Objected Informalities
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In The Claims
Claim 5, line 2, “includes” should be -- include --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Objected drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the assembly of ring electrodes bent in an arcuate configuration that is arranged at a first angle oblique to both the ion path and a direction perpendicular to the ion path as recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ibrahim et al. (2020/0321190).
Ibrahim et al. (2020/0321190) discloses, in figs. 1A-8, an ion guide and/or method for manipulating ions, which includes
Regarding claims 1, 2, 19, 20,
a plurality of elongate first electrodes 124a, 124c, 124e, 124g arranged along an ion path and configured to receive first RF voltages (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7, [0024], [0027], [0028], [0030]-[0039]);
a plurality of elongate second electrodes 124b, 124d, 124f, 124h arranged along the ion path in an alternating pattern with the plurality of first electrodes 124a, 124c, 124e, 124g and configured to receive second RF voltages that are phase-shifted with respect to the first RF voltages (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7, [0024], [0027], [0028], [0030]-[0039]);
wherein at least an outer edge portion of each of the plurality of elongate first electrodes 124a, 124c, 124e, 124g and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 124b, 124d, 124f, 124h is arranged at a first angle oblique to both the ion path and a direction perpendicular to the ion path (see abstract, figs. 1A, 1C, 7, [0005], [0006], [0026], [0030], [0032], [0034]-[0037], [0040]).
a traveling wave potential having a first component that guides ions along the ion path and a second component to confine the ions within the ion path along the direction perpendicular to the ion path (see figs. 1A, 1C, 5A, 6, 7, [0005]-[0007], [0024], [0025], [0027], [0028], [0030]-[0039]); and
an ion source 106, 706 for introducing ions to the ion guide (see figs. 1A, 7).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the ion guide does not include guard electrodes extending along a side of the ion path and configured to generate a direct current (DC) confinement field when supplied with a DC voltage (see figs. 1A-4F, 6, 7).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes are configured to receive DC voltages such that, when the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes receive the DC voltages, the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes apply a DC potential along the ion path (see [0025], [0027], [0029]).
Regarding claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes include a first portion and a second portion that is substantially symmetrical to the first portion across a central axis of the ion path (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a plurality of elongate third electrodes 122a, 122c, 122e, 122g arranged along the ion path opposite of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and configured to receive third RF voltages; and a plurality of elongate fourth electrodes 122b, 122d, 122f, 122h arranged along the ion path opposite of the plurality of elongate second electrodes in an alternating pattern with the plurality of third electrodes and configured to receive fourth RF voltages that are phase-shifted with respect to the third RF voltages (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7, [0024], [0027], [0028], [0030]-[0039]); wherein the plurality of elongate third electrodes and the plurality of elongate fourth electrodes are arranged at a second angle oblique to both the ion path and the direction perpendicular to the ion path (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7).
Regarding claim 8, wherein a span of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes along the direction perpendicular to the ion path decreases along the ion path to form an ion funnel (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes are curved (see figs. 3-4F).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes are arranged on a printed circuit board (PCB) (see [0029]).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first angle of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes relative to the ion path is between about 30 degrees and about 60 degrees (see [0005], [0026]).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first angle of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes relative to the ion path is
about 45 degrees (see [0005], [0026]).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes have a V-shape or a U-shape (see some electrodes having V-shape in figs. 3, 4A-4F, [0028], taper shapes in [0028], [0029], [0030]).
Regarding claim 17, an ion mobility separator comprising the ion guide of claim 1 (see [0023], [0025], separate device in [0030] and [0031])
Regarding claim 18, a mass spectrometry system comprising a mass analyzer and the ion guide of claim 1 (see [0024], ion filtering, time of flight in [0031]).
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Senko (2024/0038476).
Senko (2024/0038476) discloses, in figs. 1-16, an ion guide and/or method for manipulating ions, which includes
Regarding claims 1, 2, 19, 20,
a plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 arranged along an ion path (in Z-direction) and configured to receive first RF voltages (see abstract, figs. 1, 2, 7-10, 12-14, [0003]-[0008], [0023], [0038], [0041], [0043], [0046]);
a plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 arranged along the ion path (in Z- direction) in an alternating pattern with the plurality of first electrodes 108-1 and configured to receive second RF voltages that are phase-shifted with respect to the first RF voltages (see abstract, figs. 1, 2, 7-10, 12-14, [0003]-[0008], [0023], [0038], [0041], [0043], [0046]);
wherein at least an outer edge portion 112-1, 112-2 of each of the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 is arranged at a first angle oblique to both the ion path and a direction perpendicular to the ion path (see figs. 8, 14, triangular shape in [0056], [0069] and [0073]);
the first RF voltages applied to the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the second RF voltages applied to the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 to generate a traveling wave potential (see [0032], [0107]) having a first component (see electric field in [0032]) that guides ions along the ion path and a second component 602-1, 602-2 that confines the ions within the ion path (in ion containment space 106) along the direction perpendicular to the ion path (in ion containment space 106) (see figs. 2, 5, 6A, 6B, 7, 8, 10, 11A, 11B, 12, 13, 14, [0005], [0029], [0032], [0033], an edge containment electric field in [0036], [0041], [0045], [0047]-[0052], [0110], [0111], [0112]); and
ions introduced into the ion guide (see 1504 in fig. 15, [0004], [0078]).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the ion guide 100 does not include guard electrodes extending along a side of the ion path and configured to generate a direct current (DC) confinement field when supplied with a DC voltage (see figs. 1-14, [0032], [0107]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 are configured to receive DC voltages such that, when the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 receive the DC voltages, the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 apply a DC potential along the ion path (see figs. 1-14, [0032], [0107]).
Regarding claim 5, wherein each of the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 include a first portion and a second portion that is substantially symmetrical to the first portion across a central axis of the ion path (see figs. 1, 2, 7-10, 12-14).
Regarding claim 6, further comprising a plurality of elongate third electrodes 108-3 arranged along the ion path opposite of the plurality of elongate first electrodes 108-1 and configured to receive third RF voltages; and a plurality of elongate fourth electrodes 108-4 arranged along the ion path opposite of the plurality of elongate second electrodes 108-2 in an alternating pattern with the plurality of third electrodes 108-3 and configured to receive fourth RF voltages that are phase-shifted with respect to the third RF voltages;
wherein the plurality of elongate third electrodes 108-3 and the plurality of elongate fourth electrodes 108-4 are arranged at a second angle oblique to both the ion path and the direction perpendicular to the ion path (see abstract, figs. 1, 3A-6B, 9, [0003]-[0008], [0015], [0023], [0027], [0039]-[0050], [0053], [0059]-[0065], [0070], [0085]-[0122]).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes have a chevron configuration (see wavy shape in [0035], [0036]).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes are curved (see [0035], [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes include an assembly of ring electrodes bent in an arcuate configuration (see elliptical, oval shape in [0035] and [0036]).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes are arranged on a printed circuit board (PCB) (see [0001], [0023], [0053], [0103]).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the ion guide includes a first portion forming a first ion path extending in a first direction and a second portion forming a second ion path connected to the first ion path and extending in a second direction that is different than the first direction (see [0075]).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the ion path is circuitous in two spatial dimensions or in three spatial dimensions (see [0075]).
Regarding claim 14, wherein the first angle of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes relative to the ion path is between about 30 degrees and about 60 degrees (see figs. 8, 14).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the first angle of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes relative to the ion path is
about 45 degrees (see figs. 8, 14).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes have a V-shape or a U-shape (see “wavy-shape” in [0035] and [0036]).
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a)
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Senko (2024/0038476) in view of Ibrahim et al. (2020/0321190).
Senko (2024/0038476) discloses all the features as discussed above except a span of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes along the direction perpendicular to the ion path decreases along the ion path to form an ion funnel as recited in claim 8; an ion mobility separator as recited in claim 17; and a mass spectrometry system comprising a mass analyzer as recited in claim 18.
Using the mass spectrometry system comprising a mass analyzer, an ion mobility separator, and a span of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes along the direction perpendicular to the ion path and decreasing along the ion path to form an ion funnel is considered to be obvious variation in design, since it is well known in the art as Ibrahim et al. (2020/0321190) discloses, in figs. 1A-8, a mass spectrometer (see [0024]) including a mass analyzer (see time-of-flight in [0031]), an ion mobility separator (see [0025], ion separation in [0031]), and a span of the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes along the direction perpendicular to the ion path and decreasing along the ion path to form an ion funnel 100 (see figs. 1A, 1C, 7), thus would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use the mass spectrometry system comprising a mass analyzer, an ion mobility separator, and the plurality of elongate first electrodes and the plurality of elongate second electrodes forming along the direction perpendicular to the ion path and decreasing along the ion path to form an ion funnel in the Senko (2024/0038476) ion guide for manipulating ions.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Makarov et al. (2004/0222369) and Garimella et al. (2022/0136999) disclose an ion guide including a plurality of elongate first electrodes and a plurality of elongate second electrodes that are arranged at an angle oblique to both an ion path and a direction perpendicular to the ion path.
Conclusion
/KIET T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881