DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is too short (35 words) to align with the guidelines above. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Par. 0045 refers to Fig. 3 and cites first connection unit “11” where it means to refer to and should read unit “311”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (2024/0178202, hereafter Kim ‘202).
Regarding claim 1, Kim ‘202 discloses an external connection pad apparatus comprising: a first pad (21) having a first surface area; and a second pad (22) having a second surface area larger than the first (Fig. 3A-3B, par. 0045).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘202 discloses a semiconductor apparatus comprising: an integrated circuit (240); an interconnection layer (220) electrically connected to the integrated circuit; and an external connection pad apparatus including a plurality of first pads (224), each first pad having a first surface area, and a plurality of second pads (222), each second pad having a second surface area larger than the first surface area, wherein each of the plurality of first pads and each of the plurality of second pads are electrically connected with the interconnection layer (Fig. 10, par. 0071).
Regarding claim 22, Kim ‘202 discloses a semiconductor apparatus further comprising: a plurality of chip pads (222) electrically connected with the interconnection layer (220); and a re-distribution layer (RDL) (221) connecting the plurality of chip pads with the external connection pad apparatus (211) (par. 0077-78, Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Kim et al. (2020/0035274, hereafter Kim ‘274).
Regarding claim 2, Kim ‘202 discussed above fails to specify the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a pad through which data is at least one of transmitted and received. However, Kim ‘202 clearly teaches data transmission through the pad as it is inherent in the logic circuit (par. 0069-71, 0077-78).
Further, Kim ‘274 specifically teaches the external connection pad (101) apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a pad through which data is at least one of transmitted and received (Fig. 100, par. 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘274 by providing pads through which data is transmitted and/or received in order to implement an input/output processing system.
Regarding claim 7, Kim ‘202 fails to specify the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal. However, Kim ‘202 clearly teaches a control signal through the pad as it is inherent in the logic circuit (par. 0069-71, 0077-78).
However, Kim ‘274 specifically teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal (105, Fig. 100, par. 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘274 by implementing pads to receive a power and/or control system in order to communicate with an external device.
Regarding claim 13, Kim ‘202 fails to specify the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a pad through which data is at least one of transmitted and received. However, Kim ‘202 clearly teaches data transmission through the pad as it is inherent in the logic circuit (par. 0069-71, 0077-78).
Further, Kim ‘274 specifically teaches the external connection pad (101) apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a pad through which data is at least one of transmitted and received (Fig. 100, par. 0023).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘274 by providing pads through which data is transmitted and/or received in order to implement an input/output processing system.
Regarding claim 18, Kim ‘202 fails to specify the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal. However, Kim ‘202 clearly teaches a control signal through the pad as it is inherent in the logic circuit (par. 0069-71, 0077-78).
Further, Kim ‘274 specifically teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad is a pad configured to receive at least one of a power signal and a control signal (105, Fig. 100, par. 0027).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘274 by implementing pads to receive a power and/or control system in order to communicate with an external device.
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Kim et al. (2024/0055406, hereafter Kim ‘406).
Regarding claim 3, Kim ‘202 discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit including a connection surface to which a connection member connect; and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (34) comprises a first connection unit (34LE) including a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connect (par. 0039); and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface (w11) is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0042) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by including a separate connection unit and connection surface wherein the distance between the outer edge of the first connection unit and the outer edge of the connection surface are equal at various perimeter points in order to implement a barrier preventing diffusion in the connection surface.
Regarding claim 14, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit including a connection surface to which a connection member connects; and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a first connection unit (34LE) including a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039); and wherein a distance from an outer edge of the first connection unit to an outer edge of the connection surface (w11) is formed equally at various perimeter points of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0042) (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by including a separate connection unit and connection surface with the above dimensions in order to implement a barrier preventing diffusion in the connection surface.
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Kim ‘406 as applied to claims 3 and 14 above, and further in view of Okumura et al. (2020/0294989, hereafter Okumura).
Regarding claim 4, Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 discussed above fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to an interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit (2a) (par. 0049), and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to an interconnection layer (3b, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Regarding claim 15, Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to the interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the first pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2a) extending outwardly from a part of the outer edge of the first connection unit (par. 0049), and wherein the second connection unit includes a first quantity of contacts (2b) connecting the first pad to the interconnection layer (par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Claims 5, 6, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Seo et al. (2017/0148699, hereafter Seo).
Regarding claim 5, Kim ‘202 discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 6, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 16, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) comprises a polygonal shape having five or more angles (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 17, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Claims 8, 19, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Kim ‘406 and Okumura.
Regarding claim 8, Kim ‘202 discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit, the first connection unit comprising a connection surface to which a connection member connects.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit (34LE), the first connection unit comprising a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose the first connection unit comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the first connection unit (2a, Fig. 2) comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size (par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 19, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit, the first connection unit comprising a connection surface to which a connection member connects.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a first connection unit (34LE), the first connection unit comprising a connection surface (34F) to which a connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose the first connection unit comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the first connection unit (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having a predetermined size (par. 0050, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 23, Kim ‘202 discloses an external connection pad apparatus comprising: a plurality of first pads (21), each first pad having a first surface area, and a plurality of second pads (22), each second pad having a second surface area larger than the first surface area (Fig. 3A-3B, par. 0045); and a fourth connection unit including at least one contact connecting the second pad to a second interconnection layer (241) (par. 0078, Fig. 11).
Kim ‘202 fails to disclose an apparatus comprising a first connection unit including a first connection surface to which a first connection member connects, and a third connection unit including a second connection surface to which a second connection member connects.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches an apparatus comprising a first connection unit (34LE) including a first connection surface (34F) to which a first connection member connects, and a third connection unit (34LE) including a second connection surface (34F) to which a second connection member connects (par. 0039, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by implementing pads with surfaces to connect to connection members in order to provide communication between them and other components.
Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose an apparatus comprising a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit, wherein the second connection unit includes at least one contact connecting the first pad to a first interconnection layer; and comprising a fourth connection unit extending outwardly from the third connection unit.
However, Okumura teaches an apparatus comprising a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from the first connection unit (2a), wherein the second connection unit includes at least one contact connecting the first pad (2) to a first interconnection layer (3b); and comprising a fourth connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from the third connection unit (2a) (Fig. 2, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing second connection units extending outwardly from the first connection units to provide more effective contact with the interconnection layer.
Claims 9, 11, 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Kim ‘406 and Okumura as applied to claims 8, 19, and 23 above, and further in view of Seo.
Regarding claim 9, Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 discussed above fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to an interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the second pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2b) (Fig. 2, par. 0049); and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to an interconnection layer (par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts, wherein the quantity is two or more.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P), wherein the quantity is two or more (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises: a first connection unit comprising a first connection surface to which a first connection member connects; and wherein the second pad comprises: a third connection unit comprising a second connection surface to which a second connection member connects.
However, Kim ‘406 teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad comprises: a first connection unit (34LE) comprising a first connection surface (34F) to which a first connection member connects; and wherein the second pad comprises: a third connection unit (34LE) comprising a second connection surface (34F) to which a second connection member connects (Fig. 4, par. 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Kim ‘406 by implementing a pad with a surface to connect to a connection member in order to provide communication between it and other components.
Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406 fail to disclose a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit and including a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad to a first interconnection layer; and a fourth connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the third connection unit, and wherein the second quantity of contacts connects the second pad to a second interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2a) and including a first quantity of contacts connecting the first pad (2) to a first interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0049); and a fourth connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the third connection unit (2a), and wherein the second quantity of contacts connects the second pad (2) to a second interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0052).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit to provide more effective contact with the interconnection layer.
Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts larger than the first quantity of contacts.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P) larger than the first quantity of contacts (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 20, Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad includes a second connection unit extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit, and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to the interconnection layer.
However, Okumura teaches the semiconductor apparatus wherein the second pad (2) includes a second connection unit (2b) extending outwardly from a part of an outer edge of the first connection unit (2a), and wherein the second connection unit connects the second pad to the interconnection layer (Fig. 2, par. 0049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Okumura by implementing a second connection unit extending outwardly from the first connection unit in order to more easily connect with the interconnection layer.
Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura fail to disclose a second quantity of contacts, wherein the quantity is two or more.
However, Seo teaches a second quantity of contacts (141P), wherein the quantity is two or more (Figs. 11A-11D, par. 0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Okumura with Seo by implementing multiple contacts in order to increase the area of connection pads and to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of extensions and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Regarding claim 24, Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 fail to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Kim ‘406 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprises a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202, Kim ‘406, and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Claims 10 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim ‘202 in view of Okumura and Seo.
Regarding claim 10, Kim ‘202 discussed above fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Kim ‘202 and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Regarding claim 21, Kim ‘202 fails to disclose the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size.
However, Seo teaches the external connection pad apparatus wherein the first pad (141) has a shape comprising at least one chamfered edge from a rectangular pad area having a predetermined size (Figs. 12A-12D, par. 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 with Seo by including a pad of polygonal shape in order to improve reliability by providing an anchoring effect through the plurality of angled parts and implementing greater adhesion between connections.
Kim ‘202 and Seo fail to disclose the second pad comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size.
However, Okumura teaches the second pad (2a) comprising a rectangular shape having the predetermined size (Fig. 2, par. 0050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kim ‘202 and Seo with Okumura by implementing a rectangular connection unit in order to optimize communication by increasing input/output density along the perimeter.
Conclusion
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817