DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, i.e., claims 1-6, 10-15, 19 and 20 in the reply filed on June 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 10, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McIve (US 5,528,079).
Re Claim 1, McIver discloses a connector for a semiconductor device package, comprising: a middle portion (not labeled, see Fig. 1), having a curved concave shape (see Fig. 1) in a front view (see Figs. 1 and 5), with respect to a given surface (Col. 3, lines 24-31); a first contacting portion (not labeled), integrally connected to the middle portion on a first side (see Fig. 1); and a second contacting portion (not labeled), integrally connected to the middle portion on a second side (see fig. 1) , wherein the first contacting portion and the second contacting portion define a curved convex surface in the front view with respect to the given surface (see Figs. 1 and 5 and related text Col 3, lines 13 – 34).
Re Claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, McIver discloses all the claimed limitations including wherein the connector defines an Omega-like shape in the front view (see Fig. 1).
Re Claim 10, McIver discloses a semiconductor device package, comprising: a housing (see Fig. 1); a plurality of components, including at least one semiconductor chip (4, col 3, line 25) , disposed within the housing (see Fig. 1); and a connector (10), the connector being coupled to a pair of components of the plurality of components (see Fig. 1), wherein the connector (10) comprises: a middle portion (not labeled, see Fig. 1), having a curved concave shape in a front view with respect to a given surface (see Fig. 1); a first contacting portion (not labeled) , integrally connected to the middle portion on a first side (see Fig. 1), and being affixed to a first component of the pair of components (see Fig. 1); and a second contacting portion, integrally connected to the middle portion on a second side, and being affixed to a second component of the pair of components, and wherein the first contacting portion and the second contacting portion define a curved convex surface in the front view (see Fig. 1), with respect to the given surface, wherein the connector provides an electrical connection between the pair of components (see Figs. 1 and 5 and related text Col 3, lines 13 – 34).
Re Claim 11, as applied to claim 10 above, McIver discloses all the claimed limitations including wherein the connector defines an Omega-like shape in the front view (see Fig. 1).
Re Claim 19, as applied to claim 10 above, McIver discloses all the claimed limitations including the plurality of components further comprising a contact layer, disposed on the at least on semiconductor chip (4), wherein the first contacting portion of the connector is arranged in contact with the contact layer (see Fig. 1).
Re Claim 20, as applied to claim 10 above, McIver discloses all the claimed limitations including the plurality of components further comprising a substrate (i.e., a base 2), wherein the semiconductor chip (4) is disposed on the substrate, and wherein the second contacting is arranged in contact with the substrate (see Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3-6 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure WANG et al. (CN 104332458 B) disclose omega-shape connector (i.e., metal sheet 3) attached to the semiconductor chip (1) formed on substrate (4).
Correspondence
filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/BROOK KEBEDE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2894
/BK/
August 17, 2026