DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed December 23, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s amendments clarify the CAMM carrier is configured to cover all sides of the top and bottom CAMM. Examiner agrees the previously cited prior art does not teach Applicant’s amendments. However, Examiner submits Chang (US Publication No. 2018/0310441) and Wang (US Publication No. 2008/0038877, hereinafter “Wang ‘877”) cures the deficiencies of the previously cited prior art. Specifically, Chang teaches wherein the CAMM carrier (140) is configured to surround all sides of a CAMM (130; see Figure 1 below), and Wang ‘877 also teaches a CAMM carrier (310) sized to surround all sides of the bottom CAMM (50-2) and the top CAMM (50-1; see Figure 12 below). Because Chang and Wang (US Patent No. 8357003) teach similar CAMM connectors, Examiner submits it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combined the cover of Chang to the cover of Wang such that it was sized to cover the top and bottom CAMMs, as taught in Wang ‘877.
Examiner also submits Ehlen (US Publication No. 2021/0112674) in view of Cox (US Publication No. 2023/0215474) would also render the claimed device obvious. For these reasons, and the reasons detailed below, claims 1-20 stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 20 claim wherein the CAMM carrier is configured to surround all sides of the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM. However, because the CAMMs of the instant application include six sides -- four edges and top and bottom sides, it is unclear if the limitation requires the CAMM carrier to cover the four edges and the top and bottom sides of the CAMMs, or only the four edges of the CAMMs. The latter interpretation (only four edges) will be adopted for the purposes of examination, considering CAMM carrier 210 of the instant application only surrounds all four edges of the CAMMs (see Figures 2A-2B).
Claims 2-10 and 12-19 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-11, 15-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent No. 8357003) in view of Schnell (US Publication No. 2022/0335981), Chang (US Publication No. 2018/0310441), and Wang ‘877 (US Publication No. 2008/0038877).
Regarding claim 1 (as best understood), Wang discloses a holder (Figure 2, comprised of connecting base 10 and metal latch members 3) for stacked compression attached first and second electronic cards 4, 5), the holder (see Figure 2) comprising: a CAMM carrier (connection base 10) having a first recessed area (slot 12) for receiving a bottom one of the CAMMs (5), and a second recessed area (slot 11) for receiving a top one of the CAMMs (4); and a retention plate (latch member 3) affixed to the CAMM carrier (10), the retention plate (3) configured to support a cantilevered portion of the top CAMM (end of 4).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the compression attached modules are compression attached memory modules.
However, Schnell teaches a holder (Figure 11, comprised of structure for compression connectors 750, 754; see also Figure 10) for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (cDIMMs 752, 756; see Paragraph [0024]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Wang for the CAMM circuit cards of Schnell, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a compact carrier structure capable of accommodating circuit cards with increased high speed signal frequency (see Paragraphs [0059]-[0061] in Schnell).
Wang in view of Schnell does not teach wherein the CAMM carrier is configured to surround all sides of the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM.
However, Chang teaches a CAMM carrier (cover 140), wherein the CAMM carrier (140) is configured to surround all sides of a CAMM (electromagnetic radiation device 130).
Wang ‘877 also teaches a CAMM carrier (housing 310) sized to surround all sides of a bottom CAMM (PCBA 50-2) and a top CAMM (PCBA 50-1).
Because Chang teaches a CAMM connector similar to Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the CAMM carrier of Chang to the CAMM carrier of Wang as modified by Schnell, such that the CAMM carrier was sized to cover the top and bottom CAMMs, as taught in Wang ‘877. Doing so would have provided electromagnetic radiation shielding for a high frequency electromagnetic radiation device (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877). Modifying the CAMM carrier to cover both top and bottom CAMMs as taught in Wang ‘877 would have been obvious considering the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed size to cover the top and bottom CAMMs because doing so would have allowed the single cover to protect both of the CAMMs in Wang from EMI, as taught in both Chang and Wang ‘877 (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877).
Regarding claim 5, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the retention plate (3) includes a bottom CAMM contact spring (first main arm 32).
Regarding claim 6, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 5, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the bottom CAMM contact spring (32) is configured to mount the CAMM carrier (10) to the bottom CAMM (5, as modified by Schnell).
Regarding claim 7, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 6, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the retention plate (3) further includes a top CAMM contact spring (second main arm 33).
Regarding claim 8, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 7, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the top CAMM contact spring (33) is configured to support the cantilevered portion of the top CAMM (end of 4, as modified by Schnell).
Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the retention plate (3) is fabricated of a metal material (col. 5, ln. 5-7, “the latch member 3 is a one-piece metal member structure integrally formed by stamping and forming a metal plate”).
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), Wang discloses a method for retaining compression attached first and second electronic cards 4, 5), the method comprising: installing a bottom one of the CAMMs (second card 5) to a motherboard (circuit board 6, via connection with latch members 3 and connection base 10); placing a CAMM carrier (connection base 10) atop the bottom CAMM (5), the bottom CAMM (5) fitting into a first recessed area (second slot 12) for receiving the bottom CAMM (5); affixing a retention plate (latch member 3) to the CAMM carrier (10); securing a top one of the CAMMS (first card 4) to the CAMM carrier (10), the top CAMM (5) fitting into a second recessed area (first slot 11) for receiving the top CAMM (4); and supporting, by the retention plate (3), a cantilevered portion of the top CAMM (end of 5).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the compression attached modules are compression attached memory modules.
However, Schnell teaches a method for retaining compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (cDIMMs 752, 756; see Paragraph [0024] and Figures 10-11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Wang for the CAMM circuit cards of Schnell, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a compact carrier structure capable of accommodating circuit cards with increased high speed signal frequency (see Paragraphs [0059]-[0061] in Schnell).
Wang in view of Schnell does not teach wherein the CAMM carrier is configured to surround all sides of the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM.
However, Chang teaches placing a CAMM carrier (cover 140) atop a CAMM (electromagnetic radiation device 130), wherein the CAMM carrier (140) is configured to surround all sides of the CAMM (130).
Wang ‘877 also teaches a CAMM carrier (housing 310) sized to surround all sides of a bottom CAMM (PCBA 50-2) and a top CAMM (PCBA 50-1).
Because Chang teaches a CAMM connector similar to Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the methods of attaching the CAMM carrier of Chang to the CAMM carrier of Wang, such that the CAMM carrier was sized to cover the top and bottom CAMMs, as taught in Wang ‘877. Doing so would have provided electromagnetic radiation shielding for a high frequency electromagnetic radiation device (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877). Modifying the CAMM carrier to cover both top and bottom CAMMs as taught in Wang ‘877 would have been obvious considering the stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed size to cover the top and bottom CAMMs because doing so would have allowed the single cover to protect both of the CAMMs in Wang from EMI, as taught in both Chang and Wang ‘877 (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877).
Regarding claim 15, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the retention plate (3) includes a bottom CAMM contact spring (first main arm 32).
Regarding claim 16, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 15, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the bottom CAMM contact spring (32) is configured to mount the CAMM carrier (10) to the bottom CAMM (5, as modified by Schnell).
Regarding claim 17, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the retention plate (3) further includes a top CAMM contact spring (second main arm 33).
Regarding claim 18, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 17, and further teaches (in Wang) wherein the top CAMM contact spring (33) is configured to support the cantilevered portion of the top CAMM (end of 4, as modified by Schnell).
Regarding claim 20 (as best understood), Wang discloses an information handling system, comprising: a motherboard (circuit board 6); a bottom compression attached module (CAMM) (second electronic card 5); a top CAMM (first electronic card 4); and a holder (comprised of electrical connector base 10 and latch member 3) to stack the bottom CAMM (5) and the top CAMM (4), the holder (10, 3) including: a CAMM carrier (electrical connector base 10) having a first recessed area (second slot 12) for receiving the bottom CAMM (5), and a second recessed area (first slot 11) for receiving the top CAMM (4); and a retention plate (3) affixed to the CAMM carrier (10), the retention plate (3) configured to support a cantilevered portion of the top CAMM (end of 4).
Wang does not explicitly teach wherein the compression attached modules are compression attached memory modules.
However, Schnell teaches a holder (Figure 11, comprised of structure for compression connectors 750, 754; see also Figure 10) for compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (cDIMMs 752, 756; see Paragraph [0024]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Wang for the CAMM circuit cards of Schnell, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a compact carrier structure capable of accommodating circuit cards with increased high speed signal frequency (see Paragraphs [0059]-[0061] in Schnell).
Wang in view of Schnell does not teach wherein the CAMM carrier is configured to surround all sides of the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM.
However, Chang teaches a CAMM carrier (cover 140), wherein the CAMM carrier (140) is configured to surround all sides of a CAMM (electromagnetic radiation device 130).
Wang ‘877 also teaches a CAMM carrier (housing 310) sized to surround all sides of a bottom CAMM (PCBA 50-2) and a top CAMM (PCBA 50-1).
Because Chang teaches a CAMM connector similar to Wang, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the CAMM carrier of Chang to the CAMM carrier of Wang, such that the CAMM carrier was sized to cover the top and bottom CAMMs, as taught in Wang ‘877. Doing so would have provided electromagnetic radiation shielding for a high frequency electromagnetic radiation device (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877). Modifying the CAMM carrier to cover both top and bottom CAMMs as taught in Wang ‘877 would have been obvious considering stated limitation is held to be merely a selection of optimal working parameters established through routine experimentation, and thus obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) ("It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions."). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the claimed size to cover the top and bottom CAMMs because doing so would have allowed the single cover to protect both of the CAMMs in Wang from EMI, as taught in both Chang and Wang ‘877 (see Paragraphs [0008]-[0017] in Chang; see Paragraph [0062] in Wang ‘877).
Claims 2-4 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent No. 8357003), Schnell (US Publication No. 2022/0335981), Chang (US Publication No. 2018/0310441), Wang ‘877 (US Publication No. 2008/0038877), and in further view of Kato (US Publication No. 2012/0164864).
Regarding claim 2, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 1, but does not teach wherein the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole.
However, Kato teaches wherein a retention plate (arm 300, corresponding to 3 in Wang) includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole (hole 512 in attached portion 510, where 510 in Kato corresponds to soldering portion 36 in Wang; see Paragraphs [0027]-[0028]; NOTE: attached portion 510 in Kato and portion 36 in Wang both being soldered to motherboard).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the screw and screw holes of Kato to the soldering portions of Wang as modified by Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877. Doing so would have reinforced the soldered connection between the retention plate and the motherboard (see Paragraphs [0027]-[0028] in Kato).
Regarding claim 3, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, Wang ‘877, and Kato teaches the holder of claim 2, and further teaches wherein the bottom CAMM retention screw hole (512 of Kato formed in 36 of Wang) is configured to secure the bottom CAMM (5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell) to a motherboard (circuit board 6 in Wang; where 5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell, is secured to motherboard 6 by virtue of soldering portion 36 of latch member 3 being soldered and screwed (as modified by Kato) to motherboard 6).
Regarding claim 4, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, Wang ‘877, and Kato teaches the holder of claim 3, and further teaches wherein the bottom CAMM retention screw hole (512 of Kato formed in 36 of Wang) is further configured to secure the CAMM carrier (10 in Wang) to the bottom CAMM (5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell; where screw hole 512 is used to secure latch member 3 in a stable position relative to carrier 10, and where member 3 is used to establish a secure connection between modules 4, 5 (as modified by Schnell) and carrier 10).
Regarding claim 12, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 11, but does not teach wherein the retention plate includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole.
However, Kato teaches wherein a retention plate (arm 300, corresponding to 3 in Wang) includes a bottom CAMM retention screw hole (hole 512 in attached portion 510, where 510 in Kato corresponds to soldering portion 36 in Wang; see Paragraphs [0027]-[0028]; NOTE: attached portion 510 in Kato and portion 36 in Wang both being soldered to motherboard).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the screw and screw holes of Kato to the soldering portion of Wang as modified by Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877. Doing so would have reinforced the soldered connection between the retention plate and the motherboard (see Paragraphs [0027]-[0028] in Kato).
Regarding claim 13, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, Wang ‘877, and Kato teaches the method of claim 12, and further teaches wherein the bottom CAMM retention screw hole (512 of Kato formed in 36 of Wang) is configured to secure the bottom CAMM (5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell) to the motherboard (circuit board 6 in Wang; where 5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell, is secured to motherboard 6 by virtue of soldering portion 36 of latch member 3 being soldered and screwed (as modified by Kato) to motherboard 6).
Regarding claim 14, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, Wang ‘877, and Kato teaches the method of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the bottom CAMM retention screw hole (512 of Kato formed in 36 of Wang) is further configured to secure the CAMM carrier (10 in Wang) to the bottom CAMM (5 in Wang, as modified by Schnell; where screw hole 512 is used to secure latch member 3 in a stable position relative to carrier 10, and where member 3 is used to establish a secure connection between modules 4, 5 (as modified by Schnell) and carrier 10).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent No. 8357003), Schnell (US Publication No. 2022/0335981), Chang (US Publication No. 2018/0310441), Wang ‘877 (US Publication No. 2008/0038877), and in further view of Tondreault (US Patent No. 5769668).
Regarding claim 9, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the holder of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the CAMM carrier includes a retention hook configure to secure the top CAMM to the CAMM carrier.
However, Tondreault teaches a holder (Figure 1, comprised of connector 10 and clips 46) for a compression attached memory module (CAMM) (module 12), the holder comprised of a CAMM carrier (10) and a retention plate (46), wherein the CAMM carrier (10) includes a retention hook (Figures 1-2, alignment apparatus 51, including key 52 and alignment clip 62) configure to secure a CAMM (12) to the CAMM carrier (10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the retention hook of Tondreault to the CAMM carrier of Wang as modified by Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877. Doing so would have ensured proper alignment between the memory module and the CAMM carrier (see col. 5, ln. 13-50 in Tondreault).
Regarding claim 19, Wang in view of Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877 teaches the method of claim 11, but does not explicitly teach wherein the CAMM carrier includes a retention hook configure to secure the top CAMM to the CAMM carrier.
However, Tondreault teaches a holder (Figure 1, comprised of connector 10 and clips 46) for a compression attached memory module (CAMM) (module 12), the holder comprised of a CAMM carrier (10) and a retention plate (46), wherein the CAMM carrier (10) includes a retention hook (Figures 1-2, alignment apparatus 51, including key 52 and alignment clip 62) configure to secure a CAMM (12) to the CAMM carrier (10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the retention hook of Tondreault to the CAMM carrier of Wang as modified by Schnell, Chang, and Wang ‘877. Doing so would have ensured proper alignment between the memory module and the CAMM carrier (see col. 5, ln. 13-50 in Tondreault).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Publication Nos. 20210112674 20140368988 20230215474 20170220505 20170223822 also teach elements of the claimed device.
US Patent Nos. 11337344 6278610 5642263 6056574 also teach elements of the claimed device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc