DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 11, 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation, "the opening of the outer frame" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the “ring -shaped opening of the inner frame” introduced in claim 1 or is referring to another opening. The latter interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim 11 recites the limitation, “wherein a bonding reinforcement portion is included is provided on at least one …” in line 5. It is unclear if the limitation should read --wherein a bonding reinforcement portion
Claim 13 recites the limitation, “wherein a first reinforcing portion is included that is disposed between” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if the first reinforcing portion is “included between” or “disposed between” the rib pairs. The latter interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “the ring-shaped opening of the outer frame” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the “ring-shaped opening of the inner frame” introduced in claim 1 or is referring to another opening. The latter interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, “the extending direction” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “an extension direction” should be introduced, or if claim 13 (upon which claim 14 is dependent) should be made dependent on claim 8, where claim 8 introduces “an extension direction.” The former interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim 14 recites the limitation, "the opening " in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the “ring -shaped opening of the inner frame” introduced in claim 1 or “the ring-shaped opening of the outer frame” introduced in claim 14. The latter interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claim 16 recites the limitation, “the extending direction of the opening” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “an extension direction” should be introduced, or if claim 13 (upon which claim 16 is dependent) should be made dependent on claim 8, where claim 8 introduces “an extension direction.” The former interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination. Additionally, it is unclear what limitation “the opening” is referring to. It is unclear if the limitation is referring to the “ring -shaped opening of the inner frame” introduced in claim 1 or “the ring-shaped opening of the outer frame” introduced in claim 14. The latter interpretation will be adopted for the purposes of examination.
Claims 14-16 are also rejected due to their dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-10, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US Publication No. 2025/0064332).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a wearable electronic device comprising: at least one electronic component (PCB assemblies 215a-c); a ring-shaped outer frame (comprised of outer cover body 110 and bracket unit 230) including an inner surface (inner surface of 110) and a fixing portion (230) protruding from the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110); and an inner frame (inner molded unit 300) integrally formed on the outer frame (100, 230) to cover the electronic component (215a-c), the fixing portion (230), and the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110), the inner frame (300) having a ring-shaped opening configured to receive a finger of a user (see Paragraph [0026]), wherein the fixing portion (230) includes: a plurality of first ribs (231, 232, 233 on first side of 230) located to an upper end portion of the outer frame (first side of 110) and spaced apart from each other (see Figure 4), and a plurality of second ribs (231, 232, 233 on second side of 230) located to a lower end portion of the outer frame (second side of 110) and spaced apart from each other (see Figure 4), and wherein at least a portion of the at least one electronic component (215a-c) is disposed between the plurality of first ribs (first 231-233) and the plurality of second ribs (second 231-233) so that the at least one electronic component (215a-c) is fixed to the outer frame (110, 230) with the inner frame (300) integrally formed on the outer frame (110, 230).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the inner frame (300) is integrally formed on the outer frame (110, 230) by performing a molding process (see Paragraph [0020]) directly on an inner side of the outer frame (inner side of 110, 230; see Figure 5) having the at least one electronic component (215a-c) disposed between (see Figure 2) the plurality of first ribs (first 231-233) and the plurality of second ribs (second 231-233).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the inner frame (300) is integrally formed on the outer frame (110, 230) by injecting a resin material (see Paragraphs [0020], [0080]) and such that the resin material (epoxy resin) forming the inner frame (300) contacts at least a portion of the first ribs (first 231-233) and at least a portion of the second ribs (second 231-233; see Paragraph [0020] and Figure 2)
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein each one of the plurality of first ribs (first 231-233) is disposed to be aligned with a respective one of the plurality of second ribs (second 231-233).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 4, and further discloses wherein the fixing portion (230) includes a rib pair (first and second 231) having a first rib (first 231) of any one of the plurality of first ribs (first 231-233) and a second rib (second 231) facing the first rib (first 231).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the fixing portion (230) includes a plurality of rib pairs (pairs of first and second 231-233), and wherein the plurality of rib pairs (pairs of first and second 231-233) are disposed to be spaced apart from each other along a circumferential direction (see Figure 4) of the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110).
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein each rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233) includes a seating portion (portion of 231-233 accommodating 215a-251c; see Figures 2-4) having a step structure (see Figures 2-4) and provided on one surface (inner surface of 231-233) facing another fixing rib of the rib pair (corresponding 231-233), and wherein each of two opposite side portions of the electronic component (edges of 215a-c) with respect to an extending direction of the opening of the outer frame (space defined by 110) is disposed on the seating portion (portion of 231-233 accommodating 215a-c; see Figures 2-4).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein at least one rib of the rib pair (first 231) includes a fixing recess (groove in first 231 accommodating first edge of 215a) formed in one surface (inner surface) facing another rib of the rib pair (second 231), and wherein the at least a portion of the at least electronic component (first edge of 215a) is disposed to be fitted into the fixing recess (groove in second 231 accommodating second edge of 215a).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the at least a portion of the at least electronic component (edges of 215) is fixed to at least one rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231) by a bonding method (see Paragraphs [0036], [0123]-[0131]; molding processing 300 resulting in 215 being secured within 100 via connection with 230).
Regarding claim 13 (as best understood), Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 7, and further discloses wherein a first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233) is included that is disposed between the rib pairs (pairs of first and second 231-233) disposed to be spaced apart from each other (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 14 (as best understood), Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 13, and further discloses wherein the first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233) protrudes from the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) to an inside of the ring-shaped opening of the outer frame (space defined by 110) and extends along the extending direction of the opening (space defined by 110).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein a protruding height of the first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233) with respect to the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) is set to be identical to or smaller than a height of each rib (231-233) of the rib pairs (pairs of first and second 231-233) adjacent to the first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233) with respect to the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110).
Regarding claim 16 (as best understood), Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 14, and further discloses wherein a length of the first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233) extending along the extending direction of the opening (space defined by 110) is set to be shorter than a distance between outer surfaces of the fixing ribs (outer surfaces of 231-233) of each rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233) adjacent to the first reinforcing portion (connecting portion between first and second 231-233).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein at least one rib of the rib pair (first 231) includes: a first surface (inner surface) facing another rib of the rib pair (second 231), and a second surface (outer surface) opposite to the first surface (inner surface), and wherein at least one second reinforcing portion (flanges 120, 130) is included that protrudes from the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) to an inside of the opening (space defined by 110) and disposed to contact the second surface (outer surface) of the at least one rib (first 231).
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 17, and further discloses wherein a protruding height of the at least one second reinforcing portion (120, 130) with respect to the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) is set to be smaller than a protruding height of the rib (231-233) with respect to the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110), contacted by the at least one second reinforcing part (120, 130; see Figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein the fixing portion (230) includes a curved second reinforcing portion (edges of 230) that connects the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) with the at least one rib of the fixing rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233) and has a predetermined curvature (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, further comprising: a ring-shaped decoration member (120, 130) disposed to contact the inner surface of the outer frame (inner surface of 110) and the fixing portion (230).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su (US Publication No. 2024/0122315).
Regarding claim 1, Su discloses a wearable electronic device comprising: at least one electronic component (Paragraph [0066], FPC 6, battery 8, NFC device 13); a ring-shaped outer frame (circular element 30) including an inner surface (inner surface 34) and a fixing portion (features 36) protruding from the inner surface (34; see Figures 3 and 24F) of the outer frame (30); and an inner frame (Figures 2A-2B, inner epoxy 15) integrally formed on the outer frame (30) to cover the electronic component (6, 8, 13), the fixing portion (36), and the inner surface (34) of the outer frame (30; see Paragraph [0074]), the inner frame (15) having a ring-shaped opening (see Figures 2A-2B) configured to receive a finger of a user (see Paragraph [0069]), wherein the fixing portion (36) includes: a plurality of first ribs (see Figures 3 and 24F; see also annotated Figure 24F below) located to an upper end portion of the outer frame (first edge of 30) and spaced apart from each other, and a plurality of second ribs (see Figures 3 and 24F; see also annotated Figure 24F below) located to a lower end portion of the outer frame (second edge of 30) and spaced apart from each other, and wherein at least a portion of the at least one electronic component (6, 8, 13) is disposed between the plurality of first ribs (36 on first edge) and the plurality of second ribs (36 on second edge) so that the at least one electronic component (6, 8, 13) is fixed to the outer frame (30) with the inner frame (15) integrally formed on the outer frame (30).
Regarding claim 5, Su discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the plurality of first ribs (36 on first edge) and the plurality of second ribs (36 on second edge) are disposed so as not to be aligned with each other (see annotated Figure 24 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US Publication No. 2025/0064332) in view of Lee (KR Publication No. 101615456, hereinafter “Lee ‘456”).
Regarding claim 11 (as best understood), Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein at least one rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233) includes: a first surface (inner surface of 231-233) facing another rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233), and a second surface (outer surface of 231-233) opposite to the first surface (inner surface of 231-233).
Lee does not teach wherein a bonding reinforcing portion is included that is provided on at least one of the second surface of the rib or the inner surface of the outer frame extending toward an edge of the outer frame and has an irregularity pattern.
However, Lee ‘456 teaches a bonding reinforcing portion (layer 20) that is provided on an inner surface of the outer frame (top surface of 10, corresponding to inner surface of 110 in Lee) extending toward an edge of the outer frame (edge of 110) and has an irregularity pattern (see Figure 1 and page 6, “Plating layer 20 is formed in an irregular concave-convex structure”).
Because Lee teaches the outer ring being comprised of a metal material (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0063]), and also teaches a resin material filling the outer ring (see Paragraphs [0020], [0080], [0105]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bonding reinforcing portion of Lee ‘456 to the inner surface of the metal outer frame of Lee. Doing so would have improved the bonding force between the metal outer frame and inner resin mold (see pages 1-2 and 7 in Lee ‘456).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the wearable electronic device of claim 6, and further discloses wherein at least one rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233) includes: a first surface (inner surface of 231-233) facing another rib of the rib pair (pairs of first and second 231-233), and a second surface (outer surface of 231-233) opposite to the first surface (inner surface of 231-233).
Lee does not teach wherein a bonding reinforcing portion is provided on at least one of the second surface of the rib or the inner surface of the outer frame extending toward an edge of the outer frame and has a concave-convex pattern.
However, Lee ‘456 teaches a bonding reinforcing portion (layer 20) that is provided on an inner surface of the outer frame (top surface of 10, corresponding to inner surface of 110 in Lee) extending toward an edge of the outer frame (edge of 110) and has a concave-convex pattern (see Figure 1 and page 6, “Plating layer 20 is formed in an irregular concave-convex structure”).
Because Lee teaches the outer ring being comprised of a metal material (see Paragraphs [0061]-[0063]), and also teaches a resin material filling the outer ring (see Paragraphs [0020], [0080], [0105]), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have combined the bonding reinforcing portion of Lee ‘456 to the inner surface of the metal outer frame of Lee. Doing so would have improved the bonding force between the metal outer frame and inner resin mold (see pages 1-2 and 7 in Lee ‘456).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Nos. 9495575, 9582034, 11324292, 11850069, and 12213790 also teach ring structures similar to the claimed device.
US Publication Nos. 20240291317, 20240081012, 20230380692, 20230148716, 20230112231, 20210037932, 20200178395, 20180343989, and 20180120891 also teach ring structures similar to the claimed device.
WO Publication Nos. 2015129556 and 2021017915 also teach ring structures similar to the claimed device.
/GAGE CRUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc