DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,222,556. Although the claims at issue are not
identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely uses slightly
different claim language to claim the same invention. For example, claim 1 of this application broadly
claims the same invention as claims 1, 2 and 5-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,222,556.
Claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,829. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because applicant merely uses slightly different claim language to claim the same invention. For example, claim 1 of this application broadly claims the same invention as claims 1, 8 and 12-14 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,829 OR claim 1 of this application broadly claims the same invention as claims 1, 8, 12 and 15-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,829.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0292916, hereafter referred to as 'Donnelly '916. Donnelly '916 discloses a method comprising: selectively activating or deactivating, by one or more processors (104, 108, 120, 202, 302, para. numbers 30-55) of a directional display (see LED displays 206a-206c, 306a-306c and 400, 400a, 400b in figures 4a-4h, para. #'s 33 and 52-55, figures 1-6), each of a plurality of light emitting diodes of the directional display (see LEDs 206abc, 306abc in paragraph numbers 32 AND 52-55, a processor or controller selectively activates or deactivates each of a plurality LEDs, see para. # 54), wherein each of the plurality of LEDs outputs light when activated (para. # 32 and 52-55); and control, by the one or more processors (104, 108, 120, 202, 302) movement of a plurality of lenses of the directional display OR the plurality of LEDs along one or more supports of the directional display to direct the light along one or more axes (see para. # 32, a motor rotates or moves the plurality of LEDs 206a-c and/or lens 204 along one or more supports (see figure 2, para. # 32, LEDs 206abc are rotated along support 202 OR support described in last sentence of para. # 32 of the directional display 10 to direct the light along one or more axes (see para. #’s. 32 and 52-55).
Regarding claim 20, Donnelly '916 teaches the method directional display of claim 1. Donnelly ‘916 further teaches wherein the light outputted by the activated LEDs is directed by the plurality of lenses (see para. # 32, one or more lenses 204) to locations having differing heights (see figure 2 and 7, LEDs 206abc and lenses 204 extend in vertical direction and direct light at locations having differing heights).
Claims 12-16 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2002/0005826, hereafter referred to as 'Pederson '826'. Pederson ‘826 teaches a directional display 10 (figures 1-14) comprising: a plurality of light emitting diodes 12 configured to output light; a computing device 50 including one or more processors configured to selectively activate or deactivate each of the plurality of LEDs 12 (see paragraph numbers 97, 108, 117, 118, 119 and 122, a processor or controller 50 selectively activates or deactivates each of a plurality LEDs 12), wherein each of the plurality of LEDs 12 is configured to output light when activated (see paragraph numbers 97, 108, 117, 118, 119 and 122); a plurality of lenses (18, 20, para. #’s 99 and 101 and figures 1 and 6); a motor 24 (para. # 104); and one or more supports 14 along which the motor24 controls movement of the plurality of lenses OR the plurality of LEDs 12 to direct the light along one or more axes (see figures 2 and 7, para. # 197 LEDs are moved or rotated along support hub 14) of the directional display 10 to direct the light along one or more axes (see para. #’s. 97, 104-109 and 111-112).
Regarding claim 13, Pederson ‘826 teaches the directional display of claim 12. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein the directional display is configured to be mounted on a vehicle (see para. # 64, directional display 10 is mounted on a vehicle).
Regarding claim 14, Pederson ‘826 teaches the directional display of claim 12. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein the light outputted by the activated LEDs 12 is directed by the plurality of lenses (18, 20, para. #’s 99 and 101) to locations having differing heights (see figures 2 and 7, LEDs 12 and lenses 18, 20 extend in vertical direction and direct light at locations having differing heights).
Regarding claim 15, Pederson ‘826 teaches the directional display of claim 12. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein the directional display provides text based messages or visual images (see para. # 64, directional display displays different images and messages).
Regarding claim 17, Pederson ‘826 teaches the directional display of claim 12. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein messages generated by the directional display are directed in a narrow viewing angle (see a plurality of viewing angle sectors in figures 3-5 and para. # 64 and claim 4).
Regarding claim 18, Pederson ‘826 teaches the directional display of claim 12. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein the narrow viewing angle is 10 degrees, or more or less (one viewing sector angle is 1 degree, see claim 4).
Regarding claim 19, Pederson ‘826 teaches a method comprising: selectively activating or deactivating, by one or more processors 50 of a directional display 10 (figures 1-14), each of a plurality of light emitting diodes 12 of the directional display (see paragraph numbers 97, 108, 117, 118, 119 and 122, a processor or controller 50 selectively activates or deactivates each of a plurality LEDs 12), wherein each of the plurality of LEDs 12 outputs light when activated; and control, by the one or more processors 50, movement of a plurality of lenses of the directional display OR the plurality of LEDs 12 along one or more supports of the directional display to direct the light along one or more axes (see para. #’s. 104-109 and 111-112, a motor 24 rotates or moves the plurality of LEDs 12 along one or more supports 14 (figures 2 and 7, para. # 197 LEDs are rotated along support hub 14) of the directional display 10 to direct the light along one or more axes (see para. #’s. 97, 104-109 and 111-112).
Regarding claim 20, Pederson ‘826 teaches the method of claim 19. Pederson ‘826 further teaches wherein the light outputted by the activated LEDs 12 is directed by the plurality of lenses (18, 20, para. #’s 99 and 101) to locations having differing heights (see figures 2 and 7, LEDs 12 and lenses 18, 20 extend in vertical direction and direct light at locations having differing heights).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The obvious double patenting rejection still applies to claims 1-8, 10-15 and 17-22. Furthermore, claims 12-15 and 17-20 are newly rejected under 35 USC 102 as anticipated by the prior art references of Donnelly ‘916 and Pederson ‘916.
Conclusion
/THOMAS M SEMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875