Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 9-15) in the reply filed on 2/26/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/26/26.
In Applicant’s 2/26/26 response, claims 1-8 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 9-11 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Borowiak et al (US 2021/0324140; hereafter Borowiak). {webcapture of https://www.armandhammer.com/en/articles/baking-soda-shoe-cleaning, (published 9/10/2019) provided solely as evidence; hereafter A&H}.
As Anticipated:
Claim 9: Borowiak teaches a method for preparing a modified acid neutralizing polymer material (mANPM), (See, for example, abstract, [0005], [0011], [0029]) comprising:
a) receiving a substrate comprising an acid neutralizing polymer material (ANPM) (See, for example abstract, [0005], [0011], examples);
b) applying a basic salt solution (buffer wash, further sodium bicarbonate / water wash) to the substrate wherein a modified substrate is created through a reaction product between the basic salt solution and the ANPM to form the mANPM (see, for example, abstract, [0005], [0011], [0029]);
c) allowing the basic salt solution to evaporate from the modified substrate (see, for example, for example, abstract, [0005], [0011-12], [0029]; inherently water evaporates under standard conditions, further from applied mixtures with sodium bicarbonate {as evidenced by {A&H} pg 1)}, thus any passage of time following application would read on allowing the solution to evaporate).
Alternatively As Obviated:
Claim 9: Refer to the rejection of claim 9 above. Although no singular exemplary embodiment explicitly states allowing to evaporate for a particular time, Borowiak has explicitly taught wherein the purpose of salt solution wash is to treat the surface with the bicarbonate to allow for regeneration of the acid neutralization function, and further teaches wherein supporting articles include worn fabrics / clothing such as lab coats and diapers (see, for example, [0011-0013]). If not already inherent that the applied salt solution would have been allowed to evaporate thereon, such a periods of time between application and handling, storing, packing, shipping, etc, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated allowing the basic salt solution to evaporate from the modified substrate since garments such as lab coats and diapers are conventionally desired to be dry upon wearing for improved comfort and to serve its intended purposes.
Claim 10: Borowiak further teaches wherein the substrate comprises a fabric, support structure or a particle (see, for example, [0074]).
Claim 11: Borowiak further teaches wherein the ANPM comprises a polyamide backbone functionalized by addition of one or more a halogenated-dialkylalkylamine, a haloalkyl heterocyclic aromatic amine, and a halogenated tertiary amine (See, for example, [0005-6], [0011-12], and examples).
Claim 13-14: Borowiak further teaches 13 wherein the basic salt solution comprises sodium bicarbonate (See, for example, [0011-0012] and [0029]).
Claim 15: Borowiak further teaches e) regenerating the mANPM after exposure to an acid by reapplication of the basic salt solution in accordance with steps (b) through (d) (See, for example, [0011-0012]). Alternatively, although no singular exemplary embodiment is described wherein a previously buffer washed sample undergoes an additional reapplication of the salt solution per (b) through (d), based upon the explicit guidance that reapplication of the basic salt solution to the fabric / garment, such as for lab coats, wherein one of ordinary skill would readily understand that more than singular instances of acid exposure are a commonality, can regenerate its acid neutralization function, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated an reapplication of the salt solution per (b) through (d) anytime additional acid exposure occurs since such a buffer treatment would predictably provide a means to regenerate the intended acid neutralization function, and avoid waste and money associated with instead disposing of the acid exposed garment and buying a replacement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borowiak in view of Hopmann et al (Chapter 1 “Introduction to Reactive Extrusion” in Reactive Extrusion: Principles and Applications, 1st Ed. Beyer & Hopmann © 2018, pg 3-10; Hereafter Hopmann).
Claim 12: Borowiak teaches the method of claim 11 (above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the ANPM is produced via reactive extrusion. Hopmann teaches an introduction to reactive extrusion (See, entirety). Hopmann further teaches wherein: “the supply chain of plastics processing usually consists of three steps: polymerization, compounding, and further processing. In industrial applications, these three steps are separated in time and space, as each process step is usually performed by a different company with clearly defined areas of responsibilities… raw material manufacturers produce only few variations in large quantities. This restriction at the beginning of the process chain hinders use in plastics applications that demand more specific characteristics profiles than are currently available. A higher flexibility during polymer synthesis could therefore create a wider range of scope of plastics applications.” (pg 4). Hopmann teaches wherein such issues can be overcome by incorporating reactive extrusion as it “offers flexible alternative to polymerization in the presence of a solution, suspension, or emulsion and subsequent compounding.”, it allows for the absence of solvents as a reaction medium, and enhanced flexibility (see, for example, pg 4-5, and entirety). Hopmann further teaches the suitability of reaction extrusion for use with polyamides (See, for example, Table 1.1). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated producing the ANPM via reactive extrusion since such a method would predictably overcome a number of issues associated with conventional plastics processing allowing for higher flexibility during polymer synthesis to create a wider range of scope of plastics application, offers flexible alternative to polymerization in the presence of a solution, suspension, or emulsion and subsequent compounding, and allows for the absence of solvents as a reaction medium further avoiding exposure, disposal, and waste of such materials.
Conclusion
/NATHAN H EMPIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712