB 2004/0240712 – cited in previous action). In regard to claim 3, Kwok as modified by Chaiken and Gillispie discloses all the claimed limitations except a first lens disposed in front of the light source to concentrate the light irradiated by the light source; a first mirror disposed in front of the first lens to deflect the light concentrated by the first lens; a first wavelength plate disposed downstream of the first mirror to adjust a polarization direction of the light deflected by the first mirror; a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light reflected and scattered from the subject; a second mirror disposed downstream of the second wavelength plate to deflect the light adjusted by the second wavelength plate; a second lens disposed in front of the second mirror to concentrate the light deflected by the second mirror.
Rowe teaches an optical glucose measuring apparatus (Figs. 1-3 and associated descriptions) comprises a light source (element(s) 103a-b/ 303a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions) and a light detector (element 115 or 317, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions), a first lens disposed in front of the light source to concentrate the light irradiated by the light source (element(s) 105a-b/ 303a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions); a first mirror disposed in front of the first lens to deflect the light concentrated by the first lens (one or more mirrors, [0050]); a first wavelength plate disposed downstream of the first mirror to adjust a polarization direction of the light deflected by the first mirror (element(s) 107a-b/ 307a-b, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions); a second wavelength plate that adjusts a polarization direction of the light reflected and scattered from the subject (elements 111/311, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions); a second mirror disposed downstream of the second wavelength plate to deflect the light adjusted by the second wavelength plate (mirrors, [0054]); a second lens disposed in front of the second mirror to concentrate the light deflected by the second mirror (elements 113/319/315, Figs. 1 and 3 and associated descriptions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical configurations of the system (Kwok as modified by Chaiken and Gillispie) to incorporate the optical elements of lens, mirrors, polarization elements, filters and associated configurations as taught by Rowe, since both devices are optical glucose monitoring systems and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that optical elements of lens, mirrors, and polarization elements facilitate focusing, concentrating, redirecting light from light sources or to light detector and polarizers/ filters facilitate reducing directly reflected/ unwanted light being detected (see at least [0052-0053] of Rowe). The rationale would have been to obtain more accurate optical measurements.
In regard to claim 4, Kwok as modified by Chaiken, Gillispie and Rowe discloses an optical filter disposed after the collection lens and before the linear variable filter and configured to transmit light of a predetermined wavelength band to the detector (element 36., Figs. 1a and 1b and associated descriptions; notch filters, Col 3 lines 21-29 of Kwok) but does not specifically disclose the optical filter is disposed between the collection lens and the linear variable filter. Rowe further teaches optical filters (filters, [0051-0052], [0057] and [0061]) can be located at any of a variety of points in both the illumination and detection subsystems (the filter(s) may be located at any of a variety of points in both the illumination and detection subsystems, [0065]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the location of the optical filter to be disposed between the collection lens and the linear variable filter to yield predictable results, since both locations are alternative equivalent positions to provide notch filtered wavelength band to the detector. The rationale would have been the simple substitution of one known, equivalent element for another to obtain predictable results (obvious to substitute elements, devices, etc.), KSR, 550, U.S. at 417.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/427,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 of ‘879 anticipated/ recite similar limitations of claims 1-3 of present application. It is noted that paragraphs [0076-0083] of the specification of the PGPUB of the present application indicate that a diffracting grating a prism, optical filters, filter array, or linear variable filter are alternative equivalent monochrome parts(s).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regard to claim 1, applicant alleged that Kwok or as modified by Chaiken and Gillispie does not teach or suggest “the processor is configured to extract the information on the blood glucose level based on a plurality of wavelength-dependent intensity values respectively corresponding to the plurality of optical filters, each wavelength-dependent intensity value being obtained from an electrical signal generated by the light receiver when a corresponding one of the plurality of optical filters is disposed in an optical path of the light received by the light receiver”. In response, Kwok discloses this feature (see above). It is noted that the claims recite transitional phrase “comprising” which is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps (see MPEP 2111.03). According to Fig. 1a or 1b and an associated filter wheel Fig. 2a (as an example, similar concept(s) can also be applied to Figs. 2b-2f), the detector 24 sequentially generates two of wavelength-dependent intensity values respectively corresponding to the two optical filters one after another when the filter wheel makes a complete rotation, each wavelength-dependent intensity value being obtained from an electrical signal generated by the light receiver when a corresponding one of the two optical filters is disposed in an optical path of the light received by the light receiver, e.g. detector 24 generates corresponding electrical signals only when each of the two filters being placed in the optical path since other location(s) of the filter wheel block(s) or pass(es) different wavelength(s) of the light to the detector. The sequentially generated electrical signals and associated intensities corresponding to at least one rotation of the two filters are being used at least in part in the glucose information processing. The current claim 1 of the application does not exclude additional rotations (e.g. time varying modulation periods) being performed and utilized in part in the glucose processing (i.e. open-ended, see above). Kwok discloses intensities/ electrical signals associated with each of the filters are sequentially generated at the detector according to each rotation of the filter wheel and wherein the intensities/ electrical signals generated at each rotation are being used in part of the glucose processing. If the invention is directed to non-periodic measurements, the feature or similar configuration(s)/ operation(s) should be set forth in the claim. Thus, the rejections are maintained for the reasons of record.
In regard to the double patenting rejections, applicant requests that the rejections be held in abeyance. In response, the DP rejection is maintained for the reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHU CHUAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791