DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chong et al. (2023/0395569, hereafter Chong).
Regarding claim 1, Chong discloses an external connection pad apparatus comprising: a first pad (226b, Fig. 2, par. 0019-0020) having a first surface area; and a second pad (226a, Fig. 2, par. 0019-0020) having a second surface area larger than the first (Fig. 2, par. 0020), wherein the first pad is configured to transmit and receive data (par. 0020); wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal (par. 0020).
Regarding claim 12, Chong discloses a semiconductor apparatus comprising: an integrated circuit (224, Fig. 2, par. 0018); an interconnection layer (230/232, Fig. 2) electrically connected to the integrated circuit; and an external connection pad apparatus (par. 0020) including a plurality of first pads (226b, Fig. 2), each first pad having a first surface area, and a plurality of second pads (226a, Fig. 2), each second pad having a second surface area larger than the first surface area, wherein each of the plurality of first pads and each of the plurality of second pads are electrically connected with the interconnection layer (Fig. 2); wherein the first pad is configured to transmit and receive data (par. 0020); wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal (par. 0020).
Regarding claim 22, Chong discloses a semiconductor apparatus further comprising: a plurality of chip pads (226) electrically connected with the interconnection layer (230/232); and a re-distribution layer (RDL) (230/232, par. 0028) connecting the plurality of chip pads with the external connection pad apparatus (Fig. 2, par. 0020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Kim et al. (2024/0055406, hereafter Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Chong discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit including a connection surface to which a connection member connect; and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit.
However, Kim teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (34) comprises a first connection unit (34LE) including a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connect (par. 0039); and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface (w11) is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0042) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by including a separate connection unit and connection surface wherein the distance between the outer edge of the first connection unit and the outer edge of the connection surface are equal at various perimeter points in order to implement a barrier preventing diffusion in the connection surface.
Regarding claim 14, Chong fails to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit including a connection surface to which a connection member connects; and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit.
However, Kim teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit (34LE) including a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039); and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface (w11) is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0042) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by including a separate connection unit and connection surface with the above dimensions in order to implement a barrier preventing diffusion in the connection surface.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Kim as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Okumura et al. (2020/0294989, hereafter Okumura).
Regarding claim 4, Chong and Kim discussed above fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to an interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit (2a) (par. 0049), and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to an interconnection layer (3b, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Regarding claim 15, Chong and Kim fail to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to the interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2a) extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0049), and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts (2b) connecting the first pad to the interconnection layer (par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Claims 5, 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Seo et al. (2017/0148699, hereafter Seo).
Regarding claim 5, Chong discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 6, Chong fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 16, Chong fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 17, Chong fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Claims 8, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Kim and Okumura.
Regarding claim 8, Chong discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit, the first connection unit comprising a connection surface to which a connection member connects.
However, Kim teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit (34LE), the first connection unit comprising a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Chong and Kim fail to disclose the first connection unit comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the first connection unit (2a, Fig. 2) comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size (par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 19, Chong fails to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit, the first connection unit comprising a connection surface to which a connection member connects.
However, Kim teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit (34LE), the first connection unit comprising a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Chong and Kim fail to disclose the first connection unit comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the first connection unit (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size (par. 0050, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 23, Chong discloses an external connection pad apparatus comprising: a plurality of first pads (226b, Fig. 2), each first pad having a first surface area, and a plurality of second pads (226a, Fig. 2), each second pad having a second surface area larger than the first surface area (Fig. 2, par. 0020); and a fourth connection unit including at least one contact (226) connecting the second pad to a second interconnection layer (232) (Fig. 2); wherein the first pad is configured to transmit and receive data (par. 0020); wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal (par. 0020).
Chong fails to disclose an apparatus comprising a first connection unit including a first connection surface to which a first connection member connects, and a third connection unit including a second connection surface to which a second connection member connects.
However, Kim teaches an apparatus comprising a first connection unit (34LE) including a first connection surface (34F) to which a first connection member connects, and a third connection unit (34LE) including a second connection surface (34F) to which a second connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by implementing pads with surfaces to connect to connection members in order to provide communication between them and other components.
Chong and Kim fail to disclose an apparatus comprising a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit, wherein the second connection unit includes at least one contact connecting the first pad to a first interconnection layer; and comprising a fourth connection unit extending outwardly from the third connection unit.
However, Okumura teaches an apparatus comprising a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from the first connection unit (2a), wherein the second connection unit includes at least one contact connecting the first pad (2) to a first interconnection layer (3b); and comprising a fourth connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from the third connection unit (2a) (Fig. 2, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing second connection units extending outwardly from the first connection units to provide more effective contact with the interconnection layer.
Claims 9, 11, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Kim and Okumura as applied to claims 8, 19, and 23 above, and further in view of Seo.
Regarding claim 9, Chong and Kim discussed above fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to an interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2b) (Fig. 2, par. 0049); and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to an interconnection layer (par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Chong, Kim, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts, wherein the quantity is two or more.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P), wherein the quantity is two or more (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong, Kim, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 11, Chong fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises: a first connection unit comprising a first connection surface to which a first connection member connects; and wherein the second pad comprises: a third connection unit comprising a second connection surface to which a second connection member connects.
However, Kim teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises: a first connection unit (34LE) comprising a first connection surface (34F) to which a first connection member connects; and wherein the second pad comprises: a third connection unit (34LE) comprising a second connection surface (34F) to which a second connection member connects (Fig. 4, par. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Kim by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Chong, Kim fail to disclose a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit and including a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to a first interconnection layer; and a fourth connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the third connection unit, and wherein the second quantity of contacts connects the second pad to a second interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2a) and including a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad (2) to a first interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0049); and a fourth connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the third connection unit (2a), and wherein the second quantity of contacts connects the second pad (2) to a second interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong, Kim with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit to provide more effective contact with the interconnection layer.
Chong, Kim, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts larger than the first quantity of contacts.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P) larger than the first quantity of contacts (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong, Kim, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 20, Chong and Kim fail to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to the interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2a), and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to the interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Chong, Kim, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts, wherein the quantity is two or more.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P), wherein the quantity is two or more (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong, Kim, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 24, Chong and Kim fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Kim with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Chong, Kim, and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprises a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong, Kim, and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong in view of Okumura and Seo.
Regarding claim 10, Chong discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Chong and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 21, Chong fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Chong and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Chong and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817