DETAILED ACTION
The response filed on 04/27/2026 has been entered and made of record.
Claims 15, 20, 25 and 30 have been amended.
Claims 1-14 were previously canceled.
Claims 19, 24, 29 and 34 have been canceled.
Claims 15-18, 20-23, 25-28 and 30-33 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 15, the applicant argued that the cited portions of Seo do not disclose or suggest that a UE receives, in a grant message, information indicating that fewer symbol intervals in a subframe received by the UE carry OFDM symbols than in a normal subframe.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.13-14, Seo clearly teaches that the information is indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message since scheduling information is grant message (see Seo, Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164] and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221]).
Seo also discloses that the subframe is comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal since the DwPTS as the guard period is at the end of the received subframe (see Seo, Fig.2b [0063] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Additionally, Malladi discloses that the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 304 from the transmitting node base station 102, and the region 309 (i.e., grant message) of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols (see Malladi, Fig.1-2 [0063] and Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Malladi also discloses that the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that fewer symbol intervals e.g., the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe since the guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (see Malladi, Fig.3 [0064]-[0065] and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067]).
Malladi further discloses that the mobile device 116 receiving node is disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals e.g., the guard time of region 309 (i.e., grant message) can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 in response to the region 309 information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols since the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used (see Malladi, Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], Fig.3 [0066]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Regarding Claim 15, the applicant further argued that the Office Action provides no explanation at all for why it would have been obvious to modify Malladi' s system to
incorporate any of the details of Seo's paragraphs 0161-0164, 0220, and 0221, and does not explain how that modification would be accomplished.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-2, Malladi clearly discloses that the mobile device 116 receiving node is configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station 102 in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system, TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL to receive data from a transmitting node base station 102; each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols; the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) from the transmitting node base station 102; the region 309 (i.e., grant message) of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols; in response to the region 309 (i.e., grant message) information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols; the guard time of region 309 (i.e., grant message) can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304 and, the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and, the guard time interval of region 309 (i.e., grant message) can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304. Therefore, the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) inasmuch as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe of Malladi would be motivated to combine the teachings of Seo occurs in accordance with excluded/fewer OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message since the region 309 (i.e., grant message) is included in the received subframe 304, and the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304, whereby the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols in accordance with the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used (see Malladi, Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], Fig.3 [0066]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Claims 20, 25 and 30, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 15. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]) .
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper time wise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 15-18, 20-23, 25-28 and 30-33 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8, 12 and 19 of Patent No. (US 9,954,666 B2 in view of Malladi et al. [hereinafter as Malladi], US 2009/0046672 A1. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following:
Regarding claim 15, the claim 12 of patent application discloses A receiving node, comprising a receiver circuit configured to receive data from a transmitting node in received subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the receiving node further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the receiver circuit and to process subframes received from the transmitting node, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
receive a subframe from the transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the received subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
determine, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals; and,
in response to the subframe-shortening information, disregard one or more symbols at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station, wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the UE being further configured to:
receive a subframe from the base station,
receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe,
wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message,
and
in response to the received information, disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received
subframe.
However, Malladi discloses receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065] and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 15 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 12 by eliminating the term "…. a receiver circuit …. a transmitting node …. having …., the receiving node further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the receiver circuit and to process …. received from the transmitting node, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
…. transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of …., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information …. is to be shortened, relative to ….;
determine, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to ….; and,
…. subframe-shortening …., …. one or more …...” to claim 12 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 17, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 18, the patent application does not disclose the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 20, the claim 19 of patent application discloses A transmitting node, comprising a transmitter circuit configured to transmit data to a receiving node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals and further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the transmitter circuit, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the receiving node, via the transmitter circuit, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals; and,
control the transmitter circuit to shorten the subframe by omitting one or more symbols at the end of the subframe when transmitting the subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the base station being further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the
transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, and
transmit information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message.
However, Malladi discloses wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064], Fig.3 [0065]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 20 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 19 by eliminating the term "…. a transmitter circuit ….. data ….. a receiving node in ….. having ….. and further comprising a processing circuit configured to control the transmitter circuit, wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
….. receiving node, via the transmitter circuit, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information ….. is to be shortened, relative to …..; and,
control the transmitter circuit to shorten ….. by omitting one or more ….. at the end of ….. when transmitting …..” to claim 19 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 21, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 22, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 23, the patent application does not disclose the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 25, the claim 1 of patent application discloses A method, in a receiving node configured to receive data from a transmitting node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the received subframe, the grant message containing subframe-shortening information indicating that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
determining, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
and
in response to said determining, disregarding a last part of the received subframe by disregarding one or more symbols at the end of the received subframe when
processing the received subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A method for a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station, wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the base station,
receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe,
wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message,
and
in response to the received information, disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more
symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received
subframe.
However, Malladi discloses receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], Fig.3 [0066]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 25 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 1 by eliminating the term "…. in a receiving node ….. data ….. a transmitting node in ….. having ….., the method comprising:
….. transmitting node, the received subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information ….. is to be shortened, relative to …..;
determining, based on the subframe-shortening information, that the received subframe is to be shortened, relative to …..; and
….. said determining, ….. a last part of the received subframe by ….. one or more …..” to claim 1 of patent application. It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 26, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 27, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 28, the patent application does not disclose being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 30, the claim 8 of patent application discloses A method, in a transmitting node configured to transmit data to a receiving node in subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the receiving node, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of the subframe, the grant message containing
subframe-shortening information indicating that the subframe is to be shortened, relative to the predetermined number of symbol intervals;
wherein said transmitting the subframe comprises shortening the subframe by omitting one or more symbols at the end of the subframe when transmitting the subframe.
The patent application does not disclose A method for a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals, the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, and
transmitting information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message.
However, Malladi discloses wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], Fig.3 [0066]-[0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Applicant's claim 30 merely broaden the scope of patent application claim 8 by eliminating the term "…. in a transmitting node ….. data ….. a receiving node in ….. having ….., the method comprising:
….. receiving node, the subframe comprising a grant message in a beginning portion of ….., the grant message containing subframe-shortening information …..is to be shortened, relative to …..; wherein said transmitting the subframe comprises shortening …..by omitting one or more ….. at the end of …..when transmitting …...” to claim 8 of patent application.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. In re karlson, 36 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note EX Parte Raine, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.App.1969); omission of a reference element whose function is not need would be obvious to one skilled in the art.
Regarding claim 31, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 32, the patent application does not disclose the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], Fig.3 [0067] and Fig.4 [0072]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Gao is to be added in the patent application.
Regarding claim 33, the patent application does not disclose transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols.
However, Malladi discloses transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to include the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols as taught by Malladi is to be added in the patent application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18, 20-23, 25-28 and 30-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malladi et al. [hereinafter as Malladi], US 2009/0046672 A1 in view of Seo et al. [hereinafter as Seo], US 2013/0329711 A1. Regarding claim 15, Malladi discloses wherein a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station (Fig.1 [0052][0064], the mobile device 116 receiving node is configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station 102 in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the UE being further configured to:
receive a subframe from the base station (Fig.1-2 [0063], the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) from the transmitting node base station 102),
receive information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols),
wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that fewer symbol intervals e.g., the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067], the guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated),
and
in response to the received information (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], in response to the region 309 information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message), and
disregard OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 16, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe, and the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the received subframe).
Regarding claim 17, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 15 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 18, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 17 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the UE is further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 20, Malladi discloses wherein a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a transmitting node base station 102 is configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a mobile device 116 receiving node in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the base station being further configured to:
transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the
transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) to the mobile device 116 receiving node and Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304), and
transmit information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0065], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting to the mobile device 116 receiving node, the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe and the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that fewer symbol intervals e.g., the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067], the guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein transmit a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein a subframe in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., not carry OFDM symbols) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the transmitted subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the transmitted subframe), wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe and, the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and, scheduling information i.e., grant message as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072], Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164] and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221]).
Regarding claim 21, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 20 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, and the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the transmitted subframe).
Regarding claim 22, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 20 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 23, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 22 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the base station is further configured to transmit configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 25, Malladi discloses wherein a method for a User Equipment (UE) configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a method for a mobile device 116 receiving node is configured to receive subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols from a base station 102 in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the method comprising:
receiving a subframe from the base station (Fig.1-2 [0063], the mobile device 116 receiving node is receiving the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) from the transmitting node base station 102),
receiving information from the base station indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the
received subframe carry OFDM symbols than in the normal subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and, subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols),
wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that fewer symbol intervals e.g., the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067], the guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated),
and
in response to the received information (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], in response to the region 309 information indicating that fewer OFDM symbol intervals will be utilized as the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the mobile device is receiving the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., disregarding symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message), and
disregarding OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe when processing the received subframe (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072] and Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164]).
Regarding claim 26, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 25 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the received subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the received subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe, and the received subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the received subframe).
Regarding claim 27, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 25 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals of the received subframe carry OFDM symbols comprises at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 28, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 27 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses being further configured to receive configuration information from the base station, prior to receiving the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the received subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the received subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the received subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the received subframe 304).
Regarding claim 30, Malladi discloses wherein a method for a base station configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency-division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a User Equipment (UE) (Fig.1 [0052][0064], a method for a transmitting node a base station 102 is configured to transmit subframes carrying orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols to a mobile device 116 receiving node in a Time Division Duplex (TDD) system), wherein a normal subframe carries OFDM symbols in a predetermined number of symbol intervals (Fig.1-2 [0062]-[0063], each of the subframes having a predetermined number of symbol intervals in TDD configuration e.g., subframe allocation for DL and UL, the radio frame 202 comprising the plurality of subframes and Fig.3 [0064], subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), the method comprising:
transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0064], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the data subframes 202 (204, 206 & 208) to the mobile device 116 receiving node and Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304), and
transmitting information to the UE indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM
symbols in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe (Fig.1-3 [0063]-[0065], the transmitting node base station 102 is transmitting the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe and the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less, the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols), wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 (i.e., grant message) containing information indicating that fewer symbol intervals e.g., the number of symbols can be less e.g., 6 symbols or less will be utilized in the received subframe than in the normal subframe and Fig.3 [0066]-[0067], the guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated).
Even though Malladi discloses wherein transmitting a subframe to the UE in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols, in the same field of endeavor, Seo teaches wherein a subframe in which one or more symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe does not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., not carry OFDM symbols) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the transmitted subframe signal and Fig.2b [0063], the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the transmitted subframe),
wherein the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in a grant message (Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164], the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221], scheduling information i.e., grant message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Malladi to incorporate the teaching of Seo in order to improve data transmission efficiency.
It would have been beneficial to use the subframe comprising grant message in which symbol intervals is excluded (i.e., disregarding) at the last OFDM symbol or SC-FDMA symbol of the subframe when processing the received subframe signal and, the DwPTS as the guard period at the end of the received subframe, and the information indicating that symbol intervals is excluded i.e., fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols comprising in a grant message and, scheduling information i.e., grant message as taught by Seo to have incorporated in the system of Malladi to provide for improving transmission reliability and transmission rate. (Seo, Fig.2b [0063], Fig.6 [0072], Fig.13-14 [0161]-[0164] and Fig.18 [0220]-[0221]).
Regarding claim 31, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 30 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is comprised in the transmitted subframe (Fig.3 [0064]-[0065], the region 309 of the transmitted subframe 304 containing information indicating that guard time can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., fewer symbol intervals) will be utilized in the transmitted subframe than in the normal subframe, and the transmitted subframe 304 carries a plurality of symbols e.g., OFDM symbols is included in the transmitted subframe).
Regarding claim 32, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 30 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses the information indicating that fewer symbol intervals carry OFDM symbols is at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals and, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Regarding claim 33, Malladi and Seo disclosed all the elements of claim 32 as stated above wherein Malladi further discloses transmitting configuration information to the UE, prior to transmitting the subframe, wherein the configuration information specifies a mapping between the at least one bit and a number of symbol intervals at the end of the transmitted subframe that do not carry OFDM symbols (Fig.3 [0065]-[0066], the configuration information specifies a mapping between a predetermined number of symbols for the guard time such as up to 3 bits long i.e., at least one bit that indicates a number of symbol intervals, the guard time of region 309 can be omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/processing the transmitted subframe 304 and Fig.3 [0067], transmitting the guard time parameter and acts accordingly by performing rate matching i.e., guard time region will not be used and Fig.4 [0072], the guard time interval of region 309 can be reduced, minimized or eliminated, omitted, erased, and/or otherwise eliminated (i.e., does not carry OFDM symbols in one or more symbol intervals) at the end of the transmitted subframe 304 when rate matching/ processing the transmitted subframe 304).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/SAUMIT SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414