DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ritsu et. al. (JP2001273927A).
Claims 1-2, 7: Ritsu teaches a lithium secondary battery (i.e., lithium ion battery) [0002] electrolyte solution comprising a solvent mixture of ethylene carbonate (EC) and diethyl carbonate (DEC), [0063, 0073],
a lithium salt, LiPF6, [0065, 0073],
and an organic copper corrosion inhibitor (i.e., first additive), 1,2,4-triazole [0012, 0020].
Claim 3: Ritsu teaches the content of the organic inhibitor (i.e., first additive) is preferably 0.10 to 0.50% [0022].
Claim 6: Ritsu teaches the electrolyte solution comprises 1 mol/L of LiPF6 (i.e., lithium salt) [0065, 0073].
Claim 9: Ritsu teaches a lithium secondary battery (i.e., lithium ion battery) comprising a non-aqueous electrolyte solution described above [0012, 0053,0062].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritsu et. al. (JP2001273927A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN105789685A).
Claims 4-5: Ritsu teaches a lithium ion battery comprising an electrolyte solution of LiPF6 salt in a solvent comprising ethylene carbonate and diethyl carbonate. Ritsu does not teach the electrolyte solution comprises ethylene sulfate. However, Wang teaches an electrolyte for a lithium ion battery comprising an electrolyte solution of lithium hexafluorophosphate (i.e., LiPF6) salt in a solvent comprising ethylene carbonate and diethyl carbonate and 0.1 to 5 weight % of ethylene sulfate (Page 9 claim 2). Wang teaches adding an additive comprising ethylene sulfate(DTD) can improve the discharge capacity of the lithium-ion battery at low temperature by forming a thin and dense SEI (solid electrolyte interface) protective film on the negative electrode and a low-resistance CEI (cathode electrolyte interface) protective film on the positive electrode (Page 2 para 8-12, Page 8 para 5, 11). Wang further teaches the DTD Wang does not identically teach the weight range of 0.1 to 1%. However, overlapping ranges have been held to support a case of obviousness (See MPEP 2144.05.I).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have added ethylene sulfate to Ritsu’s electrolyte solution to improve the discharge capacity of the lithium-ion battery at low temperatures.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ritsu et. al. (JP2001273927A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20070072085 A1).
Claim 8: Ritsu teaches the electrolyte solvent is a mixed solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC) and diethyl carbonate DEC in an equal volume ratio. Ritsu does not teach the mass ratio of EC to DEC is 3:7. However, Chen teaches a lithium secondary battery electrolyte solution comprising LiPF6 salt and 3:7 by weight ratio of EC:DEC [0030]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling the instant invention to have modified Ritsu’s lithium battery electrolyte solvent proportion and use 3:7 by weight ratio of EC to DEC because Chen teaches such is a functional electrolyte solution.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jun et al. (JP2001143746A) teaches an electrolyte solution for lithium ion battery comprising 1M lithium hexafluorophosphate (i.e., LiPF6) salt and an additive, 1,2,4-triazole in ethylene carbonate and dimethoxyethane [0022, 0029, 0032, 0052].
/L.N.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 1712
/MICHAEL P WIECZOREK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712