DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed December 23, 2025 have been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending, but stand rejected for the reasons detailed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweers (US Patent No. 6094346) in view of Vergis (US Publication No. 2022/0358072) (NOTE: Claims 1-5, 11-15, and 20 rejected using embodiment disclosed in Figures 1-2 in Schweers).
Regarding claim 1, Schweers discloses a holder (Figures 1-2, comprised of structure 190 and housing 110) for stacked compression attached circuit cards 175), the holder (190, 110) comprising: a carrier (190) including a first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first 175) for receiving a bottom one of the CAMMs (first 175), a second recessed area (area within 190 accommodating second 175) for receiving a top one of the CAMMs (second 175), and a first vent hole (rounded hole in side of 190 defined between first and second 175) in a side of the carrier (sides of 190); and a shield can (110) configured to fit atop the carrier (190), the shield can (110) including a second vent hole (apertures 132 aligned with hole in 190) in a side of the shield can (side of 190), the second vent hole (132) being collocated with the first vent hole (hole in 190 between 175), the first vent hole (hole in 190 between 175) and the second vent hole (132) to cool the bottom CAMM (first 175) and the top CAMM (second 175), wherein the first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first 175) is different from the second recessed area (area within 190 accommodating second 175).
Schweers does not teach wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs), wherein a carrier includes a first recessed area for receiving a first CAMM connector, and a second recessed area for receiving a second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches a carrier (housings of 206, corresponding to 190 in Schweers) for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (compression attached memory modules 208), wherein the carrier (housings of 206) includes a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving a first CAMM connector (first CAMM adapter card 210; see Paragraph [0025]), and a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving a second CAMM connector (second CAMM adapter card 210; see Paragraph [0025]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraph [0018] in Vergis).
Regarding claim 2, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (110) further includes a third vent hole (intake opening 120A) in a top side of the shield can (top side of 110) to further cool the bottom CAMM (first 175, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second 175, as modified by Vergis).
Regarding claim 3, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 2, further comprising (in Schweers): a fan (fan 150) situated atop the third vent hole (120A).
Regarding claim 4, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 3, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the fan (150) creates an airflow from the first (hole in 190 between 175) and second vent holes (132), over the bottom CAMM (first 175, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second 175, as modified by Vergis) and through the third vent hole (120A).
Schweers also teaches (in Figures 3-4) a fan (exhaust fans 360) configured to pull air through the shield can (310) and the carrier (390), such that the fan (360) creates an air flow from the first (hole in 390 between circuit cards) and second vent holes (holes in 310 adjacent exhaust port 330; see Figure 4), over the bottom CAMM (first circuit card,) and the top CAMM (second circuit card) and through the third vent hole (exhaust opening 336).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have reversed the fan in Figures 1-2 of Schweers to pull air through the assembly as taught in Figures 3-4 of Schweers, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing an airflow through a carrier assembly to cool memory modules (see Figures 1-4 in Schweers).
Regarding claim 5, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can further includes an air duct (intake port 120) in a top side of the shield can (110).
Regarding claim 11, Schweers discloses a method for cooling stacked compression attached circuit cards 175), the method comprising: installing a bottom one of the CAMMS (first 175) to a motherboard (circuit board 180); installing a carrier (190) atop the bottom CAMM (first 175), wherein the carrier (190) includes a first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first 175) for receiving the bottom CAMM (first 175), and a first vent hole (hole in 190 between 175) in a side of the carrier (side of 190); installing a top one of the CAMMS (second 175) into the carrier (190); wherein the carrier (190) further includes a second recessed area (area within 190 accommodating second 175) for receiving the top CAMM (second 175), wherein the first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first 175) is different from the second recessed area (area within 190 accommodating second 175); installing a shield can (housing 110) atop the carrier (190), wherein the shield can (110) includes a second vent hole (apertures 132) in a side of the shield can (side of 110), and wherein the second vent hole (132) is collocated with the first vent hole (hole in 190 between 175); and cooling the bottom CAMM (first 175) and the top CAMM (second 175) through the first vent hole (hole in 190 between 175) and the second vent hole (132).
Schweers does not disclose wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs); installing a first CAMM connector to a motherboard, wherein a carrier includes a first recessed area for receiving a first CAMM connector, installing a second CAMM connector into the carrier, wherein the carrier includes a second recessed area for receiving a second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches wherein compression attached memory modules 208) are compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (see Paragraph [0024]); installing a first CAMM connector (first CAMM adapter card 210) to a motherboard (PCB 202), wherein a carrier (housings of connectors 206, corresponding to 190 in Schweers) includes a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving a first CAMM connector (first 210), installing a second CAMM connector (second 210) into the carrier (housing of 206), wherein the carrier (housing of 206) includes a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving a second CAMM connector (second 210).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraph [0018] in Vergis).
Regarding claim 12, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (110) further includes at least one third vent hole (intake opening 120A) in a top side of the shield can (top side of 110) to further cool the bottom CAMM (first 175, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second 175, as modified by Vergis).
Regarding claim 13, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising: situating a fan (fan 150) atop the third vent hole (120A).
Regarding claim 14, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising creating, by the fan (150), an airflow from the first (hole in 190 between 175) and second vent holes (132), over the bottom CAMM (first 175, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second 175, as modified by Vergis) and through the third vent hole (120A).
Schweers also teaches (in Figures 3-4) a fan (exhaust fans 360) configured to pull air through the shield can (310) and the carrier (390), such that the fan (360) creates an air flow from the first (hole in 390 between circuit cards) and second vent holes (holes in 310 adjacent exhaust port 330; see Figure 4), over the bottom CAMM (first circuit card) and the top CAMM (second circuit card) and through the third vent hole (exhaust opening 336).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have reversed the fan in Figures 1-2 of Schweers to pull air through the assembly as taught in Figures 3-4 of Schweers, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of establishing an airflow through a carrier assembly to cool memory modules (see Figures 1-4 in Schweers).
Regarding claim 15, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (110) further includes an air duct (port 120) in a top side of the shield can (110).
Regarding claim 20, Schweers discloses an information handling system (see Figures 1-2), comprising: a motherboard (circuit board 180); a bottom compression attached first circuit card 175); a top CAMM (second circuit card 175); and a holder (comprised of mounted structure 190 and housing 110) to stack the bottom CAMM (first 175) and the top CAMM (second 175), the holder (190, 110) including: a carrier (190) including a first recessed area (area accommodating first 175) for receiving the bottom CAMM (first 175), a second recessed area (area accommodating second 175) for receiving the top CAMM (second 175), and a first vent hole (rounded hole in side of 190 defined between first and second 175) in a side of the carrier (190); and a shield can (110) configured to fit atop the carrier (190), the shield can (110) including a second vent hole (apertures 132 aligned with hole in 190) in a side of the shield can (side of 110), the second vent hole (132) being collocated with the first vent hole (hole in 190), the first vent hole (hole in 190) and the second vent hole (132) to cool the bottom CAMM (first 175) and the top CAMM (second 175), wherein the first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first 175) is different from the second recessed area (area within 190 accommodating second 175).
Schweers does not explicitly disclose wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs), a first CAMM connector associated with a bottom CAMM; a second CAMM connecter associated with the top CAMM; a carrier including a first recessed area for receiving the first CAMM connector, and a second recessed area for receiving the second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches wherein the compression attached memory modules 208) are compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (see Paragraph [0024]), a first CAMM connector (first adapter card 210) associated with a bottom CAMM (first 208); a second CAMM connecter (second CAMM adapter card 210) associated with the top CAMM (second 208); a carrier (housings of 206, corresponding to 190 in Schweers) including a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving the first CAMM connector (first 210), and a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving the second CAMM connector (second 210).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraph [0018] in Vergis).
Claims 6-10 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweers (US Patent No. 6094346), Vergis (US Publication No. 2022/0358072), and in further view of Lunsman (US Patent No. 10667431).
Regarding claim 6, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 1, but does not teach: a first foil layer situated between the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM.
However, Lunsman teaches a first foil layer (Figure 11, portion of first interface device 10 between first and second 20) situated between the bottom CAMM (first memory device 20) and the top CAMM (second member device 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat spreader of Lunsman between the top and bottom CAMMs of Schweers as modified by Vergis. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation between the memory modules (see col. 2-3 in Lunsman).
Regarding claim 7, Schweers as modified by Vergis and Lunsman teaches the holder of claim 6, and further teaches (in Lunsman) wherein the first foil layer (portion of first 10 between first and second 20) includes a metallic material (see col. 2-3 and Figure 11) to conduct heat from the bottom CAMM (first 20) and the top CAMM (second 20).
Regarding claim 8, Schweers as modified by Vergis and Lunsman teaches the holder of claim 7, further comprising (in Lunsman): a second foil layer (layer of first 10 above second 20) situated atop the top CAMM (second 20).
Regarding claim 9, Schweers as modified by Vergis and Lunsman teaches the holder of claim 8, and further teaches (in Lunsman) wherein the second foil layer (layer of first 10 above second 20) includes the metallic material (see col. 2-3 and Figure 11) to conduct heat from the top CAMM (second 20).
Regarding claim 10, Schweers as modified by Vergis and Lunsman teaches the holder of claim 9, and further teaches (in Lunsman) wherein the first and second foil layers (layer of first 10 above second 20 and between first and second 20) are formed of a common foil layer (see Figures 4 and 11).
Regarding claim 16, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 11, but does not teach: a first foil layer situated between the bottom CAMM and the top CAMM.
However, Lunsman teaches a first foil layer (Figure 11, portion of first interface device 10 between first and second 20) situated between the bottom CAMM (first memory device 20) and the top CAMM (second member device 20).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the heat spreader of Lunsman between the top and bottom CAMMs of Schweers as modified by Vergis. Doing so would have increased heat dissipation between the memory modules (see col. 2-3 in Lunsman).
Regarding claim 17, Schweers in view of Vergis and Lunsman teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches (in Lunsman) wherein the first foil layer (portion of first 10 between first and second 20) includes a metallic material (see col. 2-3 and Figure 11) to conduct heat from the bottom CAMM (first 20) and the top CAMM (second 20).
Regarding claim 18, Schweers in view of Vergis and Lunsman teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising (in Lunsman) providing a second foil layer (layer of first 10 above second 20) situated atop the top CAMM (second 20).
Regarding claim 19, Schweers in view of Vergis and Lunsman teaches the method of claim 18, and further teaches (in Lunsman) wherein the second foil layer (layer of first 10 above second 20) includes the metallic material (see col. 2-3 and Figure 11) to conduct heat from the top CAMM (second 20).
Alternatively, claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schweers (US Patent No. 6094346) in view of Vergis (US Publication No. 2022/0358072) (NOTE: Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 15, and 20 rejected using embodiment disclosed in Figures 3-4 in Schweers).
Regarding claim 1, Schweers discloses a holder (Figures 3-4, comprised of structure 390 and housing 310) for stacked compression attached circuit cards of 300; see circuit cards 175), the holder (390, 310) comprising: a carrier (390) including a first recessed area (area within 390 accommodating first circuit card) for receiving a bottom one of the CAMMs (first circuit card), a second recessed area (area within 390 accommodating second circuit card) for receiving a top one of the CAMMs (second circuit card), and a first vent hole (holes between columns of 390) in a side of the carrier (sides of 390); wherein the first recessed area (area within 390 accommodating first circuit card) is different from the second recessed area (area within 390 accommodating second circuit card)and a shield can (310) configured to fit atop the carrier (390), the shield can (310) including a second vent hole (opening 315) in a side of the shield can (side of 390), the second vent hole (315) being collocated with the first vent hole (holes between columns of 390), the first vent hole (holes between columns of 390) and the second vent hole (315) to cool the bottom CAMM (first circuit card) and the top CAMM (second circuit card).
Schweers does not teach wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs), wherein a carrier includes a first recessed area for receiving a first CAMM connector, and a second recessed area for receiving a second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches a carrier (housings of connectors 206) for stacked compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (compression attached memory modules 208), wherein the carrier (housings of 206) includes a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving a first CAMM connector (first CAMM adapter card 210; see Paragraph [0025]), and a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving a second CAMM connector (second CAMM adapter card 210; see Paragraph [0025]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraphs [0018] in Vergis).
Regarding claim 2, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (310) further includes a third vent hole (second intake openings 322; see also exhaust vent holes in Figure 4) in a top side of the shield (top side of 310) can to further cool the bottom CAMM (first circuit card, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second circuit card, as modified by Vergis).
Regarding claim 5, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the holder of claim 1, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (310) further includes an air duct (intake port 320; see also exhaust port 330) in a top side of the shield can (side of 310 including 320).
Regarding claim 11, Schweers discloses a method for cooling stacked compression attached circuit cards of 300; see circuit cards 175), the method comprising: installing a bottom one of the CAMMS (first circuit card) to a motherboard (circuit board 380); installing a carrier (390) atop the bottom CAMM (first circuit card), wherein the carrier (390) includes a first recessed area (area within 190 accommodating first circuit card) for receiving the bottom CAMM (first circuit card), and a first vent hole (holes between columns of 390) in a side of the carrier (side of 390); installing a top one of the CAMMS (second circuit card) into the carrier (390); wherein the carrier (390) further includes a second recessed area (area within 390 accommodating second circuit card) for receiving the top CAMM (second circuit card), wherein the first recessed area (area within 390 accommodating first circuit card) is different from the second recessed area (area within 390 accommodating second circuit card); installing a shield can (housing 310) atop the carrier (390), wherein the shield can (310) includes a second vent hole (openings 315 aligned with hole between columns of 390) in a side of the shield can (side of 390), and wherein the second vent hole (315) is collocated with the first vent hole (holes between columns of 390); and cooling the bottom CAMM (first circuit card) and the top CAMM (second circuit card) through the first vent hole (holes between columns of 390) and the second vent hole (315) to cool.
Schweers does not disclose wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs); installing a first CAMM connector to a motherboard, wherein a carrier includes a first recessed area for receiving a first CAMM connector, installing a second CAMM connector into the carrier, wherein the carrier includes a second recessed area for receiving a second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches wherein the compression attached memory modules 208) are compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (see Paragraph [0024]); installing a first CAMM connector (first CAMM adapter card 210) to a motherboard (PCB 202), wherein a carrier (housing of connectors 206, corresponding to 190 in Schweers) includes a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving a first CAMM connector (first 210), installing a second CAMM connector (second 210) into the carrier (housing of 206), wherein the carrier (housing of 206) includes a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving a second CAMM connector (second 210).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraph [0018] in Vergis).
Regarding claim 12, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 11, and
further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (310) further includes a third vent hole (second intake openings 322; see also exhaust vent holes in Figure 4) in a top side of the shield can (top side of 310) to further cool the bottom CAMM (first circuit card, as modified by Vergis) and the top CAMM (second circuit card, as modified by Vergis).
Regarding claim 15, Schweers in view of Vergis teaches the method of claim 11, and further teaches (in Schweers) wherein the shield can (310) further includes an air duct (intake port 320; see also exhaust port 330) in a top side of the shield can (side of 310 including 320).
Regarding claim 20, Schweers discloses an information handling system (see Figures 3-4), comprising: a motherboard (circuit board 380); a bottom compression attached first circuit card; see circuit cards 175); a top CAMM (second circuit card; see circuit cards 175); and a holder (comprised of mounted structure 390 and housing 310) to stack the bottom CAMM (first circuit card) and the top CAMM (second circuit card), the holder (390, 310) including: a carrier (390) including a first recessed area (area accommodating first circuit card) for receiving the bottom CAMM (first circuit card), a second recessed area (area accommodating second circuit card) for receiving the top CAMM (second circuit card), and a first vent hole (hole between columns of 390) in a side of the carrier (side of 390); and a shield can (310) configured to fit atop the carrier (390), the shield can (310) including a second vent hole (opening 315) in a side of the shield can (side of 310), the second vent hole (315) being collocated with the first vent hole (hole between columns of 390), the first vent hole (hole between columns of 390) and the second vent hole (315) to cool the bottom CAMM (first circuit card) and the top CAMM (second circuit card), wherein the first recessed area (area within 390 accommodating first circuit card) is different from the second recessed area (area within 390 accommodating second circuit card).
Schweers does not explicitly disclose wherein the compression attached memory modules (CAMMs), a first CAMM connector associated with a bottom CAMM; a second CAMM connecter associated with the top CAMM; a carrier including a first recessed area for receiving the first CAMM connector, and a second recessed area for receiving the second CAMM connector.
However, Vergis teaches wherein the compression attached memory modules 208) are compression attached memory modules (CAMMs) (see Paragraph [0024]), a first CAMM connector (first adapter card 210) associated with a bottom CAMM (first 208); a second CAMM connecter (second CAMM adapter card 210) associated with the top CAMM (second 208); a carrier (housings of 206, corresponding to 190 in Schweers) including a first recessed area (space accommodating first 210) for receiving the first CAMM connector (first 210), and a second recessed area (space accommodating second 210) for receiving the second CAMM connector (second 210).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have substituted the circuit cards of Schweers for the CAMM circuit cards of Vergis, and to have modified the carrier of Schweers to accommodate the CAMM circuit cards and CAMM adapters of Vergis to the first and second recessed areas, according to known methods to yield the predictable results of installing circuit cards onto a printed circuit board. Doing so would have also provided a carrier structure capable of accommodating memory cards with increased speed and memory capacity (see Paragraph [0018] in Vergis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Qu (US Publication No. 2020/0075451), Foster (US Patent No. 7289331), and Dodge (US Patent No. 6025992) also teach elements of the claimed device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc