DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the Instant Amendment, Claim(s) 1 has/have been amended; Claim(s) 14 has/have been added; Claim(s) 1 is/are independent claims. Claims 1-14 have been examined and are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant is arguing in the remarks (pages 5-6) that “Claim 1 recites "the through-hole has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source, wherein an uppermost end of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line extending from an upper end of the illumination opening to an emission point of the illuminator." The Office interpreted element 54 of Hsiung as corresponding to the recited through-hole; and Li of Hsiung as corresponding to the recited diffusion limit line. (Office Action at page 5). However, the annotated Figure 5 of Hsiung on page 4 of the Office Action clearly indicates that an uppermost end of element 54 is NOT on the line Li. The annotated Figure 5 indicates that the line Li pass through a middle portion of the element 544, which is part of element 54. There is no explicit or inherent disclosure of an uppermost end of element 54 being on line Li of Hsiung. Claim 1 further recites "a cover over the illumination light source and the first light shield, wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield is separated from the cover." Hsiung does not appear to include the recited cover. To the extent that the Office considers element 30 of Hsiung as corresponding to the recited cover, Figure 5 of Hsiung clearly indicates that element 56, the asserted first light shield directly contacts element 30, contrary to the recited claim language.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Hsiung does teach the through-hole (54) has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source (Figs. 2, 5), wherein an uppermost end (E1) of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line (L1) extending from an upper end of the illumination opening to an emission point of the illuminator (Figs. 3-5; please see below for the new reproduced figure 5). Moreover, Hsiung also does teach a cover (window plate 30) over the illumination light source (44) and the first light shield (501), wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield (501) is separated (two separated/individual components) from the cover (30) (Figs. 3-5).
For the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully submits that Hsiung does teach the features as claimed in claim 1.
Moreover, the Applicant is also arguing that “Claim 1 recites "the through-hole has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source, wherein an uppermost end of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line extending from an upper end of the illumination opening to an emission point of the illuminator." The Office interpreted Figures 1 and 4 of Lim as including the recited through-hole; and element L1b of Lim as corresponding to the recited diffusion limit line. (Office Action at page 8). Figure 4 of Lim clearly indicates that the line L1b passes above the asserted through-hole. Therefore, Lim fails to explicitly or inherently disclose "an uppermost end of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line," as recited in claim 1. Claim 1 further recites "a cover over the illumination light source and the first light shield, wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield is separated from the cover." Lim does not appear to include the recited cover. Therefore, Lim fails to explicitly or inherently disclose the recited features of claim 1. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection of claim 1, as being anticipated by Lim, are respectfully requested.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. The Examiner respectfully submits that Lim does teach the through-hole (the through hole of 260/410 receiving the LED chip 250) has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 4; page 4, lines 6-18), wherein an uppermost end (where the label 260 is pointing to) of the wall surface (of 260/410) is on a diffusion limit line (L1x) extending from an upper end (BL) of the illumination opening (the opening pointed by the label 650L) to an emission point of the illuminator (please see below for the new reproduced Fig. 4 for better showing the diffusion limit line). Also, Lim teaches a cover (lens element 650L) over the illumination light source (LED chip 250) and the first light shield (reflective structure 260), wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield (reflective structure 260) is separated from the cover (lens element 650L) (Fig. 4).
For the reasons above, the Examiner respectfully submits that Lim does teach the features as claimed in claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 regarding Izawa reference have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsiung (US 20120229700 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hsiung teaches An imaging device, comprising:
an imaging element (camera unit 42) configured to receive subject light through an optical member (422) (Figs. 1, 5; para. 0017);
an illuminator (flash device 44) including an illumination light source (44) configured to emit illumination light to illuminate a subject, and a support (circuit board 20) on which the illumination light source is located (Figs. 1-5),
wherein the illumination light source (44) is configured to emit the illumination light at a diffusion angle (Fig. 5; para. 0021);
a top plate (of housing 10) over the imaging element (42) and the illuminator (44), wherein the top plate comprises an illumination opening (the opening of the housing 10 that receives the window plate 30) for passing the illumination light from the illuminator (Fig. 5); and
a first light shield (501) surrounding the illumination light source on the support; and
a cover (window plate 30) over the illumination light source (44) and the first light shield (501), wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield (501) is separated (two separated/individual components) from the cover (30) (Figs. 3-5),
wherein the first light shield has a through-hole (light hole 54) receiving the illumination light source (Figs. 1-5),
the through-hole (54) extends in a direction along an optical axis of the illumination light source, and
the through-hole (54) has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source (Figs. 2, 5),
wherein an uppermost end (E1) of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line (L1) extending from an upper end of the illumination opening to an emission point of the illuminator (Figs. 3-5).
Regarding claim 2, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface blocks a light flux emitted from the illumination light source and traveling in a direction inclined at an angle greater than a predetermined angle with respect to the optical axis of the illumination light source (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing (10 of a mobile phone) accommodating the imaging element, the illumination light source, the support, and the first light shield, wherein the wall surface divides a space between the housing and the support into a first space (at 442) receiving the illumination light source and a second space (at 58) not receiving the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 5; para. 0015).
Regarding claim 4, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 2, wherein the first light shield has a covering surface (502) closer to the subject than the support, and the covering surface covers a part of the illumination light source, and the covering surface has an illumination light source opening to allow a light flux emitted from the illumination light source to pass through to illuminate the subject (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 4, wherein the first light shield includes a reflector (501) closer to the subject than the covering surface (502), and the reflector reflects the light flux passing through the illumination light source opening toward the subject (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 3, further comprising:
an illuminometer (light intensity sensor 46) accommodated in the housing, the illuminometer being configured to receive external light through an opening in the housing and detect brightness of a surrounding environment (Fig. 5); and
a second light shield (light intensity sensor shield of separation portion 56) surrounding the illuminometer, the second light shield filling a space between a substrate on which the illuminometer is mounted and the housing to block light (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein each of the first light shield and the second light shield comprises an elastic material (para. 0020; “the protective cover 50 can be made from rubber”).
Regarding claim 9, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second light shield has a length in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member greater than a distance between the housing and the substrate in the direction along the optical axis of the optical member, and the second light shield accommodated in the housing is deformed by the housing and the substrate in the direction along the optical axis of the optical member (para. 0020; “the protective cover 50 can be made from rubber”; rubber protective cover 50 would be compressed in a direction along the optical axis and be deformed).
Regarding claim 10, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second light shield has a through-hole (hole 58) to allow external light passing through the opening in the housing to pass through (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the through-hole (hole 58) in the second light shield allows external light traveling in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member to pass through (Fig. 5).
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al (KR 20230094843 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lim teaches An imaging device, comprising:
an imaging element (of camera 550) configured to receive subject light through an optical member (Fig. 15b; page 14, lines 23-31; “The sensor-integrated flash LED package 100 according to this embodiment is a module in which an optical sensor and a flash LED element are integrated, and may be disposed adjacent to the camera module 550. Symmetrically arranged optical sensors of the flash LED package (10, 10A to 10H)”);
an illuminator (LED chip 250) including an illumination light source configured to emit illumination light to illuminate a subject, and a support (circuit board 110) on which the illumination light source is located (Fig. 1; page 3, lines 19-30),
wherein the illumination light source is configured to emit the illumination light at a diffusion angle (Fig. 4);
a top plate (plate BL or/and 511) over the imaging element and the illuminator, wherein the top plate comprises an illumination opening (the opening pointed by the label 650L) for passing the illumination light from the illuminator (Fig. 4, 15b); and
a first light shield (“a reflective structure 260 surrounding the side surface of the LED chip 250”; or “sidewall structure 410” surrounding the LED chip 250) surrounding the illumination light source on the support (circuit board 110) (Fig. 4; page 6, lines 13-24), and
a cover (lens element 650L) over the illumination light source (LED chip 250) and the first light shield (reflective structure 260), wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield (reflective structure 260) is separated from the cover (lens element 650L) (Fig. 4),
wherein the first light shield has a through-hole (the through hole of 260/410 receiving the LED chip 250) receiving the illumination light source (LED chip 250) (Fig. 1; page 4, lines 6-18),
the through-hole extends in a direction along an optical axis of the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 4), and
the through-hole (the through hole of 260/410 receiving the LED chip 250) has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 4; page 4, lines 6-18),
wherein an uppermost end (where the label 260 is pointing to) of the wall surface (of 260/410) is on a diffusion limit line (L1x) extending from an upper end (BL) of the illumination opening (the opening pointed by the label 650L) to an emission point of the illuminator (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface blocks a light flux emitted from the illumination light source and traveling in a direction inclined at an angle greater than a predetermined angle with respect to the optical axis of the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing accommodating the imaging element, the illumination light source, the support, and the first light shield, wherein the wall surface divides a space between the housing and the support into a first space receiving the illumination light source and a second space not receiving the illumination light source (Figs. 1, 4, 15).
Regarding claim 4, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 2, wherein the first light shield has a covering surface (wall surface 410B1 of sidewall structure 410) closer to the subject than the support (110), and the covering surface covers a part of the illumination light source, and the covering surface has an illumination light source opening to allow a light flux emitted from the illumination light source to pass through to illuminate the subject (Figs. 1, 4, 8).
Regarding claim 5, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 4, wherein the first light shield includes a reflector (reflective structure 260) closer to the subject than the covering surface (wall surface 410B1 of sidewall structure 410), and the reflector reflects the light flux passing through the illumination light source opening toward the subject (Figs. 8; page 9, lines 1-35).
Regarding claim 6, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 3, further comprising:
an illuminometer (optical sensor 310A) accommodated in the housing, the illuminometer being configured to receive external light through an opening in the housing and detect brightness of a surrounding environment (Figs. 1, 4; page 4, lines 6-18); and
a second light shield (the optical sensor shield O1 of side wall structure 410) surrounding the illuminometer, the second light shield filling a space between a substrate on which the illuminometer is mounted and the housing to block light (Figs. 1, 4; page 4, lines 6-18).
Regarding claim 7, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the illumination light source (LED chip 250) is farther from the subject than the illuminometer (optical sensor 310A) in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second light shield has a through-hole (hole O1) to allow external light passing through the opening in the housing to pass through (Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 11, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the through-hole in the second light shield is an elongated hole (elongated hole O1) (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the through-hole in the second light shield allows external light traveling in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member to pass through (Figs. 1, 4).
Regarding claim 13, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, further comprising:
a light-transmissive filter (transparent cover 470A/B) between the housing and the illuminometer (Figs. 14a, b).
Regarding claim 14, Lim teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein a first distance from the support (110) to the cover (lens element 650L) is greater than a second distance from the support (110) to the uppermost end of the wall surface (of “reflective structure 260 surrounding the side surface of the LED chip 250”).
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20180059298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches An imaging device (Fig. 2), comprising:
an imaging element (of camera 251) configured to receive subject light through an optical member (lens of camera 251) (Fig. 2; para. 0058);
an illuminator including an illumination light source configured to emit illumination light to illuminate a subject (Fig. 3; para. 0079: “IR sensor unit 333 may include at least one of a light-emitting element that irradiates, to a subject… may include an IR LED”), and
a support (a substrate of case 331) on which the illumination light source is located, wherein the illumination light source is configured to emit the illumination light at a diffusion angle (Fig. 3; para. 0079: “The light-emitting element and the light-receiving element may be disposed on the substrate so as to be adjacent to each other and may be provided in the form of a single package through the case 331”);
a top plate (layer 313) over the imaging element and the illuminator, wherein the top plate comprises an illumination opening (317) for passing the illumination light from the illuminator (Fig. 3; para. 78: “IR sensor 330 may be aligned with the opening 317 formed in the film layer 313”);
a first light shield (a shielding body of case 331) surrounding the illumination light source on the support (para. 0079: “The case 331 may have a shape that surrounds both the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element and may include, at the upper end thereof, an opening that serves as a light passage for the light-emitting element”); and
a cover (visible-light-absorbing member 315/515/615) over the illumination light source and the first light shield, wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield is separated from the cover (Figs. 3, 5, 6),
wherein the first light shield has a through-hole receiving the illumination light source, the through-hole extends in a direction along an optical axis of the illumination light source, and the through-hole has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source (Fig. 3; para. 0079: “The case 331 may have a shape that surrounds both the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element and may include, at the upper end thereof, an opening that serves as a light passage for the light-emitting element”), wherein an uppermost end of the wall surface (of case 331) is on a diffusion limit line extending from an upper end of the illumination opening (317) to an emission point of the illuminator (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the wall surface blocks a light flux emitted from the illumination light source and traveling in a direction inclined at an angle greater than a predetermined angle with respect to the optical axis of the illumination light source (Fig. 3; paras. 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a housing (housing 110) accommodating the imaging element, the illumination light source, the support, and the first light shield, wherein the wall surface divides a space between the housing and the support into a first space receiving the illumination light source and a second space not receiving the illumination light source (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 2, wherein the first light shield has a covering surface closer to the subject than the support, and the covering surface covers a part of the illumination light source, and the covering surface has an illumination light source opening to allow a light flux emitted from the illumination light source to pass through to illuminate the subject (Fig. 3; para. 0079: “The case 331 may have a shape that surrounds both the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element and may include, at the upper end thereof, an opening that serves as a light passage for the light-emitting element”).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 3, further comprising:
an illuminometer accommodated in the housing, the illuminometer being configured to receive external light through an opening in the housing and detect brightness of a surrounding environment; and a second light shield surrounding the illuminometer, the second light shield filling a space between a substrate on which the illuminometer is mounted and the housing to block light (Fig. 3; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second light shield has a through-hole to allow external light passing through the opening in the housing to pass through (Fig. 3; para. 0079).
Regarding claim 12, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 10, wherein the through-hole in the second light shield allows external light traveling in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member to pass through (Figs. 1-6).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the imaging device according to claim 1, wherein a first distance from the support to the cover is greater than a second distance from the support to the uppermost end of the wall surface (Fig. 5; paras. 0078-0079, 0084-0085).
At least claim(s) 1 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20150190094 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches An imaging device (Figs. 7, 9), comprising:
an imaging element (of camera device 203) configured to receive subject light through an optical member;
an illuminator (flash LED 720) including an illumination light source configured to emit illumination light to illuminate a subject, and
a support (substrate 750) on which the illumination light source is located, wherein the illumination light source is configured to emit the illumination light at a diffusion angle;
a top plate (battery cover 780, decoration member 740) over the imaging element (of 203) and the illuminator (720) (Figs. 2A-B, 7, 9), wherein the top plate comprises an illumination opening (opening 730) for passing the illumination light from the illuminator (Fig. 9);
a first light shield (four walls of flash LED 720) surrounding the illumination light source on the support (Fig. 7A); and
a cover (window 730) over the illumination light source and the first light shield, wherein the cover is in the illumination opening, and the first light shield is separated from the cover (Fig. 9; para. 0113),
wherein the first light shield has a through-hole receiving the illumination light source (Fig. 7, 9; a hole within the four walls of flash LED 720), the through-hole extends in a direction along an optical axis of the illumination light source, and the through-hole has a wall surface to block a part of the illumination light emitted by the illumination light source, wherein an uppermost end (of flash LED 720) of the wall surface is on a diffusion limit line extending from an upper end (at 740) of the illumination opening to an emission point of the illuminator (LED in flash LED 720) (Fig. 7, 9).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches imaging device according to claim 1, wherein a first distance from the support (750) to the cover (window 730) is greater than a second distance from the support to the uppermost end (of 720) of the wall surface (Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Hsiung (US 20120229700 A1) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Farrell (WO 2022248327 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Hsiung teaches the imaging device according to claim 6, wherein the second light shield has a length in a direction along an optical axis of the optical member greater than a distance between the housing and the substrate in the direction along the optical axis of the optical member, and the second light shield accommodated in the housing is deformed by the housing and the substrate in the direction along the optical axis of the optical member (para. 0020; “the protective cover 50 can be made from rubber”; rubber protective cover 50 would be compressed in a direction along the optical axis and be deformed).
Or, in the alternative, in the same field of endeavor Farrell teaches
“the seal [[38]] is arranged axially compressed between the circuit board and the abutment surface in the assembled final state. Thereby, the positionally secure mechanical arrangement is improved on the one hand, the dust-proof housing of the clearance is improved on the other hand” (Figs. 4-7; page 6, 3rd para; last paragraph of page 15 to first paragraph on page 16).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in this art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use the teachings as taught by Farrell in Hsiung to have the features for utilizing a light shield that can be compressed and deformed enabling a tighter seal against light, dust and water yielding a predicted result.
Conclusion
/Quan Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637