DETAILED ACTION
The following title is suggested: AGRICULTURAL HARVESTER WITH SENSOR-BASED ADJUSTMENT OF A HARVESTED MATERIAL PASSAGE GAP.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, line 2 “at at” is --at--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabung et al. (DE 102012223432 B3) in view of Münch (EP 2803256 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rabung teaches a self-propelled agricultural harvester comprising (10):
at least one post-acceleration unit (28) configured for variable acceleration of harvested
Material, the at least one post-acceleration unit comprising a harvested material passage gap (96), a width of the harvested material passage gap being adjustable using a gap-changing device (28) for variable acceleration of the harvested material;
a transfer device (30) positioned downstream from the at least one post-acceleration unit (28) and configured to eject the harvested material into a loading container;
a control device (106) configured to control the gap-changing device (28) using at least one control signal (104, 110), wherein the control device is configured to:
generate, based on evaluating the data, the at least one control signal (104, 110) indicative of adjusting the width of the harvested material passage gap (96); and
transmit, to the gap-changing device (28), the at least one control signal (104, 110) in order to control the width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
However, Rabung fails to disclose a swath detection device positioned on the harvester and configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of the harvested material to be collected by the harvester in a form of a swath; wherein the control device is configured to:
receive the data generated by the swath detection device;
evaluate the data generated by the swath detection device that is indicative of the
one or more properties of the harvested material to be collected by the harvester in the form of the swath;
Münch teaches a swath detection device (90) positioned on the harvester (10) and configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of the harvested material (96) to be collected by the harvester in a form of a swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7);
a control device (80) configured to control the gap-changing device (108) using at least one control signal (86, 102), wherein the control device is configured to:
receive the data generated by the swath detection device (90);
evaluate the data (via 98, 104) generated by the swath detection device (90) that is indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material (96) to be collected by the harvester (10) in the form of the swath (84);
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1.
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device comprises at least one optical sensor configured to detect a forefield area; wherein the at least one optical sensor is configured to detect one or both of presence or shape of the swath in front of the harvester; and wherein the swath detection device is configured to transmit the data that is indicative of the one or both of the presence or the shape of the swath.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) comprises at least one optical sensor (94)configured to detect a forefield area; wherein the at least one optical sensor is configured to detect one or both of presence or shape of the swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7) in front of the harvester (See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 3, lines 25-31); and wherein the swath detection device (90) is configured to transmit (via 92) the data that is indicative of the one or both of the presence or the shape of the swath.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 2 and a gap-changing device (28) determines the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the quantity of the harvested material throughput; and generate the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap.
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device is configured to transmit the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath; wherein the control device is configured to: evaluate the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath in order to deduce a quantity of harvested material throughput.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) is configured to transmit (via 92) the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7); wherein the control device (80) is configured to: evaluate (via 98) the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath in order to deduce a quantity of harvested material throughput (See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 6, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to evaluate data indicative of a shape of a swath to determine a quantity of harvested material throughput and to use the determined harvested material throughput to determine a width of the harvested material passage gap and generate at least one control signal to adjust the harvested material passage gap to the determined width, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1 and wherein the control device (106) is configured to: determine, based on the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 3, lines 6-8), the width of the harvested material passage gap (96); and generate the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap;
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device comprises at least one sensor positioned along a harvested material flow and configured to detect one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow; wherein the swath detection device is configured to transmit the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow to the control device.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) comprises at least one sensor (118; See Fig. 1) positioned along a harvested material flow and configured to detect one or more properties of the harvested material (96) in the harvested material flow (See Münch Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 3-6); wherein the swath detection device (90) is configured to transmit (via 92) the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material (96) in the harvested material flow to the control device (80).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1, further comprising an intake unit (22); wherein a sensor array (128 out of 124, 128) that is configured to generate the data indicative of a layer height in the intake unit (22) and transmit the data indicative of the layer height in the intake unit to the control device (106). The position of the upper feed rollers necessarily varies based on amount (thickness) of crop entering the intake, which corresponds to the layer height of the harvested material (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 16-19). Wherein the control device (106) is configured to determines harvested material throughput (Erntegutdurchsatz means throughput), configured to determine the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the harvested material throughput, and configured to generate the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
However, Rabung fails to disclose that the sensor is part of a swath detection device.
Münch teaches a swath detection device (90) comprising at least one sensor array (92, 94, 118) configured to generate data and transmit it.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate the sensor of Rabung into the swath detection device of Münch, such that the swath detection device comprises at least one sensor array configured to generate data indicative of a layer height in the intake unit and transmit the data to the control device, in order to enable integration of crop property sensing into a unified detection device for use in controlling operation of the harvester, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput and processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 5, wherein the control device (106) is configured to access a memory; wherein the memory is configured to store a relative or absolute threshold value (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 19-21; "fixed setpoint value from memory");
wherein the control device (106) is configured to determine the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the harvested material throughput (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 23-26; via 128, "recorded crop throughput") by:
comparing the harvested material throughput (via 128, "recorded crop throughput") with the relative or absolute threshold Value (98); and based on the comparison (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 1-2; top of Pg. 6, lines 1-8), determining the width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
Regarding claim 15, Rabung teaches a method for operating a self-propelled agricultural harvester (10) comprising:
using the self-propelled agricultural harvester (10), the self-propelled agricultural harvester including:
at least one post-acceleration unit (28) configured for variable acceleration of harvested
material, the at least one post-acceleration unit comprising a harvested material passage gap (96), a width of the harvested material passage gap being adjustable using a gap-changing device (28) for variable acceleration of the harvested material;
a transfer device (30) positioned downstream from the at least one post-acceleration unit (28) and configured to eject the harvested material into a loading container;
generating, by the control device (106) based on evaluating the data, the at least one control signal (104, 110) indicative of adjusting the width of the harvested material passage gap (96);
transmitting, to the gap-changing device (28), the at least one control signal (104, 110) in order to control the width of the harvested material passage gap (96); and
controlling, by the gap-changing device (28) the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the at least one control signal (104, 110).
However, Rabung fails to disclose a swath detection device positioned on the harvester and configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of the harvested material to be collected by the
harvester in a form of a swath; receiving, by a control device, the data generated by the swath detection device; evaluating, by the control device, the data generated by the swath detection device that is indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material to be collected by the harvester in the form of the swath.
Münch teaches a swath detection device (90) positioned on the harvester (10) and configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of the harvested material (96) to be collected by the harvester in a form of a swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7); receiving, by a control device (80), the data generated by the swath detection device (90); evaluating, by the control device (80), the data generated by the swath detection device (90) that is indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material (96) to be collected by the harvester (10) in the form of the swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 16, Rabung teaches the method of claim 15.
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device comprises at least one optical sensor configured to detect a forefield area; wherein the at least one optical sensor detects one or both of presence or shape of the swath in front of the harvester; and wherein the swath detection device transmits the data that is indicative of the one or both of the presence or the shape of the swath.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) comprises at least one optical sensor (94)configured to detect a forefield area; wherein the at least one optical sensor detects one or both of presence or shape of the swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7) in front of the harvester (See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 3, lines 25-31); and wherein the swath detection device (90) transmits (via 92) the data that is indicative of the one or both of the presence or the shape of the swath.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device configured to generate data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Rabung teaches the method of claim 16, and a gap-changing device (28) determines the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the quantity of the harvested material throughput; and generate the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap.
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device transmits the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath; wherein the control device evaluates the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath in order to deduce a quantity of harvested material throughput.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) transmits (via 92) the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath (84; See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 7, lines 6-7); wherein the control device (80) evaluates (via 98) the data that is indicative of the shape of the swath in order to deduce a quantity of harvested material throughput (See Münch Machine translation top of Pg. 6, lines 16-21).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to evaluate data indicative of a shape of a swath to determine a quantity of harvested material throughput and to use the determined harvested material throughput to determine a width of the harvested material passage gap and generate at least one control signal to adjust the harvested material passage gap to the determined width, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Rabung teaches the method of claim 15 and wherein the control device (106) determines, based on the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 3, lines 6-8), the width of the harvested material passage gap (96), and generate the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap.
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein the swath detection device comprises at least one sensor positioned along a harvested material flow and detect one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow; wherein the swath detection device transmits the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material in the harvested material flow to the control device.
Münch teaches wherein the swath detection device (90) comprises at least one sensor (118; See Fig. 1) positioned along a harvested material flow and detect one or more properties of the harvested material (96) in the harvested material flow (See Münch Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 3-6); wherein the swath detection device (90) transmits (via 92) the data indicative of the one or more properties of the harvested material (96) in the harvested material flow to the control device (80).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device transmits data indicative of one or more properties of harvested material in the form of a swath and provide such data to the control device of Rabung for use in controlling the gap-changing device, in order to enable automatic adjustment of the harvested material passage gap based on detected crop conditions, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput, reducing the likelihood of clogging, and optimizing processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 19, Rabung teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the self-propelled agricultural harvester further comprising an intake unit (22); wherein a sensor array (128 out of 124, 128) that generates the data indicative of a layer height in the intake unit (22) and transmits the data indicative of the layer height in the intake unit to the control device (106). The position of the upper feed rollers necessarily varies based on amount (thickness) of crop entering the intake, which corresponds to the layer height of the harvested material (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 16-19). Wherein the control device (106) determines harvested material throughput (Erntegutdurchsatz means throughput), determines the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the harvested material throughput, and generates the at least one control signal (104, 110) to adjust to the determined width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
However, Rabung fails to disclose that the sensor is part of a swath detection device.
Münch teaches a swath detection device (90) comprises at least one sensor array (92, 94, 118) that generates data and transmit it.
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the rangefinder as disclosed by Münch so as to incorporate the sensor of Rabung into the swath detection device of Münch, such that the swath detection device comprises at least one sensor array that generates data indicative of a layer height in the intake unit and transmit the data to the control device, in order to enable integration of crop property sensing into a unified detection device for use in controlling operation of the harvester, thereby improving control of harvested material throughput and processing efficiency.
Regarding claim 20, Rabung teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the control device (106) accesses a memory; wherein the memory stores a relative or absolute threshold value (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 19-21; "fixed setpoint value from memory");
wherein the control device (106) determines the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) based on the harvested material throughput (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 23-26; via 128, "recorded crop throughput") by:
comparing the harvested material throughput (via 128, "recorded crop throughput") with the relative or absolute threshold value (98); and based on the comparison (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 1-2; top of Pg. 6, lines 1-8), determining the width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
Claims 7-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rabung et al. (DE 102012223432 B3) in view of Münch (EP 2803256 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 and 15-20 above, and further in view of Diekhans (DE 10231316 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Rabung, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Rabung in view of Münch, teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1, wherein the gap-changing device (28) comprises one or more actuators (98, 98') for movement of the post-acceleration unit (28), through which the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) is changed.
However, Rabung in view of Münch fails to disclose wherein the post-acceleration unit has an axis of rotation which is mounted at at least one end in guides which are arranged on side walls which delimit a housing that at least partially encloses the post-acceleration unit; and
Diekhans teaches wherein the post-acceleration unit (11) has an axis of rotation (22) which is mounted at at least one end in guides (19) which are arranged on side walls (14) which delimit a housing (18) that at least partially encloses the post-acceleration unit; and
Diekhans states, "The conditioning rollers 10 hand over the chopped crop 9 to the post-accelerator 11, Here, the chopped crop flows through 9 between the post-accelerator 11 and the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 lying crop passage gap 16 , The post-accelerator 11 is by means of an axis displacement mechanism that is operatively connected to it 17 opposite the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 adjusted. This will make the crop passage gap 16 changed in width. The Achsverschiebungsmechanismus 17 is in one on the machine housing 18 stationary frames 19 stored. The frame 19 consists of at least two guide surfaces arranged parallel to each other 20 that stops at their ends 21 exhibit" (Diekhans Machine translation bottom of Pg. 3, lines 20-26).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung in view of Münch with post-acceleration unit design as disclosed by Diekhans so as to provide a guided mounting arrangement for the axis of rotation of the post-acceleration unit on side walls delimiting a housing, in order to implement the movement of the post-acceleration unit already taught by Rabung in view of Münch in a structurally supported and guided manner, thereby improving stability, alignment, and precision during adjustment of the harvested material passage gap.
Regarding claim 8, Rabung, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Rabung in view of Münch, teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 7.
However, Rabung in view of Münch fails to disclose wherein the movement of the post-acceleration unit comprises translatory movement.
Diekhans teaches wherein the movement of the post-acceleration unit (11) comprises translatory movement.
Diekhans states, "The evaluation and arithmetic unit 42 is in operative connection with the axis shift mechanism 17, After receiving the input signal, the evaluation and arithmetic unit determines 42 an output signal which is sent to the axle shift mechanism 17 is forwarded and the adjustment of the axis 22 of the post-accelerator 11 in the horizontal direction to the crop flow 13 triggers." (Diekhans Machine translation top of Pg. 4, lines 8-11).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung in view of Münch with the post-acceleration unit design as disclosed by Diekhans so as to provide translatory movement of the post-acceleration unit, in order to enable controlled linear adjustment of the harvested material passage gap, thereby improving uniformity of gap variation and alignment during operation.
Regarding claim 9, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 7, wherein the one or more actuators (98,98') comprise one or more of mechanically, hydraulically, or electromechanically operable drive elements (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 4, lines 7-11).
Regarding claim 10, Rabung, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Rabung in view of Münch, teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1, wherein the control device (106) is configured to use, in order to determine the width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
However, Rabung in view of Münch fails to disclose an adjustment characteristic that correlates one or both of at least one property of the harvested material or at least one property of harvested material throughput with the width of the harvested material passage gap as an essentially progressively rising curve of adjustment of the width of the harvested material passage gap.
Diekhans teaches an adjustment characteristic that correlates one or both of at least one property of the harvested material or at least one property of harvested material throughput with the width of the harvested material passage gap (16). Although Diekhans does not specially say as an essentially progressively rising curve of adjustment of the width of the harvested material passage gap, Diekhans teaches that the gap increases as throughput increases, which corresponds to an increasing adjustment characteristic.
Diekhans states, "Factors for the width of the crop passage gap 16 are in particular the crop density, the crop speed and the crop moisture. The crop density and the crop speed is determined in a manner known per se by the sensors 41 measured to determine the throughput. The sensors also correct the crop density 41 the crop moisture is recorded and evaluated in conjunction with the previously determined data. If this evaluation shows that the throughput is low, the post-acceleration element moves 11 in the horizontal direction to the crop flow 13 on the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 to. The width of the crop passage gap 16 is thereby reduced, causing the chopped crop 9 undergoes an acceleration. If the throughput is high, the post-accelerator increases 11 the distance to the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 on the way described above. As a result, the crop passage gap increases 16 and the chopped crop 9 flows through the conveyor shaft evenly without causing crop jams 15" (Diekhans Machine translation top of Pg. 4, lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung in view of Münch with the increasing adjustment characteristic of the harvested passage gap as disclosed by Diekhans so as to determine the width of the harvested material passage gap based on a relationship between at least one property of the harvested material or harvested material throughput and the width of the harvested material gap, wherein the gap increases as throughput increases. When implemented in the control system of Rabung using a table or equation, such an increasing relationship would have resulted in an essentially progressively rising curve of adjustment, in order to improve uniformity of crop flow, reduce the likelihood of crop jams, and optimize operations under varying crop throughput conditions.
Regarding claim 11, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 10, wherein the gap-changing device (28) is configured to adjust the width of the harvested material passage gap (96).
However, Rabung does not explicitly disclose adjusting the width of the harvested material passage gap to a minimum value of 2 mm up to a maximum value of 80 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to adjust the width of the harvested material passage gap to a minimum value of 2 mm up to a maximum value of 80 mm, since Rabung teaches that adjusting the width of the harvested material passage gap influences crop flow and throughput. As such, the width of the harvested material passage gap constitutes a result-effective variable, and it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (2144.05 II. A. Optimization Within Prior Art Conditions or Through Routine Experimentation).
Regarding claim 12, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 10, wherein the width of the harvested material passage gap (96) is saved in a memory (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 1-2; top of Pg. 6, lines 1-8) accessible by the control device (106).
However, Rabung fails to disclose wherein at least one characteristic curve for the width of the harvested material passage gap is saved in a memory; wherein the at least one characteristic curve correlates the one or both of the at least one property of the harvested material or the at least one property of the harvested material throughput; and wherein the control device is configured to evaluate the data generated by the swath detection device using the at least one characteristic curve in order to generate the at least one control signal for controlling the gap-changing device.
Münch teaches a swath detection device (90) configured to generate data indicative of crop conditions, and further teaches that a control device (80) evaluates such data to generate control signals (86, 102) for adjusting the gap-changing device (108).
Diekhans teaches wherein at least one characteristic curve for the width of the harvested material passage gap (16); wherein the at least one characteristic curve correlates the one or both of the at least one property of the harvested material or the at least one property of the harvested material throughput; and
Diekhans states, "Factors for the width of the crop passage gap 16 are in particular the crop density, the crop speed and the crop moisture. The crop density and the crop speed is determined in a manner known per se by the sensors 41 measured to determine the throughput. The sensors also correct the crop density 41 the crop moisture is recorded and evaluated in conjunction with the previously determined data. If this evaluation shows that the throughput is low, the post-acceleration element moves 11 in the horizontal direction to the crop flow 13 on the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 to. The width of the crop passage gap 16 is thereby reduced, causing the chopped crop 9 undergoes an acceleration. If the throughput is high, the post-accelerator increases 11 the distance to the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 on the way described above. As a result, the crop passage gap increases 16 and the chopped crop 9 flows through the conveyor shaft evenly without causing crop jams 15" (Diekhans Machine translation top of Pg. 4, lines 12-20).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung with the increasing adjustment characteristic of the harvested passage gap as disclosed by Diekhans so as to utilize at least one characteristic curve correlating harvested material properties or throughput with the width of the harvested material passage gap, and further in view of Münch so as to incorporate a swath detection device providing real-time crop data for evaluation by the control device, in order to enable dynamic and more accurate adjustment of the gap based on actual crop conditions, thereby improving harvesting efficiency and reducing the likelihood of crop jams.
Regarding claim 13, Rabung, as part of the assembly taught by the combined teachings of Rabung in view of Münch, teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1 and the control device (106) is configured to control the gap-changing device (28).
However, Rabung in view of Münch fails to disclose evaluating the data in order to determine one or both of: that the harvested material is drier; or that harvested material throughput has decreased; and responsive to determining one or both of that the harvested material is drier or that the harvested material throughput has decreased, reducing the width of the harvested material passage gap.
Diekhans teaches evaluating the data in order to determine one or both of: that the harvested material (9) is drier; or that harvested material throughput has decreased (low); and responsive to determining one or both of that the harvested material is drier (dry) or that the harvested material throughput has decreased, reducing the width of the harvested material passage gap (16).
Diekhans states, "Factors for the width of the crop passage gap 16 are in particular the crop density, the crop speed and the crop moisture. The crop density and the crop speed is determined in a manner known per se by the sensors 41 measured to determine the throughput. The sensors also correct the crop density 41 the crop moisture is recorded and evaluated in conjunction with the previously determined data. If this evaluation shows that the throughput is low, the post-acceleration element moves 11 in the horizontal direction to the crop flow 13 on the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 to. The width of the crop passage gap 16 is thereby reduced, causing the chopped crop 9 undergoes an acceleration. If the throughput is high, the post-accelerator increases 11 the distance to the inner wall 14 of the production shaft 15 on the way described above. As a result, the crop passage gap increases 16 and the chopped crop 9 flows through the conveyor shaft evenly without causing crop jams 15" (Diekhans Machine translation top of Pg. 4, lines 12-20).
Diekhans also states, "Finally, the determined crop moisture has a known effect on the heap formation in the crop flow. Is the crop 9 dry, so it is easily carried by the wind and requires less wind. The wind is needed around the chopped crop 9 to bundle optimally and with little loss to the transport vehicle 3 supply. When the crop is moist 9 less wind is required as the chopped crop 9 the higher specific weight alone with more throwing energy and also more concentrated" (Diekhans Machine translation top of Pg. 4, lines 20-24).
It would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have modified the self-propelled agricultural harvester as taught by Rabung in view of Münch with the evaluation of data of the harvested material conditions and throughput to reduce the width of the harvested passage gap as disclosed by Diekhans, in order to improve uniformity of crop flow, reduce the likelihood of crop jams under low throughput, and optimize operations under varying crop conditions.
Regarding claim 14, Rabung teaches the self-propelled harvester of claim 1, wherein the control device (106) is configured to:
automatically evaluate one or both of:
at least one aspect of the harvested material (via 124; "moisture sensor"); or at least one aspect of harvested material throughput (via 128; "throughput");
automatically determine (via 106; "setpoint based on sensor inputs") whether to modify the width of the harvested material passage gap (96); and (See Rabung Machine translation bottom of Pg. 5, lines 19-26).
responsive to automatically determining (via 106) to modify the width of the harvested material passage gap (96), automatically actuate (via 98, 98') the gap-changing device (28).
Conclusion
JOSE ANTONIO. MARTINEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671