DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 12/10/2024 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 1-14 were previously cancelled.
Claims 15-34 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, see Remark section of Amendment, filed December 10, 2024 with respect to the rejection of claims 15-34 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of new prior arts.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 15-18, 20-23, 25-28 and 30-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12 and 19 of Patent No. (US 9,954,666 B2 in view of Malladi et al. [hereinafter as Malladi], US 2009/0046672 A1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 15, the claim 12 of patent application discloses A receiving node, comprising a receiver circuit configured to receive data from a transmitting node in received subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the receiving node further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the receiver circuit and to process subframes received from the transmitting node, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
receive a subframe from the transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the received subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
determine, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals; and,
in response to the subframe-shortening information, disregard one or more symbols at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station, wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the UE being further configured to:
receive a subframe from the base station,
receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe, and
in response to the received information, disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received
subframe.
However, Malladi discloses receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 15 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 12 by eliminating the term "…. a receiver circuit …. a transmitting node …. having …., the receiving node further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the receiver circuit and to process …. received from the transmitting node, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
…. transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of …., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information …. is to be shortened, relative to ….;
determine, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to ….; and,
…. subframe-shortening …., …. one or more …...” to claim 12 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 17, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 18, the patent application does not disclose the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 20, the claim 19 of patent application discloses A transmitting node, comprising a transmitter circuit configured to transmit data to a receiving node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals and further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the transmitter circuit, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the receiving node, via the transmitter circuit, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals; and,
control the transmitter circuit to shorten the subframe by omitting one or more symbols at the end of the subframe when transmitting the subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the base station being further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the
transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, and
transmit information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe.
However, Malladi discloses wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064.
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 20 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 19 by eliminating the term "…. a transmitter circuit ….. data ….. a receiving node in ….. having ….. and further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the transmitter circuit, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
….. receiving node, via the transmitter circuit, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information ….. is to be shortened, relative to …..; and,
control the transmitter circuit to shorten ….. by omitting one or more ….. at the end of ….. when transmitting …..” to claim 19 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 21, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 22, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 23, the patent application does not disclose the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 25, the claim 1 of patent application discloses A method, in a receiving node configured to receive data from a transmitting node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the received subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
determining, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
and
in response to said determining, disregarding a last part of the received subframe by disregarding one or more symbols at the end of the received subframe when
processing the received subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A method for a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station, wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the base station,
receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe, and
in response to the received information, disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more
symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received
subframe.
However, Malladi discloses receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 25 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 1 by eliminating the term "…. in a receiving node ….. data ….. a transmitting node in ….. having ….., the method comprising:
….. transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information ….. is to be shortened, relative to …..;
determining, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to …..; and
….. said determining, ….. a last part of the received subframe by ….. one or more …..” to claim 1 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 26, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 27, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 28, the patent application does not disclose being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 30, the claim 8 of patent application discloses A method, in a transmitting node configured to transmit data to a receiving node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the receiving node, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the subframe, the grant message containing
subframe-shortening information indicating that the subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
wherein said transmitting the subframe comprises shortening the subframe by omitting one or more symbols at the end of the subframe when transmitting the subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A method for a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, and
transmitting information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe.
However, Malladi discloses wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 30 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 8 by eliminating the term "…. in a transmitting node ….. data ….. a receiving node in ….. having ….., the method comprising:
….. receiving node, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information …..is to be shortened, relative to …..; wherein said transmitting the subframe comprises shortening …..by omitting one or more ….. at the end of …..when transmitting …...” to claim 8 of patent application.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 31, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 32, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Gao is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 33, the patent application does not disclose transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi et al. [hereinafter as Malladi], US 2009/0046672 A1 in view of Seo et al. [hereinafter as Seo], US 2013/0329711 A1. Regarding claim 15, Malladi discloses wherein a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station (Fig.1 [0052][0064], the mobile device 116 receiving node is configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station 102 in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the UE being further configured to:
receive a subframe from the base station (Fig.1-2 [0063], the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) from the transmitting node base station 102),
receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), and
in response to the received information (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], in response to the region 309 information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 16, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe, and the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the received subframe).
Regarding claim 17, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 18, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 19, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Seo further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Regarding claim 20, Malladi discloses wherein a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a transmitting node base station 102 is configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a mobile device 116 receiving node in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the base station being further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the
transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) to the mobile device 116 receiving node and Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304), and
transmit information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0065], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting to the mobile device 116 receiving node, the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe and the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein a subframe in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., not carry OFDM symbols) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the transmitted subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the transmitted subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 21, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 20 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, and the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the transmitted subframe).
Regarding claim 22, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 20 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 23, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 24, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 20 as stated above wherein Seo further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Regarding claim 25, Malladi discloses wherein a method for a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a method for a mobile device 116 receiving node is configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station 102 in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the base station (Fig.1-2 [0063], the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) from the transmitting node base station 102),
receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), and
in response to the received information (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], in response to the region 309 information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 26, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 25 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe, and the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the received subframe).
Regarding claim 27, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 25 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 28, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 27 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 29, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 25 as stated above wherein Seo further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Regarding claim 30, Malladi discloses wherein a method for a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a method for a transmitting node a base station 102 is configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a mobile device 116 receiving node in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) to the mobile device 116 receiving node and Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304), and
transmitting information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0065], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe and the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein a subframe in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., not carry OFDM symbols) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the transmitted subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the transmitted subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 31, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 30 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, and the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the transmitted subframe).
Regarding claim 32, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 30 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 33, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 32 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 34, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 30 as stated above wherein Seo further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0201838 A1) teaches Dynamic Adjustment of Downlink/Uplink Allocation Ratio in TDD Wireless Systems.
Parkvall et al. (Pub. No.: US 2011/0149813 A1) teaches Flexible Subframes.
Prihed et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0170568 A1) teaches Reducing Inter-Carrier Interference in OFDM and OFDM systems by Time Sample Scaling based on Cyclic Prefix Samples
Wilhelmsson (US Patent No.: US 7769094 B2) teaches Arrangement and Method for Reducing the Impact of Interfering Signals in a Communication System.
Ikeda (Pub. No.: US 2011/0044255 A1) teaches Radio Communication System, Radio Communication Device, Radio Communication Method, and Program.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414