DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Applicant’s amendments and remarks in the reply filed 4/14/2026 have been acknowledged and entered. Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 14-22 are pending. Claims 3, 4, and 13 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 12, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murciego Rodriguez et al. (hereinafter “Murciego”, US 2022/0072621), and further in view of Huber et al. (US 2022/0227048) and Fulop et al. (US 2018/0297284).
Regarding Claim 1: Murciego teaches an automated de-powdering system, comprising:
a sleeve (Fig. 1, element 12);
a build box (element 11), the build box including one or more sidewalls (not numbered, walls of box 11) and a build plate (element 24), the one or more sidewalls and the build plate defining a build chamber, the sleeve being configured to move with respect to and align with the build box [0020];
a separation station [0033] configured to receive the build box with an additive manufacturing build inside the build chamber, the additive manufacturing build includes one or more objects disposed within a powder build material, wherein the separation station includes at least one actuator actuatable to move the additive manufacturing build out of the build box and into the sleeve [0018]; and
at least one mechanism automatically actuatable to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects ([0056] teaches an internal vibrator or a pulsed vacuum to provide vibrations within sleeve 12; [0061] teaches a controller to perform the method which reads on an automated system).
Murciego teaches that the build box may be removed to other stations [0033] but does not expressly disclose the build box is configured to move with respect to the sleeve. However, Huber teaches a build box including an integrated travel drive such that the build box is configured to move to different positions throughout a 3D printer system in a controlled and automated manner [0021]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murciego with a build box configured to move with respect to the sleeve, as suggested by Huber, in order to allow the build box to reach other positions within the system before or after the manufacture build is removed to the sleeve.
Murciego does not expressly disclose a conveyor, the at least one mechanism being automatically actuable to separate at least the portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects while the additive manufacturing build is positioned on the conveyor, and wherein the at least one agitation mechanism is proximate to or coupled to the conveyor. However, Fulop teaches a similar depowdering system (see abstract) comprising a conveyor (Fig. 5A, element 502) associated with a build box and a vibration generator (element 504) proximate the conveyor to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects while the additive manufacturing build is positioned on the conveyor [0062]. Fulop teaches that the conveyor and vibration generator enhances the depowdering process as the object progresses along the conveyor [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a conveyor having the agitation mechanism proximate thereto in order to enhance the depowdering process, as taught by Fulop.
Regarding Claim 2: Murciego further teaches at least one actuator is automatically actuatable to remove the sleeve from the additive manufacturing build (see Fig. 2, diagram 5; [0040] teaches a robotic arm for automated movement of sleeve 12).
Regarding Claim 5: Murciego further teaches wherein the additive manufacturing build comprises a first portion (element 21) and a second portion (element 22), and wherein the at least one actuator is actuatable to move the first portion into the sleeve (Fig. 2, diagrams 1 and 2).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7: Murciego further teaches the system further comprises a separation mechanism (e.g., cutting knife, element 13) insertable into the additive manufacturing build to separate the first portion from the second portion.
Regarding Claim 9: Murciego further teaches the system further comprises a separation mechanism (e.g., cutting knife, element 13) insertable into the additive manufacturing build to separate the additive manufacturing build into at least two portions (elements 21 and 22).
Regarding Claim 12: Murciego further teaches the system comprises at least one controller to automatically control at least one of the at least one actuator or the at least one mechanism [0060, 0061].
Regarding Claim 18: Murciego in view of Huber and Fulop teaches an automated de-powdering method utilizing the automated de-powdering system of claim 1. Murciego further teaches a method comprising:
moving the build plate, via the at least one actuator, to move the additive manufacturing build out of the build box and into the sleeve (Fig. 2, diagrams 1 and 2); and
automatically actuating the at least one mechanism to separate the portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects [0056, 0061].
Regarding Claim 19: Murciego further teaches inserting a separation mechanism (element 13) into the additive manufacturing build to separate the additive manufacturing build into at least two portions (elements 21 and 22).
Regarding Claim 20: Murciego teaches a system, comprising:
one or more additive manufacturing systems (Fig. 1, element 10) each configured to print an additive manufacturing build within a build box (Fig. 2, element 11), the build box including one or more sidewalls (not numbered, walls of box 11) and a build plate (element 24), the one or more sidewalls and the build plate defining a build chamber configured to contain the additive manufacturing build (element 18), wherein the additive manufacturing build includes one or more objects (elements 20) disposed within a powder build material; and
an automated de-powdering system with a separation station [0033] configured to receive the build box from the one or more additive manufacturing systems, the automated de-powdering system including:
at least one actuator actuatable with respect to the build plate to move at least a portion of the additive manufacturing build out of the build box and into a sleeve (element 12; [0018]); and
at least one of a pneumatic agitation mechanism or at least one of an ultrasonic agitation mechanism automatically actuatable to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects ([0056] teaches an internal vibrator or a pulsed vacuum to provide vibrations within sleeve 12; [0061] teaches a controller to perform the method which reads on an automated system).
Murciego teaches that the build box may be removed to other stations [0033] but does not expressly disclose the build box is configured to move with respect to the sleeve. However, Huber teaches a build box including an integrated travel drive such that the build box is configured to move to different positions throughout a 3D printer system in a controlled and automated manner [0021]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murciego with a build box configured to move with respect to the sleeve, as suggested by Huber, in order to allow the build box to reach other positions within the system before or after the manufacture build is removed to the sleeve.
Murciego does not expressly disclose a conveyor, the at least one mechanism being automatically actuable to separate at least the portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects while the additive manufacturing build is positioned on the conveyor, and wherein the at least one agitation mechanism is proximate to or coupled to the conveyor. However, Fulop teaches a similar depowdering system (see abstract) comprising a conveyor (Fig. 5A, element 502) associated with a build box and a vibration generator (element 504) proximate the conveyor to separate at least a portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects while the additive manufacturing build is positioned on the conveyor [0062]. Fulop teaches that the conveyor and vibration generator enhances the depowdering process as the object progresses along the conveyor [0062]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a conveyor having the agitation mechanism proximate thereto in order to enhance the depowdering process, as taught by Fulop.
Claims 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murciego Rodriguez et al. (US 2022/0072621), Huber et al. (US 2022/0227048), and Fulop et al. (US 2018/0297284) as applied above, and further in view of Otsuka (US 4,941,376).
Regarding Claim 8: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 7 as discussed above. Murciego does not expressly disclose that the cutting knife includes at least one fluidization channel or at least one vacuum channel. However, Otsuka teaches a system comprising a cutting knife having a vacuum channel to suction dust during cutting (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a vacuum channel in the cutting knife in order to remove dust during cutting, as taught by Otsuka.
Regarding Claim 10: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 9 as discussed above. Murciego does not expressly disclose at least one of a fluid source or a vacuum source fluidically coupled to the separation mechanism, and wherein the separation mechanism includes at least one of a fluidization channel or a vacuum channel. However, Otsuka teaches a system comprising a vacuum source coupled to a cutting knife, and wherein the cutting knife includes a vacuum channel to suction dust during cutting (see abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murciego and Huber with a vacuum source and vacuum channel in the cutting knife in order to remove dust during cutting, as taught by Otsuka.
Claims 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murciego Rodriguez et al. (US 2022/0072621), Huber et al. (US 2022/0227048), and Fulop et al. (US 2018/029784) as applied above, and further in view of Mayer (US 2023/0382044).
Regarding Claim 11: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Murciego does not expressly disclose wherein the build box comprises a cover disposed over the additive manufacturing build, and wherein an actuator is actuatable to remove the cover from the build box. However, Mayer teaches an additive manufacturing system comprising an additive manufacturing build box (Fig. 24, element 122) having a cover (element 304) to cover an additive manufacturing build to prevent powder from exiting the build box, for example [0114]. Mayer further teaches that an actuator (element 300) is actuatable to remove the cover from the build box to expose the build environment [0118]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a build boy cover and actuator to remove said covering order to seal and expose the build box environment, as taught by Mayer.
Regarding Claims 14 and 16: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Murciego teaches an actuator actuatable to move the sleeve [0040] and that the actuator retracts the sleeve from the build (see Fig. 2, diagram 5), but does not expressly disclose a conveyor, wherein the actuator is actuatable to move the sleeve to the conveyor with the build within the sleeve. However, it is known to provide the manufacturing system with a conveyor to move the builds to various stations within the system, as shown by Mayer, for example (Fig. 6, element 616, [0132]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system to include a conveyor to allow the build to be conveyed, by the sleeve, to different stations within the system, as suggested by Mayer. It would have been further obvious to provide the actuator to retract the sleeve from the build in order to return to the initial position to engage and move subsequent builds.
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murciego Rodriguez et al. (US 2022/0072621), Huber et al. (US 2022/0227048), and Fulop et al. (US 2018/0297284) as applied above, and further in view of Van Nieuwenhove et al. (US 2022/0227053).
Regarding Claim 15: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above and further teaches that the mechanism comprises a vibration mechanism [0056], but does not expressly disclose a fluidization mechanism. However, Van Nieuwenhove teaches a similar system comprising a sleeve to receive an additive manufacturing build, wherein the sleeve comprises a fluidization mechanism to provide turbulence which helps to separate the powder from the objects [0084]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a fluidization mechanism to provide turbulence to help separate the powder, as taught by Van Nieuwenhove.
Regarding Claim 17: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above but does not expressly disclose the sleeve and mechanism are located within a sealable chamber. However, Van Nieuwenhove teaches a similar system comprising a sleeve to receive an additive manufacturing build, wherein the sleeve comprises a fluidization mechanism to provide turbulence which helps to separate the powder from the objects [0084]. The sleeve and mechanism are located within a sealable chamber to maintain an inert environment [0069, 0084]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with such that the sleeve and mechanism are located within a sealable chamber to maintain an inert environment, as taught by Van Nieuwenhove.
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murciego Rodriguez et al. (US 2022/0072621), Huber et al. (US 2022/0227048), and Fulop et al. (US 2018/0297284) as applied above, and further in view of Buller (US 2018/0001557).
Regarding Claims 21 and 22: Murciego, Huber, and Fulop teach the elements of Claim 1 as discussed above. Murciego teaches that the build chamber may be removed to the separation station [0033], but does not expressly disclose the separation station includes a support structure configured to receive the build box. However, Buller teaches an additive manufacturing system wherein a build module is received on a conveyor to move the build module between stations within the system [0008, 0179]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the prior art system with a support structure configured to receive the build box in order to move transfer the build box into the separation station, as suggested by Buller.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/18/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely solely on the reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claims to recite the conveyor and the at least one mechanism being automatically actuable to separate at least the portion of the powder build material from the one or more objects while the additive manufacturing build is positioned on the conveyor and the agitation mechanism being proximate to or coupled to the conveyor. These limitations are addressed by the reference to Fulop as outlined above.
Applicant has argued that Murciego and Huber fail to teach a build box configured to move with respect to the sleeve, the sleeve being configured to move with respect to and align with the build box. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. As noted above, Murciego teaches that the build box may be removed to other stations [0033] and Huber teaches a build box including an integrated travel drive such that the build box is configured to move to different positions throughout a 3D printer system in a controlled and automated manner [0021]. Thus, the combined prior art teaches a system comprising a sleeve and build box movable relative to each other.
Therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive and the rejections of the claims under 35 USC 103 are maintained.
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714