DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 9, 11 – 13, 21 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted structural cooperative relationships are:
Claim 1 recites a second path having a higher speed than the first path. However, it is unclear to the examiner how a path has a speed. The claim implies that the second path is physically moving at a rate with respect to the first path without structural support for such a limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guidotti et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2006/0269288 A1).
In Re claim 1, ‘288 teaches an electronic device (fig. 2), comprising: a plurality of electronic components (8 and 10 or 153 and 155); and a circuit structure (17) connected to the plurality of electronic components, wherein the circuit structure is configured to connect the electronic components adjacent to each other along a first path (62), and the circuit structure is further configured to connect the electronic components along a second path (7) having a greater length and a higher speed than the first path (par. 0028).
In Re claims 2, 3, 6 and 7, ‘288 teaches the claimed limitations (pars. 0030, 0032, fig. 2).
In Re claim 8, ‘288 teaches wherein the first path is closer to the electronic components than the second path is (62 contacts 153 and 155, 7 doesn’t).
In Re claim 9, ‘288 teaches a photonic component configured to provide a photoelectric conversion (3 or 9) and electrically connecting the circuit structure to the plurality of electronic components (fig. 2).
In Re claim 11, ‘288 teaches wherein the circuit structure comprises an optical channel (7) optically coupled to the photonic component and configured to connect the electronic components along the second path (fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5 and 21 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guidotti et al. (U.S. PG Pub. # 2006/0269288 A1).
In Re claim 4, ‘288 teaches the device of claim 1 but is silent to the claimed range.
It is well known in the art that electrical communication along electric paths is 50% to 70% the speed of optical communication along waveguides.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of ‘288 to make the electrical communication along electric path to be 50% to 70% the speed of optical communication along the light guiding structure thus ensuring high speed optical signal communication and lessening the design characteristics needed for high speed electrical signals via the electrical connection portion, thus allowing for cost efficient production of the device.
In Re claim 5, ‘288 teaches that the circuit structure is a flexible substrate (par. 0029).
Its well known in the art to use flexible circuits to fold back on themselves to save real-estate in communication devices. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fold the device of fig. 2 back on itself whereby both the paths extend vertically as some point and horizontal at another.
In Re claims 21 – 28, ‘288 teaches power modules (1, 11, par. 0029) and photonic components (3, 9),and circuit structure as claimed, but is silent to c4 bumps, the circuit layers, bridges, conductive pillars, cooling device, connection elements, an underfill, an encapsulant, conductive pad, solder bump, a thermal pipe, a processing component, memory, optical grid as claimed.
However, it is well known in the art to use C4 bumps to attach circuits to one another as an expedient way of manufacture; to have multiple circuit layers, bridges, conductive pillars, cooling device, connection elements, an underfill, an encapsulant, conductive pad, solder bump, a thermal pipe, a processing component, memory, optical grid as claimed so as to allow for a robust and reliable device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘288 to use the claimed structures as claimed so as to create a cost efficient, robust and reliable device as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.
Conclusion
/CHAD H SMITH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874