DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17, and 19-21 are pending in the Instant Application.
Claims 1-17, and 19-21 are rejected (Final Rejection).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 October 2025 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by United States Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0147092.
As per claim 1, Pal discloses a method, comprising:
receiving, at a query coordinator, a first query identifying a set of data to be processed and a manner of processing the set of data ([0155] wherein a query is received from the “search head,” which can identify a set of data to be processed (request parameters in the prior art) and can identify a manner or processing the set of data (wherein the identification is referencing an index as the manner of processing the set of data in the prior art);
selecting a plurality of data processing systems based on the set of data provided by a same data source or as stored in a same data store being accessible by each of the plurality of data processing systems (Examiner notes the use of “or” allowing for either of the options and ([0155]-[0156] wherein if an index is provided, a set of processing system (indexers in the prior art) are selected based on the set of data being from the same data source as the index);
parsing at least one of the first query or metadata associated with the first query to identify one or more components of a first data processing system, of a plurality of data processing systems, to execute at least a first portion of the first query ([0155] wherein the search head parses (analyzes in the prior art) the query to determine an index, which identifies one or more components of a first data processing system that the index acts as the index for), wherein to execute the at least a first portion of the first query, the one or more components obtain and process at least a first portion of the set of data according to the at least a first portion of the first query, wherein the set of data is accessible by each of the plurality of data processing systems ([0244] wherein the first portion of the query can be communicated to a master cluster who can designate e who responds to the query, among the plurality of data processing systems that can respond);
defining a query processing scheme indicating that the one or more components are identified to execute the at least a first portion of the first query and indicating a second data processing system of the plurality of data processing systems to execute at least a second portion of the first query to optimize the first query ([0568] wherein a query processing schema is defined where part of the query is executed on the query acceleration data store (second portion) and another portion is executed on another dataset source) and to process the at least the second portion of the query according to the first data semantics of the first data processing system different from second data semantics of the second data processing system ([0681] wherein the accelerated data source is a common processing system with different semantics than a data source, and the data in both the first and second portion are processed according to the data source data semantics (needing to be transformed in the prior art));
providing the query processing scheme to a second data processing system of the plurality of data processing systems to execute the at least the second portion of the first query to optimize the first query in accordance with the first data semantics of the first data processing system to produce results from the second data processing system semantically similar to that which would be produced by the first data processing system ([0681] wherein the schema is provided by the query that indicates that the query will be transformed and combined with other results, wherein the transformation of the data sets forth the semantic requirements from the raw data such as truncating character strings or converting to a different format as described in [0276]);
receiving an output, including an optimization of the first query, of the second data processing system based on providing the query processing scheme to the second data processing system ([0686] wherein the results are output as received from the acceleration data store);
generating a second query to be executed at least in part by the one or more components based on the query processing scheme and the output of the second data processing system ([0686] wherein the second query that is executed based on what is what was missing from the output of the second data processing system and determined by the query processing scheme is generated) ; and providing the second query to the one or more components ([0686] wherein the query is provided to receive the remaining portion of the results).
As per claim 2, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising:
identifying the set of data based on the first query [0155] wherein a query can identify an index, which identifies the set of data using that indexer).
As per claim 3, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: translating the first query to obtain a translated first query, wherein defining the query processing scheme comprises: defining the query processing scheme based on the translated first query ([0171] wherein the ERP process can translate the submitted query in order to be able to define the query processing scheme).
As per claim 4, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein to execute the at least the second portion of the first query, the second data processing system obtains and processes at least a second portion of the set of data according to the first query ([0671] wherein the data in the second portion are obtained from other sources and processed as described in [0686]).
As per claim 5, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: obtaining first query results from the one or more components, wherein the second data processing system obtains and processes at least a second portion of the set of data according to the first query to obtain second query results ([0568] wherein the second query results are those obtained from the query acceleration data store), wherein at least one of the first data processing system or the second data processing system performs a join of the first query results and the second query results ([0636] wherein a worker node that processed the collection of the data can also be assigned the join phase).
As per claim 6, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the output comprises a plurality of optimizations to the first query ([0320] wherein in addition to the accelerated data store, the high performance analytics store may optimize the first query), wherein generating the second query comprises: modifying the first query based on the plurality of optimizations to the first query to identify the second query; or generating the second query based on the plurality of optimizations to the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “or” and [0686] wherein the second query is provided to receive the remaining portion of the results after the optimization with the accelerated data store) .
As per claim 7, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of an indexer or a search head ([0091] wherein a search head is described).
As per claim 8, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise at least one of an indexer or a search head ([0091] wherein a search head is described), wherein identifying the one or more components is based on component prioritization data, and wherein the component prioritization data indicates that a priority of at least one of the indexer or a component of the second data processing system is greater as compared to a priority of the search head ([0647] wherein the mapping of the data stored in the accelerated data store is the prioritization data since it indicates that the data is stored there and is faster and should be prioritized).
As per claim 9, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on at least one of a command, a function, or an expression of the first query ([0679] wherein the first query can have an explicit command to obtain data from the accelerated data store).
As per claim 10, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on a cost based optimization problem ([0909]-[0635] wherein the cost is used to recommend particular components for the query) .
As per claim 11, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: obtaining a catalog, wherein the catalog maps one or more first portions of a query according to a first query language interpretable by the first data processing system to one or more second portions of a query according to a second query language interpretable by the second data processing system; and identifying the one or more components based on the catalog ([0674] wherein the query coordinator includes a mapping of data in the first data processing system to a location such as the second data processing system accelerated data store in the prior art ).
As per claim 12,Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining the first query corresponds to an index ([0155] wherein an indexer may be referenced by the first query); and identifying the one or more components based on determining the first query corresponds to the index ([0155] wherein if the query corresponds to an index, a respective component is identified (data store in the prior art)).
As per claim 13, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on at least one of: query processing time associated with the one or more components and the first query; a query translation time associated with the first query; a resource utilization associated with the first query; or an amount of data associated with the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “at least one of” and “or”, wherein only one element is necessary to be disclosed and [0569] wherein a component (accelerated data store) is identified based on processing time, wherein the accelerated data store is faster than obtaining the stored dataset)
As per claim 14, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: determining one or more query parameters, wherein the one or more query parameters comprise at least one of: a query processing time associated with the one or more components and the first query; a query translation time associated with the first query; a resource utilization associated with the first query; or an amount of data associated with the first query (Examiner Notes the use of “at least one of” and [0609] wherein a translation time and resource utilization is estimated for the query) .
; and identifying the one or more components based on the one or more query parameters ([0609] wherein the component is recommended).
As per claim 15, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on determining the first query comprises a filter that reduces the set of data by an amount that matches or exceeds a threshold ([0248] wherein components are chosen based on the reduced super set of data based on filters that reduce the data by any amount (smallest threshold)).
As per claim 16, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on identifying that the first query is associated with at least one of batch data or streaming data ([0854] wherein the first query can identify a component (external data system) by requiring streaming).
As per claim 17, Pal discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: identifying the one or more components based on identifying that the first query is associated with one or more distributable commands ([0566] wherein the components can be selected based on if the commands are distributable and if they are, where processing will be best).
As per claim 19, Pal discloses a query coordinator comprising:
a data store ([0088]); and one or more processors([0126]) configured to perform the method of claim 1. Thus, the claim is rejected for the same rationale and reasoning as claim 1.
As per claim 20, Claim 20 is a computer program product that performs the method of claim 1 and is rejected for the same rationale and reasoning.
As per claim 21, Pal discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first data semantics of the first data processing system indicate a manner of execution of a query, a manner of translation of the query, a manner of generation of query results, a manner of translation of the query results, a manner of translation of data associated with the query, or a combination thereof (Examiner notes the use of “a combination thereof,” which allows for the combination of a single of the listed first data semantics and [0276] wherein the query can provide first data semantics including a manner of translation including truncate or converting character strings).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KANNAN SHANMUGASUNDARAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168