DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial Office action based on application number 18/429448 filed on 02/01/2024. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding to claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13: The term "wedged-shaped" is indefinite as it extends the scope of the expression. See MPEP 2173.05(b). For the interest of compact prosecution, Examiner interpret “a wedge-shaped gap” as “a gap” in claims 1, 13; and “a wedge-shaped component” as “a wedge” in claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ueda (JP 2018032519 (A)). The English translation of the JP 2018032519 (A) is attached.
Regarding to claim 1: Ueda discloses a battery module (par. 1). The battery module, comprising:
a battery stack (14) (equivalent to a battery cell group) comprising a plurality of battery cells (18) arranged in a first direction (par. 14, fig. 2);
a module case (50) (equivalent to an enclosure) comprising a first beam and a second beam that are arranged at an interval in the first direction (see fig. below), wherein the battery stack (14) is arranged between the first beam and the second beam (see fig. below), the first beam and the second beam can provide an appropriate restraining load Ft to the battery stack (14) (the first beam and the second beam are equivalent to locking beams as they can provide an appropriate restraining load Ft to the battery stack (14)) (par. 30-32, fig. 3), and a gap is provided between the locking beam and the battery stack (14) (fig. 2); and
an end plate (16) (equivalent to a wedge-shaped component) configured to fill the gap, so as to restrain (equivalent to lock) the battery cell group to the module case (50) (par. 30-37, fig. 3, 4).
Regarding to claim 2: Ueda discloses the end plate (16) is restrained to the locking beam (par. 30-37, fig. 3, 4).
Regarding to claim 3: Ueda discloses a surface of the locking beam facing towards the battery stack (14) is obliquely arranged towards one side away from the battery stack (14) relative to the first direction (fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 4: Ueda discloses the locking beam is a trapezoidal beam (see fig. above).
Regarding to claim 6: Ueda discloses an included angle between the surface of the locking beam facing towards the battery stack (14) and the surface of the battery stack (14) facing towards the locking beam is greater than 0° and less than 90° (see fig. above).
Regarding to claim 7: Ueda discloses the end plate (16) comprises a first surface and a stack-side opposing surface (17) (equivalent to a second surface) that are oppositely arranged, wherein the first surface is arranged opposite and parallel to the surface of the battery stack (14) facing towards the locking beam, and the second surface is arranged opposite and parallel to the surface of the locking beam facing towards the battery cell group (fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 11: Ueda discloses the first beam and the second beam are side walls of the module case (50) (fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 12: Ueda discloses electric vehicles and portable electronic devices (equivalent to power consuming apparatuses), comprising: the battery module according to claim 1, wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy to the electric vehicles and portable electronic devices (par. 2).
Regarding to claim 13: Ueda discloses a method for manufacturing a battery module (50), comprising:
providing a battery stack (14) (equivalent to a battery cell group) comprising a plurality of battery cells (18) arranged in a first direction (par. 14, see fig. above);
providing a module case (50) (equivalent to an enclosure) comprising a first beam and a second beam that are arranged at an interval in the first direction (see fig. above), wherein the battery stack (14) is arranged between the first beam and the second beam, at least one of the first beam and the second beam can provide an appropriate restraining load Ft to the battery stack (14) (the first beam and the second beam are equivalent to locking beams as they can provide an appropriate restraining load Ft to the battery stack (14)) (par. 30-32, fig. 3), and a gap is provided between the locking beam and the battery stack (14) (fig. 2); and
providing an end plate (16) (equivalent to a wedge-shaped component); and
filling the gap with the wedge, so as to restrain the battery stack (14) to the module case (50) (par. 30-37, fig. 3, 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2018032519 (A)) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Matsushita et al. (US 12555866 B2).
Regarding to claim 5: Ueda discloses a battery module (par. 1) as described in claim 1 in paragraph 3 above. Ueda fails to explicitly disclose a surface of the battery cell group facing towards the locking beam is obliquely arranged towards one side away from the locking beam relative to the first direction. However, Matsushita et al. disclose a power storage device (abstract). The power storage device (100) comprises a power storage stack (110) (equivalent to a battery cell group) (col. 4, lines 29-36, 3). The power storage stack (110) has a first tapered surface (121) and a second tapered surface (122) (col. 4, lines 58-67, col. 5, lines 1-18). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the first tapered surface (121) and the second tapered surface (122) of the power storage stack (110) of Matsushita et al. on the battery stack (14) of Ueda because Matsushita et al. teach that the tapered surface can help secure the position of the unit cell (col. 2, lines 14-18).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2018032519 (A)) as applied in claim 7 above.
Regarding to claim 8: Ueda discloses the end plate (16) further comprises: a third surface connecting the first surface and the stack-side opposing surface (17) (see fig. below). Ueda fails to explicitly disclose a first extending portion extending from the third surface in the first direction away from the battery cell group, wherein the first extending portion is connected to the locking beam. However, Ueda further discloses the module case (50) is broadly divided into a lower case (52) and an upper cover (54) (par. 21). The battery stack (12) may be secured by pressing down on the upper surface of the battery stack (12) with the upper cover (54) (par. 38) (the portion of the upper cover (54) above the locking beam is equivalent to the first extending portion and connected to the locking beam). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to integrate the upper cover (54) (equivalent to the first extending portion) into the third surface of the end plate (16) because the use of a one-piece, integrated construction instead of the structure disclosed or taught in the prior art would have been within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda (JP 2018032519 (A)) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Kakuchi et al. (US 20090239137 A1).
Regarding to claim 10: Ueda discloses a battery module (par. 1) as described in claim 1 in paragraph 3 above. Ueda fails to explicitly disclose a bus component configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery cells, wherein the bus component is arranged at one end of the battery cell group in a third direction, the third direction is parallel to an extending direction of the locking beam, and the extending direction of the locking beam is perpendicular to the first direction. However, Kakuchi et al. disclose a battery pack (abstract). The battery pack (CP) comprises a plurality of battery modules (1A, 1B, 1C . . . ) (equivalent to battery cells), a second fixing plate (93) (equivalent to a locking beam), a wedge member (200) (equivalent to a wedge-shaped component) (par. 77-82, fig. 10), and connecting members (60) (equivalent to bus components) (par. 86, fig. 8). The connecting member (60) is configured to electrically connect the plurality of battery modules (par. 75). The connecting member (60) is arranged at one end of the battery module group (see below for the equivalent direction).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the connecting members (60) of Kakuchi et al. to connect the battery stack cells (18) of Ueda because Kakuchi et al. teach that the connecting members (60) can hold the battery modules and make the battery modules electrically connected (par. 75).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dependent claim 9 is drawn to the battery comprising an end plate arranged between the locking beam and the battery cell group and attached to the battery cell group, wherein a step is arranged on one side of the end plate facing towards the locking beam; and the wedge-shaped component further comprises:
a third surface connecting the first surface and the second surface; and a second extending portion extending from the third surface in the first direction towards the battery cell group, wherein the second extending portion is configured to cooperate with the step to limit the end plate in a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to an extending direction of the locking beam, and the extending direction of the locking beam is perpendicular to the first direction.
The closest prior art, Ueda, teaches the end plate (16) further comprises: a third surface connecting the first surface and the stack-side opposing surface (17) (see fig. above). However, Ueda fails to teach or suggest an end plate arranged between the locking beam and the battery cell group and attached to the battery cell group, wherein a step is arranged on one side of the end plate facing towards the locking beam; and a second extending portion extending from the third surface in the first direction towards the battery cell group, wherein the second extending portion is configured to cooperate with the step to limit the end plate in a second direction, the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction and perpendicular to an extending direction of the locking beam, and the extending direction of the locking beam is perpendicular to the first direction.
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717