DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species a3 and species b2, claims 1, 3, 5-11, and 13-20 without traverse in the reply filed on 07/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YU et al [US 2022/0367328].
► With respect to claim 1, YU e al (fig 9) discloses a chip-on-film structure, comprising:
a base (500, text [0091]), wherein the base includes a first surface (501) and a second surface (502) oppositely disposed;
a first circuit (510, text [0091)) covering the first surface, wherein the first circuit includes a driving chip bonding area (540);
a display panel bonding end (550, text [0100]) disposed on the second surface; and
a first conductive portion (530, text [0091]) connected to the first circuit and the display panel bonding end respectively.
► With respect to claim 3, YU e al (fig 9) discloses wherein the base further comprises a third surface and a fourth surface, the third surface is connected to the first surface and the second surface, the fourth surface is connected to the first surface and the second surface; and the first conductive portion (530) covers the third surface.
► With respect to claim 5, YU e al (fig 9) discloses wherein the display panel bonding end (550, text [0100]) is spaced apart from the first conductive portion (530, text [0091]) in a target direction, and the target direction is parallel to the second surface; wherein the chip-on-film structure further includes a second circuit (520), the second circuit at least partially covers the second surface, the display panel bonding end is disposed on a side of the second circuit away from the base, and the first conductive portion (530) is connected to the display panel bonding end through the second circuit.
► With respect to claim 9, YU e al (fig 9) discloses wherein the first circuit further comprises a circuit board bonding area (560, text [0101]); and the circuit board bonding area and the display panel bonding end are respectively disposed close to opposite ends of the base (500).
► With respect to claim 10, YU e al (fig 9) discloses wherein the chip-on-film structure further comprises a driving chip (100, text [0100]) and a circuit board (700, text [0101]), the driving chip is disposed in the driving chip bonding area and is connected to the first circuit, and the circuit board is disposed in the circuit board bonding area and is connected to the first circuit.
► With respect to claim 11, YU e al (fig 9) discloses the chip-on-film structure of claim 1 and a display panel (600, text [0100]), wherein the display panel is connected to the display panel bonding end in the chip-on-film structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al [US 2022/0367328] in view of Yong Fan [CN-215933634]
► With respect to claim 13, Yu et al substantially discloses the claimed chip on film structure but is silent wherein the display panel is a bottom light-emitting display panel; wherein a top of the bottom light-emitting display panel has a first bonding end, the chip-on-film structure is disposed on top of the display panel, and the display panel bonding end faces the display panel and is connected to the first bonding end.
However, Yong Fan (fig 1, whole text document) teaches using the display panel the is a bottom light-emitting display panel; wherein the top of the bottom light-emitting display panel has the first bonding end (31), the chip-on-film structure is disposed on top of the display panel, and the display panel bonding end (32) faces the display panel and is connected to the first bonding end.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for those skilled in the art to modify the chip -on-film structure of Yu et al by having the display panel bottom light-emitting display panel having the first bonding end arranged as being claimed, per taught by Yon Fan, to provide designed display device as being needed in electronic device.
► With respect to claim 20, using a plurality of display device for spliced display device has been known in the art. The courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new or unexpected result is produced see In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YU et al [US 2022/0367328] in view of Yong Fan [CN-215933634]
► With respect to claim 7, Yu et al substantially discloses the chip-on-film structure but does not expressly teach a first protective and the first protective layer is disposed on a side of the first circuit away from the base.
However, Lim et al (figs 36 & 37) teaches the first protective layer (410 or 420) on the side of the first circuit (210 or 220) away from the base (100)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for those skilled in the art to modify the chip-on-film structure of Yu et al by using the first protective layer as being claimed, per taught by Lim et al, to provide a better reliability chip-on-film structure where cracking generation of the first circuit is prevented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, and 14-19 are objected.
ConclusionConclusion
/THANHHA S PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812