DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17, and 19-21 are pending in the Instant Application.
Claims 1-17, and 19-21 are rejected (Non-Final Rejection).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Pal et al. (“Pal”), United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0147092.
As per claim 1, Pal discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a query coordinator, a first query identifying a set of data to be processed and a manner of processing the set of data ([0155]-[0156] wherein a query is received at the query coordinator (the “search head” in the prior art) which can identify a set of data to be processed and can identify a manner or processing the set of data (wherein the identification is determining what data is being queried));
selecting a plurality of data processing systems based on the set of data provided by a same data source or as stored in a same data store being accessible by each of the plurality of data processing systems (Examiner notes the use of “or” allowing for either of the options and ([0158]-[0159] wherein external processing systems are selected based on the set of data provided by the same source, such that the data processing system (ERP process in the prior art) can, for example, execute all Hadoop request using the same processing system);
parsing at least one of the first query or metadata associated with the first query to identify one or more components of a first data processing system, of a plurality of data processing systems, to execute at least a first portion of the first query ([0155] wherein the search head parses (analyzes in the prior art) the query to determine request parameters which may reference external data collections), wherein to execute the at least a first portion of the first query, the one or more components obtain and process at least a first portion of the set of data according to the at least a first portion of the first query ([0161] wherein the ERP process will obtain a first portion of the results) , wherein the set of data is accessible by each of the plurality of data processing systems ([0157] wherein the data processing systems (ERP processes) can access all the sets of data);
defining a query processing scheme indicating that the one or more components are identified to execute the at least a first portion of the first query on the set of data and indicating a second data processing system of the plurality of data processing systems to execute at least a second portion of the first query to optimize the first query ([0172] and [0756] wherein a query processing schema can be determined using multiple subqueries to external data sources (a first query and a second query) and any processing required with the results before they are returned) and to process the at least the second portion of the query according to the first data semantics of the first data processing system different from second data semantics of the second data processing system ([0613] and [0170]-[0171] wherein the query is processed to receive a second portion using a second query according to the first data semantics wherein the query is received according to the first data semantics, but is translated to be able to be used in a second data processing system);
providing the query processing scheme to a second data processing system of the plurality of data processing systems to execute the at least the second portion of the first query to optimize the first query in accordance with the first data semantics of the first data processing system to produce results from the second data processing system ([0756] wherein multiple subqueries are executed, wherein the portion to be executed by the second data processing system is received to be queried) semantically similar to that which would be produced by the first data processing system ([0613] wherein the dataset compensation model provides information to execute the second portion of the first query), wherein the second data processing system obtains the first data semantics from a catalog based on the query processing scheme, and wherein the first data semantics indicate one or more manners of executing, translating, processing queries, query results, and/or data associated with queries (EXAMINER NOTES the use of “or” and [0613] wherein the catalog (dataset compensation model) provides the second data processing system with manners of executing and translating queries);
receiving an output, including an optimization of the first query, of the second data processing system based on providing the query processing scheme to the second data processing system ([0756] wherein optimized subqueries are received as output);
generating a second query to be executed at least in part by the one or more components based on the query processing scheme and the output of the second data processing system ([0756] wherein a second subquery (second query) is generated) ; and providing the second query to the one or more components ([0686] wherein the multiple subqueries can be provided for results ).
As per claim 2, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the set of data based on the first query [0155] wherein the set of data is determined by the search parameters requested).
As per claim 3, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: translating the first query to obtain a translated first query, wherein defining the query processing scheme comprises: defining the query processing scheme based on the translated first query ([0613] wherein the ERP process can translate the submitted query according to the catalog (dataset compensation model in the prior art)).
As per claim 4, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein to execute the at least the second portion of the first query, the second data processing system obtains and processes at least a second portion of the set of data according to the first query ([0754]] wherein the data in the second portion are obtained from other sources.)
As per claim 5, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: obtaining first query results from the one or more components, wherein the second data processing system obtains and processes at least a second portion of the set of data according to the first query to obtain second query results ([0754]] wherein the data in the second portion are obtained from other sources.), wherein at least one of the first data processing system or the second data processing system performs a join of the first query results and the second query results ([0636] wherein a worker node that processed the collection of the data can also be assigned the join phase).
As per claim 6, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the output comprises a plurality of optimizations to the first query, wherein generating the second query comprises: modifying the first query based on the plurality of optimizations to the first query to identify the second query; or generating the second query based on the plurality of optimizations to the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “or” and [0160] wherein the search head can optimize the first query by assigning a search quest to a respective external virtual index).
As per claim 7, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of an indexer or a search head ([0091] wherein a search head is described).
As per claim 8, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of an indexer or a search head ([0091] wherein a search head is described), wherein identifying the one or more components is based on component prioritization data, and wherein the component prioritization data indicates that a priority of at least one of the indexer or a component of the second data processing system is greater as compared to a priority of the search head ([0647] wherein the mapping of the data stored in the accelerated data store is the prioritization data since it indicates that the data is stored there and is faster and should be prioritized).
As per claim 9, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on at least one of a command, a function, or an expression of the first query ([0156] wherein the first query can reference components in an external data collection).
As per claim 10, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on a cost based optimization problem ([0909]-[0635] wherein the cost is used to recommend particular components for the query) .
As per claim 11, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a catalog, wherein the catalog maps one or more first portions of a query according to a first query language interpretable by the first data processing system to one or more second portions of a query according to a second query language interpretable by the second data processing system; and identifying the one or more components based on the catalog ([0613] wherein the catalog (dataset compensation model in the prior art) maps a query into tasks supported by the second query language) .
As per claim 12, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining the first query corresponds to an index ([0155] wherein an indexer may be referenced by the first query); and identifying the one or more components based on determining the first query corresponds to the index ([0155] wherein if the query corresponds to an index, a respective component is identified (data store in the prior art)).
As per claim 13, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on at least one of: query processing time associated with the one or more components and the first query; a query translation time associated with the first query; a resource utilization associated with the first query; or an amount of data associated with the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “at least one of” and “or”, wherein only one element is necessary to be disclosed and [0569] wherein a component (accelerated data store) is identified based on processing time, wherein the accelerated data store is faster than obtaining the stored dataset)
As per claim 14, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining one or more query parameters, wherein the one or more query parameters comprise at least one of: a query processing time associated with the one or more components and the first query; a query translation time associated with the first query; a resource utilization associated with the first query; or an amount of data associated with the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “at least one of” and [0609] wherein a translation time and resource utilization is estimated for the query); and identifying the one or more components based on the one or more query parameters ([0156] wherein the first query can have query parameters that specify a component (data collection)).
As per claim 15, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on determining the first query comprises a filter that reduces the set of data by an amount that matches or exceeds a threshold ([0248] wherein components are chosen based on the reduced super set of data based on filters that reduce the data by any amount (smallest threshold)).
As per claim 16, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on identifying that the first query is associated with at least one of batch data or streaming data ([0854] wherein the first query can identify a component (external data system) by requiring streaming).
As per claim 17, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on identifying that the first query is associated with one or more distributable commands ([0566] wherein the components can be selected based on if the commands are distributable and if they are, where processing will be best).
As per claim 19, Pal discloses a query coordinator comprising:
a data store ([0088]); and one or more processors([0126]) configured to perform the method of claim 1. Thus, the claim is rejected for the same rationale and reasoning as claim 1.
As per claim 20, Claim 20 is a computer program product that performs the method of claim 1 and is rejected for the same rationale and reasoning.
As per claim 21, Pal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first data semantics of the first data processing system indicate a manner of execution of a query, a manner of translation of the query, a manner of generation of query results, a manner of translation of the query results, a manner of translation of data associated with the query, or a combination thereof (Examiner notes the use of “a combination thereof,” which allows for the combination of a single of the listed first data semantics and [0171] wherein the query can describe a manner of execution by providing query parameters as described in [0156]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 and 19-21 have been considered. Some arguments are moot as a result of citing different sections of the Pal reference, and others were unpersuasive.
Applicant’s REMARKS from 3 June 2026, page 1, states the following:
While Applicant states in REMARKS, page 2 that, “A query processing scheme indicating components and data processing system to execute different portions of a query is very different from different data sets,” Examiner has shown above that different portions of a query is assigned to different data processing systems indicating components by describing the ERP processes that can execute different subqueries against different external systems as described in [0157]. Applicant has also now made it clear with the amendment that “a data set” goes back to the data needed for the query. Therefore, “the data set” is required for each the first and second portion of the query and is the same for either subquery based on being requested in the first query.
Applicant goes on to state on page 2, that Pal does not “process at least the second portion of the query according to the first data semantics.” However, in Pal at [0171], first data semantics are described as being the system’s native format. That would be the format that the query is received. Pal is able to process the second portion of a query as written using first data semantics by using the dataset compensation model in the prior art at [0613], which allows the portion of the query to be applied on different data processing systems by translation and adjustment. Therefore, as applied above, the Pal reference teaches the above limitations. Applicant is encouraged to clarify what exactly the “processing scheme.” Applicant’s specification describes the scheme to be a query plan at [0099]. Clearly, Pal’s subqueries on different sources would be part of the query plan to respond to the query. Pal also describes providing processing instructions in [0172]. If Applicant has another meaning for the “processing schema,” Applicant is encouraged to clarify the claim language.
Applicant goes on to state in REMARKS, page 2, that:
However, Pal describes in [0172] providing the subqueries and processing directions to the external systems, which would be the processing schema. Applicant goes on to state that “Pal is void of any disclosure of providing the query processing scheme to a second data processing system\of the plurality of data processing systems to execute the at least the second portion of the first query to optimize the first query in accordance with the first data semantics of the first data processing system to produce results from the second data processing system semantically similar to that which would be produced by the first data processing system.” However, Pal describes this by describing the ERP processes that can execute different subqueries against different external systems as described in [0157]. In [0613]-[0617], Pal recites receiving query commands according to first data semantics, and translating those to be able to be used on a second data processing system. The same describes translating results to be used and processed by the first system. Pal at [0160] also describes assigning the external sources using optimization. Therefore, according to the citations and rejection above. Pal teaches the above limitations. Again, Applicant is encouraged to clarify the “query scheme,” and how this is different than the prior art on reference. If questions remain, contact the Examiner for an interview.
Conclusion
/KANNAN SHANMUGASUNDARAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168