DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 9 - 20 is acknowledged. Claims 1 - 8 withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR. 1.142(b), as being drawn to non-elected invention.
Claim Objections
2. Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 11, line 1, 2, “the top surface of the palladium member is within 2 microns of the top surface of the insulative layer” should be changed to “the top surface of the palladium member is approximately flush with the top surface of the insulative layer within 2 microns” for a clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537).
With regard to claim 9, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) disclose a semiconductor package (fig. 4O), comprising:
a semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die) including a circuit (204);
a first copper member (306; for example, see paragraph [0034]) coupled to the circuit (204) and having a first maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a first maximal horizontal area);
a second copper member (334; for example, see paragraph [0041]) coupled to the first copper member (306), the second copper member (334) having a second maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a second maximal horizontal area) that is smaller than the first maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the first maximal horizontal area);
a nickel member (332; for example, see paragraph [0041]) contacting the second copper member (334) and having a third maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a third maximal horizontal area) that is smaller than the first maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the first maximal horizontal area);
a conductive member (330) contacting the nickel member (332) and having a fourth maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a fourth maximal horizontal area) that is smaller than the first maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the first maximal horizontal area), the conductive member (330) having a top surface facing away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as the semiconductor die);
an insulative layer (insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as an insulative layer) contacting the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as the semiconductor die) and the first copper member (306), the second copper member (334), the nickel member (332), and the conductive member (330), a top surface of the insulative layer (insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as the insulative layer) facing away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die) and approximately flush with the top surface of the conductive member (330);
a bond wire (a metallization layer 324 functions as a bond wire in order to provide an electrical connection) coupled to the top surface of the conductive member (330); and
a mold compound (a layer 320 functions as a mold compound) covering the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as the semiconductor die), the bond wire (324), the insulative layer (the insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as the insulative layer), and the first copper member (306), the second copper member (334), the nickel member (332), and the conductive member (330).
Yu et al. (2022/0285323) do not clearly disclose the conductive member is a palladium member.
However, YU et al. (2023/0395537) disclose the conductive member (34) is a palladium member (for example, see paragraph [0027], fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al. (2022/0285323)’s device to have the conductive member is a palladium member as taught by YU et al. (2023/0395537) in order to improve the structural strength and electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 11, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) disclose the top surface of the conductive member (330) is flush with the top surface (the top surface of the region 326) of the insulative layer (304, 308, 310, 326). Therefore, the top surface of the conductive member (330) is coplanar with the top surface of the insulative layer (304, 308, 310, 326) wherein 0 micron is within a range of 0 - 2 microns.
With regard to claim 12, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) disclose the fourth maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the fourth maximal horizontal area of the conductive member 330) is greater than the third maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the third maximal horizontal area of the nickel member 322).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537) and further in view of SEKIKAWA (20190198453).
With regard to claim 10, Yu et al. do not clearly disclose the insulative layer comprises polyimide.
However, SEKIKAWA discloses the insulative layer (PI) comprises polyimide (for example, see paragraph [0102], fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al.’s device to have the insulative layer comprises polyimide as taught by SEKIKAWA in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537) and further in view of Mishra et al. (11450638).
With regard to claim 13, Yu et al. do not clearly disclose the third maximal horizontal area is greater than the second maximal horizontal area.
However, Mishra et al. disclose the third maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area of the layer 108) is greater than the second maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area of the layer 110)). (for example, see fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al.’s device to have the third maximal horizontal area is greater than the second maximal horizontal area as taught by Mishra et al. in order to improve a high electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 16, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) and YU et al. (2023/0395537) do not clearly disclose titanium-tungsten between the first and second copper members.
However, Mishra et al. disclose titanium-tungsten (110; for example, see column 3, lines 39 - 41) between the first and second copper members (104, 108).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al.’s device to have titanium-tungsten between the first and second copper members as taught by Mishra et al. in order to improve a high electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537) and further in view of Tanaka (12183701).
With regard to claim 14, Yu et al. do not clearly disclose the nickel member has a thickness of at least 1 micron.
However, SEKIKAWA discloses the nickel member (55) has a thickness of about 5 microns (for example, see column 10, lines 12, 13, fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al.’s device to have the nickel member has a thickness of at least 1 micron as taught by SEKIKAWA in order to improve a high electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537) and further in view of Mishra et al. (11450638).
With regard to claim 17, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) disclose a semiconductor package (fig. 4O), comprising:
a semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die) including a circuit (204);
a first copper member (306; for example, see paragraph [0034]) coupled to the circuit (204) and having a top surface facing away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die), the first copper member (306) having a first maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a first maximal horizontal area);
a nickel member (332; for example, see paragraph [0041]) contacting the second copper member (334; for example, see paragraph [0041]);
a conductive member (330) contacting a surface of the nickel member (332) that faces away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die), the conductive member (330) having a second maximal horizontal area (a cross-sectional area functioning as a second maximal horizontal area) that is smaller than the first maximal horizontal area (the cross-sectional area functioning as the first maximal horizontal area);
an insulative layer contacting the semiconductor die and the first copper, second copper, nickel, and palladium members
an insulative layer (insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as an insulative layer) contacting the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as the semiconductor die) and the first copper member (306), the second copper member (334), the nickel member (332), and the conductive member (330),
a top surface of the insulative layer (insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as the insulative layer) facing away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die); and positioned within 2 microns (the top surface of the conductive member 330 is coplanar with the top surface region 326 in the insulative layer 304, 308, 310, 326 wherein 0 micron is within a range of 0 - 2 microns ) of a top surface of the conductive member (330) that faces away from the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as a semiconductor die);
a bond wire (a metallization layer 324 functions as a bond wire in order to provide an electrical connection) coupled to the top surface of the conductive member (330); and
a mold compound (a layer 320 functions as a mold compound) covering the semiconductor die (layers 302, 204 functions as the semiconductor die), the bond wire (324), the insulative layer (the insulating layers 304, 308, 310, 326 functions as the insulative layer), and the first copper member (306), the second copper member (334), the nickel member (332), and the conductive member (330).
Yu et al. (2022/0285323) do not clearly disclose the conductive member is a palladium member.
However, YU et al. (2023/0395537) disclose the conductive member (34) is a palladium member (for example, see paragraph [0027], fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al. (2022/0285323)’s device to have the conductive member is a palladium member as taught by YU et al. (2023/0395537) in order to improve the structural strength and electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Yu et al. do not clearly disclose do not clearly disclose titanium-tungsten contacting the top surface of the first copper member; a second copper member contacting the titanium-tungsten.
However, Mishra et al. disclose titanium-tungsten (110; for example, see column 3, lines 39 - 41) contacting the top surface of the first copper member (104); a second copper member (108) contacting the titanium-tungsten (110). (for example, see fig. 1A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al.’s device to have titanium-tungsten contacting the top surface of the first copper member; a second copper member contacting the titanium-tungsten as taught by Mishra et al. in order to improve a high electrically conductive efficiency of the pads for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 18, Yu et al. (2022/0285323) disclose the second copper member (334) has a maximal horizontal area less than that (combined area) of the first copper member (306), the nickel member (332), and the conductive member (330).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (2022/0285323) in view of YU et al. (2023/0395537) and Mishra et al. (11450638) further in view of SEKIKAWA (20190198453).
With regard to claim 20, Yu et al. and Mishra et al. do not clearly disclose the insulative layer comprises polyimide.
However, SEKIKAWA discloses the insulative layer (PI) comprises polyimide (for example, see paragraph [0102], fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Yu et al. and Mishra et al.’s device to have the insulative layer comprises polyimide as taught by SEKIKAWA in order to minimize the signal interference for enhancing a stability operation of the semiconductor device, as is known to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 15, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15, 19 are allowable over the prior art of record, because none of these references disclose or can be combined to yield the claimed invention such as a minimum horizontal area of the palladium member is at least 1200 microns2 as recited in claims 15, 19.
Conclusion
/TAN N TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812