DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response/application filed on 06/12/2026.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 2, 7, 9, 10, 11, 16, 18, 19, 20 have been amended.
Claims 4, 13 have been canceled.
No claims have been added.
Claims 1-3, 5-12, 14-22 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 9, 10, 11, 14, 18, 19, 20, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 20250173705), in view of Murmfeld (US 20210049583), further in view of Matsugashita (US 20190068377).
Regarding claim(s) 1, 10, 19, Osborn discloses:
receiving, via the network from the remote banking server, in response to determining that the customer is a registered user, a passkey paired to an account of the customer and paired to a wallet of the customer; and sending, from the banking device via a proximity-based wireless communication protocol, the passkey to the mobile device of the customer. (By disclosing, “As another nonlimiting example, the authentication credential can be associated with an account number, routing number, customer identification number, password, PIN number, or some other datum associated with a specific financial or banking account.” ([0097]); “Having validated the credential, the server in action 735 can retrieve the encrypted private key, encrypted public key, and KEK that were previously provisioned to the user.” ([0100]); “Next, in action 740 the server can transmit the encrypted private key, encrypted public key, and KEK to the ATM…. Having received the keys, the ATM in action 745 can transmit the encrypted private key, encrypted public key, and KEK to the user device.” ([0101]-[0102], [0038]); and “The private key can be used to access the crypto wallet.” ([0067])).
Osborn does not disclose:
initiating an authentication of a customer at a banking device based on a mobile device of the customer being physically proximate to the banking device;
receiving, from the mobile device via a proximity-based communication protocol, information tied to the mobile device of the customer;
determining, at the banking device, that the customer is a registered mobile app user, based on verification of the received information tied to the mobile device with user information stored at a remote banking server;
wherein the passkey comprises a private key to be stored on the mobile device, and wherein the private key is paired with a corresponding public key stored at the remote banking server;
wherein the passkey is stored at the mobile device in response to receipt of the passkey, and wherein the passkey is a device-specific credential that is registered to the mobile device; and
cryptographically verifying information encrypted or signed with the passkey, using the remote banking server, wherein the information encrypted or signed with the passkey is subsequently provided from the mobile device to the remote banking server additional proof of identity of the customer, in connection with a subsequent access to or use of the account at the remote banking server.
However, Wurmfeld teaches:
initiating an authentication of a customer at a banking device based on a mobile device of the customer being physically proximate to the banking device (By disclosing, “The ATM 130 may detect the user device 120 in its immediate proximity. The user device 120 may then connect to the ATM 130 in order to initiate, conduct, or complete a financial transaction.” ([0039] of Wurmfeld); and “At step 602, the user device 120 may authenticate via the authentication system access to a customer account via a mobile application on the device. For example, the user device 120 may authenticate the user 160 to access a financial account of the user 160 stored on the financial service provider device 140 by communicating via the application 260 with the financial service provider device 140.” ([0084] of Wurmfeld));
receiving, from the mobile device via a proximity-based communication protocol, information tied to the mobile device of the customer (By disclosing, “At step 610, the user device 120 may send to the ATM 130 via the first communications means identifying information of a user who is using the user device 120. The user 160 may log into the financial service provider device 140 via the application 260 on the user device 120 to retrieve the identifying information and send the identifying information to the ATM 130” ([0090] of Wurmfeld));
determining, at the banking device, that the customer is a registered mobile app user, based on verification of the received information tied to the mobile device with user information stored at a remote banking server ([0091]-[0092], [0077]-[0079] of Wurmfeld).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Osborn in view of Wurmfeld to include techniques of initiating an authentication of a customer at a banking device based on a mobile device of the customer being physically proximate to the banking device; receiving, from the mobile device via a proximity-based communication protocol, information tied to the mobile device of the customer; and determining, at the banking device, that the customer is a registered mobile app user, based on verification of the received information tied to the mobile device with user information stored at a remote banking server. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using near-field communication (e.g., enhanced security, speed and efficiency, etc.).
And Matsugashita teaches:
wherein the passkey comprises a private key to be stored on the mobile device, and wherein the private key is paired with a corresponding public key stored at the remote banking server; wherein the passkey is stored at the mobile device in response to receipt of the passkey, and wherein the passkey is a device-specific credential that is registered to the mobile device (By disclosing, “The authorization server 200 having received the registration request generates a client ID for identifying the client 400 and a key pair of an encryption key and a decryption key (or a public key and a private key) for authenticating the client 400. According to this embodiment, a private key and an encryption key will be exemplarily described below. The authorization server 200 returns the generated client ID and the private key as a registration response to the client 400 (S3.1). The client ID and the private key are saved in association with each other in the client 400 while the client ID and the public key are saved in association with each other in the authorization server 200.” ([0052] of Matsugashita)); and
cryptographically verifying information encrypted or signed with the passkey, using the remote banking server, wherein the information encrypted or signed with the passkey is subsequently provided from the mobile device to the remote banking server additional proof of identity of the customer, in connection with a subsequent access to or use of the account at the remote banking server. (By disclosing, “The authorization server 200 having received the token request in S5.0 verifies a signature in the JWT by using a public key identified from the client ID. If the verification succeeds and the client 400 is authenticated, the authorization server 200 issues an authorization token and transmits a token response to the client 400 (S2.1).” ([0069 of Matsugashita); and “More specifically, the HTTP server unit 220 is configured to receive a user authentication request from the web browser 510, generate an authorization token associated with user information on a user who have been successfully authenticated, and notify the authorization token to the web browser 510. The authorization token here may be a token indicating that a user is logging in the authorization server 200 or a token for verifying whether a user has been authenticated by the authorization server 200. Use of the authorization token enables the authorization server 200 to identify a user. An authorization code, on the other hand, is a token indicating that the client 400 to which authority is transferred through an authorization operation performed by an authenticated user is permitted to access an API of the resource server 300 on behalf of the user.” ([0041] of Matsugashita)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Osborn and Wurmfeld, in view of Matsugashita to include techniques of “wherein the passkey comprises a private key to be stored on the mobile device, and wherein the private key is paired with a corresponding public key stored at the remote banking server; wherein the passkey is stored at the mobile device in response to receipt of the passkey, and wherein the passkey is a device-specific credential that is registered to the mobile device; and cryptographically verifying information encrypted or signed with the passkey, using the remote banking server, wherein the information encrypted or signed with the passkey is subsequently provided from the mobile device to the remote banking server additional proof of identity of the customer, in connection with a subsequent access to or use of the account at the remote banking server.” Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the system to identify/authenticate the user/user device based on the passkey.
Additionally, regarding claim 10, Osborn discloses:
at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium including instructions ([0007]).
Additionally, regarding claim 19, Osborn discloses:
a banking server configured to: store a passkey and a corresponding public key; and store a list of registered mobile app users ([0093], [0040]).
Regarding claim(s) 2, Osborn discloses:
wherein the proximity-based wireless communication protocol is a near-field communication (NFC) protocol. ([0095]-[0097], [0038]).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 14, and 22, Osborn discloses:
wherein the passkey is configured to be used in a stepped-up authentication for a login to the account or a transaction using the account ([0114]-[0118])).
Regarding claim(s) 9, 18, Osborn discloses:
wherein the proximity-based wireless communication protocol includes at least one of Bluetooth technologies, radio frequency identification (RFID) technologies, or ultrawide band technologies. ([0095]-[0097]).
Regarding claim(s) 11, 20, Osborn discloses:
wherein the proximity-based communication protocol includes at least one of Bluetooth technologies, radio frequency identification (RFID) technologies, ultrawide band technologies, or a near-field communication (NFC) protocol. ([0095]-[0097]).
Claim(s) 3, 12, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 20250173705), in view of Murmfeld (US 20210049583), further in view of Matsugashita (US 20190068377), and Hou (CN 101807319 A).
Regarding claim(s) 3, 12, and 21 Osborn does not disclose, but Hou teaches:
wherein sending the passkey to the mobile device occurs in response to determining that the mobile device has tapped the banking device (By disclosing, a user taps the ATM to input user’s phone number, and the ATM sends a passcode to the user’s mobile device in response to detecting the tapped phone number ([0066] of Hou)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Osborn, Wurmfeld and Matsugashita, in view of Hou to include techniques of wherein sending the passkey to the mobile device occurs in response to determining that the mobile device has tapped the banking device. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the user obtain the passcode at an automatic teller machine.
Claim(s) 6, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 20250173705), in view of Murmfeld (US 20210049583), further in view of Matsugashita (US 20190068377), and Kaladgi (US 20190303928).
Regarding claim(s) 6, 15, Osborn does not disclose, but Kaladgi teaches:
wherein the passkey conforms with a FIDO (Fast IDentity Online) authentication specification (By disclosing, “the public/private key pair are generated according to the Fast ID Online (FIDO) protocol” ([0023] of Kaladgi)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the combination of Osborn, Wurmfeld, and Matsugashita, in view of Kaladgi to include techniques of wherein the passkey conforms with a FIDO (Fast IDentity Online) authentication specification. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using FIDO protocol (e.g. simplifying user experience, reducing costs for business, enhancing security, etc.).
Claim(s) 7, 8, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osborn (US 20250173705), in view of Murmfeld (US 20210049583), further in view of Matsugashita (US 20190068377), Androulaki (US 20220150073), and Arora (US 20190340584).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 16, Osborn does not disclose, but Matsugashita teaches:
receiving, at the banking device, an indication from the mobile device corresponding to a transaction, wherein the indication includes the information encrypted or signed by the passkey; authenticating the information encrypted or signed by the passkey with a public key stored at a banking server; (By disclosing, “The authorization server 200 having received the token request in S5.0 verifies a signature in the JWT by using a public key identified from the client ID. If the verification succeeds and the client 400 is authenticated, the authorization server 200 issues an authorization token and transmits a token response to the client 400 (S2.1).” ([0069 of Matsugashita); and “More specifically, the HTTP server unit 220 is configured to receive a user authentication request from the web browser 510, generate an authorization token associated with user information on a user who have been successfully authenticated, and notify the authorization token to the web browser 510. The authorization token here may be a token indicating that a user is logging in the authorization server 200 or a token for verifying whether a user has been authenticated by the authorization server 200. Use of the authorization token enables the authorization server 200 to identify a user. An authorization code, on the other hand, is a token indicating that the client 400 to which authority is transferred through an authorization operation performed by an authenticated user is permitted to access an API of the resource server 300 on behalf of the user.” ([0041] of Matsugashita)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Osborn and Wurmfeld, in view of Matsugashita to include techniques of receiving, at the banking device, an indication from the mobile device corresponding to a transaction, wherein the indication includes the information encrypted or signed by the passkey; authenticating the information encrypted or signed by the passkey with a public key stored at a banking server. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using private/public key pair authentication (e.g. improved security, etc.).
And Arora teaches:
outputting, for display on the banking device, approval for the transaction in response to authenticating the passkey (By disclosing, “The display device 208 may be configured to, for example, display messages indicating successful or unsuccessful approval of use of the check 106 based on the validations discussed herein.” ([0036] of Arora)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Osborn, Wurmfeld, Matsugashita, and Androulaki, in view of Arora to include techniques of outputting, for display on the banking device, approval for the transaction in response to authenticating the passkey. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the user to acknowledge the result of the authentication from the bank.
Regarding claim(s) 8, 17, Osborn does not disclose, but Arora teaches:
wherein the transaction includes at least one of sending a wire transfer, opening a new account, or cashing a check ([0021] of Arora).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Osborn, Wurmfeld, and Matsugashita, in view of Arora to include techniques of wherein the transaction includes at least one of sending a wire transfer, opening a new account, or cashing a check. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow the user to use a check to pay for a transaction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection initiated by applicant’s amendment to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170330179 to Song for disclosing:
A method for issuing authentication information is provided. The method includes steps of: (a) a managing server, if identification information of a specific user is acquired from a user device in response to a request for issuing the authentication information and the identification information is determined to be registered, creating a transaction whose output includes: (i) the specific user's public key and (ii) a hash value of the identification information or its processed value to thereby record or support other device to record it on a blockchain; and (b) the managing server acquiring a transaction ID representing location information of the transaction recorded on the blockchain.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699