The amendments filed on 5/18/2026 have been fully considered and made of record in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Sato et al. (US 2018/0182700).
With respect to Claims 1 and 10, Sato teaches an interposer 2C, WL1- WL6, SR1, SR2, IL12, IL23, IL45, IL56 having a first surface as a mounting surface and a second surface 2b for mounting an object MB (i.e. a coreless substrate). The second surface being opposite to the first surface, the interposer comprising a first component 3, 1X exposed directly on the second surface or connected to the second surface 2a via a conductor V23. The first component 3 being included inside the interposer 2C, WL1- WL6, SR1, SR2, IL12, IL23, IL45, IL56 and located at a position closer to the second surface 2a than to the first surface 2b. A sealing resin layer (i.e. epoxy resin) sealing the first component 3. A columnar conductor 2TW electrically connecting s surface of the first component facing the first surface and the first surface. The columnar conductor 2TW being made of a uniform material filling a vertical hole (see paragraphs 25-33, 48, and 53-56; Figs. 5, 9, 29, 30, and 32).
With respect to Claim 2 and 3, Sato teaches a second component 3 (i.e.
capacitor) included inside the sealing resin layer. A first electrode 31a to be
connected to a third component 1X included in the object. A second electrode
to be connected to a fourth component included in the object are arranged
on a surface of the second component closer to the second surface. The second
component is connected to both the first electrode and the second electrode (see Figs.
5, 7, 9, 29, and 32).
With respect to Claim 9 Ogawa discloses the first component 1Y is a capacitor (see paragraph 48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 10, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0182700) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (US 2005/0258548).
With respect to Claims 7 and 17, Sato discloses the claimed invention except
for on the first surface, a first-surface-side outer resin layer is arranged so as to
cover the sealing resin layer, and a first-surface-side wiring layer is arranged between
the first-surface-side outer resin layer and the sealing resin layer, and electrical
connection from the first component to the first surface is made via the first-surface-side
wiring layer.
However, Ogawa discloses on the first surface, a first-surface-side outer resin
layer 140 is arranged so as to cover the sealing resin layer 140. A first-surface-side
wiring layer 144 is arranged between the first-surface-side outer resin layer and the
sealing resin layer. An electrical connection from the first component 130 to the first
surface is made via the first-surface-side wiring layer 144 (see paragraphs 112-116;
Figs. 1 and 10). Thus, Sato and Ogawa have substantially the same environment of
semiconductor enclosed by a resin material of an interposer and closer to the second
surface of the interposer. Therefore, one skilled in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to incorporate a resin layer with a wiring layer on the first
surface of the interposer of Meyer, since the wiring layer would facilitate electrically
connecting electronic component to a motherboard as taught by Ogawa.
With respect to Claims 8 and 18, Ogawa discloses on the second surface, a
second-surface-side outer resin layer 150 is arranged so as to cover the sealing resin
layer 140. A second-surface-side wiring layer 143 is arranged between the second-
surface-side outer resin layer and the sealing resin layer. Electrical connection is from
the first component 130 to the second surface is made via the second-surface-side
wiring layer (see Figs. 1 and 10).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4-6, 11-16, 19, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a
rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all
of the limitations of -3the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowance subject
matter: none of the prior art of record teaches or suggest the combination of the
second component is exposed on the first surface in claim 4.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited primarily to show the
product of the instant invention.
Conclusion
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning the communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Alonzo Chambliss whose telephone number is (571)
272-1927.
supervisor, Jacob Y. Choi can be reached on (469) 295-9060. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PMR or Public PMR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PMR
only. For more information about the PMR system see hittp://pair-dkect.uspto gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PMR system contact the
Electronic Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
AC/July 15, 2026 /Alonzo Chambliss/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897