DETAILED ACTION
The following is a response to the amendment filed 6/10/2026 which has been entered.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 17-30 are pending in the application. Claims 2-16 are cancelled.
-The drawing objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 and cancelling claims 2-16 accordingly.
-The specification objection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending the abstract, specification and claim 1 and further, cancelling claims 2-16 accordingly.
-The claim interpretation has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 and cancelling claim 3 accordingly.
-The 112(a) and 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 and cancelling claims 2 and 10 accordingly.
-The 102 and 103 rejections have been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 with limitations not disclosed by the prior art of record used in the rejections.
-The double patenting rejection has been withdrawn due to applicant amending claim 1 accordingly.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
-“a friction part (generic placeholder)………configured to contact the brake shoe (function)” in claim 1.
-“a support member (generic placeholder)……….having a first end configured to support an inner side of the outer circumferential surface of the body part (function)” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 17-23 and 25-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dach 2288438 in view of Holton 2840195, JP 2008151160 (with machine translation) and Huschenhoefer et al 20210156439. As to claim 1, Dach discloses a drum brake provided with a drum (1) configured to contact a brake shoe (column 1, lines 1-4) to generate a frictional force, comprising: a cylindrical body part (2) having one open side (as shown in Figure 1); and a friction part coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the body part and configured to contact the brake shoe (column 1, line 52 to column 2, line 3), wherein the body part includes: a cavity (9 or 12) interposed between an outer circumferential surface of the body part (surface near 2) and the inner circumferential surface of the body part (surface near 3) such that a space is formed therebetween; and a support member (9’ or 10) disposed within the cavity and having a first end configured to support an inner side of the outer circumferential surface of the body part (portion of 9’ or 10 closest to surface near 2) and a second end configured to support an outer side of the inner circumferential surface of the body part (portion of 9’ or 10 closest to surface near 3). However, Dach doesn’t disclose that a material forming the body part is lighter than a material forming the friction part as recited.
Holton discloses a drum brake provided with a drum (14) comprising: a cylindrical body part (14) having one open side (as shown in Figure 2); and a friction part (10) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the body part and further discloses that it is well known in the art to have a material of the body part lighter than a material forming the friction part (column 2, lines 12-21 describes that 14 is formed of aluminum or alloy and 10 is formed of cast iron).
JP discloses a drum brake provided with a drum (12) comprising: a cylindrical body part (12) having one open side (as shown in Figure 1); and a friction part (14) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the body part and further discloses that it is well known in the art to have a material of the body part lighter than a material forming the friction part (abstract describes that 12 is formed of aluminum and 14 is formed of cast iron).
Huschenhoefer discloses a drum brake provided with a drum (2) comprising: a cylindrical body part (2) having one open side (as shown in Figure 2); and a friction part (8) coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the body part and further discloses that it is well known in the art to have a material of the body part lighter than a material forming the friction part (abstract and [0004] describes that 2 is formed of plastic and [0008] describes that 8 is formed of ceramic).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the body part in Dach with a lighter material than the friction part material in view of Holton, JP and Huschenhoefer to improve vehicle performance by reducing overall weight of brake which enhances fuel efficiency. Further, lighter drums can provide quicker heat dissipation which reduces the risk of brake fade during hard braking usage.
As to claim 17, Dach in view of Holton, JP and Huschenhoefer discloses wherein the material forming the friction part includes at least one of cast iron or ceramic (column 2, lines 12-21 describes that 10 is formed of cast iron in Holton; abstract describes that 14 is formed of cast iron in JP and [0008] describes that 8 is formed of ceramic in Huschenhoefer).
As to claim 18, Dach in view of Holton, JP and Huschenhoefer discloses wherein the material forming the body part includes at least one of aluminum, phenolic resin, or plastic (column 2, lines 12-21 describes that 14 is formed of aluminum in Holton; abstract describes that 12 is formed of aluminum in JP and abstract and [0004] describes that 2 is formed of plastic in Huschenhoefer).
As to claim 19, Dach in view of Holton discloses, wherein the friction part comprises a plurality of friction parts (Holton discloses 10 having a plurality of parts as shown in Figures 1 and 2).
As to claim 20, Dach in view of Holton discloses, wherein the friction parts are spaced apart from each other in an axial direction of the body part (as shown in Figure 2 in Holton).
As to claim 21, Dach in view of JP discloses, wherein the body part includes a recessed groove (12b in JP) recessed in the inner circumferential surface thereof, and the friction part includes a protrusion (14b in JP) protruding toward the body part and configured to be inserted into the recessed groove (as shown in Figure 1 in JP).
As to claim 22, Dach in view of JP discloses, wherein the protrusion is press-fitted into the recessed groove (as shown in Figure 1 in JP).
As to claim 23, Dach in view of Huschenhoefer discloses, wherein the body part includes a through-hole passing through the body part from the inner circumferential surface thereof to the outer circumferential surface thereof, and the friction part includes a protrusion protruding toward the body part and passing through the through-hole (Figure 5 in Huschenhoefer shows protrustions 14 that are described in [0015] as extending from 8 through openings in 2).
As to claim 25, Dach in view of JP discloses, wherein the friction part is adhesively coupled to the body part through an adhesive (JP discloses that the drum and lining can be coupled via molten metal solidification which can be considered an adhesive).
As to claim 26, Dach discloses, wherein the support member comprises a plurality of support members (multiple positions for the support member (9’ or 10) are shown in Figure 1 via where 6 is disposed between 2 and 3).
As to claim 27, Dach discloses, wherein the plurality of support members are spaced apart from each other along the outer side of the inner circumferential surface of the body part (multiple positions for the support member (9’ or 10) are shown in Figure 1 via where 6 is disposed closer to surface 3).
As to claim 28, Dach discloses, wherein the plurality of support members are arranged radially symmetrical to each other with respect to a central axis of the body part (multiple positions for the support member (9’ or 10) are shown in Figure 1 via where 6 is disposed which are radially symmetrically situated with respect to center).
As to claim 29, Dach discloses, wherein the plurality of support members are arranged radially symmetrical to each other with respect to a central axis of the body part (multiple positions for the support member (9’ or 10) are shown in Figure 1 via where 6 is disposed which are radially symmetrically situated with respect to center).
As to claim 30, Dach discloses, wherein the support member is made of a material including at least one of aluminum, phenolic resin, or plastic (Dach describes that the inserts (at least 10) can be made from a soft material similar to brass column 3, lines 40-42, which can encompass aluminum).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record doesn’t disclose or render obvious a motivation to provide for:
-(as to claim 24 in combination with claims 1 and 23 exactly as written)……. wherein the protrusion has a threaded outer surface, the drum brake further comprising a nut coupled to a distal end of the protrusion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-CN 210769930 (Figure 1) discloses a brake drum having a cylindrical body part (2) and a friction part (between 2 and 13) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide a support member (5) within a cavity (6) having a first end supporting an inner side of the outer circumference of the body part and a second end supporting an outer side of the inner circumference of the body part (as shown in Figure 1).
-Norton (Figure 1) discloses a brake drum having a cylindrical body part (2) and a friction part (3) and shows that it is well known in the art to provide the friction part with a protrusion (5) press-fitted within a recessed groove in the body part (as shown in Figure 1).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tdl
/TISHA D LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619 August 14, 2026